Kansas Frequently Asked Questions

Am I required to take a motorcycle training course?
No, taking a motorcycle driving education course is not mandatory. That being said, you are strongly advised to enroll in motorcycle training classes as a certificate for a successfully completed course will exempt you from taking the road portion of the DMV test. Also, the state of Kansas does not require motorcycle driver applicants to obtain a learners permit if they have passed an approved motorcycle driver education course. In addition, taking a motorcycle drivers ed course will serve as extra preparation for the written driving exam and allow you to familiarize yourself with state laws.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Kansas

Am I required to wear a helmet while riding a motorcycle?
KS State Laws require that motorcycle riders who are 18 years old or younger wear a helmet. Even though helmets are not legally required for motorbike riders who are 18 years old or over, the use of motorcycle helmets is strongly recommended as research shows that, with few exceptions, head and neck injuries are reduced by properly wearing an approved helmet. Regardless of the style of helmet you choose, make sure it fits properly, has no obvious defects and is highly rated by Department of Transportation (DOT) and the Snell Memorial Foundation.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Kansas

Are there times I won’t be allowed to renew registration?
You will not be allowed to renew your Kansas vehicle registration if your license and driving privileges are suspended. Also keep in mind that Kansas does not provide a grace period if you let your car registration expire. Hence you must renew the car registration before its expiration date. The Kansas Department of Revenue allows drivers to renew vehicle registrations in person, online, by mail or by telephone.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Kansas

Can I have different addresses on my driver license and my vehicle registration?
No, you cannot have different addresses on your KS driving permit and vehicle registration. Once you have updated your new address on your Kansas drivers license, the KS DMV will automatically update all your driving records, including vehicle registration. Keep in mind that reporting a change of address on your KS drivers license or car registration will only update your KS drivers license and vehicle registration records. The KS DOR will not issue you a duplicate car registration or drivers license unless you apply for a car registration or driving permit replacement.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Kansas

Can I keep the car insurance I have from my previous state of residence?
Yes, your out-of-state car insurance will be accepted provided that your insurance provider certifies in writing that your insurance policy complies with KS laws. This means that you must have all the four types of liability coverage required to legally operate a motor vehicle in Kansas:

  • Bodily Injury Liability
  • Property Damage Liability
  • Personal Injury Protection
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Protection

Contact your insurance company to find out if your out-of-state proof of financial responsibility is accepted in Kansas. If not, you will be required to get KS car insurance.

For more information: How To: Save on Kansas Auto Insurance

Can I renew my commercial drivers license online?
No, you cannot renew your KS commercial drivers license online. You must renew your Kansas CDL in person at a local DMV office. Keep in mind that Exam Stations offer different services and have different timing. Make sure you check the hours and services offered at your preferential location before visiting the site in person or schedule an appointment before heading over.

Can I request a certified driver’s record online?
No, the state of Kansas does not allow drivers to order a certified drivers record online. The only type of KS driving record you can obtain online is the limited drivers license record. To check your online driving record, go to the Kansas Department or Revenue website and follow the instruction. You can check your drivers record online at any time of the day and on any day of the week.

For more information: Your Kansas Driving Record

Can I take the DMV written test online?
No, a DMV written test is not available online in Kansas. Instead, you must take the DMV test in person at your local Driver License Center. Schedule an appointment before heading over, and be sure to have the correct documentation on hand.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Kansas

Can I use my state CDL anywhere in the United States?
No, you cannot. Under federal law, a CDL license can only be issued in the driver’s state of legal residence, and if you have a CDL, you can have no other drivers license in any other state. Kansas driver licensing standards comply with these provisions and require CMV drivers to obtain a Kansas commercial drivers license when driving applicable trucks and buses. The law states that you may hold only one drivers permit of any type, at any one time. You must surrender your out-of-state CDL within thirty days from your arrival in KS.

For more information: Kansas Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Can somebody else renew my registration for me?
Yes, if you are unable to personally renew your vehicle registration, the state of Kansas allows someone else to do on your behalf. However, you are required to assign someone Power of Attorney in order to have them renew car registration for you with the KS country treasurer s office. For an in-person vehicle registration renewal, the following documents are required:

Kansas vehicle registrations can also be renewed online, by mail or by telephone. If you provide someone else with your vehicle information and credit card details, then that person could renew your car registration for you.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Kansas

Do boats need to be registered?
Boat owners are required to register all new vessels using gas, diesel, electricity or sails and personal vessels at the Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks (KDWP) before they can be sailed.

You can register your boat in person or by mail. You are required to provide a completed boat registration application and proof of ownership such as a bill of sale, sales tax receipt, certificate of origin, or out-of-state certificate of title.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Kansas

Do I need a motorcycle license to ride a scooter or moped?
In the state of Kansas, all motorcycle operators must have a motorcycle driving license if the two -wheeled vehicle they are operating exceeds the speed of 25 miles per hour. You are allowed to operate a moped if you have a valid KS driving license or motorcycle license, however, motor scooters have a higher horse power than a moped, and as a result you must be in possession of a motorcycle license to operate one.

Even though mopeds and scooters typically do not exceed 30 miles per hours, the same rules apply for operating mopeds and scooters as they do for other motorbikes.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Kansas

Do I need to attend traffic school if I get a speeding ticket?
The handling of speeding tickets in the state of Kansas varies by county and the Court handling your case. The Court may allow you to enroll in a defensive driving course in order to dismiss your traffic ticket or successful completion of defensive driving classes may be a requirement of your sentence issued by the Court.

Kansas offers drivers the option of completing an online traffic course or attending traffic school in a classroom. To find a state-approved traffic school near you, click here.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Kansas

Do I need to cancel my insurance if I am moving to another state?
If you are moving out of Kansas, check with your insurance provider and the DMV in the state you are moving to for information concerning minimum required liability coverage and other car insurance related issues.

If you are relocating to Kansas, your out-of-state car insurance will be accepted provided that your insurance provider certifies that your insurance policy complies with KS laws. This means that you must have all the four types of liability coverage required to legally operate a motor vehicle in Kansas. Contact your insurance company to find out if your out-of-state proof of financial responsibility is accepted in Kansas. If not, you will be required to apply for KS car insurance.

For more information: How To: Save on Kansas Auto Insurance

Do I need to file a police report if my license was lost or stolen?
Although it is not mandatory, the Kansas DMV recommends that you file a police report if your drivers license has been lost or stolen and obtain a case number in order to prevent someone else from assuming your identity. Reporting your lost drivers license or stolen drivers license to the proper authorities will result with this important notation being made to your record and it will also reduce the chances of identity theft and/or fraud.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Kansas Driver’s License or ID Card

Do I need to file a police report if my registration was lost or stolen?
Yes, your lost car registration or stolen car registration must be reported to the local authorities as this will protect you should the vehicle registration be used for illegal purposes. You are also required to submit this police report to your local Kansas DMV office when making a request for a duplicate car registration. Also make sure that you have all other required documents and applicable fees before heading out to a KS DMV near you.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Kansas

Do I need to return my license plate if I move out of the state?
The state of Kansas requires you to return your KS license plates only in the event of applying for a property tax refund. Otherwise, you are not required to surrender your plates when moving from Kansas to another state. Contact your county treasurer’s motor vehicle office for more details on returning Kansas license plates.

You are also advised to contact the DMV of your new state to find out about their requirements for soon-to-be residents. When visiting a local office, make sure to bring your drivers license with you and any documentation pertaining to your vehicle.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Kansas

Do I need to take a drivers ed course?
Driver’s education is only required if you want to get a restricted license. You do not need to take drivers education classes to obtain a KS instruction permit. However, if you have completed drivers training and can provide proof of name and date of birth as required, the driver’s license bureau will accept the Driver s Education Completion Certificate (Form DE-99) in lieu of taking the written test for an Instruction Permit.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Kansas

Do I need to turn in my damaged car title?
No, it is not necessary that you turn in your damaged or mutilated car title when requesting a car title replacement. However, if your original title is mutilated or has become illegible, you need to attach it to the application form and submit it to the Kansas county treasurer s motor vehicle office along with the duplicate vehicle title fee.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Kansas

Do I need to turn in my damaged registration?
Yes, if your car registration card is damaged and still in your possession you will need to surrender it. Attach your damaged registration card to the application when submitting it to the Kansas country treasurer s office along with other required documents and payments.

Lost car registration cards and stolen car registration cards, must be reported to the local authorities. You will then need to present the police report when applying for a duplicate car registration card.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Kansas

Does a motorized scooter need to be registered?
Yes, the registration process for motorized scooters is the same as the registration procedure for all other motorcycle registrations in Kansas. If the motorized scooter has been purchased from a licensed dealer, the dealer will submit the registration documents to the DOR and provide you with tags for the vehicle.

If you have bought your scooter from a private party, you need to take the same steps as when registering a new car.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Kansas

Does my vehicle qualify for a smog inspection?
You do not have to provide proof of passing emissions inspection before registering your vehicle in the state of Kansas. Only a few select communities offer emissions testing in Kansas, but purely on a voluntary basis. These smog inspections, regardless of the results, have no bearing on a vehicle’s registration status.

When registering a car in Kansas, the DOR only requires a VIN inspection for newly acquired cars with out-of-state certificates of title or bill of sales, as well as certain antique models.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Kansas

How can I avoid a license suspension if I choose not to insure my vehicle?
You must have the four types of liability coverage in order to legally operate a motor vehicle in Kansas. Failure to do so will result in a drivers license suspension in addition to high fees and filing SR22 coverage with the KS DMV for three years. Kansas only allows motorcycle license holders to opt for self-insurance and present a Certificate of Self-Insurance as proof of financial responsibility. This option is not available to drivers.

For more information: How To: Save on Kansas Auto Insurance

How can I get a veteran designation on my ID card?
In the state of Kansas, veterans with an honorable or general discharge or a general discharge under honorable conditions can get the word “veteran” printed on their state-issued drivers licenses and ID cards.

To obtain the printing, veterans must provide a copy of their military discharge papers indicating their status (Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty– DD 214 form) or a letter from the Kansas Veterans Commission. There is no charge to have the word “veteran” printed beneath the photo on the identification card. Veterans may get the designation when they renew their DMV ID cards or pay an $8 charge to have a new card issued before it is expired.

For more information: How to Apply for a Kansas Identification Card

How can I obtain a copy of the driver manual?
In order to apply for your drivers license you must first pass a written test. The driver’s manual is the book that provides the information you need to know in order to pass your written driving test and to get your drivers permit, as well as information regarding different types of licenses, state traffic laws, road signs, safe driving information and regulations – all of which will help you drive safely and successfully. You can download a copy of the Kansas Driver s Manual from the web-site of the Kansas Department of Revenue or purchase a hard copy at any DMV office.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Kansas

How can I pay for my traffic or parking ticket?
Paying traffic ticket means that you are not contesting the traffic citation and you are pleading guilty to a traffic offense. If you decide to take this step and plead guilty to a traffic violation, the state of Kansas offers several ways to pay traffic fines.

Your options for paying traffic tickets in the state of Kansas depend on the KS court handling your case. Usually, the back of the citation indicates the deadlines and options for addressing the payment of your traffic fine. You can pay your Kansas traffic ticket online, by mail or in person.

Online payment of traffic fines is not available in all the counties in Kansas, therefore make sure to check the back of your traffic ticket to see if your county allows it.

When paying your traffic ticket by mail, check the “guilty” box on the back of the ticket and mail the citation and the cost of the traffic fine via check or money order to the address listed on the ticket.

To pay traffic fine in person, head to the court where your ticket is answerable and present the traffic citation with you along with the payment.

Also make sure you submit your payment before the deadline date shown on your ticket expires.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Kansas

How can I renew my drivers license?
Kansas drivers can renew their driving permit in person at any Kansas Driver s License Exam Station or by mail (if eligible).

IN PERSON

To renew your Kansas drivers permit, visit a DMV near you and do the following:

  • Present your expiring license and proof of identity
  • Provide your Social Security number (SSN).
  • Provide proof of your Kansas residency. For foreign visitors proof of lawful presence in the US is required.
  • Complete vision test. You can also bring proof of an exam from a licensed optometrist or ophthalmologist administered within the last 90 days.
  • Pay all applicable fees, which vary depending on the type of driving license and validity, and may also include a photo fee and test fee.

BY MAIL

You can renew your KS drivers license only if you are temporarily residing out-of-state. Therefore, if you are an active duty military member, a military dependent or temporarily living outside the state of Kansas, you should complete the Kansas Renewal, Extension or Replacement Form applicable to your situation. You can mail the completed form with the additonal information and payment to:

DMV

P.O.BOX 2188

Topeka, KS 66612

The renewed drivers license will arrive by mail at the address provided by you.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Kansas

How can I renew my vehicle registration?
All vehicle registrations are valid for 1 year. The Kansas DMV sends registration renewal notices by mail to vehicle owners notifying them to renew expired car registration

You can renew your Kansas vehicle registration in person, by mail, by telephone or online.

IN PERSON

To renew expired car registration in person, locate a country treasurer s office in your area and provide:

  • Your license plate number
  • Proof of auto insurance
  • Payment for required registration fees

BY MAIL

To complete your registration renewal by mail, send the completed registration renewal form and required payment to your local Kansas country treasurer s office. You will also be required to provide a copy of your proof of car insurance.

BY TELEPHONE

You can renew your vehicle registration by using a touchtone phone. You will need a credit card or an e-Check to pay for the renewal transaction. Call the number 1-866-4KS-TAGS (457-8247) and follow the instructions to complete the car registration renewal.

ONLINE

You are eligible to renew car registration online if your renewal notice has a PIN, if your registration has not already expired and if your insurance company participates in the KS the DOR s online verification system.

To renew your registration online, go to the Kansas Department of Motor Vehicles Online Services website and:

  • Have your credit card to pay the renewal fee
  • Have your registration renewal PIN and information about your vehicle ready

Keep in mind that there is an additional fee for online registration renewals, depending on the registration fee.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Kansas

How can I transfer a car title if I have a lien on it?
Titles that have a lien holder record on file will not be issued in the state of Kansas until there are no liens for the vehicle on record. Once you have satisfied the lien on your vehicle, attach the completed Lienholder’s Consent to Transfer Ownership (Form TR-128), obtained from the lienholder, to the paper title and submit it to the Kansas county treasurer s office in that manner.

You can also submit a lien release directly to the KS Division of Motor Vehicles electronically or by fax.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Kansas

How can I transfer my registration to another state?
To transfer your vehicle registration to a different state, you must abide by the registration rules and requirements of where you are moving to. In that case, you should check out the regulations applied in the car registration process in the state you are moving to.

If you are new to the state of Kansas, you have 90 days to register your car. The DOR requires a VIN inspection for newly acquired cars with out-of-state certificates of title or bill of sales. These inspections are conducted by the Kansas Highway Patrol (KHP).

To register your vehicle in the state of Kansas, you will need to bring the following items to your local KS county treasurer s office:

  • Proof of passing the VIN inspection, or a Motor Vehicle Examination Certificate (Form MVE-1).
  • A completed Title and Registration Manual Application.
  • Proof of KS auto insurance.
  • Proof of paying personal property taxes.
  • A certified Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin (MOS).
  • A completed Odometer Disclosure Statement if you have bought the vehicle from another person and if the vehicle is less than 10 years old.
  • A Bill of Sale or Affidavit of Purchase Price, to show the price of the vehicle.

For more information: Kansas State-to-State Title Transfers

How do I apply for a commercial drivers license?
You will need a Kansas commercial drivers license (CDL) in order to operate a commercial motor vehicle in Kansas that falls into one of the following categories:

  • CDL class A: Motor vehicles including any combination of vehicles with a GVWR (gross vehicle weight rating) over 26,000 lbs., provided the GVWR of the vehicle or vehicles being towed exceeds 10,000 lbs.
  • CDL class B: Motor vehicles including any single vehicle with a GVWR over 26,000 lbs., or any such vehicle towing a vehicle not in excess of 10,000 lbs. GVWR.
  • CDL class C: Motor vehicles including any single vehicle 26,000 lbs. GVWR or less, any such vehicle towing a vehicle not in excess of 10,000 lbs. GVWR, or any vehicle designed to transport 16 or more passengers or any vehicle used in the transportation of hazardous materials that cause the vehicle to be placarded, if the combined weight of the vehicles is 26,000 lbs. GVWR or less.

You can apply for a license to drive a commercial motor vehicles by visiting a DMV near you. To obtain a Kansas CDL, you must:

  1. Be at least 18 years old (and provide proof of age)
  2. Provide a valid Kansas drivers license
  3. Certify that you are in agreement with state motor carrier safety regulations
  4. Present acceptable proof of identity:
    • Birth certificate
    • Passport
    • Permanent resident card
  5. Present proof of Kansas residency:
  • Recent utility bill
  • Bank statement
  1. Pass a vision exam
  2. Pass the CDL knowledge exams. You may have to take more than one written test if you wish to have more CDL endorsements on your license.
  3. Pass the three skills tests:
  • Pre trip inspection This includes being knowledgeable about your truck, from the brakes to what s underneath the hood.
  • Basic vehicle control Knowing how to drive forward, back up, turn and other basic vehicle maneuvers.
  • On-road driving Including how you handle yourself on a designated route such as, railroad crossings, intersections and bridges. For the skills tests, you must use a vehicle in the same class for which you are trying to obtain a CDL license. For example, if you wish to obtain a Class A CDL, you must test in a Class A vehicle.
  1. Provide a valid Medical Examiner’s Certificate. You will be required to self certify for a single type of commercial operation on your driver license application form. Based on that self certification, you may need to provide your State Driver License Agency (SDLA) with a current medical examiner’s certificate and show any variance you may have to obtain or keep your CDL
  2. Pay license and CDL endorsement fees.

You do not have to make an appointment for testing, however not every exam station is equipped to handle CDL testing, therefore call in advance or check online if your preferential DOR office has a CDL examiner.

For more information: Kansas Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How do I apply for a disabled person parking placard or plates?
Kansas residents with permanent disabilities can apply for handicap placards or license plates that will allow access to disabled parking and other parking privileges. These handicap placards and license plates are issued by the KS DOR.

The Kansas Department of Revenue offers the following parking options for an individual with a permanent disability:

  • One disabled license plate and/or one placard, or
  • Two placards, but NO disabled license plate.

Persons with temporary disabilities are not eligible for disability license plates.

You can obtain disability license plates or handicap placards in person at any local county treasurer’s motor vehicle office or by mail. You will need to have the following:

  • A completed Certification of Disability for Disabled Parking Placard and/or Plate (Form TR-159).
  • Have a licensed physician, osteopath, chiropractor, pediatrician, optometrist, physician assistant, or advanced registered nurse practitioner sign the Healing Arts Licensed Professional’s Statement portion of the form.
  • Pay the applicable fees:
    • Placards: Free.
    • Plates: $.50.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Kansas

How do I apply for a drivers license?
If you are younger than 17 years of age, you will need to complete the Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) Program.

If you are over 18 years of age must apply for a KS driving license in person at your local KS DOR Office.

If you have never been licensed you must:

  • Present acceptable proof of identity
  • Present proof of Kansas residency and lawful presence
  • Pass a vision examination
  • Pass all applicable written examination(s)
  • Pass driving examination (vehicle provided by you)
  • Pay applicable fees

If you have an out-of-state drivers license, you can apply for a Kansas driving license by following the same instructions. In addition, depending on the validity and/or expiration of the license, some of the tests might be waived:

– If your out-of-state license to drive is valid, you are not required to pass the written and driving test

– If your out-of-state driving license expired one year ago or less, the driving exam is waived

-If your of-state drivers license has expired over one year ago, you must past all the required tests (vision, written and driving)

By law, you are required to transfer your out-of-state drivers license within 90 days of becoming a Kansas resident. Moreover, your out-of-state driving license must not be suspended, revoked, or cancelled in any state.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Kansas

How do I apply for a learner’s permit?
To apply for a learners permit (instruction permit) in Kansas you must:

  • Be at least 14 years old.
  • Obtain the consent of your parent or guardian. and have your application signed by parent/guardian (for new drivers younger than 16.
  • Complete the learners permit application form
  • Visit your local Driver License Exam Station to submit the application.
  • Provide proof of identity, age, and Kansas residency, as required by the KS DOR.
  • Pass a vision test.
  • Pass a written test- or certificate of completion from drivers ed classes.
  • Pay the correct fee.

Applicants between 14 and 16 years of age may also apply for a farm permit following the same procedures, so long as they have residence or employment on a farm consisting of 20 acres or more.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Kansas

How do I apply for a motorcycle license?
To ride a motorcycle in the state of Kansas, the Kansas Division of Motor Vehicles requires that you have one of the following:

  • Instruction permit or restricted Class M motorcycle license (this is a license for a minor drivers)
  • Class M license (or Class M endorsement- this is a license for adult drivers)

Instruction permit

There are two types of learners permits in Kansas instruction and restricted permit.

To apply for a motorcycle learners permit in Kansas you must be at least 14 years old. This permit is valid for 1 year and will allow you to practice riding a motorcycle. If you are 16 years of age or older, but do not qualify for a Class M endorsement, you can apply for a restricted license. To apply for a restricted license you must:

  • Be 16 years old;
  • Have had an instruction permit for at least one year;
  • Are able to provide an affidavit proving that you have completed at least 50 hours of driving under adult supervision, 10 of those 50 at night;

Note: The state of Kansas does not require motorcycle license applicants to obtain a permit if they have completed an approved motorcycle driver education course.

Motorcycle License

All persons operating motorcycles are required to have a Class M endorsement on their drivers license. To apply for a motorcycle license in Kansas you must be at least 17 years old and have a valid KS drivers license. Follow these steps to get your motorcycle drivers license:

1. Book an appointment with any on-road testing centre

2. Present acceptable proof of identity and age

3. Pass a knowledge test. You can prepare for the written knowledge test by studying the Kansas Motorcycle Operator Manual

4. Pass a vision screening.

5. Pass an on-cycle driving skills test. A successfully completing a state-approved motorcycle driver education course exempts you from taking the on-cycle skills exam.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Kansas

How do I change my address on my car insurance?
You are required to notify your insurance provider of your official address change, so that you receive timely information from your auto insurance company. Additionally, to save time and money, some KS drivers who change their mailing address choose to obtain new car insurance quotes instead of changing the address with their current insurance coverage provider. This saves you the trouble of contacting and notifying the current insurance company, and could potentially save you money by identifying companies that offer better rates and vehicle coverage.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Kansas

How do I change my address on my car registration?
Once you have updated your new address on your Kansas driving license, the KS DMV will automatically update all your driving records including vehicle registration. Alternatively, you can visit your local tax collector office or call the Titles and Registrations Bureau at (785) 296-3621 to report the change of address and have this information updated on your Kansas vehicle title and registration certificate. Keep in mind that reporting a change of address on your KS car registration will only update your KS vehicle registration records. The KS DOR will not issue you a duplicate car registration unless you apply for a car registration replacement.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Kansas

How do I change my address on my commercial drivers license?
If you are a CDL holder and need to change your address on your CDL, you must do so in person at KS DMV near you within 10 days of moving. You may also be required to apply for a CDL replacement in order to correct the information. Contact the KS DOR for more specific information on the required documentation and address change forms.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Kansas

How do I change my address on my drivers license?
If you have moved to a new residence, you must notify the Kansas Driver License Division of your new address within ten days of moving. You can report your change of address at your local KS DMV online, in person or by mail. If you are a commercial drivers license holder, you must apply in person.

ONLINE

You can use the KS DOR Online Address Change System to change your license on your drivers license. Just fill out the online address change form and follow the instructions provided.

IN PERSON

To change your address with the Kansas DMV in person, visit your local KS driver’s license examination station and present proof of

  • Identity, such as your:
    • Passport.
    • U.S. birth certificate.
    • U.S. military ID.
  • Kansas residency, such as your:
    • Utility bill.
    • Bank statement.

Contact your local KS DMV office to check if you need to present additional paperwork.

BY MAIL

To change your address in Kansas by mail, complete the Change of Address Form (DC-1) and mail it to the following address:

Division of Motor Vehicles

Box 12021

Topeka, Kansas 66612-2021

You will be required to provide your full name, date of birth, driver license number along with your new address.

Keep in mind that reporting a change of address on your drives license will only update your KS drivers license records. The KS DOR will not issue you a duplicate permit unless you apply for a drivers license replacement.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Kansas

How do I change my address on my ID card?
If you have moved to a new residence, you must notify the Kansas Driver License Division of change of address within ten days of moving. You can report your change of address at your local KS DMV online, in person or by mail.

ONLINE

You can use the KS DOR Online Address Change System to change your license on your DMV identification card. Just fill out the online address change form and follow the instructions provided.

IN PERSON

To change your address with the Kansas DMV in person, visit your local KS driver’s license examination station and present proof of

  • Identity, such as your:
    • Passport.
    • U.S. birth certificate.
    • U.S. military ID.
  • Kansas residency, such as your:
    • Utility bill.
    • Bank statement.

Contact your local KS DMV office to check if you need to present additional paperwork.

BY MAIL

To change your address in Kansas by mail, complete the Change of Address Form (DC-1) and mail it to the following address:

Division of Motor Vehicles

Box 12021

Topeka, Kansas 66612-2021

You will be required to provide your full name, date of birth, driver license number along with your new address.

Keep in mind that reporting a change of address on your KS ID card will only update your KS drivers license records. The KS DOR will not issue you a duplicate ID unless you apply for a ID card replacement.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Kansas

How do I change my name on my car insurance?
To change your name on your vehicle insurance you will need to contact your auto insurance company directly. Contact your car insurance representative and inform them of your new name. Keep in mind that they may ask you to present certain documents that verify this name change. If that is the case, you may be required to make an in-person visit with the necessary paperwork.
How do I change my name on my car registration?
You must change your name on your KS car registration within 10 days of the change. To change your name on your vehicle registration head to your nearby KS DOR office and bring:

  • ONE original document to establish your legal name change , such as:
    • Certified marriage certificate
    • Certified divorce decree
    • Certified court order of adoption
    • Court order of legal name change
  • Proof of KS auto insurance
  • Pay applicable fees (the fee to change your name on your KS vehicle registration is $1.)
How do I change my name on my driver’s license?
First, make sure to update your Social Security information, then wait at least 48 hours for the Social Security Administration to process your information. Once you ve done that, then head to your local DMV.

To change your name on your Kansas drivers license, you must visit a Kansas DOR Driver s License Station in person. You cannot change your name on your KS driving permit online, by mail or by phone. To change your name on your drivers license, visit a KS DMV near you and present:

  • Your current Kansas drivers license or ID card.
  • Completed Name or Address Change Form
  • ONE original document to establish your legal name change , such as:
    • Certified marriage certificate
    • Certified divorce decree
    • Certified court order of adoption
    • Court order of legal name change
  • Pay applicable fees (the fee to change your name on your KS drivers license is $16.)
  • The KS DMV will issue you a new Kansas driving license showing your new name.
How do I change my name on my ID card?
First, make sure to update your Social Security information, then wait at least 48 hours for the Social Security Administration to process your information. Once you ve done that, head to your local DMV.

To update your name on your Kansas identification card, you must visit a Kansas DOR Driver s License Station in person. You cannot change your name on your KS ID online, by mail or by phone. To change your name on your DMV identification card, visit a KS DMV near you and present:

  • Your current Kansas drivers license or ID card.
  • Completed Name or Address Change Form
  • ONE original document to establish your legal name change , such as:
    • Certified marriage certificate
    • Certified divorce decree
    • Certified court order of adoption
    • Court order of legal name change
  • Pay applicable fees (the fee to change your name on your KS ID card is $12)
  • The KS DMV will issue you a new Kansas identification card showing your new name.
How do I contact the Social Security Administration for my name change?
In order to complete an official name change, you will first need to get in touch with the Social Security Administration so this information can be reflected on your Social Security Number. To find a branch near you, simply visit the SSA website and search for an office in your area with your ZIP code. Once you have located a branch in your surrounding area, make sure to bring the proper documentation with you for your visit.
How do I file a complaint when I believe someone has illegally accessed my DMV record?
The Driver’s Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) is a federal law that controls how drivers license and motor vehicle information is distributed. Under the DPPA, personal information obtained by the Kansas Department of Revenue cannot be released unless the request for information falls within one of the exceptions in the Act.

You can file a complaint if you believe someone has illegally accessed your DMV record to the proper authorities. If anyone discloses or obtains information from a KS DOR driving record for a use not permitted in the statutes defined in the form is subject to civic and/or criminal penalties.

For more information: Your Kansas Driving Record

How do I file a police report if my car registration was stolen?
If your vehicle registration or license plates have been stolen, you must visit a nearby police station and report your stolen car registration. Make sure to bring this police report to your local Kansas DMV office when making a request for a duplicate car registration. Also make sure that you have all other required documents and applicable fees before heading out to a KS DMV near you.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Kansas

How do I file a police report if my car title was stolen?
If faced with a lost car title or stolen vehicle title, you need to visit a Kansas police station near you and report your stolen/lost car title. Reporting the car title as stolen or lost to the proper authorities will help protect you from possible fraud and identity theft. After you have filed a report with the Kansas police, you will need to request a car title copy by completing an Application for Secured/Duplicate/Reissue Title (Form TR-720B) and submitting it to the Kansas Department of Revenue along with the car title replacement fee.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Kansas

How do I get a copy of my driving record?
You can check your Kansas drivers record online, in person or by mail, depending on the type of Kansas driving record you wish to order.

ONLINE

Kansas only allows you to check your limited drivers license record online. Go to the Kansas Department or Revenue website and follow the instructions. You can check your KS driving record 24 hours a day, seven days a week. The fee for purchasing a driving record online is $8.70.

BY MAIL OR IN PERSON

You can only obtain a certified or non-certified Kansas drivers record by mail or in person. You will need to complete a Request Form (TR/DL 302) and submit it to any Kansas DOR location or mail it to the following address:

Kansas Department of Revenue Driver Solutions P.O. Box 12021 Topeka, KS 66612-2021

You will also have to pay the $10 fee by check or money order payable to “Driver Solutions” if you are requesting your KS motor vehicle record by mail.

For more information: Your Kansas Driving Record

How do I get a duplicate ID card?
To replace your Kansas ID card, you must visit a Kansas DMV office in person. You cannot replace your KS identification card online or by mail. When arriving at your local DOR, you will be required to do the following:

  • Bring your current/expired ID card. If you do not have it, provide two documents as proof of identity
  • Provide proof of Kansas residency
  • Provide your Social Security Number (SSN).
  • Pay all applicable replacement fees

For more information: How to Apply for a Kansas Identification Card

How do I get a hardship license?
The state of Kansas does not allow the issuance of a hardship license that would allow a person to drive on a suspended drivers license and revoked driving license or during the length of their cancellation or disqualification period.

Nevertheless, restricted driving permits may be ordered by the court. A district or municipal court may enter an order restricting the person s driving privileges to driving only under the following circumstances:

  • In going to or returning from the person s place of employment or schooling,
  • In the course of the person s employment;
  • During a medical emergency;
  • At such times of the day and as may be specified by the order.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Kansas

How do I get a replacement license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
Active duty military members and their dependents stationed outside of Kansas may obtain a replacement of their Kansas driving license or obtain a six month extension on their Kansas drivers license through the mail. They are required to:

  • Download and complete the appropriate application form.

For Applicants age 21 or older- Military or Military Dependent stationed outside of Kansas or outside of the country

For Applicants under the age of 21- Military or Military Dependent stationed outside of Kansas or outside of the country

  • Write a check or money order, made payable to: Kansas DMV. Alternatively, include your credit card information on the application form
  • Mail the completed form, along with your payment, to:

DMV

P.O. Box 2188

Topeka, KS 66612

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Kansas Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I get a traffic ticket dismissed?
If you receive a traffic citation in the state of Kansas, you can plead guilty and pay the traffic fine or you can plead not guilty and fight the ticket in Court. If you win the case, the traffic ticket will be dismissed and it will not be noted on your KS drivers record. To increase your chances of winning the case, consult a traffic attorney.

Under certain circumstance, the Court may allow you to attend a state- approved defensive driving school to dismiss your traffic ticket or avoid a suspension on your drivers license.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Kansas

How do I know if my license was mailed after it has been restored?
The best way to find out if your drivers license has been mailed out is by contacting the Kansas Division of Motor Vehicles directly. You can do so by calling their toll-free number at (785) 296-3963. You can also make an in-person visit to any Driver License Exam Station. Find a KS DOR location near you using our DMV locator.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Kansas

How do I obtain a copy of someone else’s driving record?
To get a copy of someone else s driving record you must obtain a letter signed by the driver authorizing you to have a copy of their KS driving record or a completed 3rd Party Consent Form (TR-301) filled out the driver. You must also pay the $10 fee. Payments can be made in cash or by check or mail order. You can request a copy in person or via letter which must contain the driver s full name, drivers license number, date of birth and your current mailing address, sent to:

Driver Solutions Bureau,

P.O. Box 12021,

Topeka, KS 66612-2021.

For more information: Your Kansas Driving Record

How do I obtain a duplicate car registration?
If your vehicle’s registration card, license plates or stickers have been lost, stolen, or damaged, you should apply for a car registration replacement with the Kansas Division of Motor Vehicles.

To apply for a replacement registration card visit your local country treasurer’s office and follow these steps:

  • Complete the Title and Registration Manual Application.
  • If your current registration card has been damaged, attach the damaged card to the application.
  • If your registration has been stolen, you must file a police complaint and bring the same to the county treasurer’s office.
  • Provide your license plate number.
  • Provide your Kansas drivers license.
  • Pay the duplicate registration fee

Please note that you may also be required to provide proof of identity and vehicle ownership.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Kansas

How do I obtain a duplicate car title?
If your car title has been lost, stolen or damaged, you need to apply for a car title copy with the Kansas county treasurer s office. You can apply in person, by mail or by fax.

IN PERSON

  • Complete the Application for Secured/Duplicate/Reissue Title (Form TR-720B).
  • If the title shows a lienholder, you must also complete a Lien Release form (TR-150).
  • Pay the $10 duplicate title fee. You are also required to pay $10 for removing a lien from a paper title and $11.50 to add a lien. Payment can be made via cash, check or money order.

BY MAIL

Mail the completed Application for Secured/Duplicate/Reissue Title (Form TR-720B) and applicable fees to:

Kansas Department of Revenue

Division of Vehicles

915 SW Harrison, Room 159

Topeka, Kansas 66626-0001

BY FAX

Submit the completed Application for Secured/Duplicate/Reissue Title (Form TR-720B) and applicable fees to by faxing it to the Kansas Titles and Registrations office at (785) 296-2383.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Kansas

How do I obtain a duplicate license?
If your Kansas drivers license or identification card has been lost or stolen, you should apply for a duplicate drivers license at your local Division of Motor Vehicles driver’s license office. You must apply for a driving permit replacement in person at a KS DOR location near you and take the following steps:

  • Provide two original documents proving identity
  • Provide at least one original document proving Kansas residency
  • Provide proof of legal name change, if applicable.
  • Provide your Social Security number.
  • Pay the applicable fees

To apply for a duplicate Kansas drivers license you cannot have a suspended driving license for an alcohol-related offense, been issued a temporary drivers license or have had a suspension, revocation or cancellation order issued by the KS Division of Motor Vehicles or by a court of law.

Also, if your driving license or ID card has been damaged, return the damaged pieces while applying for a replacement. You are not allowed to carry two licenses even if one of them is damaged.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Kansas Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I obtain a salvaged car title?
Any vehicle that has sustained considerable damage and for which the cost of repair is far greater than the cost to replace the vehicle is a savaged vehicle.

To obtain a salvaged vehicle title you need to:

  • Complete a Salvage, Non-Highway or Non-Repairable Affidavit form TR-13.
  • Take the completed TR-13 form and the current title to your county treasurer s motor vehicle office and make application for the salvage title.
  • Take the vehicle and the salvage title application receipt to the Kansas Highway Patrol for a rebuilt salvage inspection.
  • Obtain an MVE-1 from the KHP and have the rebuilt salvage decal sticker affixed to the vehicle.
  • Take the MVE-1, proof of insurance and the salvage title application receipt back to the county treasurer s motor vehicle office.
  • Make application for a rebuilt salvage title.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Kansas

How do I obtain car registration?
All drivers are required by Kansas law to register their vehicles with the Kansas Division of Motor Vehicles before taking them on the road. All vehicles must be registered regardless if they are new or second hand or whether they have been purchased from a licensed dealer or an individual. You have 60 days from the purchase date to register your car with the Kansas DMV.

In addition, new Kansas residents who have an out of state car registration must get car registration in Kansas. New residents have 90 days to register their vehicle.

The initial car registration must be done in person. Visit you local county treasurer’s office and provide:

  • A completed Title and Registration Manual Application.
  • Proof of KS auto insurance.
  • Proof of paying personal property taxes.
  • A certified Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin (MOS).
  • A completed Odometer Disclosure Statement if you have bought the vehicle from another person and if the vehicle is less than 10 years old.
  • A Bill of Sale or Affidavit of Purchase Price, to show the price of the vehicle.
  • Proof of passing an inspection, if your vehicle was purchased out of state or has an out-of-state title. The inspection must be conducted by the Kansas Highway Patrol (KHP). Upon passing, the KHP will issue you an inspection form known as Motor Vehicle Examination Certificate (Form MVE-1).
  • Pay applicable registration fees.

For vehicles that have an out of state car registration, owners must also bring the original, out-of-state certificate of title.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Kansas

How do I reinstate after a revocation as a Habitual Traffic Offender?
In Kansas, an individual may be deemed a “habitual violator” if he or she is convicted of, or pleads guilty to, three serious traffic violations within a five-year period. The consequences of being a “habitual violator” result in a three-year revocation of your drivers license.

Once that period expires, you can reinstate your revoked driving license. You will receive a written notice of restoration from the Kansas Division of Motor Vehicles with instructions on how to reinstate suspended drivers license, which include heading out to a KS DMV near you, paying the applicable fees and submitting all the necessary paperwork. You may be required to retake the DMV test.

Contact the Kansas Department of Revenue for more details on your specific reinstatement requirements.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Kansas

How do I reinstate my license if I refused to submit a breath/urine/blood test?
Being a KS drivers license holder means that you consent to submit to a BAC test if pulled over by a law enforcement officer. If you refuse to take the chemical test, your license will be revoked for the duration of one year in addition to payment of fines.

Refusing to take the chemical test is a separate offence from DUI/DWI. Even if you are acquitted of DUI charges, you may still face license suspension/revocation for refusing to submit to a BAC test. This also means that you will have to pay a higher fine and have your drivers license suspension/revocation extended for a longer period of time. It may also result in higher reinstatement fees.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Kansas

How do I reinstate my suspended license?
After your suspension is over, you will receive a written notice of restoration from the Kansas Division of Motor Vehicles with instructions on how to reinstate suspended drivers license. Note that reinstatement requirements will vary depending on the reason for your drivers license suspension.

Reinstating suspended drivers license requires you to:

  • Visit your local Kansas DMV location
  • Pay the reinstatement fee. This fee can be paid online (only for the payment of insurance related reinstatements) or in person at a Driver Licensing Exam Station
  • Submit any required suspension documents.
  • File an SR22 or proof of auto insurance.
  • Retake the DMV tests (if necessary).

Contact the Kansas Department of Revenue for more details on your specific reinstatement requirements.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Kansas

How do I remove points from my driver’s license?
The state of Kansas does not have a point system in place to track traffic violations and corresponding fines. However, the lack of a point system does not mean that the state doesn t issue traffic citations and record traffic offenses.

Under certain circumstance, the Court may allow you to enroll in traffic school to dismiss your traffic ticket or avoid a suspension on your drivers license.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Kansas

How do I renew my driving permit?
Renewing a learners permit requires following the same steps you took when you first applied. This means you must visit your local KS DOR office and:

  • Present proper identification.
  • Pay the correct fee.
  • Pass the learner s permit test.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Kansas

How do I renew my ID card?
Your KS ID card is valid for six years. You will receive a renewal notice at least 30 days before the expiration date notifying you that it is time to renew your ID card. To renew your KS identification card you must visit your local KS DOR office in person. You cannot renew your ID card online or by mail. When renewing your KS ID card you will be required to:

  • Bring your current/expired identification card. If you do not have it, provide two documents as proof of identity
  • Provide ONE original document to establish Kansas residency
  • Provide your Social Security Number (SSN).
  • Pay applicable renewal fees

Bear in mind that if you do not renew your KS ID card within 90 days after its expiration date, you will need to apply for a new ID card.

For more information: How to Apply for a Kansas Identification Card

How do I renew my license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
If you are temporarily residing out-of-state, you can renew your KS drivers license by mail or obtain an extension of 6 months. Therefore, if you are an active duty military member, a military dependent or temporarily living outside the state of Kansas, you should complete the Kansas Renewal, Extension or Replacement Form applicable to your situation and mail it along with the additional information and payment to:

DMV

P.O.BOX 2188

Topeka, KS 66612

The renewed drivers license will arrive by mail at the address provided by you.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Kansas

How do I renew my medical report for a commercial license?
You are required to have a medical examination every two years, however, in some situations, the medical examiner may issue a certificate for less than 24 months when a condition warrants it. If the medical examiner’s certificate has expired, you must obtain a new one and submit it to your local KS DOR Office. If the variance has expired, you must renew it with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA). If you fail to do so, the DOR will notify you that you are no longer medically certified to operate a commercial motor vehicle and remove all your commercial drivers license privileges from your permit.

To renew a medical report in the state of Kansas you will have to follow the same steps as getting a new medical examiner s certificate:

  • Download the DOT physical form.
  • Get a medical examination from a licensed medical examiner.
  • Have the medical examiner sign the certificate.
How do I renew my motorcycle license?
The KS motorcycle license typically expires on your birthday and the expiration year depends on your age. For drivers under 21, the license expires on 21st birthday, for drivers aged 21-65, the license is valid for six years; and for drivers aged 65 and older, the license valid for four years. When your current license expires, the Kansas DMV will send a renewal notice by mail.

You can renew your Class M endorsement any time two years prior to its expiration in person or by mail. When renewing your license you will be required to pass a vision and written drivers test.

To renew motorcycle license in person, you must submit:

  • Your expired motorcycle license, which serves as proof of identity
  • Proof of Kansas residency
  • A valid Social Security Number.
  • The renewal fee, which depends on the type of license and validity, and may also include a photo fee and exam fee.

You can renew your motorcycle driving license by mail only if you are temporarily residing out-of-state.

The same rules for renewing your expired license apply for replacing a lost, stolen or destroyed motorcycle license.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Kansas

How do I replace my license if I am a non-U.S. citizen?
If you are not a U.S. citizen and you are applying for a duplicate drivers license or KS identification card you must present two documents to establish identity/lawful presence, which include, but are not limited to the following:

  • Unexpired Permanent Resident Card
  • Unexpired Employment Authorization Card
  • Unexpired Foreign Passport with required U.S. entry markings and/or documentation
  • Valid I-94 (i.e. Asylee/Refugee)
  • Refugee Travel Document

Please note that all documents presented must be original or certified copies as faxed or photocopied documents will not be accepted.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Kansas Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I replace my license if I lost it out of state?
Kansas residents who are temporarily out of state, such as military personnel or students, may replace their lost drivers license by mail or fax. They need to:

  • Download and complete the appropriate application form from the website of the KS Department of Revenue.
  • Write a check or money order, made payable to: Kansas DMV. Alternatively, include your credit card information on the application form
  • Fax the completed form to (785) 296-0691 or mail it, along with your payment to:

DMV

P.O. Box 2188

Topeka, KS 66612

Your KS driving license replacement will be mailed to the address you give on the application form.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Kansas Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I transfer my car title between states?
Title transfers are usually required when moving to another state. As every state has different rules and regulations concerning how to transfer car title, contact the DMV of the state you are moving to as soon as you settle in your new home.

If you are moving to Kansas from another state, you will have 90 days to transfer the title. You must take the vehicle to a Kansas motor vehicle inspection station and obtain a Motor Vehicle Examination (form MVE-1) before heading out to the county treasurer s office. Upon arrival at the Kansas county treasurer s office, bring the form MVE-1 along with proof of auto insurance and the current registration from the previous state as proof of ownership, complete the Title and Registration Manual Application (Form TR-212a) and pay all applicable fees and taxes.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Kansas

How do I transfer my car title if I lost the original?
If your original car title has been lost you must apply for a duplicate vehicle title. A vehicle with a missing title cannot be bought or sold, therefore if your car title is lost, damaged or stolen, you must apply for and replace car title before you can sell the vehicle. The Kansas DOR allows you to apply for a duplicate title in person at a local county treasurer s office, by mail or by fax.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Kansas

How do I transfer my car title?
You must obtain a certificate of title in the state of Kansas when you purchase or sell a new or used vehicle, inherit, gift or receive a vehicle as a gift. You are required to apply for a vehicle title and car registration within 30 days of the purchase date as late fees apply. Also, if your vehicle has been or will be in Kansas for 90 days or longer, you must apply for a car title transfer.

To complete a vehicle title transfer in the state of Kansas, visit your local Kansas county treasurer’s office and follow the steps:

When buying a vehicle

  • Provide the current title or Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin (MCO/MSO).
  • Provide proof of car insurance.
  • Provide documentation for sales tax purposes (varies on where the vehicle was purchased from).
  • Provide the Form MVE-1 If the vehicle has an out-of-state title.
  • Complete the Title and Registration Manual Application (Form TR-212a).
  • Pay all applicable car title and registration fees.

When selling a vehicle

If you are gifting a vehicle or receiving a vehicle as a gift, you can provide an Affidavit of Relationship (Form TR-215) instead of Affidavit to a Fact if you and the recipient are related. If you are inheriting a vehicle, in addition to all the required paperwork, you will also need to provide a completed Decedent’s Affidavit (Form TR-83a) or Claim of Heir and/or Beneficiary Affidavit (Form TR-83b) to complete the car title transfer.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Kansas

How do I transfer the title of my RV?
An RV, according to Kansas law, is a vehicle or “vehicular-type unit” built on a chassis, which has been designed for use as temporary living quarters for camping, vacation, travel and general recreation. Motor homes, campers, and travel trailers that meet the statutory definition of recreational vehicle must be titled as recreational vehicles.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Kansas

How does a military member obtain a motorcycle license?
Kansas law states that by successfully completing a Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF) drivers ed course, military personnel are allowed to waive the written and driving exams required when obtaining a motorcycle license. When applying for a motorcycle license military personnel need to submit the following:

  • Military ID
  • Kansas drivers license
  • Completion certificate from an MSF motorcycle safety course. Upon successful completion of the Basic Rider Course (BRC), you will receive a Course Completion Certificate. Kansas is one of the many states that waive the on-bike riding skills test and the written test required to obtain your motorcycle operator’s license or endorsement if you have a Course Completion Certificate from a BRC or BRC 2. The MSF certificate cannot expire.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Kansas

How does the DMV check my vision?
All driving license applicants in the state of Kansas will have their vision screened at the Driver Licensing Station, or present a Driver Licensing eye examination from completed in the last 90 days by a licensed Ophthalmologist or Optometrist. During the test, a DMV representative will ask you to read a line on an eye chart with both of your eyes open and then another line with each eye individually. Vision must be at least 20/40 in one eye when screened at the Driver License Station. If corrective lenses are required to meet this standard then a restriction will be placed on the drivers license and the driver will be required to wear corrective lenses when driving.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Kansas

How long do I need my learners permit before I can get my drivers license?
You must hold your instruction permit for one year to advance to a KS Restricted Driver s License.

To obtain a Restricted Driver s License, you must be at least 15 years of age, have held your drivers permit for one year and have completed at least 25 hours of supervised driving.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Kansas

How long does it take to receive my replacement car title after ordering online?
Unfortunately, you cannot replace lost car title online in the state of Kansas. You can only obtain a car title copy in person at a KS DMV near you, by mail or by fax. Once you apply for a car title replacement with the KS DOR, you will receive your car title copy within 40 days. If you have not received your duplicate vehicle title in that time, contact the Kansas Division of Vehicles at (785) 296-3621.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Kansas

How long will I have a suspended license for not taking a chemical test?
Refusing to take a chemical test is considered a separate offense in the state of Kansas and even if you are acquitted on DUI charges later, you may still have your license suspended for up to one year based on your refusal to take the BAC test.

If you receive a DUI/DWI conviction and you refused to take the BAC test, it is highly likely that the fine you pay will be higher and the period of suspension longer as well. In addition, the reinstatement fees for failing or refusing a chemical test range between $100 and $1,000 (depending on the number of offenses you have had).

For more information: Suspended License Information for Kansas

How long will it take to get my new ID card?
You will obtain a KS identification card after you have visited a DOR office and provided all the necessary documentation. Contact the Kansas Division of Motor Vehicles for information on when you will be able to receive your new ID card. You can do so by calling their toll-free number (785) 296-3963 or visiting a local DOR office in person. Find a KS DOR office near you by using our DMV locator.

For more information: How to Apply for a Kansas Identification Card

How many points can I get on my driving record before my driver’s license is suspended?
The state of Kansas does not implement a point system to track traffic offences. However, that does not mean that the state doesn t issue traffic citations or record traffic violations. Having three violations or more within one year on your driving record will result in a suspended driving license. Kansas may suspend your license for other reasons as well, therefore it is best to check your drivers record for any outstanding traffic violations, suspensions or revocations.

For more information: Your Kansas Driving Record

How many times can I attend a traffic school course to remove points from my driving record?
The state of Kansas does not have a point system to track traffic violations and corresponding fines. However, the Court may appoint a mandatory completion of a traffic school course as part of the suspension requirements on your drivers license. In addition, you can enroll in a traffic course to improve your driving skills, to get a traffic ticket dismissed or to improve your car insurance rates.

For more information: Your Kansas Driving Record

How much does it cost to change my name on my car registration?
The required fee to change your name on your KS car registration is $1, but bear in mind that fees may vary. As the country treasurer s office is in charge of all issues related to vehicle registration in the state of Kansas, we recommend contacting a county treasurer’s office near you for information on the exact fee. Make sure you have all the required paperwork and payment before heading out to the KS DOR office.
How much does it cost to change my name on my car title?
The required fee to update your name on your KS certificate of title is $10, but bear in mind that fees may vary. As the country treasurer s office is in charge of all issues related to vehicle titling in the state of Kansas, we recommend contacting a county treasurer’s office near you for information on the exact fee. When arriving at your local KS DOR office, make sure to provide your current car title with the purchaser s section completed with your new name along with other required documentation.
How much does it cost to change my name with the DMV?
The required fee to change your name on your Kansas driving license is $16.00 ($8.00 license fee plus the $8.00 photo fee), whereas the fee to update your name on your KS identification card is $12.00. ($4.00 ID fee plus the $8.00 photo fee). You can pay by cash or check. Check your local Kansas Division of Motor Vehicles office for credit/debit card payment option. To find a KS DMV near you, use our DMV locator.
How often do I need to renew my CDL license?
A Kansas commercial drivers license is valid for a period of four years and must be renewed in person at a DOR office near you.

When your current CDL expires, you will be sent a renewal notice by the Kansas DMV. If you have a CDL with a HAZMAT endorsement, you will receive the renewal notice before your current license expires, as stipulated under the new requirements for CDL H endorsement holders. If your CDL has been lost or stolen, you will need to apply for a replacement CDL, instead of a renewal.

You must renew your Kansas commercial drivers license in person and you can do so at any full service driver s exam office. You will be required to pass a vision test and a written knowledge test each time you renew your commercial driving license. If you have recently undergone an eye exam, submit the form signed by a licensed ophthalmologist at your renewal appointment.

You must also bring:

  • Your current Kansas commercial drivers license, which serves as proof of identity and Social Security Number.
  • Your Kansas Commercial Driver’s License renewal notice, which can also serve as proof of residency provided it contains your residence address.
  • The correct CDL renewal fee. Fees may vary, depending on age and endorsements. It is best to check the exact fee with your local DMV before arriving at the renewal appointment.

Kansas Self-Certification

According to the New Federal Requirements, when renewing the commercial drivers license, all drivers must self-certify in one of the following four categories:

  • Non-Excepted Interstate
  • Excepted Interstate
  • Non-Excepted Intrastate
  • Excepted Intrastate

If you choose Non-Excepted Interstate, you must also submit a current medical examiner s report when renewing your license.

How soon can I renew my driver’s license?
Your Kansas drivers license is valid for four or six years depending on your age. You can renew your license any time two years prior to its expiration. You do so by visiting a nearby DMV in person or by mail if you are temporarily living outside the state of Kansas. Make sure that you have all the necessary documents and applicable fees before filing your drivers license renewal application.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Kansas

If a family member dies and leaves his or her car to me, how do I switch over the title?
In the sad event of the death of a family member, the title is often transferred to the heirs or someone else identified in the owner’s will. When inheriting a vehicle, you’ll need to complete a vehicle title transfer with the Kansas DMV. You will need to visit your local country treasurer s office and provide the following:

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Kansas

If I do not renew on time, will there be an additional fee?
The Kansas Division of Motor Vehicles does not impose any type of late fee if you renew your vehicle registration after it had already expired. However, bear in mind that it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with an invalid or expired car registration. Doing so may result in fines and/or penalties. The Kansas DMV will notify you by mail several weeks before your registration expires and allow you to renew your vehicle registration by telephone, by mail, in person or online.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Kansas

If I file a police report, will my replacement fee be waived?
No, the Kansas Division of Motor Vehicles does not waive the duplicate drivers license fee. In other words, you must pay a $16 fee to be issued a KS driving license replacement even if you have reported your lost drivers license or stolen drivers license to the proper authorities. However, the Kansas DMV still urges drivers to file a police report before replacing driving licenses in order to protect them from identity theft.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Kansas Driver’s License or ID Card

If I have been in an accident, what property damage do I have to report?
If you have been in an accident in Kansas, you must report it to the KHP or the local police department. Under Kansas state law, you are not required to report property damages to the KS DOR.

Even though it is not required by law, you should also inform your insurance provider of any and all property damages caused as a result of a car accident. Failure to report property damages within a reasonable period of time may result with the insurance company denying accident coverage.

For more information: How To: Save on Kansas Auto Insurance

If I live outside of the state for half the year, am I still required to have car insurance?
Yes, all motor vehicles operated in Kansas must have liability coverage. Driving without insurance in Kansas may result with a suspension on your drivers license and payment of other fines and fees. If you have out-of-state car insurance, it will be accepted provided that your insurance provider certifies in writing that your insurance policy complies with KS laws. If not, you will have to apply for car insurance in Kansas even if you are residing outside Kansas for a certain period of time.

For more information: How To: Save on Kansas Auto Insurance

If I lost my traffic or parking ticket, how can I find the information again?
If you have lost your traffic ticket, you need to contact the Kansas Court where your ticket is answerable. There are two types of courts in the state of Kansas that handle traffic violations: Municipal Courts (for city-level traffic violations) and District Courts (for county and state-level traffic tickets).

In addition, you can contact the Court handling your traffic offense if you have more queries about the ticket in question, the deadline by which you need to pay the traffic violation or other issues related to your traffic fine. If you are not sure which KS Court you need to contact, check with your local KS DMV.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Kansas

If I own multiple vehicles, am I required to have them all insured?
Auto coverage is required for all vehicles operated in Kansas. Therefore, if you own multiple vehicles, all of them must have liability coverage. However, many KS insurance companies offer discounts for insuring more than one vehicle on the same insurance policy. Check with your insurance company to find out if the multi-car discount is available and if you are eligible for it.

For more information: How To: Save on Kansas Auto Insurance

If I’m out of state and lost my ID, how can I get a new one?
If you have lost your KS ID card and are currently out of state for whatever reason, you can request a duplicate ID card online or by mail. You will be able to mail or send certain forms to the KS DOR, however, for security reasons the DMV will not mail an ID card replacement to your out-of-state address. Therefore, the best course of action would be to replace your ID card upon your return to the state of Kansas. Keep in mind to bring all the necessary documents and pay applicable fees.

For more information: How to Apply for a Kansas Identification Card

If my driver’s license was confiscated at the time of my DUI/DWI arrest, how do I get it back?
Under Kansas laws, if you arrested for a DUI/DWI, the arresting officer will confiscate your KS driving license and issue a DC-27 form. This certifies that your Kansas drivers license will be suspended in 30 days. The DC-27 form, along with a warrant, will be sent to the Kansas Division of Vehicles. The driver is entitled to schedule an administrative hearing within 10 days of the notice of suspension or revocation. Driving privileges may or may not be reinstated pending the outcome of the hearing. To ensure that the hearing does not go against you, you are advised to consult a DUI/DWI attorney beforehand.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Kansas

If my drivers license has been lost or stolen, how can I get it flagged with the DMV?
The DMV might flag your license number if another driver is pulled over by the police and presents your driving license as your own. Also, a DMV clerk might suggest that you should apply for a duplicate license. However, to be on the safe side, immediately report your drivers license as lost or stolen at your nearest Kansas Driver License Exam Station.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Kansas Driver’s License or ID Card

Is there a different process I must follow if I lost personalized plates?
No, the same process applies for replacing personalized license plates as it does for replacing lost license plates. However, note that the fees for replacing a license plate or getting new license plates vary depending on the type of plate you need.

In order to replace your license plates you must:

If your license plates are stolen, your application must be accompanied by a police report.

If you license plates are damaged and still in your possession, you must surrender them at the Kansas country treasurer s office when applying for replacement license plates.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Kansas

Is there a minimum age I have to be to get a commercial drivers license?
Applicants of 18 and over are eligible to apply for a Commercial Drivers License within Kansas (intrastate). However, you must be 21 years of age or over to be allowed to drive commercial vehicles across Kansas state lines. Otherwise, you are limited to intrastate driving of commercial vehicles. You cannot haul material deemed hazardous (HAZMAT placarding), cannot drive double or triple trailer rigs and cannot drive a School Bus with children on board. You must apply for a CDL in person at your local DMV office, submit the necessary documents, pass the required tests and pay the applicable fees.

For more information: Kansas Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Is there an age limit to renew your license?
No, the state of Kansas does not impose an age limit on renewing your drivers license. If you are older than 21 but younger than 65, your KS drivers license is valid for six years, whereas if you are 65 or older, you driving license is valid for four years. Bear in mind that if you are over 65 years of age, you will be required to take a vision exam and pass an open book test relating to traffic signals and laws when renewing your expired drivers license.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Kansas

Should I carry the registration on me or in the car?
Yes, your vehicle registration certificate must be carried with you at all times when driving. Failure to do so may result in penalties and/or fines. In addition, driving with an invalid vehicle registration is considered a non-moving traffic violation in the state of Kansas and corresponding fines will be issued if you are pulled over by a law enforcement officer.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Kansas

What address will my replacement license be mailed to?
Your duplicate drivers license will be mailed to the address you provide on the application form when visiting a KS DMV near you. If you are currently residing out of state and are replacing your drivers license or identification card, it will be mailed to the address you give on the appropriate application form. Delivery time vary depending on your location.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Kansas Driver’s License or ID Card

What are requirements for seniors to renew a driving license?
Kansas drivers between the age of 21 and 64 receive a driving license that is valid for 6 years. Drivers who are 65 years of age or older can renew it for 4 years. At the time their current drivers license expires, they are generally required to renew their license in person at a local DMV Office. When renewing their driving permit, all senior drivers must undergo a vision test to ensure they are able to safely operate a motor vehicle. In addition, if senior drivers haven’t had their vision checked recently, or believe their eyesight to have worsened, we recommend making an appointment with a vision specialist before visiting the DMV. Senior drivers will also be required to take an open book examination relating to traffic signals and laws (we recommend reviewing the Kansas Driving Handbook and taking practice tests beforehand to pass the exam). They will also need to have a new photograph taken and provide a signature.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Kansas

What are some reasons that may require me to transfer my car title?
A certificate of title is a document that proves legal ownership of a vehicle, while the title transfer makes the change of vehicle ownership official. The most common reasons that require you to transfer car title include:

  • Selling or purchasing a new /used vehicle
  • Gifting or receiving a vehicle as a gift or donation
  • Inheriting a vehicle
  • Changing ownership of the vehicle between family members
  • Changing the name of the vehicle owner

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Kansas

What are some violations that may constitute in a suspended license?
There are a variety of reasons why your Kansas drivers license might be suspended or revoked. Some are related to specific traffic violations, while others may be due to violation of other State laws. The Kansas DMV may suspend your drivers license for violations such as:

  • Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol and drugs.
  • Speeding and reckless driving.
  • Fleeing the scene of an accident.
  • Driving with a suspended license or no license.
  • Driving without car insurance.
  • Physical or psychological disqualification.
  • Not responding to a Division of Motor Vehicles notice or not appearing in court.
  • Failing to pay traffic tickets, fines or surcharges.
  • Using your vehicle to commit a felony.

The duration of your driving license suspension and your reinstatement requirements will depend on your offense.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Kansas

What are the age restrictions to ride a motorcycle?
You may not apply for a KS motorcycle license if you are under 17 years of age.

Any person who is at least 14 years of age, but less than 17 years of age may apply for an instruction permit to operate a motorcycle in Kansas. While holding an instruction permit, you must adhere to the following rules:

  • You are not allowed to ride on the highway or in the evening.
  • You must be accompanied by an adult motorcycle operator a valid Class M endorsement, i.e. ride in proximity, at all times.

If you are under 17 years of age but at least 16 years of age and do not qualify for a Class M endorsement, you may obtain a restricted motorcycle license. While holding restricted motorcycle license, you must adhere to the following rules:

  • You may ride from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. from and to work, school activities or any religious worship service held by a religious organization
  • You must be accompanied by an adult motorcycle operator a valid Class M endorsement at all times
  • You may not carry more than one non-sibling passenger under 18 years old.
  • You may not use any form of wireless communication device while riding, unless to report illegal activity or to summons medical or other emergency help.

The restrictions on your permit will be lifted after six months, provided you comply with the rules.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Kansas

What are the available commercial license endorsements?
It is believed that having a standard Class A, Class B, or Class C commercial license is the only qualification necessary for a CDL driver, this is not true. Various CDL endorsements may be required depending on the position you seek. CDL endorsements give you added privileges as a commercial driver by allowing you to operate vehicles you would otherwise not be qualified to drive. You can add endorsements when you get your license for the first time or when you complete the license renewal process.

The following is a list of endorsements you can get on your CDL:

  • CDL H endorsement (Hazardous Materials) – Required for transporting hazardous material under DOT (Department of Transport) regulations.
  • CDL T endorsement (Double/Triple Trailers) – Indicates CDL holder is certified to operate multiple trailer haulers.
  • CDL N endorsement (Tank Vehicle) – Required to transport liquids in bulk containers of 1,000 gallons or more.
  • CDL P endorsement (Passenger)- Indicates CDL holder is certified to operate passenger vehicles.
  • CDL S endorsement (School Buses)- Indicates CDL holder is certified to operate a school bus. The “P” endorsement is also required.

Separate fees apply for each CDL endorsement, including renewing license endorsements. In addition, there are different exams you must take for certain types of endorsements depending on what you intend to haul.

The following tests correspond to the various types of endorsements:

  • CDL H endorsement ― knowledge test only
  • CDL T endorsement ― knowledge test only
  • CDL N endorsement ―knowledge test only
  • CDL P endorsement ―knowledge and skills tests
  • CDL S endorsement ― knowledge and skills tests

All drivers who transport hazardous material are required to undergo a security threat assessment which includes fingerprinting and a background investigation conducted by the Transportation Safety Administration (TSA).

When applying for additional endorsements to your CDL, we strongly recommend consulting the Kansas CDL Manual as it contains all the information you will need concerning the written and skills tests.

For more information: Kansas Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the consequences of driving with a suspended license?
Driving on a suspended or revoked license is a misdemeanor in Kansas. Driving on a suspended /revoked drivers license will lead to an increase in the length of the suspension, and you may also be imprisoned for up to five years. The duration of the additional suspension varies depending on the reason for the original suspension on your driving license.

In addition, you may be required to pay higher reinstatement fees, while if you are receive a Driving while suspended /revoked conviction, you will need to maintain proof of auto insurance (SR-22) with the Driver Control Bureau for a period of twelve months.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Kansas

What are the different types of driving records?
There are three types of driving records available from the Kansas Department of Revenue:

  • Online, limited driver’s license record, which can be obtained online and costs $8.70.
  • Non-certified motor vehicle record (MVR), which can only be obtained by mail or in person. The required fee for this type of record is $10.
  • Certified motor vehicle record, which can only be obtained by mail or in person and which costs $15.

For more information: Your Kansas Driving Record

What are the fees associated with an ID card?
There is a fee of $14 that applies when you are getting a new KS ID card or renewing your expired identification card. If you are over 65 years of age or disabled, the fee is $10. The KS DMV also requires a payment of $8 photo fee. The fee to replace your ID card is $12.00. ($4.00 ID fee plus the $8.00 photo fee). You can pay by cash or check. Check your local Kansas Division of Motor Vehicles office for credit/debit card payment option.

For more information: How to Apply for a Kansas Identification Card

What are the fees for a duplicate drivers license?
The replacement fee for any type of KS drivers license or driving permit is $16.00. ($8.00 license fee plus the $8.00 photo fee). You can pay the fee at KS DOR near you if you are replacing your driving license in person. If you are currently out of state, you can pay the replacement fee by fax or mail along with the completed application form.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Kansas Driver’s License or ID Card

What are the learners permit restrictions during my first year?
When operating a motor vehicle in Kansas while you are holding a driving permit, you must abide by the following regulations:

  • Learners permit drivers must be accompanied by a licensed adult, who is 21 years or older and has at least one year of driving experience sitting in the front seat at all times.
  • You are not allowed to have anyone in the front seat (apart from your driving supervisor)
  • You must not use wireless communication devices (cell phone, text-messaging device, laptop computer or audio/video player) except to report illegal activity or to summons medical or emergency help (applies for under 17 year olds)

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Kansas

What are the medical certifications required to obtain a CDL?
In order to obtain a CDL class license you must pass the medical examination standards established by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA). For the purpose of complying with the new requirements for medical certification, it is important to know how you are using the commercial motor vehicle. Thus, all CDL holders and applicants in the state of Kansas must self-certify as to what type of driving they will be doing (interstate or intrastate) and whether they meet or exceed the medical and physical standards put forth by the FMCSA to legally and safely operate a CMV. All drivers must self-certify in one of the following categories:

  • Non-Excepted Interstate
  • Excepted Interstate
  • Non-Excepted Intrastate
  • Excepted Intrastate

Note: When you apply for a CDL; renew a CDL; apply for a higher class of CDL; apply for a new endorsement on a CDL; or transfer a CDL from another State, you will be required to self-certify and based on that self certification, you may need to provide your DMV with a current medical examiner’s certificate and show any variance you may have to obtain or keep your CDL.

Requirements vary in each category, particularly regarding medical certification.

CDL applicants can self-certify here: and, depending on the category they are applying in, upload a current Medical Examiner s Certificate. Alternatively, applicants can submit a paper copy of the Kansas Medical Self-Certification (Form 49 CFR 391.45) . This is commonly referred to as a medical certificate or Department of Transportation (DOT) card. The Medical Examiner s Certificate section and the Medical Examination Report section must be completed by one of the following:

  • A doctor of medicine (MD).
  • Physician assistant (PA).
  • Advanced practice nurse (APN).
  • Doctor of osteopathy (DO).
  • Doctor of chiropractic (DC).

Note: The state of Kansas will not recognize medical forms that have not been filled out by a physician who has not been certified by the FMCSA. You can search for an FMCSA certified physician here.

You will then provide your local DMV with the relevant medical certificates in addition to your application for a commercial driving license.

Medical certificates are issued at the discretion of the medical examiner, in adherence with the exam instructions established by the FMCSA. For more information: Kansas Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the most common reasons why I would need to replace my registration?
Some of the most common reasons why drivers obtain duplicate vehicle registration cards include the following:

  • Voluntary replacement at any time during your registration period.
  • Lost car registration card, license plate and/or decal.
  • Stolen car registration or license plate.
  • Your registration card has been damaged to a point of illegibility and the necessary information cannot be read from it.

If any of the reasons can be applied to your specific case, visit your local Kansas DOR office and apply for a duplicate car registration or license plates.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Kansas

What are the penalties for getting a traffic ticket with a driver’s permit?
Kansas law imposes the same fines and penalties for instruction permit holders as it does for standard driving license holders. That means getting a traffic ticket while holding a learners permit, may result in a suspended license, fines and/or penalties depending on the nature and severity of the violation and the number of times you have been convicted of a traffic offence.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Kansas

What are the penalties of being convicted of driving under the influence?
For drivers aged 21 or older with BAC higher than 0.08%, the penalties for DUI/DWI conviction depend on the severity of the offense and the number of times the driver has been convicted for it.

  • First offence may result in imprisonments for 48 consecutive hours to 6 months and suspension of driving privileges for 30 days and interlock restrictions for for 330 days.
  • A second offense may result in imprisonment for 90 days to one year and suspension of driving privileges for one year and interlock restrictions for one year thereafter.
  • The third offense may result in imprisonment for 90 days- one year and suspension of driving privileges for one year and interlock restrictions for one year thereafter.

You will also be required to undergo an alcohol and drug abuse treatment program. In certain cases the Court will allow you to perform community service of remain under house arrest in the place of a prison sentence.

Bear in mind that stricter penalties apply for DUI convictions if you have a child younger than 14 years old as a passenger, if you BAC is higher than 0.15% or if you are involved in an accident or vehicular homicide as a result of driving under the influence.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Kansas

What are the reinstatement fees I will have to pay for a suspended license?
The fees to reinstate your suspended drivers license will vary depending on the circumstances of your offense. These are the Kansas DOR fees that may be directly related to your suspension:

  • $8 fee for license re-issuance
  • $12 fee for Class C license
  • $100 to $1,000 fee for failing or refusing a BAC test (depending on the number of offenses you ve had)

Contact the Kansas DMV for the exact reinstatement fees that apply to your situation.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Kansas

What are the required fees for my vehicle registration?
When registering your car at the Kansas county treasurer’s office, you will be required to pay the title application fee of $10 in addition to car registration fees. Kansas registration fees vary depending on the manufacturer’s model year or the vehicle’s total weight.

There may be additional fees depending on your county therefore we strongly recommended that you contact the Kansas county treasurer’s offices regarding specific requirements and accepted forms of payment before heading out in person.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Kansas

What are the required fees to get a replacement car title?
The current fee to obtain a car title replacement with the Kansas Division of Motor Vehicles is $10. You are also required to pay $10 for removing a lien from a paper title and $11.50 to add a lien. Payment can be made via cash, check or money order. Make sure to check with your local KS county treasurer s office concerning the accepted methods of payment before heading out in person or mailing your request for a duplicate vehicle title.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Kansas

What are the required fees to get replacement registration?
The required fees for duplicate vehicle registration vary from county to county in the state of Kansas. Hence, it would be best to confirm the exact fee required with your local country treasurer’s office before heading out. Find a Kansas country treasurer’s office near you by using our DMV locator.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Kansas

What are the required fees to renew my registration?
The Kansas registration renewal fees depend on the type of vehicle you own, the model year of the vehicle, the type of license plates and local county fees. The exact fee required when renewing car registration will be indicated in your renewal notice. Additional fees may apply, therefore, contact your local county treasurer’s office for more information on the exact fee required.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Kansas

What are the requirements to operate a three-wheel motorcycle?
Under Kansas state legislature a motorcycle is every motor vehicle designed to travel on no more than three wheels in contact with the ground. Therefore, the same requirements that apply for operating a two-wheel motorcycle are valid for three-wheel motorcycles as well. Some of these include:

  • Be at least 17 years old.
  • Have a valid Kansas drivers license.
  • Obtain a valid KS motorcycle license by passing all the required tests or completing motorcycle training classes.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Kansas

What are the suspensions eligible for a hardship license?
The state of Kansas does not allow the issuance of a hardship license that would allow a person to drive on a suspended drivers license and revoked driving license or during the length of their cancellation or disqualification period.

Nevertheless, restricted driving permits may be ordered by the court. A district or municipal court may enter an order restricting the person s driving privileges to driving only under the following circumstances:

  • In going to or returning from the person s place of employment or schooling,
  • In the course of the person s employment;
  • During a medical emergency;
  • At such times of the day and as may be specified by the order.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Kansas

What do I need to do to get my driver’s license if I fail the driving test?
If you fail the driving test, you must wait at least one business day before retaking the test. In the state of Kansas you have four chances to pass the on-road exam. After the fourth failure, you must wait a minimum of six months before retesting. Driving license applicants are strongly recommended to practice basic driving maneuvers, such as left and right turns, backing, parking, passing and more before taking or retaking the DMV drivers test.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Kansas

What documents do I need to get a learner’s permit?
  • Fill in the learners permit application form by providing your name, address and Social Security Number. If you are less than 18, a parent or legal guardian must sign the application.
  • Proof of identity, age and Kansas residency, as specified by the Department of Revenue.
  • Submit proof of completion of an approved driver education course or successful completion of tests (vision and written).

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Kansas

What documents do I need to get a motorcycle license?
You can apply for a motorcycle license at any KS DOR Office. Upon arrival you must provide the following documents:

  • Acceptable proof of identity and lawful status in the United States:
    • Birth certificate
    • Permanent resident card
    • Passport
  • Acceptable proof of Kansas residency:
    • Recent utility bill
    • Bank statement.
  • Proof of Valid Social Security Number (SSN):
    • Social Security card
    • Current W-2 Form
    • Current 1099 Form.

Note: If you do not have a social security number, you must provide proof of lawful presence in the U.S.

Applicants must also pay the applicable fees, thus it is strongly recommended that all new motorcycle operators check with their local DMV concerning the exact fees required for obtaining a motorcycle license.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Kansas

What documents do I need to get my drivers license?
When applying for a Kansas Driver’s License you must present documents that prove:

  • Identity (name and date of birth), such as birth certificate, permanent resident card, U.S. citizenship certificate;
  • Lawful Status in the United States, such as U.S. passport, foreign passport with visa, valid employment authorized card;
  • Kansas residency, such as recent utility bill, bank statement, insurance card;
  • Proof of Valid Social Security Number (SSN), such as Social Security card, current W-2 Form or current 1099 Form.

Note: If you do not have a social security number, you must provide proof of lawful presence in the U.S.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Kansas

What documents do I need to present for a replacement car title?
If your car title has been lost, stolen or damaged, you need to apply for a car title copy with the Kansas county treasurer s office. To get a duplicate car title you will need to provide the following documents:

  • Application for Secured/Duplicate/Reissue Title (Form TR-720B). When filling in the form:
    • Check the appropriate box at the top of the form, thus informing the DMV that you are applying for a car title replacement.
    • If your original title is lost or destroyed be sure to fill in the Duplicate Title Certification portion in the form.
    • If the current title is mutilated or has become illegible, attach it to the application.
    • You will also need to provide the vehicle make and vehicle identification number, vehicle year and the current odometer reading.
  • Lien Release form (TR-150) or if the title shows a lienholder. You can download the form or obtain it from the Kansas county treasurer s office.

Don t forget to provide payment of the $10 car title replacement fee. You can submit the required documentation in person at a Kansas DMV near you or send them by mail or by fax.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Kansas

What documents do I need to present for proof of residency?
When changing your address at the Kansas DMV, you will be required to present two original documents to establish Kansas residency for original applications and one document when renewing driving permits or vehicle registration renewal. These documents include, but are not limited, to the following:

  • Kansas Renewal Notice/Postcard
  • Utility Bill or equivalent electronic notice, not more than two months old
  • Mail from a financial institution (i.e. monthly bank statement)
  • Educational institution transcript forms or grade cards for current school year
  • W-2 Form, 1099 Form, or similar notice from employer, not more than 12 months old

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Kansas

What documents do I need to present if I am a non-U.S. citizen changing address?
If you are not a US citizen and you are changing your address at the KS DOR, the Kansas Division of Motor Vehicles will require you to present one or more documents that establish your lawful presence in the USA, in addition to proof of Kansas residency. These documents may include:

  • Unexpired Permanent Resident Card
  • Unexpired Employment Authorization Card
  • Unexpired Foreign Passport with required U.S. entry markings and/or documentation
  • Valid I-94 (i.e. Asylee/Refugee)
  • Refugee Travel Document

Contact your local Kansas DMV to check whether you will be required to present further documentation. To find a DMV near you, use our DMV locator.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Kansas

What documents do I need to present to get a replacement car registration?
To obtain a duplicate car registration you will need to provide a completed Title and Registration Manual Application. On the application you will be required to:

  • Indicate the nature of your request, vehicle type, and registration type.
  • Include your license plate number, decal number, and registration expiration date.
  • Provide your name and address.
  • Include the vehicle identification number (VIN) and the vehicle’s year, make, and model.

You might also be required to present proof of identity and vehicle ownership. Note that the exact steps and fees for replacing car registration vary from county to county, therefore contact a KS DMV near you and enquire about the exact fees and documentation you will be required to present when replacing vehicle registration.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Kansas

What documents do I need to present to get new registration?
When registering your vehicle at the KS county treasurer’s office, you must present:

  • Properly signed manufacturer s statement of origin (MSO).
  • A completed Title and Registration Manual Application. The new owner must sign the title application. Names connected by “and/or” or “or” will require only one owner’s signature. Names connected by “and” or with no connection between names will require all parties to sign application.
  • Odometer Disclosure Statement (Vehicles 10 years old or older and trucks registered at 20M or higher are exempt. A mileage reading will still be required.)
  • A signed-over certificate of title from the previous owner, if applicable
  • Proof of auto insurance, such as:
    • Certificate of insurance (policy)
    • Insurance card issued by an insurance company (notice of policy renewal NOT acceptable)
    • Certificate of self-insurance issued by the Insurance Commisioner
    • A commercial policy
  • Proof of car insurance must exhibit the policy’s expiration date. Originals, photocopies and facsimilies of these documents are acceptable.
  • Proof of having paid personal property taxes
  • A Motor Vehicle Examination Certificate (Form MVE-1), if the vehicle was purchased out of state or has an out-of-state title.
  • A Bill of Sale or Affidavit of Purchase Price, to show the price of the vehicle.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Kansas

What documents do I need to present to renew my car registration?
To renew your Kansas car registration, you must provide:

  • Your registration renewal notice, sent to you by the Kansas Division of Motor Vehicles notifying you of the expiration date on your vehicle registration
  • Proof of auto insurance, such as:
    • Certificate of insurance (policy).
    • Insurance card issued by an insurance company (notice of policy renewal NOT acceptable).
    • Certificate of self-insurance issued by the Insurance Commissioner.
    • A commercial policy.

Apart from renewing your vehicle registration in person, you can also renew car registration by telephone, by mail or online through the Kansas Department of Motor Vehicles Online Services website.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Kansas

What documents do I need to present to renew my drivers license?
When renewing your Kansas drivers license, you need to present the following documents:

  • Your expiring license
  • Proof of identification, such as:
    • Certified U.S. birth certificate
    • U.S. passport
    • U.S. Consular Report of Birth Abroad
  • original documents to establish Kansas residency, such as:
    • recent utility bill
    • recent W-2 form
    • Letter from social welfare institution
  • Provide your Social Security Number (SSN) or a document proving your lawful presence in the U.S., such as:
    • passport with I-94
    • I-551 Resident Alien card
    • Current 1099 Form

All presented documents must be original or certified copies, photocopies are not accepted.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Kansas

What documents do I need to transfer my car title?
When transferring car title, you will be required to make an in-person visit to your local Kansas county treasurer’s office and present the following documents:

  • The current title or Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin (MCO/MSO) if buying from a dealership.
  • For sales tax purposes, one of the following will be required:
    • If purchased from a Kansas dealer, the sales tax receipt (form ST-8).
    • If purchased from an out of state dealer, a copy of the dealer invoice showing the purchase price;
    • If purchased from an Kansas individual or business, the Affidavit of Purchase Price (form TR-11);
    • If purchased from an individual or business out of state, the Affidavit of Purchase Price (form TR-11) or Bill of Sale.
  • If there is a lien holder shown on the face of the title, a completed Lienholder’s Consent to Transfer Ownership (Form TR-128).
  • An Odometer Disclosure Statement, if the title does not include this information and the vehicle is less than ten years old.
  • Proof of car insurance, such as:
    • Certificate of insurance (policy)
    • Insurance card issued by an insurance company (notice of policy renewal NOT acceptable)
    • Certificate of self-insurance issued by the Insurance Commissioner
    • Binder of insurance
    • A commercial policy
  • Motor Vehicle Examination (Form MVE-1) if the vehicle was previously titled in another state. The inspection is administered by the Kansas Highway Patrol (KHP).
  • A completed Title and Registration Manual Application (Form TR-212a)

You must also pay all applicable car title transfer fees and vehicle registration fees.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Kansas

What documents will I need to present to replace my drivers license?
When applying for a duplicate drivers permit, you must provide the following documents:

  • Two original documents proving identity, such as:
    • Certified U.S. birth certificate
    • Unexpired United States Passport or Passport Card
    • U.S. Consular Report of Birth Abroad
    • Certificate of Naturalization
  • At least one original document proving Kansas residency, such as:
    • Utility Bill or equivalent electronic notice, not more than two months old
    • Mail from a financial institution (i.e. monthly bank statement)
    • Educational institution transcript forms or grade cards for current school year
    • W-2 Form, 1099 Form, or similar notice from employer, not more than 12 months old
  • Proof of your Social Security number, such as:
    • Social Security Card showing current full name
    • Current W-2 Form
    • Current 1099 Form

In addition, make sure bring the correct fee before heading out to your local KS DMV.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Kansas Driver’s License or ID Card

What exams do I need to pass to get a motorcycle license?
In order to obtain a KS motorcycle endorsement you are required to pass the following tests:

  • A vision test (an eye screening test) administered at the KS DMV office.
  • Written driving test. Applicants will be required to know and understand road rules and safe riding practices.
  • On-cycle driving test. This may take place in traffic environment or in a controlled, off-street area, and it is generally based on maneuvers covered in the KS Motorcycle Operator Manual. Basic vehicle control and crash-avoidance skills are included in on-motorcycle tests to determine your ability to handle normal and hazardous traffic situations, while examiners may score on factors related to safety such as selecting safe speeds to perform maneuvers and choosing the correct path and staying within boundaries, among other factors.

Note: Successfully completing a state-approved motorcycle driver education course exempts you from taking the on-bike riding skills test.

The best way to prepare for both the written and on-cycle skills test is to study the Kansas Motorcycle Operator Manual, which can be downloaded here or you can obtain a hard copy at any DOR office. The questions in the written test and maneuvers in the on-cycle exam are based on information, practices and ideas covered in the KS MOM.

In addition, taking practice tests will allow you to correctly determine your ability to successfully pass the real DMV exams as well as increase your chances of passing the tests.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Kansas

What forms must I fill out for a duplicate car title?
If your car title has been lost, stolen or damaged, you need to apply for a car title copy with the Kansas DOR. In order to get a car title copy from you will be required to fill in the Application for Secured/Duplicate/Reissue Title (Form TR-720B). When filling in the form, make sure you check the appropriate box at the top of the form, thus informing the KS DMV that you are applying for a car title replacement. You will also need to fill in information concerning the vehicle make and vehicle identification number, vehicle year and the current odometer reading in the form. If your original title is lost or destroyed be sure to fill in the Duplicate Title Certification portion in the form, however, if your current title is damaged or has become illegible, attach it to the application.

You will also need to fill out a Lien Release form (TR-150) if the title shows a lienholder. You can download the form or obtain it from the Kansas county treasurer s office.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Kansas

What happens if I don’t pay for my traffic ticket from another state?
Certain traffic violations are automatically reported to the Kansas Driver Control Division and Kansas in turn, routinely provides information regarding traffic citations and convictions to other states. Therefore, if you get a traffic ticket in another state, it will be treated as if it were received in your home state, while failure to pay an out-of-state traffic ticket in the state of Kansas may result in penalties or even a suspension on your driving license.

Even though Kansas does not have a point system for traffic offenses, it still keeps records of your traffic citations and convictions.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Kansas

What happens if I get traffic ticket fines and I have a CDL?
KS CDL holders convicted of a traffic offense must notify their employer within 30 days of receiving the ticket. Penalties and fines vary depending on the nature and severity of the traffic violation and the number of times the driver has been convicted of a traffic offence. However, please keep in mind that stricter penalties apply to commercial drivers, particularly to drivers transporting hazardous material.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Kansas

What happens to my commercial driver license if I am convicted of a DUI?
Commercial drivers are held to higher standards than regular drivers. This holds especially true when it comes to driving under influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated/impaired (DWI). In fact, in Kansas, the Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) limit is set at 0.08 percent forregular drivers, whereas the limit is set at 0.04 percent for commercial drivers. Having a Kansas driving license automatically provides your consent to be tested if stopped by a law enforcement officer while driving. If you are stopped, tested and found to have any measurable amount of alcohol in your bloodstream, you will be put out of service for the next 24 hours.

If convicted of DUI/DWI, your CDL license will be suspended or revoked. The punishment will depend on the severity of the offense and the number of times you have been convicted for it.

If you’re arrested for driving under influence, don’t hesitate to contact a DUI lawyer. These attorneys have years of experience handling DUI cases and understand the KS DUI laws, allowing them to skillfully deal with the charges against you. Their expertise can save you money and even your career.

What if the original is located after my car title replacement has been issued?
Once you have applied and obtained a duplicate Kansas vehicle title, your original title is deemed invalid. However, if the original car title does turn up, make sure to contact the Kansas DOR for further instructions that might apply to your specific case. Make sure you fill in the Duplicate Title Certification portion in the application form when requesting a car title replacement if your original title is lost or destroyed.

If your car title is stolen, it is strongly recommended that you file a report with the proper authorities to protect yourself from fraud or identity theft.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Kansas

What information does a driving record contain?
Your Kansas driving record includes personal information such as your full name, physical description and address. It also contains information about your Kansas drivers license, such as drivers license number, class, issue date, and status, as well as information about your traffic convictions, citations, and violations.

For more information: Your Kansas Driving Record

What is an ID card?
A Kansas identification card is a legal document that is mainly used by individuals who do not drive but wish to carry an identification document on their person. This is essential as this document can be used for a number of purposes, including to enter any government building or to present as identification when traveling.

For more information: How to Apply for a Kansas Identification Card

What is considered the legal alcohol limit?
What is the cost of a DUI?
For drivers aged 21 or older with BAC higher than 0.08%, the cost of DUI/DWI depends on the severity of the offense and the number of times the driver has been convicted for it. The fines for DUI/DWI in the state of Kansas are as follows:

  • First offence: $500-$1000 fine
  • Second offense: $1000 -$1500 fine
  • Third offense: $1500-$2500 fine
  • Fourth offense: $2500 fine

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Kansas

What is the cost of a traffic ticket?
Kansas traffic fines depend on the violation in question, however most of the traffic fines implemented are the same across the state. You can consult Kansas s Uniform Fine Schedule for Traffic Infractions or the Fine and Cost Schedule for Speeding Violations for the exact amount you will be required to pay.

Keep in mind that in addition to the traffic fine, you will also be required to pay court fees and DUI fines and surcharges if you are found guilty of a DUI/DWI conviction.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Kansas

What is the cost to get a driver record?
The fees to obtain a copy of your or someone else Kansas driving record are as follows:

  • Limited drivers license record: $8.70.
  • Non-certified driving record: $10.
  • Certified driving record: $15.

You can pay by cash, check or money order made out to “Driver Solutions”, depending on the manner in which you request a copy of your drivers record. However, make sure to check with your local Kansas DMV to find out which methods of payment are accepted.

For more information: Your Kansas Driving Record

What is the DUI penalty for a CDL driver?
The Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) limit for commercial drivers in Kansas is 0.04%. If pulled over with BAC higher than the prescribed limit you might face a suspension on your CDL for one year and an “out-of-service” order valid for 24 hours in addition to other penalties and fines. Furthermore, you will be barred from driving a commercial vehicle for life if you are convicted of DUI/DWI for the second time.

KS commercial driver license holders convicted of DUI must notify their employer within 30 days of receiving the citation or by the end of the next business day if they receive a disqualification notice.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Kansas

What is the DUI penalty for a minor?
Minors caught with BAC 0.2% will not face any penalties or fines. However, being pulled over while driving under the influence will result in drivers permit suspension for at least 30 days for a first offense. The Court might also order the placement of an Ignition Interlock Device for a minimum of 330 days. The suspension period will be extended for a second or subsequent offences.

Other penalties might apply for higher BAC levels, such as reinstatement fees as high as $800 and interlock restrictions for up to 10 years.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Kansas

What is the minimum liability insurance coverage?
The listed minimum coverage in Kansas is as follows:

  • Liability coverage
    • $25,000 per person for bodily injury
    • $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
    • $10,000 per accident for property damage
  • Personal injury protection (PIP or No Fault)
    • $4,500 per person for medical expenses
    • $900 per month for one year for disability/loss of income
    • $25 per day for in-home services
    • $2,000 for funeral, burial or cremation expense
    • $4,500 for rehabilitation expense
  • Uninsured/Underinsured
    • $25,000 per person
    • $50,000 per accident

For more information: How To: Save on Kansas Auto Insurance

What is the passing score for a written test?
To pass the written knowledge test in the state of Kansas you must correctly answer 20 out of 25 questions. To prepare, you are encouraged to review the official Kansas Driver s Manual, focusing on specific sections, such as road signs, traffic lights and turning rules. In addition, test your new driving knowledge by taking a practice test beforehand.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Kansas

What is the process to get a title for a scooter or motorcycle?
The state of Kansas defines a motorized bicycle as every device that:

  • Has two tandem wheels or three wheels,
  • May be propelled by either human power or helper motor,
  • Has motor with no more than 3.5 brake horsepower,
  • Has cylinder capacity of no more than 130 cubic centimeters;
  • Has automatic transmission,
  • Has maximum speed of no more than 30 miles per hour.

If the vehicle exceeds any of the number values or has a manual transmission, it will be considered a motorcycle and will be titled and registered as such.

Obtaining a title for a motorcycle is the same as getting car title and requires you to follow the same procedure. However, keep in mind that motorized bicycles or scooters are not motor vehicles by statute (law), therefore an MVE-1 Form is not required nor is proof of insurance.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Kansas

What languages is the written test available in?
Although license practice tests might be available in languages other than English, the road sign portion of the Kansas written exam will still be in English. As signs on the road are written in English, at least basic knowledge of the English language is required of all drivers. In preparation for the drivers license test, study the KS Drivers Manual, consider participating in a drivers education course or enlisting the aid of an interpreter in your language.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Kansas

What must I do to reinstate my driver’s license as a result of a DUI/DWI?
If your suspended drivers license was caused by an alcohol-related offense, you will need to apply for a reinstated license only after your suspension period is over. You will receive a notification from the Kansas DMV with instruction on how to reinstate suspended drivers license. Typically you will be required to:

  • Visit your a Kansas DOR near you.
  • Submit any required suspension documents.
  • Prove that you have successfully completed the alcohol and drug abuse treatment program or a comparable program.
  • Maintain proof of financial responsibility (SR-22 insurance).
  • Retake the DMV driving and written test, if necessary.
  • Pay the applicable reinstatement fees.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Kansas

What penalties will I face if I do not change my address with the DMV?
Any drivers who move to the state of Kansas or has recently moved to a new residence is required to make an official address change with the KS DOR within 10 days of moving. Failure to do so may result in select fees and/or fines. In addition, if you do not report an official address change to the KS DMV, you will not be able to receive your renewal notice, because your on-file address will not be accurate.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Kansas

What penalties will I face if I do not renew my expired drivers license?
Failure to renew your driving permit after the expiration date, will result in a penalty of $1 being imposed thereafter. Furthermore, you might be issued a traffic ticket if a law enforcement officer pulls you over while driving on an expired drivers license.

Note that even if you do not receive a renewal notice by mail, it is your responsibility to check the status of your Kansas driving license. You can do so at Your Kansas Driving Record.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Kansas

What proof of insurance can I provide when registering my car?
Acceptable documents that serve as proof of financial responsibility when registering your vehicle with the Kansas DMV include, but are not limited, to the following:

  • Certificate of insurance (policy)
  • Insurance card issued by an insurance company (notice of policy renewal NOT acceptable)
  • Certificate of self-insurance issued by the Insurance Commissioner (only for motorcycles)
  • A commercial policy

The proof of auto insurance presented must exhibit the policy’s expiration date. Originals and photocopies of these documents are acceptable.

For more information: How To: Save on Kansas Auto Insurance

What should I do if I have not received my registration tags or stickers?
Driving with an invalid vehicle registration is considered a traffic violation in the state of Kansas, therefore you must make sure that your tags and renewal stickers are present in your vehicle and legible at all times. If you have not received your registration tags or stickers within 10 days from applying for a renewal on your vehicle registration, contact the Kansas Division of Motor Vehicles. Find a KS DOR near you by using our DMV locator.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Kansas

What should I do if I have not received my renewed license?
If you have not received your renewed driving license, you should contact the Kansas Division of Motor Vehicles. You can do by calling their toll-free number (785) 296-3963 and checking the status of your KS drivers license renewal application.

If you prefer, you could also visit the KS DMV in person. To find a DMV near you, use our DMV locator.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Kansas

What test do I need to take for my learners permit?
In order to obtain a learners permit you must pass:

  • A vision test (an eye screening test) administered at the Driver License Center. You must be able to pass the test with a minimum of 20/40 vision in at least one eye.
  • A written knowledge test.The written drivers exam contains a series of multiple choice questions related to traffic laws and road rules in Kansas. Driving permit applicants are strongly recommended to study the Kansas Drivers Manual or Kansas Driver s License Handbook. You can download a copy of the Driver’s Manual at the Kansas Department of Revenue s website or obtain a hard copy at your local Driver License Exam Station. You are also encouraged to use practice tests before heading in to take the test.
  • The drivingtest.

You must have an instruction permit for at least six months before you can schedule a driving test.

If you fail either the written or driving test, you can take them again the next business day. After failing either test four times, you will have to wait at least six months before trying again.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Kansas

What tests do I have to take to obtain a CDL?
To get your Kansas commercial driving license you must pass the following tests:

  • Vision All commercial driver license applicants will have their vision screened at the Driver Licensing Station, or present a Driver Licensing eye examination form completed in the last 90 days by a licensed Ophthalmologist or Optometrist. When this form is returned to the Kansas DOR, the Driver Licensing may issue the driving license or require further testing, depending on the results of the exam. Vision must be at least 20/40 in one eye.
  • Written Driving Test You are required to take more than one knowledge test if you wish to have more endorsements on your license. The basic written CDL test covers a multitude of topics dealing with general truck driving safety and proper cargo transportation. Endorsement tests, on the other hand, deal with more specific information related to the type of endorsement. You will also be required to pass a written test about air brakes, if the vehicle you plan to drive is equipped with them.
  • Skills tests If you pass the required knowledge test(s), you can take the CDL skills tests. There are three types of general skills that will be tested: pre-trip inspection, basic vehicle control, and on-road driving.

Pre-trip inspection: You will be tested to see if you know whether your vehicle is safe to drive. You will be asked to do a pre-trip inspection of your vehicle and explain to the examiner what you would inspect and why. This is a very extensive exam as it covers all systems and/or components of the CMV.

Basic operating skills test: You will be tested on your skill to control the vehicle. In this portion of your driving test, you will be asked to perform the basic maneuvering skills which include: driving forward, stopping, parallel parking and so on. When performing these basic operating skills, you must be inside the vehicle at all times.

The on-road test: You will be tested on your skill to safely drive your vehicle in a variety of traffic situations. In this section, you will go over a predetermined route so that the examiner might test your driving performance in different traffic situations.

The Kansas Commercial Driver License Manual is the most important resource you will need to prepare for the DMV exams. You can download the CDL Manual online or get a hard copy at a DOR near you. In addition, it is always a good idea to take a few practice tests as this will give you a sense of how prepared you are before taking the actual DMV test. Furthermore, to ensure that you successfully complete the on-road section of the exam, we strongly recommend taking CDL training classes through a CDL driver training school.

Note: You must take these tests in the type of vehicle for which you wish to be licensed-for example, if you wish to obtain a Class A CDL, you must test in a Class A vehicle. Also, you must pass each section of testing in order to move on to the next section. For instance, if you fail your pre-trip inspection, you will not be allowed to continue with next two sections.

Depending on what you intend to haul, there are different exams you must take for certain types of CDL endorsements.

The following tests correspond to the various types of endorsements:

CDL T endorsement Double/Triple Trailers (knowledge test only)

CDL P endorsement Passenger (knowledge and skills tests)

CDL N endorsement Tank Vehicle (knowledge test only)

CDL H endorsement Hazardous Materials (knowledge test only)

CDL S endorsement School Buses (knowledge and skills tests)

For more information: Kansas Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What tests will I need to take for my drivers license?
To obtain a new drivers license in the state of Kansas you must pass three tests:

  • Vision All driver license applicants will have their vision screened at the Driver Licensing Station, or present a Driver Licensing eye examination form (vision form visit www.ksrevenue.org/pdf/visform.pdf to download the form) completed in the last 90 days by a licensed Ophthalmologist or Optometrist. When this form is returned to the Kansas DOR, the Driver Licensing may issue the driving license or require further testing, depending on the results of the exam.
  • Written– The main purpose of the written knowledge test is to make sure drivers have the information needed to drive safely. The written drivers test consists of 25 multiple choice questions on Kansas traffic laws and road signs. You will be required to answer questions about traffic regulations and identify certain signs by their shape, color, or the symbol appearing on them. Driving permit applicants are strongly recommended to review the Kansas Driver s Handbook as all the questions included in the examination are based on information provided in that manual.
  • Driving The on-road driving exam will test your ability to safely handle a motor vehicle on public roads. During the test, the examiner will be scoring you on specific driving maneuvers as well as on your general driving behavior. In order to successfully complete the driving test, practice driving in low traveled, residential areas with a licensed adult. In addition, all new drivers are encouraged to take driver s education classes so as to feel confident when driving in a variety of traffic situations. Furthermore, you will need to provide your own vehicle for the examination and show proof of auto insurance.

All the examinations (eye, written and on-road) can be taken at any Full Service Driver License Center. If you fail the written or driving test, you can retake them the next day. However, if you fail one or both of the exams four times, you will have to wait for at least six months before trying again.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Kansas

What type of car insurance am I required to have?
In Kansas you are required to have the following types of auto insurance:

  • Bodily Injury Liability, which pays for bodily injury to others for which you become legally responsible due to an auto accident in which you were involved;
  • Property Damage Liability, which protects you for damage you may cause to the vehicles or property of others;
  • Personal Injury Protection, which helps pay for your injuries after an accident regardless of fault;
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Protection, which helps pay for your injuries if you are hurt in an accident with an uninsured driver.

Kansas insurance companies also offer various types of additional coverage, such as:

  • Collision;
  • Comprehensive;
  • Towing and labor.

These types of insurance are not mandatory in Kansas, however, they may be required when applying for a car loan or entering a lease agreement.

For more information: How To: Save on Kansas Auto Insurance

What type of noncommercial license will I need?
To get a Non-commercial drivers license you can apply for a Class A, B, C or M. The following age requirements and additional restrictions apply to each type of Non-commercial driving licenses:

Non-Commercial Class A or B: 18 years of age or older

Non-Commercial Class C: 17 years of age or older

Non-Commercial Class C (Restricted): 15 years of age, completed drivers training school, completed (25 of the) 50 hours of practice driving while accompanied by an adult, 21 years of age or older, 10 of those 50 at night.

Non-Commercial Class C or M: 16 years of age, completed 50 hours of (Less Restricted Privileges): practice driving while accompanied by an adult, 21 years of age or older; 10 of those at night

Non-Commercial Class C (Farm Permit): 14 or 15 years of age

Non-Commercial Class C (Less Restricted Farm Permit): 16 years of age, completed 50 hours of practice driving while accompanied by an adult, 21 years of age or older; 10 of those at night.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Kansas

What will happen if I fail to get or keep car insurance?
Driving without insurance in Kansas may result in your car registration or drivers license suspension. To restore your driving privileges, you will have to pay high fees and file a SR22 insurance with the KS DMV for three years. Also, reinstating a suspended driving license or car registration for failure to get car insurance may require you to pay higher reinstatement fees.

For more information: How To: Save on Kansas Auto Insurance

When can I reinstate my license after it has been suspended?
You can reinstate your Kansas suspended drivers license as soon as your suspension is over. Note that reinstatement requirements will vary depending on the reason for your drivers license suspension.

You will receive a notice from the KS DMV after you have completed your suspension period. The notice will include complete instructions regarding how reinstate your driving license.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Kansas

When does my car registration expire?
Kansas vehicle registrations are valid for one year after which all drivers must renew their car registration. The Kansas renewal cycle depends on the first letter of the registered owner s last name. However, the Kansas DMV will notify you by mail several weeks before your registration expires. The KS Department of Revenue allows you to renew vehicle registration by telephone, by mail, in person or online.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Kansas

When does my ID card expire?
Your KS ID is valid for six years, and expires on your birthday six years after it was issued. You will receive a renewal notice at least 30 days before the expiration date. To renew your KS ID card you must visit your local KS DOR office in person. You cannot renew your ID card online or by mail. Also, keep in mind that if you do not renew your KS ID card within 90 days after its expiration date, you will need to apply for a new card.

For more information: How to Apply for a Kansas Identification Card

When must I change my address with the DMV?
If you have moved to a new residence, you must notify the Kansas Driver License Division of change of address within ten days of moving so you can update your information on your driving license and identification card. You can report your change of address at your local KS DMV online, in person or by mail. If you are a commercial drivers license holder, you must apply in person. Make sure that you have all the required documents before reporting your change of address at the DMV.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Kansas

When should I complete a Bill of Sale?
The Bill of Sale shows the purchase price of the vehicle, the names of the seller and buyer as well as other vehicle information and terms concerning the sale.

The Kansas DMV uses the Affidavit of Purchase Price when transferring car title of a vehicle purchased from an individual or business out of state. You will also need to provide a Bill of Sale in addition to the current car title if the title does not have space for the purchase price.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Kansas

When will I need to renew my license?
Your Kansas driving license generally expired on your birthday. If you are under 21 years of age, your drivers permit will expire on your 21st birthday. If you are older than 21 but younger than 65, your KS drivers license is valid for six years, whereas if you are 65 or older, you driving license is valid for four years. The Kansas Department of Motor Vehicles will send a renewal notice by mail at least 30 days before your current KS drivers license expires. It is strongly recommended that you all Kansas drivers renew their driving permits before the expiration date as failure to do so may result in fines and/or penalties. You can renew your license any time two years prior to its expiration.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Kansas

When will I receive a replacement license after applying?
You will obtain a KS duplicate driving license after you have visited a DOR location and provided all the necessary documentation. Contact the Kansas Division of Motor Vehicles for information on when you will be able to receive your drivers license replacement. You can do so by calling the toll-free number (785) 296-3963 or visiting a local DOR office in person. Find a KS DOR location near you by using our DMV locator. If you are currently out of state and have applied for a duplicate drivers license, it will be mailed to the address you give on the appropriate application form. Delivery time will vary depending on your location.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Kansas Driver’s License or ID Card

Where can I check to see if my license is suspended?
The Kansas DMV maintains a record of your driving history. Your Kansas DOR driving record contains information about your traffic violations and convictions, traffic accidents and suspension, revocation, or cancellation of your drivers license.

You can check the status of your driving record and get a copy by going to any Driver License Exam Station in Kansas. You will need to show your current driving license for identification and make a $10 payment. You can also send a written request with your full name, driver’s license number, date of birth and current address along with your $10 payment to:

Driver Solutions Bureau,

P.O. Box 12021,

Topeka,

In addition, you now have access to view and securely pay for your driving record online at 24 hours a day, seven days a week. The fee for purchasing a driving record online is $8.70.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Kansas

Where can I find a local tax county collector office?
Kansas residents who need to replace car registration cards or license plates, or have any queries concerning Titles and Registration, can make an in-person visit to their local country treasure s office. Locate a DMV near you by using our DMV locator.

You can also call the toll-free number (785) 296-3621 for Titles and Registration from 8:00 am to 4:00 pm, Monday through Friday.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Kansas

Where can I find more information about an ignition interlock device?
If you receive a DUI conviction in the state of Kansas, the court may order an ignition interlock device to be placed on any vehicle you drive. This device requires you to pass a BAC test before you start to drive your car. Ignition Interlock Devices can only be installed and maintained by an approved vendor. For a list of state-approved interlock manufacturers and installers check the website of the Kansas Department of Revenue. Note that if your vehicle has an installed ignition interlock device, the state of Kansas allows you to use your employer s car, but only during business hours.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Kansas

Where can I find my traffic or parking ticket information online?
The State of Kansas does not have an online traffic ticket search system in place, therefore you cannot find traffic violation information online. However, if you have queries about the ticket in question or the deadline by which you need to pay the traffic fine, contact the Kansas Court where your ticket is answerable. There are two types of courts in the state of Kansas that handle traffic violations: Municipal Courts (for city-level traffic violations) and District Courts (for county and state-level traffic tickets). If you are not sure which KS Court you need to contact, check with your local KS DMV.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Kansas

Where can I get a new drivers license?
You can get a new drivers license at any Drivers License Exam Station in Kansas after you have successfully completed the required exams. 104 out of 105 counties in Kansas offer some sort of driving license service. However, keep in mind that different Exam Stations offer different services and have different timings. Make sure you check the hours and services offered at your preferential station before visiting the site in person.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Kansas

Where can I mail my request for a replacement title?
If your car title is lost, stolen or damaged, you must apply for a duplicate car title. Your request for a car title copy needs to be sent to the Kansas Department of Revenue at the following address:

Kansas Department of Revenue

Division of Vehicles

915 SW Harrison, Room 159

Topeka, Kansas 66626-0001

Don t forget to also send a completed Application for Secured/Duplicate/Reissue Title (Form TR-720B) and payment of the $10 duplicate car title fee. Payment can be made via cash, check or money order. Make sure to check with your local KS county treasurer s office concerning the accepted methods of payment before mailing your request for a car title replacement.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Kansas

Where can I obtain an ID card?
You can apply for a Kansas identification card at any age as long as you are a resident of the state of Kansas and do not have a valid ID card, drivers license or learners permit from the State or any other jurisdiction. To get a KS ID you must visit a KS DOR office in person. You cannot obtain an ID card online or by mail. Keep in mind that if you are 16 years old or younger, a parent or legal guardian will need to be with you and sign the application form.

For more information: How to Apply for a Kansas Identification Card

Which types of vehicles need to be insured?
All vehicles operated in Kansas must have the four types of liability coverage required by state laws. These include:

  • Bodily Injury Liability
  • Property Damage Liability
  • Personal Injury Protection
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Protection

Please note that Personal Injury Protection is not mandatory for KS motorcycle license holders. Furthermore, Kansas allows motorcyclists to opt for self-insurance and present a Certificate of Self-Insurance as proof of financial responsibility.

If you are not certain if you vehicle falls under the category of motorcycles, check with the Kansas DMV.

For more information: How To: Save on Kansas Auto Insurance

Who can sign for my permit or license if I am under 18?
The driving permit is issued by the Driver’s License Examining Bureau. All applicants under 18 years of age must have their application signed by ab parent and/or legal guardian.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Kansas

Why doesn’t a recent traffic ticket I received appear on my driving record?
Your DMV record may not always contain the most recent information concerning a KS traffic ticket you have received. If you need to address the traffic citation immediately, contact your local Kansas DOR. Find a KS DMV near you by using our DMV locator.

For more information: Your Kansas Driving Record

Will I be required to take a vision test for a drivers license renewal?
Yes, upon arriving at your drivers license renewal appointment you will be required to take a vision exam. Alternatively, you can present a Vision Report completed by a licensed optometrist or ophthalmologist administered within the last 90 days. The state of Kansas requires vision to be at least 20/40 in one eye when screened at the Driver s License Exam Station. If corrective lenses are required to meet this standard then a restriction will be placed on the drivers license and the driver will be required to wear corrective lenses when driving.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Kansas

Will I get a drivers license renewal notice in the mail?
Yes, the Kansas Division of Motor Vehicles will send a renewal notice at least 30 days before your drivers license expires. However, you can renew your license any time two years prior to its expiration. Keep in mind that even if you do not receive a renewal notice by mail, it is still your responsibility to check the status of your Kansas driving license and renew it before it expires. Also make sure that you have all the necessary documents and applicable fees before filing your drivers license renewal application.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Kansas

Will I have points against my driver’s license if I get a ticket?
Kansas does not have a point system to track traffic violations and corresponding fines. However, the lack of a point system does not mean that the state doesn t issue traffic citations and record traffic offenses. In fact, having three violations or more within one year on your driving record will result in a suspended driving license.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Kansas

Will I have to take an alcohol awareness class to reinstate my driver’s license?
Yes, if convicted of DUI/DWI, undergoing a state-approved alcohol and drug abuse treatment program is mandatory. Furthermore, completing the program will be at your own expense. You must provide proof of having successfully completed an alcohol awareness program when applying for a reinstatement of your driving privileges. Usually, the state-approved agency will send the proof of successful completion to the DMV, however, you should double-check, just in case.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Kansas

Will I need to fill out an application to replace my car registration?
Yes, you are required to fill out the Title and Registration Manual Application (TR-212a). On the application you will be required to:

  • Indicate the nature of your request, vehicle type, and registration type.
  • Include your license plate number, decal number, and registration expiration date.
  • Provide your name and address.
  • Include the vehicle identification number (VIN) and the vehicle’s year, make, and model.

Submit the completed form when you apply for a duplicate car registration at your local Kansas DOR office.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Kansas

Will I need to present proof of insurance to get a car title replacement?
No, Kansas law does not require you to provide proof of car insurance when requesting a duplicate car title. The Kansas DMV only asks for proof of insurance when you are registering your vehicle. However, just to be on the safe side, bring proof of financial responsibility with you when you head out to a Kansas DMV near you. You can also check with your local DMV regarding other requirements before making an in-person visit.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Kansas

Will I receive a renewal registration notice in the mail?
Yes, the Kansas Division of Motor Vehicles will send you a renewal registration notice in the mail several weeks before your vehicle registration expires. The renewal registration notice contains the fee you need to pay to renew vehicle registration, information regarding the vehicle and any outstanding issues, such as unpaid taxes, that need to be settled before your renew car registration.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Kansas

Will my registration expire on my birthday or birth month?
The Kansas vehicle registration is valid for one year, however, unlike in other states, it does not expire on your birthday or birth month. The KS license plate renewal cycle is based on the first letter of the registered vehicle owner’s last name. The cycles are as follows:

  • A | Last day to renew – February 28th
  • B | Last day to renew – March 31st
  • C, D | Last day to renew – April 30th
  • E, F, G | Last day to renew – May 31st
  • H, I | Last day to renew – June 30th
  • J, K, L | Last day to renew – July 31st
  • M, N, O | Last day to renew – August 31st
  • P, Q, R | Last day to renew – September 30th
  • S | Last day to renew – October 31st
  • T, V, W | Last day to renew – November 30th
  • U, X, Y, Z | Last day to renew – December 31st

Your vehicle s registration must be renewed by the last day of your renewal cycle. In addition, you will receive a registration renewal notice several weeks prior to the expiration date on your current Kansas car registration.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Kansas