Motorcycle Insurance in Kansas
If you want to drive your motorcycle legally in the state of Kansas, you must carry proof of financial responsibility. Most motorcycle owners opt for liability insurance. There are also other types of insurance such as collision, guest passenger liability, bodily injury and several others.
In the state of Kansas the following rides are defined as two-wheeled vehicles:
- Motor vehicle with a seat/saddle and not more than three wheels is considered as a motorcycle (tractors do not belong here).
- Motorcycles, including motor scooters, with a motor that cannot exceed five brake horsepower, are considered as a motor-driven cycle. Also, every bicycle with an attached motor, except a motorized bicycle or an electric-assisted bicycle, belong to this category.
- Any device having two tandem wheels or three wheels which may be propelled by either human power or a helper motor, or by both is considered as a motorized bicycle. This rides can not:
- Have a motor with more than 3.5 brake horsepower.
- Have a cylinder capacity that exceeds 130 cubic centimeters.
- Top 30 miles per hour.
In case you are not certain whether your bike needs to be registered thus insured, contact the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) at (785) 296-3621.
Motorcycle Liability Insurance Requirements
In this state, you are required to carry the types of insurance detailed below.
- $10,000 per accident for property damage.
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury.
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury.
You can insure your ride by using the insurance form at the top of the page. The form will also help you to save on motorcycle insurance in the future.
Note: While Personal Injury Protection (PIP) is required for auto owners, it remains optional for motorcyclists. If you opt against it, you must submit your decision in writing.
You will not get insurance discounts for wearing a helmet. Only riders under 18 are required to wear a helmet. For riders above the age of 18 wearing a helmet is an option.
Financial Responsibility and Acceptable Proofs of Insurance
In the state of Kansas you have to choose between these two insurance choices:
- Self-insurance. Contact the Kansas Insurance Department at (800) 432-2484 for more detailed information.
- Liability insurance.
Residents must carry one of the following forms of proof when riding their motorcycle:
- A certificate of self-insurance.
- An insurance identification card provided by your insurance company.
Penalties for failure to maintain financial responsibility include:
- First Offense:
- A fine of up to $1,000. Failing to pay will result in a six-month jail sentence.
- Second Offense (within three years of your first offense):
- A fine of up to $2,500.
- Possible license suspension.
- Revoked registration.