Mississippi Frequently Asked Questions

Am I required to take a motorcycle training course?
No, you are not required to take a motorcycle drivers ed course. Nonetheless, you are encouraged to enroll in motorcycle training school if you have little or no experience driving a motorcycle. If you would like to take a safety course when getting a motorcycle license, you can do so through the Motorcycle Safety Foundation, which offers programs throughout the country.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Mississippi

Am I required to wear a helmet while riding a motorcycle?
Yes, in the state of Mississippi, you must wear a helmet at all times when operating a motorcycle. Both the driver and passenger must use a helmet. Since head injury is the leading cause of death in motorcycle accidents, this law was enacted to provide added protection and safety for all motorcycle riders on the road.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Mississippi

Are there times I won’t be allowed to renew registration?
Yes, there are certain situations in which you will not be able to renew car registration. These incidents must first be taken care of before you can visit your local tax county collector s office for renewal purposes. Situations that will prevent you from renewing your vehicle registration include but are not limited to the following:

  • You have a warrant out for your arrest.
  • You do not have MS car insurance.
  • You have unpaid traffic tickets or taxes.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Mississippi

Can I have different addresses on my driver license and my vehicle registration?
All your DMV records should contain the same, correct address. You can update the information on your driver s license by simply visiting your local Department of Public Safety branch. For your car registration, you will need to make your way to a tax county collector s office. Your drivers license and current car registration documentation should be on your person.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Mississippi

Can I keep the car insurance I have from my previous state of residence?
No, if you are a new resident to Mississippi, you must have Mississippicar insurance. The minimum coverage in MS is as follows:

  • $25,000 for property damage
  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury
  • $50,000 per more than one person for bodily injury

If you are involved in a car accident that you have caused, you must also show proof of your ability to pay for any damages within 60 days. Property damage that exceeds $1,000 must be reported.

For more information: Mississippi Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Can I renew my commercial drivers license online?
The Mississippi Department of Public Safety does not allow commercial drivers to renew their license online. You must make a visit to a DMV branch in your area to complete your drivers license renewal process. You will need to have all proper documentation and payment ready for any applicable fees.

Can I request a certified driver’s record online?
No, Mississippi only allows drivers to get a copy of their certified driving record online or in person. If you are requesting your driving record in person, be ready to do the following:

An online request will require you to enter a credit card number to complete the transaction. A Mastercard, Discover, American Express or Visa is accepted.

For more information: Your Mississippi Driving Record

Can I take the DMV written test online?
No, the Mississippi Department of Public Safety requireslearning permitapplicants to complete the written knowledge exam in person at a local office. You will be tested on topics such as road rules, traffic laws and safe driving in the state. This exam is a required portion of the application process when you are getting a learner s permit. Before you can advance to an intermediate license, you must first obtain a learners permit. You can start applying as young as 14.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Mississippi

Can I use my state CDL anywhere in the United States?
If you have obtained anMS commercial driving license for interstate commerce purposes, you are authorized to use your license across the country. However, you must adhere to the road rules and regulations of the states you are driving through. To apply for a CDL license and self-certify as interstate commerce, you must be at least 21 years old. Find a DPS branch near you to begin the process of getting a CDL license.

For more information: Mississippi Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Can somebody else renew my registration for me?
No, only the owner(s) can renew car registration. The state of MS provides two options for car renewal: renew car registration onlineor in person. If you are unable to visit your local tax county collector s office, depending on your county, you may also complete the renewal process online. If renewing online, you may need to have a debit card or credit card at hand for proper payment. You will also be charged an additional convenience fee for the online transaction.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Mississippi

Do boats need to be registered?
In Mississippi, boat registration is handled through the MS Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks. In order to register your boat, you will be required to fill out an application that asks you to enter information such as whether or not you intend to saltwater fish, and your legal status in the country. Boats that do not have a hull identification or serial number will need to be inspected prior to registration.

Your completed application, along with proper payment, can be sent to the address below:

Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks Boat Regisration Division 1505 Eastover Drive Jackson, MS 39211-6374

Learn more by contacting the MDWFP at 601-432-2400.

For more information: How to Register a Boat or Water Craft in Mississippi

Do I need a motorcycle license to ride a scooter or moped?
In Mississippi, if you have a motor-driven cycle, then you must apply for a motorcycle endorsement.Part of your requirements will entail passing a written drivers test, as well as an on-road skills test. To get started with the process, visit a nearby Department of Public Safety branch and bring all required documents with you. In person, you will be asked to fill out a 17 or older application and have payment ready for any necessary fees.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Mississippi

Do I need to attend traffic school if I get a speeding ticket?
The state of Mississippi may allow eligible drivers to attend traffic school to have their ticket dismissed. If you are considered qualified, either the court or MS Department of Public Safety will notify you. You will need to complete the class in the allotted time given to you and submit payment to attend. For more information, contact the MS Department of Public Safety or the county clerk s office that has your ticket details.

For more information: Traffic/Driving Schools in Mississippi

Do I need to cancel my insurance if I am moving to another state?
You are required to apply for car insurancein the state where you reside. If you are moving outside of Mississippi, you need to contact the Department of Motor Vehicles in your new location to find out about their insurance requirements. Although you will be required to get the minimum coverage, you want to also consider getting other types of insurance for full coverage.

For more information: Mississippi Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

Do I need to file a police report if my license was lost or stolen?
If you have a lost drivers license or a stolen drivers license, visit your nearest police station to file a report. A police report will help avoid any fraudulent use or activity on your Mississippi drivers license. After visiting the station and speaking to a law enforcement agent, make sure to take a copy of the police report to your local Department of Public Safety branch. Find an office in your area by clicking this link.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Mississippi Driver’s License or ID Card

Do I need to file a police report if my registration was lost or stolen?
Yes, if you have a lost car registration or a stolen car registration, you should file a report at your earliest convenience. Before making your way to a local police station, stop by a tax county collector s office to pick up Form 76-908. A law enforcement agent is the proper authority you will need to ask to fill out this form. After it has been completed, return the form, along with a copy of your police report, to the tax county collector s office.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Mississippi

Do I need to return my license plate if I move out of the state?
Mississippi does not make it mandatory to surrender your license plate if you are leaving the state. However, in order to prevent any fraudulent use, dispose of them at your earliest convenience after you have settled into your new location. Contact the DMV of the state you are moving to for information about their proper car registration and titling procedure. You will also need to obtain vehicle insurance in the process, and inquire about the minimum insurance coverage of your new state.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Mississippi

Do I need to take a drivers ed course?
If you are 14 and applying for a limited learners permit, you are required to show proof that you are enrolled in a driversed course. This course must be from the school you are currently attending. To find out more, contact the Mississippi Department of Revenue, the Motor Vehicle Licensing Bureau at 601-923-7100. You can also visit a DPS office in your area and speak to a DMV agent.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Mississippi

Do I need to turn in my damaged car title?
To avoid any fraudulent use, turn in your damaged car title to a Tax Collector who will dispose of it in a safe manner. While at a local tax county collector s office, you can also take advantage andget anMS car title copy. Simply present your Mississippi drivers license, have payment ready and fill out the Application for Replacement Certificate of Title. Once your application has been processed, you will receive your car title replacement within 10 to 14 days.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Mississippi

Do I need to turn in my damaged registration?
If you have a mutilated or damaged car registration in your possession, you will need to turn it in to your nearest tax county collector s office. A Tax Collector will be able to dispose of your registration in a proper manner. You can also replace car registration during the time of your visit, as long as you have your Mississippi drivers license with you and payment for any fees.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Mississippi

Does a motorized scooter need to be registered?
If you intend to drive your motorized scooter on the road, a proper MS DMV car registration will be required. Visit a nearby tax county collector s office and speak to a representative for further assistance. Aside from certain documentation, you will also need to have payment ready for registration fees. New registration costs are $14, however, this amount is subject to change without notice.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Mississippi

Does my vehicle qualify for a smog inspection?
The state of Mississippi does not have a law in place that requires smog inspection or emissions testing prior to registering vehicle. However, aside from obtaining registration, you are required to insure your vehicle. MS has minimum insurance coverage that you must abide by in order to avoid any penalties. It is your responsibility to have your vehicle registered, titled and insured if you reside in Mississippi. You can learn more by contacting the MS Department of Public Safety in person or by phone.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Mississippi

How can I avoid a license suspension if I choose not to insure my vehicle?
Car insurance is mandatory in the state of Mississippi for drivers. If you do not get the minimum insurance coverage, your MS drivers licensewill face serious consequences. There is no other option available to Mississippi vehicle drivers. Some states do allow vehicle owners to pay a one-time fee which allows to now have a typical car insurance policy, yet in Mississippi, it is a requirement for all.

For more information: Mississippi Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

How can I get a veteran designation on my ID card?
If you are an eligible veteran, you can request to have this specific designation when filling out an ID card application.To qualify, present a certified copy of your discharge document from the MS Veterans Board at your local DPS office. You will need to bring this documentation in person, along with your current identification card (if applicable).

For more information: How to Apply for a Mississippi Identification Card

How can I obtain a copy of the driver manual?
The Mississippi Department of Public Safety has a comprehensive driver s manual in place to assist those interested in becoming a licensed driver of the state. Various topics and subject matters are covered in the manual, including but not limited to:

  • Safe Driving Practices
  • Your Drivers License
  • Commercial Drivers
  • Out-Of-State Drivers
  • Rules Of The Road
  • Driving Tips
  • Safe Cycling Tips

You can obtain a copy of the Mississippi Driver s Manual here.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Mississippi

How can I pay for my traffic or parking ticket?
Depending on what county issued your citation, you may have the option to pay traffic ticketsin any of the methods listed below:

  • Online
  • In Person
  • By Mail

For further instructions, review the information on your ticket to find out about the options available to you. Counties such as Pike and Gulfport may allow you to pay traffic tickets online. Payment for online transactions must be made with a credit card or debit card.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Mississippi

How can I renew my drivers license?
In Mississippi, you have the option to renew drivers license online and in person. Certain instances (military personnel, for example) may also allow you to complete license renewal by mail.

To renew online, you must have a credit card on hand. Every online transaction comes with an additional convenience fee. You will be unable to renew through the MS DPS website if you recently changed your physical address. If you are not residing at the address listed on your license, you must then visit your local DPS office for renewal.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Mississippi

How can I renew my vehicle registration?
In Mississippi, you can renew car registration online (in some counties), in person or by mail. To renew in person, you will need to visit a MS Department of Revenue office.

Several counties allow for online renewal, such as these:

  • Alcorn
  • Attala
  • Desoto
  • Hancock
  • Jackson
  • Madison
  • Pearl River
  • Warren

The aforementioned make it easy to complete the renewal process through the MS1 Stop website.

For the counties listed below, you will need to visit their individual websites:

  • Adams
  • Claiborne
  • Forrest
  • Grenada
  • Harrison
  • Hinds
  • Itawamba
  • Lafayette
  • Laderdale
  • Leake
  • Lee
  • Neshoba
  • Oktibbeha
  • Pike
  • Rankin
  • Scott

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Mississippi

How can I transfer a car title if I have a lien on it?
When buying or selling a vehicle, you must verify there is no lien holder, or that the lien holder has signed off on the car title. If there is a lien on your vehicle title, the Mississippi DOR will hold on to your title application until it receives the out-of-state car title from the lien holder or until you provide a Lien Release Form to the MS DPS.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Mississippi

How can I transfer my registration to another state?
Moving to a different state will require you to adhere to the DMV rules and regulations of your new location. Contact the appropriate office ahead of time to find out about the types of documentation and paperwork you need to present for transferring your vehicle registration. At the very least, you may be asked to show these items below:

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Mississippi

How do I apply for a commercial drivers license?
If you re wondering how to get a CDL license, you will need to bring the following to your local DPS branch:

  • A completed driver s license application
  • Your current driver s license
  • Your Social Security Card
  • Self-Certification stating your type of CDL operation
  • Proof of MS residency
  • CDL Medical Card
  • Payment for any applicable fees

To obtain a CDL license, you must pass both a written drivers test and a road skills test. If you would like to obtain a license with a HAZMAT endorsement, further testing is required.

For more information: Mississippi Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How do I apply for a disabled person parking placard or plates?
If you are interested in getting a disabled tag or placard for your vehicle, you will need to make your request at a tax county collector s office. While there, you will be asked to present a Mississippi Disabled Parking Application. A portion of this form must be filled out by a licensed physician, who can certify the type of disability or condition you have. In order for the handicap placardapplication to be considered valid, a signature of your physician or nurse practitioner will be required at the bottom of the form.

For more information: Information for Disabled Drivers in Mississippi

How do I apply for a drivers license?
If you want to apply for a MS drivers license, there are a few steps you will need to adhere to before the DPS issues you a regular operator license. Make plans to visit your nearest DMV and be ready for the following:

  • Submit proper application
  • Present a Social Security card
  • Pass a written test and road skills test (if applicable)
  • Present a Certificate of Attendance from your school if you are under 18
  • Present your state-certified Birth Certificate
  • Present two proofs of MS residency

Out-of-state drivers who are moving to Mississippi may have the written knowledge test and the road skills test waived. You must have held your out of state drivers license for at least six months to be exempt from these tests.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Mississippi

How do I apply for a learner’s permit?
Mississippi follows a Graduated Driver Licensing program that is composed of the following stages:

  • Learner s Permit (Limited Learner s Permit for those who are 14)
  • Intermediate License
  • Standard Driver s License

If you are at least 14, you can begin the process of applying for a limited learner s permit. You can apply in person at your local DMV by presenting proof of a driversed course completion from your school, and other proper documentation. You are required to pass a written knowledge exam and a vision test.

Note: With a limited learner s permit, you are only allowed to drive a driversed vehicle in the presence of a driversed instructor. You must also be enrolled in a driversed course.

Once you reach 15, you can apply for a 15-year-old permit, which you will be required to hold for a full year before you are allowed to take a road skills test.

After maintaining yourMississippidrivers permit for at least one year, you can then apply for an intermediate license. Once you have held your intermediate license for six months and have turned 17, you can then apply for a standard driver s license.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Mississippi

How do I apply for a motorcycle license?
In order to get anMS motorcycle license endorsement, visit your local DPS office and be prepared to complete the following:

  • Pass a written drivers test
  • Pass an on-cycle road skills test
  • Present the proper documentation
  • Have payment ready for any applicable fees

Before taking your on-cycle road skills test, the DMV will ask you to present proof of vehicle insurance, along with a valid inspection sticker.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Mississippi

How do I change my address on my car insurance?
Changing address when moving requires updatingyour car insurance, too. To do so, you must contact your vehicle insurance company directly. An agent will be able to guide you with the step-by-step process to properly make these changes, whether it s by phone, fax or in person. To avoid any delay, have your insurance policy number on hand, as well as the description of your vehicle. You may not be charged an extra fee to change your address with your insurance company.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Mississippi

How do I change my address on my car registration?
For an official address change on vehicle registration, stop by a Mississippi tax county collector s office with proof of this update. Gather documents that show your address change, such as a utility bill or a financial statement from your bank. You will also want to have your current drivers license and car registration with you. Contact your nearby tax county collector s office to find out about the fee to get a duplicate registration.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Mississippi

How do I change my address on my commercial drivers license?
To complete steps to change addresses on your CDL driver s license, you will need to follow the same process you would for a regular driver s license. All address updates must be conducted in person at a nearby Department of Public Safety branch. There is no available option to update this information online. When visiting your nearby office, bring proof of your new residence. Your documentation must have your physical address listed.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Mississippi

How do I change my address on my drivers license?
In Mississippi, you are only allowed to make an address change requeston your drivers license by visiting a local DPS office. Upon your visit, you will need to show proof of your new residence. Acceptable documents may include the following:

  • Utility bill, such as electric, water or Internet
  • Financial statement from your bank
  • Voter Registration Card
  • Mortgage or lease agreement
  • Car registration tag receipt

Make sure to also bring your current Mississippi drivers license with you and payment for a duplicate card.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Mississippi

How do I change my address on my ID card?
In order to complete a MS address changing on your identification card, you will need to stop by your nearest Department of Public Safety office with proof of your new residential address.

The DPS will accept these following documents, among others:

  • Utility bill, such as electric, water or Internet
  • Financial statement from your bank
  • Voter Registration Card
  • Mortgage or lease agreement
  • Car registration tag receipt

Have payment ready to request a duplicate ID card with your current address. Only cash or check is accepted as forms of payment at any MS DPS branch.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Mississippi

How do I change my name on my car insurance?
Your car insurance company will be able to provide you with specific information pertaining to the steps you need to take to request a name change. You may be able to fax over an official name change, or you may be required to visit a nearby office to complete this change in person. When updating this information with your car insurance company, have your policy number on hand to easily locate you in their records.
How do I change my name on my car registration?
To change name on registration, you must visit a local tax county collector s office. After changing your name with the Social Security Administration, make your way to a nearby tax county collector s office with one of the following acceptable name change documents:

  • Marriage Certificate
  • Divorce Decree
  • Other court-ordered/approved document

You should also bring your current Mississippi drivers license with you and proof of insurance to locate you in their records.

How do I change my name on my driver’s license?
Before you can name change on drivers license, you must make this update with the Social Security Administration first. The SSA allows you to make this change at one of their offices in your area (search with your ZIP code) or by mail. Visit their website for further information.

Thereafter, you can stop by your local DPS branch to complete your name change. You will need to present an official change of name document in person. Examples include the following:

  • Marriage Certificate
  • Divorce Decree
  • Other court-ordered/approved document
How do I change my name on my ID card?
In order to change name on ID card, you will need to follow the same steps you would for your MS drivers license. You must first make your change with the Social Security Administration, either by visiting one of their offices or submitting your request by mail. To get started, you can visit their website and search for an office in your area with your ZIP code.

After this process is complete, you can then request a name change at your DMV office. To make this change effective, present one of the following as proof of new name:

  • Marriage Certificate
  • Divorce Decree
  • Other court-ordered/approved document
How do I contact the Social Security Administration for my name change?
You can complete a name change request with the Social Security Administration by visiting one of their offices or making your request by mail. Visit their website to find an office in your area by conducting a search with your ZIP code. You can also email them or send a written letter for further inquires to the address below:

Social Security Administration Office of Public Inquiries 1100 West High Rise 6401 Security Blvd.

How do I file a complaint when I believe someone has illegally accessed my DMV record?
If you have reason to suspect that an unauthorized individual has accessed your MS drivers record, then it is imperative that you contact the Mississippi Department of Public Safety at your earliest convenience. For driver record related information, contact Wendell Wright at 601-987-1231 or email: wwright@dps.ms.gov. You can also visit a nearby Department of Public Safety branch to speak to a customer service agent. Make sure to bring any documents or information you have with you, along with your MS drivers license.

For more information: Your Mississippi Driving Record

How do I file a police report if my car registration was stolen?
You can easily file a report about your lost car registration or stolen car registration by visiting a nearby police station. Once you have arrived at the location, ask to speak to a law enforcement officer to report the incident. Make sure to request a copy of the police report before you leave.

You may also choose to stop by your local tax county collector s office first to request Form 76-903. This form is to be completed by a law enforcement agent when getting a car registration replacement.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Mississippi

How do I file a police report if my car title was stolen?
If you have a stolen car title, Mississippi encourages you to stop at a police station in your neighborhood to file a report. Bring a copy of this report to your local tax county collector s office with a filled out Application for Replacement Certificate of Title. With your report, the Mississippi Department of Revenue will be able to add this information to the system, and help prevent any fraudulent use on your DMV records.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Mississippi

How do I get a copy of my driving record?
In Mississippi, a driver can request a copy of their driving record in person at the DMV, by mail or online. If the request is completed online, you will need to have a credit card available, along with your MS drivers license number, which the DPS website will ask you to enter Your transaction will also come with a convenience fee.

You can send your request by mail when filling out the Consent to Release Records form. Follow the instructions in the form and mail it to the address listed on the bottom. Proper fee for payment will be required.

For more information: Your Mississippi Driving Record

How do I get a duplicate ID card?
If you need to request a MS duplicate ID card, you can do so online or in person. If you recently changed your residential address, you will be unable to complete your duplicate request online. That s because you will be required to visit a DMV office to change your address before you can ask for a duplicate ID. If replacing your ID online, be aware that the transaction through the MS DPS website comes with a convenience fee.

For more information: How to Apply for a Mississippi Identification Card

How do I get a hardship license?
Certain offenses, such as your first DUI, may allow an individual to be granted a hardship license while they are carrying out their Mississippi drivers license suspension period. A hardship license is only issued to certain individuals, who may require a temporary license to drive to and from work, to and from school or to receive medical care. Those who are deemed eligible for this license will get a hardship order from the Circuit Court.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Mississippi

How do I get a replacement license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
If you are currently stationed at a location outside of Mississippi, you can replace driving license online. To begin your online transaction, visit the MS DPS website and follow the prompts on the screen. You will be required to enter some personal information, such as:

  • Drivers license number or ID card number
  • Full name
  • Date of birth

For questions regarding Internet renewals, call 601-987-1385 or 601-987-1347. You can also fill out the Contact Us form on the Mississippi DPS website.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Mississippi Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I get a traffic ticket dismissed?
In certain situations, the state of Mississippi allows eligible drivers to take MS defensive driving school in order to get a ticket dismissed. Not all drivers are qualified for this program; therefore you should contact the MS Department of Public Safety or the county that issued your citation to get further details. If you are approved for the course, you must have payment ready and any requested documentation.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Mississippi

How do I know if my license was mailed after it has been restored?
The Mississippi DPS requires at least 24 hours to check if your fee has been paid. If the DPS registers the payment, they will send you a clearance letter detailing reinstatement requirements. However, if your drivers license has not been restored after you have paid the reinstatement fee or you have not received a clearance letter from the MS DPS, contact with your local MS DMV.

You can call the Mississippi Department of Public Safety at 601-987-1206 or visit an MS DMV near you.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Mississippi

How do I obtain a copy of someone else’s driving record?
The state of Mississippi only allows drivers to get another person s DMV driving record either by mail or making an in-person request. A Drivers Records Request form will need to be filled out in the process. Only authorized individuals or agencies may get a copy of somebody else s record.

Similar to obtaining your own driving record, you will need to submit proper payment and have your drivers license number available.

When making your request, you must first have the driver whose information you are requesting provide their signature on the Drivers Records Request form, thus giving you their consent.

For more information: Your Mississippi Driving Record

How do I obtain a duplicate car registration?
The process of getting a Mississippi duplicate car registrationrequires you to make a visit to a local tax county collector s office. Lost car registration or stolen car registration can only be replaced in person. When requesting your duplicate, make sure to bring your current Mississippi drivers license with you. A customer service agent will be able to assist you and guide you through the replacement process.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Mississippi

How do I obtain a duplicate car title?
To get a duplicate car title, Mississippi requires residents to visit a local tax county collector s officeor mail the request with proper documentation and payment. To get expedited service on your car title copy, you will be charged $39. You can expect to receive your new title within 72 hours if you select this type of service. For regular service, it will take 10 to 14 days for your duplicate car title to be issued.

To mail your request for anMS car title copy, send a completed Application for Replacement Certificate of Title, along with payment to:

Mississippi Department of Revenue Title Bureau PO Box 1383 Jackson, MS 39215

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Mississippi

How do I obtain a duplicate license?
There are two ways in which you can request a Mississippi drivers license replacement: online or in person. To renew online, you will need to visit the MS DPS website and follow the instructions on the screen. You must have your current address up to date with the DMV, as this is the location your driving license replacement will be sent to.

In order for a replacement request to be made in person, go to your nearest DPS branch with the proper documentation and payment for the duplicate fee. Only cash is accepted at a local office.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Mississippi Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I obtain a salvaged car title?
In Mississippi, a salvage car title is issued after an insurance company has claimed “total loss claim” on it. Contact the Mississippi Department of Revenue, Title Bureau to find out about the process of getting a salvaged car title. You can reach them by phone when you call 601-923-7200. A preferred option may be to visit your local tax county collector s office and speak to a customer service agent. Bring any relevant documentation with you, so there is no delay to answering your questions.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Mississippi

How do I obtain car registration?
In order to get vehicle registration, the state of Mississippi requires drivers to visit their local tax county collector s office. When registering your car, you must bring the right documentation with you, including your Mississippi driver s license, as well as payment for any applicable fees.

If your vehicle was purchased at a dealership, the dealer will take care of the paperwork for you and submit it to the Mississippi Department of Public Safety.

If you are moving to MS, you will have 30 days to register your vehicle without penalty. Otherwise, if you are already a MS resident, you will have seven business days to register your vehicle after its purchase.

You cannot transfer a license plate from one car to another in Mississippi. If you are selling your vehicle, you will be required to surrender the plate at your local tax county collector s office.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Mississippi

How do I reinstate after a revocation as a Habitual Traffic Offender?
In Mississippi, a Habitual Traffic Offender will face an immediate suspended driving license. To have your driving license reinstated, you must first complete your suspension period and adhere to any other requirements. A reinstatement fee must be paid for before you can have your driving privileges restored. Only a cashier s check, certified check or money order is accepted as payment for a reinstatement fee. Your payment must be made payable to the Mississippi Department of Public Safety.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Mississippi

How do I reinstate my license if I refused to submit a breath/urine/blood test?
By law, Mississippi drivers who refuse to submit to a chemical test if they are suspected of driving under the influence will immediately lose their driving privileges. Your case will be brought to the Commissioner of Public Safety for review. Refusing to take the test will result in a MS drivers license suspension of 90 days minimum. You are required to follow the reinstatement requirements set by the MS DPS in order to have your license reinstated.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Mississippi

How do I reinstate my suspended license?
To reinstate suspended drivers licenses, you must first follow the terms of your suspension notice. Part of your requirements will consist of paying a reinstatement fee. You must pay with a cashier s check, certified check or money order and send to this address:

Department of Public Safety PO Box 958 Jackson, MS 39205

For suspensions related to driving under the influence or unpaid tickets, send your reinstatement fee to the Driver Improvement Branch.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Mississippi

How do I remove points from my driver’s license?
Even though MS does not have an established point system, it does allow certain drivers to complete a defensive driving course to have their ticket dismissed. To find out if you are qualified, get in touch with your traffic court, the county that issued your citation or the Mississippi Department of Public Safety. You will need to verify that you are eligible to enroll in this traffic school program before signing up for attendance.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Mississippi

How do I renew my driving permit?
If you need to renew your MS learning permit, visit your local DPS branch and re-submit the necessary documentation from when you first applied. However, if you are 15 and have maintained your learners permit for at least a year, you can then apply for an intermediate license. After six months, and once you have turned 17, you can then request a full, standard drivers license.

In order to be issued a full, standard driver s license, be prepared to take a road skills test at the time of application.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Mississippi

How do I renew my ID card?
For your convenience, you can renew ID cards either online or in person. To renew your ID card online, have the below information at hand:

  • Your ID card number
  • Your full name
  • Your date of birth
  • A credit card for payment

Whether you choose to renew your identification card online or in person, you will need to make payment for the $14 renewal fee (may vary).

For more information: How to Apply for a Mississippi Identification Card

How do I renew my license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
The state of Mississippi allows military personnel to complete drivers licensed renewal by mail. If you would prefer to renew in person, you have up to 90 days after discharge to visit your local DPS office for renewal.

To renew by mail, you will need to gather the following documentation:

  • First page of your military orders that states your duty station
  • Certified check payable to the MS DPS in the amount of $24 (may vary)
  • Letter from your commanding officer
  • Copy of your license or Social Security Card

Send out the aforementioned items to the address below:

Military Renewals Rose McKinnon PO Box 958 Jackson, MS 39205

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Mississippi

How do I renew my medical report for a commercial license?
To renew your medical report, you must visit a licensed physician, who will complete a thorough examination to determine if you remain in a healthy and stable condition to operate a CDL vehicle. If your medical report receives an all-clear by your physician, they may then submit your paperwork to the Mississippi Department of Public Safety, so that your CDL license remains in good standing. Visit the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) website to read more about national CDL medical requirements.

For more information: Mississippi Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How do I renew my motorcycle license?
To renew motorcycle drivers license, the state of Mississippi provides three options: online, in person or by mail. To complete the renewal online, visit the MS DPS website and follow the instructions on the screen. Only military members and college students may renew by mail. Visit your local DPS office to renew motorcycle license in person. Make sure to bring your current Mississippi drivers license with you.

A renewal payment must be made in cash or by check in person. No other form of payment will be accepted.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Mississippi

How do I replace my license if I am a non-U.S. citizen?
The state of Mississippi requires drivers who need to replace DMV drivers licenses to show proof of identity documents, not of legal status in the country.You must present either two documents from a primary list, or one document from a primary list and another from a secondary. See some examples below:

Primary documents

  • Birth Certificate, either the original or a certified copy
  • ID Card
  • Military ID Card
  • Court Order
  • Valid passport
  • Social Security Card

Secondary documents

  • Utility bill
  • W-2 or IRS form
  • Employer ID card
  • Mortgage or lease agreement
  • Financial statement from your bank

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Mississippi Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I replace my license if I lost it out of state?
If you are outside the state of Mississippi and need to request a duplicate drivers license, you can do so online for your convenience. Simply visit the MS DPS website to begin the process. To request your drivers license copy online, you will be required to enter key information, such as the following:

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Mississippi Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I transfer my car title between states?
Mississippi residents who are in the process of moving to another state will need to contact the DMV of their new location. Each state has its own set of rules and regulations pertaining to registration and titling procedures. Call ahead of time or visit a DMV branch to find out about the proper documentation, paperwork and payment of fees that is required in the state. In addition to transferring car title documentation, you will also need to surrender your Mississippi drivers license and obtain a new one wherever you intend to establish new residence.

For more information: Mississippi State-to-State Transfer of Title

How do I transfer my car title if I lost the original?
If you have a lost car title,a duplicate car titlemust be ordered before you can complete a titling transfer. To apply for a duplicate title, you will have to visit your nearest tax county collector s office and be ready to do the following:

For expedited service on your car title, there will be an additional charge of $39. Although it usually takes 10 to 14 days to receive your new title, if you requested expedited service, you will get it within 72 hours.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Mississippi

How do I transfer my car title?
A Mississippi driver who has recently purchased a vehicle must visit a local tax county collector s office to begin the step-by-step process of a car title transfer. If you are a new resident to the state, you will be given 30 days to do this. As part of your title transfer, you must supply the proper documentation, including your car registration and car title, as well as payment for any necessary fees.

Once your car title transfer request has been processed, allow three to four weeks for it to be issued. A “Fast Track” title, however, is issued sooner in a matter of three days.

If you are selling your vehicle, you will need to dispose of your license plate. Mississippi does not allow a license plate to be transferred between vehicles.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Mississippi

How do I transfer the title of my RV?
Manufactured homes from 2000 and following must have a title. To complete the MS transfer title, visit a nearby tax county collector s office with the items below:

  • An original Manufacturer s Statement of Origin
  • Your current Mississippi drivers license
  • Payment for a titling fee

If you have a manufactured home that dates before 2000, it will still need to be properly titled if the home is sold through a licensed mobile home dealer. For further information about RVs and manufactured home, contact the MS Department of Revenue, Title Bureau at 601-923-7200.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Mississippi

How does a military member obtain a motorcycle license?
If you are a military service member, you have to make an in-person visit to your nearby Department of Public Safety office, so you can begin the application process. In order to get a MS motorcycle drivers license, you will need to pass both a written knowledge exam and an on-road cycle test. You must also bring any required documentation with you and payment for necessary fees. However, if you are renewing motorcycle license, the state of Mississippi allows military personnel to renew by mail.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Mississippi

How does the DMV check my vision?
The Mississippi Department of Public Safety only provides a vision examination in person; therefore you must visit your local DMV office to complete an eye test. In the event that the test reveals you need to wear glasses to better your vision, you will then be directed to visit an optometrist. Your optometrist will be required to fill out a DE26 form and submit it back to the DMV after evaluation.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Mississippi

How long do I need my learners permit before I can get my drivers license?
Once you have completed several of the GDL stages and obtained an intermediate license, you will need to hold it for six months before you can apply for a standard license. Additionally, you must be 17.

When obtaining an intermediate license, you must have held your learner s permit for at least 12 months. You will need to present all proper documentation, as well as payment for any applicable fees. Before an intermediate license can be issued to you, you must also have passed a road skills test.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Mississippi

How long does it take to receive my replacement car title after ordering online?
Currently, the state of Mississippi does not offer an option to replace car titles online. The two available methods to make this request are either in person or by mail. If you would like toorder your car title via mail, send the proper documentation and payment to the address below:

Mississippi Department of Revenue Title Bureau PO Box 1383 Jackson, MS 39215

Processing times with regular service is between 10 and 14 days. Individuals who would like to request expedited service can expect to receive their duplicate car title in three days.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Mississippi

How long will I have a suspended license for not taking a chemical test?
A refusal to take a chemical test will result in a Mississippi drivers license suspension for 90 days. You may face additional penalties that include jail time and high fees that can go up to $1,000. A reinstatement fee must also be completely paid for before you can have your driving privileges restored. To find out the terms of your suspension period, make sure to review your suspension notice carefully.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Mississippi

How long will it take to get my new ID card?
When applying for ID cards,residents will be issued a new one at that point in time. You will need to bring proper documentation and the correct fee to your local DPS office.Only cash or check is accepted as a form of payment at the DMV.

For more information: How to Apply for a Mississippi Identification Card

How many points can I get on my driving record before my driver’s license is suspended?
The state of Mississippi does not have a point system in place. However, there are several offenses and violations that can result in a drivers license suspension. Some of these include but are not limited to the following:

If you do have a license suspension and would like to find out why it has been suspended, you will need to visit a local Department of Public Safety office.

For more information: Your Mississippi Driving Record

How many times can I attend a traffic school course to remove points from my driving record?
The state of Mississippi may allow certain drivers to complete a traffic school course to remove the number of points on their record. To find out if you are considered eligible, contact the Mississippi Department of Public Safety. You can reach them by phone at 601-987-1212 during regular business hours.

Their mailing address is listed below:

Mississippi Department of Public Safety PO Box 958 Jackson, Mississippi 39205

For more information: Traffic/Driving Schools in Mississippi

How much does it cost to change my name on my car registration?
To change names on car registration, you will need to request a duplicate car registration. In order to find out the cost, get in touch with your local tax county collector s office. Make an in-person visit with your MS drivers license on hand and your current car registration. If you are required to submit payment, have both a credit card and cash on your person.
How much does it cost to change my name on my car title?
An MS car title name change will require you to get a replacement title for $9. If you would like an expedited service of your title, the fee is $39 (subject to change). Your new car title will be sent to the address on file. For more information, contact a tax county collector s office in your area. Be sure to have your current car title and Mississippi drivers license on hand.
How much does it cost to change my name with the DMV?
When completing the process to change names with the Department of Public Safety, you will need to pay a duplicate fee for the replacement document. The fees are as follows:

  • Drivers License – $11
  • ID Card – $9

Since you are required to present proof of name change, you must visit your nearby DPS office to complete this change. The MS DPS only accepts cash or a check in person.

How often do I need to renew my CDL license?
To avoid any unwanted penalties, a CDL driver must renew their license before its expiration date. Part of the renewal process requires commercial drivers to complete a physical exam, and visit a local Department of Public Safety office with their current license to fill out a CDL application. You may also need to submit payment for any applicable fees, along with your recent medical certifications.

How soon can I renew my driver’s license?
In order to avoid any fines, your Mississippi drivers license should be renewed prior to its expiration date. You can renew driving licenses six months before it expires.

If the last time you renewed your license was in person, you can renew it online this time around. To utilize the online renewal option, the MS DPS website requires you to enter certain information, such as your full drivers license number, your date of birth and your full name. You must also have a credit card on hand for the renewal fee.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Mississippi

If a family member dies and leaves his or her car to me, how do I switch over the title?
Drivers who have lost a loved one and would like to complete a Mississippi transfer of title can do so by visiting a nearby tax county collector s office. Some documents you must have ready to present include the following:

  • The existing car title
  • The deceased s will (If there is no will, complete an Affidavit-Owner Dies Without A Will)
  • Payment for any fees
  • Your current Mississippi drivers license

Mississippi charges a $9 fee for car titles. For expedited service on your car title transfer, an additional cost of $39 will apply. Fees may vary without notice.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Mississippi

If I do not renew on time, will there be an additional fee?
The process of renewing car registration in person will require you to pay a select fee in the amount of $12.75. This cost may change without notice. To renew expired car registration, a late fee will apply. The fees are as follows:

  • The first 15 days Five percent
  • Each additional 30 days Additional five percent.

You can be charged up to 25 percent in late fees. Your Mississippi car registration expires on an annual basis. Take a look at your tag to find our when yours is due to expire.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Mississippi

If I file a police report, will my replacement fee be waived?
It is to the discretion of the Mississippi Department of Public Safety whether or not your replacement fee is waived. Nonetheless, it is imperative that you visit your local police station if you have a lost drivers license or a stolen drivers license to file a report. You can request license Mississippi replacement either online or in person. However, if you have a police report on hand, stop by your nearest DPS branch to submit this documentation to the appropriate agent.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Mississippi Driver’s License or ID Card

If I have been in an accident, what property damage do I have to report?
Due to the state s Safety Responsibility Act, drivers must take financial responsibility for accidents they are involved in and have caused. By Mississippi law, you are required to report any property damage that results in $1,000 or more. You are required to file this report within 30 days of the accident. If you fail to do this, you face severe penalties and consequences on your MS drivers license.

For more information: Mississippi Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

If I live outside of the state for half the year, am I still required to have car insurance?
If you reside in Mississippi for six months or more and have your vehicle registered in the state, then yes, you are required to get insurance for car.

The current coverage amounts are as follows:

  • $25,000 for property damage
  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury
  • $50,000 per more than one person for bodily injury

For more information: Mississippi Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

If I lost my traffic or parking ticket, how can I find the information again?
In the event that you lost your traffic ticket, you will need to contact the county that issued your citation. Visit the county clerk website for contact information about representatives you can call and speak to. You can also try contacting the municipal court you know your traffic ticket information was forwarded to. If all else fails, call the Department of Public Safety so they can provide you with additional guidance about who you should get in touch with.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Mississippi

If I own multiple vehicles, am I required to have them all insured?
Mississippi drivers must have liability insurance, which covers the other driver and/or vehicle when an accident is your fault. Therefore, if you own multiple vehicles, all of them must have at least the minimum liability coverage required by the state. Many MS insurance companies offer discounts for insuring more than one vehicle on the same insurance policy. However, keep in mind that rates and discounts offered by insurance companies vary, so make sure to check with your car insurance provider first.

For more information: Mississippi Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

If I’m out of state and lost my ID, how can I get a new one?
In the event that you have a lost ID card outside of Mississippi, you can request a duplicate online through the MS DPS website. When completing this online transaction, you must have an unchanged residential address. If you are no longer residing at the address you have on file with the DMV, then you will need to visit a nearby branch to update this information. You will need to have an up-to-date address in the system before you can request a duplicate identification card.

For more information: How to Apply for a Mississippi Identification Card

If my driver’s license was confiscated at the time of my DUI/DWI arrest, how do I get it back?
A confiscated license due to a suspension will require you to abide by the terms of the notice you receive from the Mississippi Department of Public Safety before your driving privileges can be restored. Reinstatement requirements for your drivers licensemay include but not be limited to these below:

  • Completion of community service hours
  • Completion of an alcohol awareness program
  • Possible jail time
  • Payment of reinstatement fees

You can find out more about your specific DUIcase by contacting the MS Department of Public Safety at 601-923-7700. Or, visit a branch in your area.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Mississippi

If my drivers license has been lost or stolen, how can I get it flagged with the DMV?
The DMV might flag your license number if another driver is pulled over by the police and presents your driving license as your own. However, to avoid possible fraud or identity theft, immediately report your drivers license as lost or stolen at your nearest DPS office and apply for a duplicate drivers license.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Mississippi Driver’s License or ID Card

Is there a different process I must follow if I lost personalized plates?
You may need to adhere to a different process to obtain duplicate personalized plates. However, if you would like to substitute your lost or stolen personalized plates for regular license plates, you can do so by visiting any local tax county collector s office with proper payment. A replacement tag and decal costs $10, and a decal alone is only $2.50. Fees may vary. Have your Mississippi drivers license on hand to complete the process.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Mississippi

Is there a minimum age I have to be to get a commercial drivers license?
To apply for a CDL license that operates intrastate commerce, you must be at least 18. However, you must be at least 21if you would like to drive in interstate commerce (across state lines). All CDL license applicants will need to pass a number of tests that include both a written knowledge exam and a commercial road skills test.

For more information: Mississippi Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Is there an age limit to renew your license?
In Mississippi, senior drivers have no special restrictions for renewing their drivers license. You will have the option to renew licenses every four years or eight years. The fees differ, depending on the selection you make. However, if your last drivers license renewal was conducted online, you will be required to visit your local Department of Public Safety office the next time around. Mail-in renewals are only available to those in the military or college students.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Mississippi

Should I carry the registration on me or in the car?
You should keep your registration tucked away in the glove compartment of your vehicle for safety purposes. In the event that you are pulled over by a law enforcement agent, you must have this document readily available. You can also keep a copy of your Mississippi car registrationat home, or in another safe location.

If you need to apply for new car registration, visit a nearby tax county collector s office to begin the process.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Mississippi

What address will my replacement license be mailed to?
Your Mississippi drivers license copy is sent to whichever residential address you have on file with the Department of Public Safety. To request a duplicate online, your address must be up to date. If you are no longer residing at the address on your license, visit your nearest DPS office to make this request in person. Be sure to bring two primary documents, or one primary document and one secondary document for your request to be processed without any issue.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Mississippi Driver’s License or ID Card

What are requirements for seniors to renew a driving license?
Senior citizens in the state of Mississippi are required to renew licenses in person. MS is considered the first state to implement renewal kiosk locations for your convenience. These kiosks are equipped with self-service capabilities and facial recognition technology to better assist applicants. You can also renew your drivers license at a local DMV branch by speaking to an agent. Make sure to bring your current MS license with you.

For more information: Senior Drivers in Mississippi

What are some reasons that may require me to transfer my car title?
In some instances, a Mississippi resident may need to complete a car title transfer in order to avoid any penalties or issues with the Department of Revenue. Some of the most common reasons to transfer title are:

  • You are buying a vehicle.
  • You are selling a vehicle.
  • You are inheriting a vehicle after the loss of a family member.
  • You have been gifted a vehicle.
  • You are donating a vehicle.

If any of the above situations apply to you, you are required to stop by a tax county collector s office to take the proper steps for a car title transfer.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Mississippi

What are some violations that may constitute in a suspended license?
In the state of Mississippi, a suspended driverslicense results in serious consequences and penalties. By breaking the law, you will be subject to a number of suspension terms you will need to adhere to. Below are a few violations that will warrant lost driving privileges in MS:

  • You are a negligent driver.
  • You have accumulated too many driving points.
  • You are mentally unsound or physically incapable to drive.
  • You have failed to pay child support.
  • You have failed to maintain car insurance.
  • You have been convicted of a DUI/DWI.
  • You have allowed fraudulent use of your license.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Mississippi

What are the age restrictions to ride a motorcycle?
If you are a minor who has never obtained a MS motorcycle license before, you will be required to apply for a motorcycle permit first. In order to get a regular operator license, you must be 17 or older. If you have an out-of-state drivers motorcycle license, you are allowed to transfer it to the state of Mississippi and have both your written knowledge test and road skills test waived.

To begin applying for a motorcycle license, visit your local Department of Public Safety office.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Mississippi

What are the available commercial license endorsements?
In Mississippi, there are seven different commercial license endorsements. Depending on the type of CDL vehicle you would like to operate, you may have any of the following listed on your driver s license:

  • Class S To operate a school bus and transport students.
  • Class N To operate tank vehicles
  • Class K To operate a vehicle not equipped with air brakes
  • Class H To operate a vehicle transporting Hazardous Materials
  • Class P To operate a vehicle carrying passengers
  • Class X To operate a vehicle that represents hazmat and tank vehicle endorsements

When applying for a Mississippi commercialdrivers license, part of your requirements consist of submitting a Medical Card. The MS DPS now provides the option to complete this step online. Visit the MS DPS website for further information.

For more information: Mississippi Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the consequences of driving with a suspended license?
A MS drivers license suspension will have you facing several consequences that may include but not be limited to the following:

  • Completion of community service hours
  • Possible imprisonment sentence
  • High fines and fee
  • Reinstatement fees
  • Alcohol awareness program
  • Lengthy suspension period

In certain instances, your Mississippi drivers license may also be revoked, which will have you with lost driving privileges for one year or more.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Mississippi

What are the different types of driving records?
The state of Mississippi provides two different types of driving records:

  • Certified driving record
  • Non-certified driving record

To check driving record, you will need to have your drivers license number available, along with payment for any applicable fees. If mailing your request, you must send a $11 certified check to the Department of Public Safety.

For more information: Your Mississippi Driving Record

What are the fees associated with an ID card?
The fee is $14 to get ID cards for the first time in Mississippi. If renewing your identification card, the same fee applies. This cost is subject to change without notice. When applying for an ID card at your local Department of Public Safety office, you must bring either cash or check with you, as these are the only forms of payment accepted in person.

For more information: How to Apply for a Mississippi Identification Card

What are the fees for a duplicate drivers license?
Your Mississippi drivers license costs $8 to replace. This fee is subject to change without notice. If you need to replace licenses in person, only cash will be accepted. Bring the exact amount in order to avoid any delay time. If you are utilizing the online service on the Mississippi Department of Public Safety website, you must have a debit or credit card available.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Mississippi Driver’s License or ID Card

What are the learners permit restrictions during my first year?
In Mississippi, you are not authorized to drive until you have passed the road skills test and obtained an intermediate license. With an intermediate license, the restrictions are as follows:

  • Unsupervised driving is permitted from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. Sunday through Thursday, these hours are expanded to 11:30 p.m.
  • Supervised driving must take place at all other times with a licensed driver who is 21 or older, a parent or a legal guardian. The adult passenger must be seated next to the driver with an intermediate license.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Mississippi

What are the medical certifications required to obtain a CDL?
The Mississippi Department of State requires CDL license applicants to submit their medical card, in addition to a Medical Self-Certification form. To make the process more convenient for you, the MS DPS website now allows you to submit a CDL Medical Card Submission Application electronically. You must also notify the DPS about the type of commercial vehicle operation you expect to drive with your CDL license.

Since 2014, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) now makes it mandatory to have medical cards issued with a National Registry Number. If you would like to learn more, visit the FMCSA website.

For more information: Mississippi Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the most common reasons why I would need to replace my registration?
There are several reasons in which you may find yourself in a situation that requires an MS car registration replacement. Take a look at some of them listed below:

  • You have a lost car registration.
  • You have a stolen car registration.
  • You have a damaged car registration.

A damaged car registration could be tears or water damage.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Mississippi

What are the penalties for getting a traffic ticket with a driver’s permit?
A young driver who has been issued a traffic ticket price may face high fines, as well as late fees if you fail to pay for your citation on time. If you committed a serious offense, your penalty may become more severe. Depending on the violation, you may have an immediate drivers license suspension. For example, the state will suspend your license if you are guilty of the following:

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Mississippi

What are the penalties of being convicted of driving under the influence?
The Mississippi Department of Public Safety imposes serious consequences and penalties for driving while intoxicated offenses. Every offense is different; however, if convicted of a DUI, you may face the following:

  • Required community service hours
  • Required completion of an alcohol awareness training
  • Required installation of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle
  • Payment of reinstatement fees
  • Possible imprisonment time

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Mississippi

What are the reinstatement fees I will have to pay for a suspended license?
In Mississippi, you must pay a reinstatement fee as part of the requirements for reinstating suspended drivers license. The reinstatement fees vary, but below is a list of a few:

  • Reinstatement fee for violation of the Uniform Controlled Substances Law – $100
  • Reinstatement fee for suspended license as the result of a bad check – $10
  • Reinstatement fee for all other suspensions – $25

Payment of your reinstatement fee (costs may vary) must be made with a cashier s check, certified check or money order. No cash or personal checks are accepted.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Mississippi

What are the required fees for my vehicle registration?
The state of Mississippi requires drivers to pay several fees when obtaining a tag for their vehicle. These fees are as follows:

  • Registration fees
  • MS privilege tax
  • Ad valorem taxes

If you are obtaining new registration for your vehicle, the cost is $14. This amount is subject to change without notice. You can submit payment directly in person when you are in the process of registering car.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Mississippi

What are the required fees to get a replacement car title?
There are varying costs for replacing car titlesin Mississippi, depending on the type of service you are requesting. If you would like expedited service on your duplicate car title, there is a $39 extra charge. Once you have submitted this payment, you will receive your Fast Track title within 72 hours.

For normal service, a duplicate car title will cost $9 and take between 10 to 14 days to come in the mail.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Mississippi

What are the required fees to get replacement registration?
In order to get a MS car registration copy at your local tax county collector s office, you will be required to pay a select fee. If you need both a duplicate Mississippi tag, as well as a decal, the fee is $10. If you only need to purchase a replacement decal, the fee is $2.50. These amounts are subject to change without notice.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Mississippi

What are the required fees to renew my registration?
The state of Mississippi requires those who are renewing car registration to pay a $12.75 fee. This cost may change without notice.In addition to this fee, you will also need to submit payment for the following:

  • Privilege tax
  • Ad valorem taxes
  • Sales or use tax (if applicable)

When renewing your vehicle registration, make sure to bring proper documentation with you as well. In MS, car registrations are conducted at a tax county collector s office.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Mississippi

What are the requirements to operate a three-wheel motorcycle?
If you would like to operate a three-wheel motorcycle, you will need to get a separate license endorsement. Other requirements will include the following:

  • Passing a written knowledge test
  • Passing an on-cycle road test

When applying for this endorsement, make sure to bring any proper identification with you to your local DPS office, such as these listed below:

  • Your Social Security card
  • A completed 17 or older application
  • Your state-certified Birth Certificate
  • Proof of MS residency

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Mississippi

What are the suspensions eligible for a hardship license?
Certain offenses, such as your first DUI, may allow an individual to be granted a hardship license while they are carrying out their Mississippi drivers license suspensionperiod. A hardship license is only issued in very particular circumstances, such as for employment purposes, driving to and from work or as necessary transportation to receive medical care. Those who are deemed eligible for this license will get a hardship order from the Circuit Court.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Mississippi

What do I need to do to get my driver’s license if I fail the driving test?
If you fail your road skills driving test, you will need to retake it at a later date. You will not be authorized to take it the same day of your first attempt to pass. To better prepare for the road skills test, review the Mississippi Driver s Manual and take a practice test before the day of your next exam. You will not be issued a standard driver s license until you have passed the road skills test.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Mississippi

What documents do I need to get a learner’s permit?
Depending on which stage of GDL you are applying for, the documents you must present to your DMV vary.

If you are getting drivers permits or an Intermediate License, you must have the following on hand:

  • Your birth certificate (either an original or certified copy)
  • A completed Application for Mississippi Driver’s License (if you are 15 or 16) or a 17 and Older Driver’s License Application
  • Social Security card
  • Proof of drivers ed completion
  • Certificate of School Attendance form from your school if you are under 18.
  • Two proof of residence

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Mississippi

What documents do I need to get a motorcycle license?
When obtaining a Mississippi motorcycle drivers license, some of the required documents you need to present include:

  • Your Social Security Card
  • A completed 17 or older application
  • Your state-certified Birth Certificate
  • Proof of MS residency

Gather these documents prior to making your way to a nearby DPS office. At the time of application, you will also need to submit payment for your license. Only cash will be accepted.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Mississippi

What documents do I need to get my drivers license?
To get your driver s license, the Mississippi Department of State requires applicants to present the following documentation at your local DMV:

  • A state-certified Birth Certificate
  • A Certificate of Attendance from your school if you are under 18
  • A completed 17 or Older Application
  • Two proofs of MS residency

Proof of MS residency must contain your physical address in the state. Some acceptable documents include the ones listed below:

  • Utility bill (electric, water, Internet, cable, etc.)
  • Rent agreement or mortgage papers
  • Bank statement
  • Voter s Registration Card
  • Car registration receipt

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Mississippi

What documents do I need to present for a replacement car title?
During your visit to a local tax county collector s office, you will need to present the following documents:

If you intend to sell your vehicle and have a missing title, you must replace car titles first in order for your sale to be considered valid by the Mississippi Department of Revenue.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Mississippi

What documents do I need to present for proof of residency?
The state of Mississippi accepts a wide range of documents for proof of residency. When filling out address change forms, you can bring in the following documentation to your local DPS branch to confirm your new location:

  • Utility bill, such as electric, water or Internet
  • Financial statement from your bank
  • Voter Registration Card
  • Mortgage or lease agreement
  • Car registration tag receipt

The MS DPS will not accept any documentation with a PO Box address.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Mississippi

What documents do I need to present if I am a non-U.S. citizen changing address?
The state of Mississippi does not require drivers to present legal status documentation when address changing. However, you do need to show proof of residence. Acceptable documents include but aren t limited to the ones listed below:

  • Mortgage or lease agreement
  • Car registration tag receipt
  • Utility bill, such as electric, water or Internet
  • Financial statement from your bank
  • Voter Registration Card

If you would like further information, contact the Mississippi Department of Public Safety at 601-987-1212.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Mississippi

What documents do I need to present to get a replacement car registration?
When stopping by your local tax county collector s office to complete MS car registration replacement, you will need to present these documents to a customer service agent:

You may also be asked to fill out an application that is provided to you. After verifying your information, a representative at the tax county collector s office will then issue you a duplicate car registration.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Mississippi

What documents do I need to present to get new registration?
As part of your MS car registration process,you will need to stop by a local tax county collector s office with certain vehicle documents in hand. These items may include the following:

  • Your Mississippi drivers license
  • Your car title
  • A bill of sale (if applicable)
  • Payment for registration fees

To find out if there are any additional documents you need to present, contact a nearby tax county collector s branch and speak to an agent for further assistance.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in Mississippi

What documents do I need to present to renew my car registration?
To complete MS car registration renewal in person, visit a local tax county collector s office with the following documents:

If you are renewing your registration online, you need to adhere to the instructions on your county s website.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Mississippi

What documents do I need to present to renew my drivers license?
To complete a MS drivers license renewal in person, you must visit a nearby Department of Public Safety branch with the following documents:

  • Your Mississippi drivers license
  • Payment for renewal ($51 for 8-year license; $24 for 4-year license)

Fees are subject to change without notice. In the event that you are asked to present additional documentation, such as your Social Security card or proof of residence, you will want to have these on you as well.

If renewing online, you must have a credit card available for payment. A convenience fee will be charged to complete the online transaction.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Mississippi

What documents do I need to transfer my car title?
When requesting a MS transfer title, the Tax Collector will ask you to presentcertain documents to provide your identity and vehicle ownership. This documentation may consist of the following:

  • Your Mississippi drivers license
  • Car registration
  • Bill of Sale
  • Odometer Disclosure Statement
  • Application for Mississippi Title and License (obtainable at a tax county office)
  • Lien holder paperwork (if applicable)

In addition to the aforementioned items, you must also pay car title and car registration fees. Mississippi charges a $14 fee for new registrations, and a $9 fee for vehicle titles. If you would like to receive expedited service for your car title, you can request a Fast Track title for an extra $39. These costs are subject to change without notice.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Mississippi

What documents will I need to present to replace my drivers license?
If you are getting an MS drivers license copy in person, there are certain identification documents you need to present. By submitting any of the below items, the MS DPS will be able to instantly identify you and thus issue a replacement license:

Primary documents

  • Birth Certificate, either the original or a certified copy
  • ID Card
  • Military ID Card
  • Court Order
  • Valid passport
  • Social Security Card

Secondary documents

  • Utility bill
  • W-2 or IRS form
  • Employer ID card
  • Mortgage or lease agreement
  • Financial statement from your bank

You must submit two documents from the primary list, or one from the primary and another from the secondary lists.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Mississippi Driver’s License or ID Card

What exams do I need to pass to get a motorcycle license?
Getting a motorcycle license will require you to pass the following exams:

  • A written knowledge test
  • An on-cycle road test

Your on-cycle road test may take place in an off-street section or in a traffic location. The written knowledge exam will test you on motorcycle safe driving, road rules and operation of the vehicle. To be best prepared, take a practice test ahead of time.

If you have an out-of-state license, you may have these tests waived.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in Mississippi

What forms must I fill out for a duplicate car title?
In order for your duplicate car title request to be processed, you will be asked to fill out an Application for Replacement Certificate of Title.You will need to enter some personal information and your vehicle description, in addition to signing the application at the bottom.

Hand this form to a customer service representative at your nearby tax county collector s office or send it to this address with exact payment and proper documentation:

Mississippi Department of Revenue Title Bureau PO Box 1383 Jackson, MS 39215

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Mississippi

What happens if I don’t pay for my traffic ticket from another state?
Mississippi regularly receives information about traffic violations and convictions from other states. Hence, failure to pay an out-of-state traffic fine will result in the same consequences as failing to pay a traffic ticket in your home state. If you do not wish to plead guilty to the traffic offense, you can contest the out-of-state traffic citation. Contact the Court or the DMV in the state that issued the traffic ticket to find out more. Also, consult a traffic attorney to help you with your case.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Mississippi

What happens if I get traffic ticket fines and I have a CDL?
In general, commercial drivers face higher penalties than those who operate passenger vehicles. To begin with, you are required to notify your employer of any offense you have committed within 30 days. The severity of your offense will also determine whether or not you will have a suspended license. Situations that result in a Mississippi drivers license suspension include these:

Learn more by contacting the MS Department of Public Safety at 601-987-1212.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Mississippi

What happens to my commercial driver license if I am convicted of a DUI?
A commercial driver who is convicted of driving under the influence will face an immediate drivers license suspension of a 12-month period if it is your first offense. You will be required to notify your employer about your lost driving privileges, and you will need to abide by all the terms of your suspension notice.

Part of these requirements includes paying a reinstatement fee, which can be made payable to the Department of Public Safety, and sent to the address below:

Department of Public Safety PO Box 958 Jackson, MS 39205

For more information: Mississippi Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What if the original is located after my car title replacement has been issued?
If you have been issued a Mississippi car title replacement, your original will be deemed invalid. In the event that the original is in your possession, take it to your nearest tax county collector s office so they can dispose of it properly. If you would prefer to do this at home, make sure that your original document is completely shredded before it is thrown away.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Mississippi

What information does a driving record contain?
Your MS drivers record will contain key information about your driving history. Personal details may include the following:

  • Your name
  • Your current address
  • Your date of birth
  • Offenses and violations
  • Accidents you have been involved in
  • The current status of your drivers license

If you are ordering your own driving record, you can do so online, as well as in person or by mail. The Department requires individuals to fill out a Consent to Release Record form when inquiring information about their own record.

For more information: Your Mississippi Driving Record

What is an ID card?
An identification card is a government-issued document, mainly used by non-drivers for identity purposes. Your Mississippi DMV ID card can be used for matters such as to enter an official government building, to open up a bank account in your name, or to make select purchases. If you would like to obtain an ID card in the state of Mississippi, simply visit a nearby DPS branch to begin the process. Make sure to have payment ready for the identification fee of $14 (may vary).

For more information: How to Apply for a Mississippi Identification Card

What is considered the legal alcohol limit?
What is the cost of a DUI?
The monetary penalties associated with a Mississippi DUI varies, depending on whether or not this is your first offense, as well as other factors.DUI convictions hold the following fines:

  • First conviction – $250 – $1,000
  • Second conviction – $600 – $1,000
  • Third or any other additional DUI convictions within five years – $2,000 – $5,000

These fines may vary and fluctuate. To find out the specifics of your case, contact the Mississippi Department of Public Safety, and follow the reinstatement requirements on your suspension notice.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Mississippi

What is the cost of a traffic ticket?
The cost of traffic ticket depends on a number of factors, primarily the type of offense you committed. Your traffic ticket will contain this information. Look at both the front and back of your ticket to find out about the cost, as well as any late fees you may be charged if you pay after the payment deadline. If the information is unclear, contact a listed phone number on the ticket, or visit the county website that issued your citation.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Mississippi

What is the cost to get a driver record?
The Mississippi Department of Public Safety charges an $11 fee (may vary) to get a copy of your driving record, or that of someone else s. You can make your request online, by mail or in person. However, the Department does not allow individuals who need a copy of another person s record to request this information online. To request somebody else s Mississippi DMV driving record, your options to complete the process are either by mail or in person at a DMV office. You will need to fill out a Drivers Records Request form as one of the requirements.

For more information: Your Mississippi Driving Record

What is the DUI penalty for a CDL driver?
The state of Mississippi will suspend a commercial driving license for the period of a year if you are convicted of a first DUI. You will be required to immediately notify your employer of your conviction. In order to have your drivers license reinstated, you must fulfill the requirements set forth in your suspension. This may include but not be limited to:

  • Completion of community service hours
  • Completion of an alcohol awareness class
  • Completion of your suspension period
  • Possible imprisonment sentence

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Mississippi

What is the DUI penalty for a minor?
Minors often face harsher penalties for DUI/DWIconvictions. If you are under the age of 21 and convicted of driving under the influence, your Mississippi drivers license will face immediate suspension. To find out what your suspension entails, contact the Department of Public Safety. You must meet all reinstatement requirements before your driving privileges can be restored. Failure to do so will result in greater penalties.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Mississippi

What is the minimum liability insurance coverage?
When obtaining Mississippi car insurance, you are required to maintain the minimum coverage listed below:

  • $25,000 for property damage
  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury
  • $50,000 per more than one person for bodily injury

Failure to maintain these types of coverage will result in the suspension of your MS drivers license.

For more information: Mississippi Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

What is the passing score for a written test?
In the event that you fail the exam, you are required to retake it at a later date. The exam will test you on matters such as Mississippi s road rules and safe driving.

In order to be best prepared for the test, review the Mississippi Driver s Manual carefully. Questions will be collected from the manual itself.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Mississippi

What is the process to get a title for a scooter or motorcycle?
In order to have the Mississippi Department of Revenue issue a car title for your motorcycle or scooter, it must first contain a 17-digit Vehicle Identification Number (VIN). Additionally, your motorcycle or scooter must feature a decal or plate that states it abides by the Federal Safety Standards. If it meets the aforementioned criteria, you will then need to bring the following documentation to a nearby tax county collector s office:

The titling fee in Mississippi is $9 without any type of expedited service.

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Mississippi

What languages is the written test available in?
The written drivers test is a computerized test in English. When making an appointment to take your written knowledge exam, make sure to bring any required documentation and proper form of payment.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Mississippi

What must I do to reinstate my driver’s license as a result of a DUI/DWI?
Depending on the type of offense you have committed, different requirements will be in place to get your license reinstated. The below consequences are for adult drivers who have a BAC level of .08 percent or those under 21with a BAC level of 0.2 percent:

First offense:

  • License suspension for 90 days
  • $250 fine (may vary)
  • Completion of alcohol awareness program

Second offense in five years:

  • License suspension for one year
  • $500 fine (may vary)
  • Completion of alcohol awareness program

If you are convicted of an MS DUI, you may face jail time. For the first conviction, your imprisonment can be up to 48 hours.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Mississippi

What penalties will I face if I do not change my address with the DMV?
Your current address must be reflected on all of your MS Department of Public Safety records, including on the following (if applicable):

Failure to update your residential address with the DPS may result in penalties and high fines. Avoid this type of consequence by visiting a local branch to update your information.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Mississippi

What penalties will I face if I do not renew my expired drivers license?
If you fail to renew your drivers license prior to the expiration date, you will be charged late fees. In order to avoid this hassle, check to see when your license expires so you can renew driving licenseahead of time. If you choose to renew online, you will have up to a year after your license expires to do so. However, you will be charged an extra fee for any renewal after the expiration date.

If the last time you renewed your license was online, you will be required to complete this process at a local Department of Public Safety branch next time.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Mississippi

What proof of insurance can I provide when registering my car?
The state of Mississippi does not require drivers to present proof of insurance when completing car registration. Nonetheless, the more documents you have with you, the less the likelihood is that there will be any delay in processing your request. When registering your vehicle, in addition to presenting necessary documentation, you will also need to bring payment for any fees. These fees are subject to change without notice.

For more information: Mississippi Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

What should I do if I have not received my registration tags or stickers?
If you have made a request to renew car registration tags and have not received them, contact the Mississippi Department of Revenue to inquire about its status. You can call them at 601-923-7700 or send a fax to 601-923-7714. You may also make an in-person visit to a tax county collector s office in your area and speak to a customer service representative. Make sure to bring your Mississippi drivers license with you, and any other relevant documents.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Mississippi

What should I do if I have not received my renewed license?
If you have applied forMS drivers license renewal and have yet to receive your new card, contact the Mississippi Department of Public Safety at 601-987-1212. You can also go to a local branch and inquire about its delivery status.

If ordering your renewed license online, allow seven to 10 business days to get it in the mail. Your new license will be sent out to the residential address you have on file with the DPS. It will not be sent to a PO Box address.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Mississippi

What test do I need to take for my learners permit?
If you are applying for aMSdriving permit (between the ages of 14 and 15), you must pass the following exams:

  • A written knowledge exam
  • A vision test

If you are applying for an intermediate license (between the ages of 16 and 17), you must pass the following exam:

  • A road skills test

Payment for any applicable fees will also be asked for at the time of application. All the aforementioned must be taken in person at a local Department of Public Safety office.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Mississippi

What tests do I have to take to obtain a CDL?
If you are an applicant who would like to get a license to drive commercial, there are a few tests you must take and pass before you can become an authorized CDL operator. Some of these tests will include the following:

  • A written knowledge test
  • A CDL road skills test

Your CDL skills exam will test you on these crucial elements:

  • Pre-trip inspection
  • Basic vehicle control
  • On-road driving

Depending on the type of endorsement you are applying for, additional testing may be required. For example, those who would like to obtain a HAZMAT endorsement will need to complete a background check and submit fingerprints for a background check.

For more information: Mississippi Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What tests will I need to take for my drivers license?
Before you can be issued a regular Mississippi license to drive, you need to have taken a written knowledge exam, as well as a road skills test. The only exception to this is new residents who have recently moved to Mississippi. Those who can present a valid out-of-state license will have these tests waived. The written test will test you on material such as road rules, traffic laws and safe driving.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Mississippi

What type of car insurance am I required to have?
In Mississippi, a resident is required to have the following types of vehicle insurance:

  • Bodily injury
  • Property damage

Although the aforementioned is the minimum insurance coverage you must obtain, there is additional coverage you can opt to get on your policy. For example, medical insurance and uninsured motorist coverage are extra coverage types. Discuss other options that may be available to you with your insurance company.

For more information: Mississippi Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

What type of noncommercial license will I need?
The state of Mississippi offers these noncommercial licenses:

  • Learner s Permit
  • Intermediate License (Class Y)
  • Regular License (Class R)
  • Motorcycle License (Class M)

If you are 14 and have never obtained a MS drivers license before, you will first need to apply for a limited learners permit. You will need to go through the Graduated Driver Licensing stages of the state before you can get a standard operator license. A regular license can be obtained by any applicant who is 17 or older.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Mississippi

What will happen if I fail to get or keep car insurance?
As is the case in most states, Mississippi requires drivers to get car insurance. If you choose to disregard this law, your drivers license will be suspended. Drivers in MS must also claim financial responsibility for accidents they have caused. This is due to the Safety Responsibility Act, which requires accidents that result in injury, death or property damage exceeding $1,000 to be reported.

For more information: Mississippi Auto Insurance – Get a Quote and Save

When can I reinstate my license after it has been suspended?
In order to reinstate suspended drivers licenses, you will need to abide by the terms and regulations set forth in your suspension period. To find out what these are, review your suspension summary carefully, or contact the Mississippi Department of Public Safety at 601-987-1212. Before you can have your driving privileges restored, you will be required to pay a reinstatement fee.

For more information: Suspended License Information for Mississippi

When does my car registration expire?
In Mississippi, vehicle registrations expire every year, therefore you must complete renewal on an annual basis. In order to avoid any penalties or late fees, you will need to renew your car registration before its expiration date. You can easily do this by visiting a nearby tax county collector s office. Other instances may also permit you to renew vehicle registration online through your county s website.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Mississippi

When does my ID card expire?
A Mississippi ID card is good for a period of four years. This length of time is extended to 10 years for individuals who are legally blind. Prior to the expiration of your ID card, you will be required to request a renewal. In Mississippi, you can renew your identification card online or in person. If renewing online, have your ID card number on hand, as you will be unable to complete your transaction without it.

For more information: How to Apply for a Mississippi Identification Card

When must I change my address with the DMV?
Your DMV records must be accurate and up to date at all times; therefore complete theaddress change checklistat your earliest convenience: To make this change effective, you will need to visit a local DPS office with proof of your new residence. The documents you choose to present must have a physical address listed in order for it to be acceptable.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in Mississippi

When should I complete a Bill of Sale?
A Bill of Sale is a crucial document that is used to note the official car sale between two private parties. Oftentimes a tax county collector s office will ask for this documentation in order to protect both parties and confirm the vehicle exchange. On a Bill of Sale, some of the information you should include is the following:

  • Seller s name
  • Buyer s name
  • Seller s address and phone number
  • Buyer s address and phone number
  • Signatures of both parties
  • Vehicle description
  • Vehicle sale price
  • Vehicle mileage
  • Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)

For more information: Title Transfers or obtaining a New Certificate of Title in Mississippi

When will I need to renew my license?
Depending on the type of license you have, you may need to renew drivers licenseevery four years or every eight years. The fee to renew a four-year license is $24, and the fee to renew an eight-year license is $51 (may vary). You should complete your Mississippi drivers license renewal before it expires. The state offers the options to do so online or in person. If you are in the military or a college student, you can renew your license by mail.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Mississippi

When will I receive a replacement license after applying?
To find out when you can expect to receive your MS drivers license replacement, contact the Mississippi Department of Public Safety at 601-987-1212. Their regular hours of operation are from Monday to Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Your replacement license will be sent to whichever physical address you have on file with the DPS. If you recently moved to another residence, you will need to notify the DPS at your earliest convenience, prior to requesting a duplicate license. Your new card cannot be sent to a PO Box address.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated Mississippi Driver’s License or ID Card

Where can I check to see if my license is suspended?
If you would like to find out the current status of your Mississippi driving license, you can obtain a copy of your driving record.This crucial document will contain details about your driving history, any moving violations you may have incurred and some personal information. The Mississippi Department of Public Safety allows you to purchase a copy online with a credit card or debit card as form of payment. You can also request a printed version if you so choose.

For more information: Your Mississippi Driving Record

Where can I find a local tax county collector office?
Mississippi requires drivers to complete their car registration process at a tax county collector s office in their area. To find the one nearest you, visit the Mississippi Department of Revenue website. You can also contact the MS Motor Vehicle Licensing Bureau at 601-923-7100 for further information, and specific details pertaining to phone numbers and branch names.

When replacing your registration, bring your current drivers license with you and payment for a new tag, decal or both.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Mississippi

Where can I find more information about an ignition interlock device?
If you have been ordered to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle as the result of a DWI, you must go to an MS DPS-approved provider. Get in touch with the Mississippi Department of Public Safety to inquire about a list they can provide you. The Department can be reached at 601-923-7700. You can also visit a branch in your area and speak to a customer service agent for further assistance.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Mississippi

Where can I find my traffic or parking ticket information online?
If the municipal or county that issued your ticket has an implemented online system, you may find your traffic finesinformation by simply entering your citation number. To proceed with online payment for your ticket, you may also be asked for the following details:

  • Your first and last name
  • Your address
  • Your date of birth
  • Your phone number

Be sure to have payment in the form of a debit card or credit card at hand, as you will be unable to complete your transaction without this information.

For more information: How to Pay a Traffic Ticket in Mississippi

Where can I get a new drivers license?
You can obtain a Mississippi driving license by visiting any nearby Department of Public Safety branch. Upon your visit, you will be required to present necessary documentation and payment for any applicable fees. Some of the documents you must have with you include the following:

  • A state-certified Birth Certificate
  • A Certificate of Attendance from your school if you are under 18
  • A completed 17 or Older Application
  • Two proofs of MS residency

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Mississippi

Where can I mail my request for a replacement title?
Mississippi allows its residents to get a car title copy either in person or by mail. If it is more convenient for you to send your replacement title request via mail, you can do so by writing to the address below:

Mississippi Department of Revenue Title Bureau PO Box 1383 Jackson, MS 39215

As you gather the correct documentation, make sure to also include payment for theMS car title replacement. If you would like expedited service, an additional $39 charge will apply.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Mississippi

Where can I obtain an ID card?
Residents can apply for ID cards at any Mississippi Department of Public Safety office. During your visit, you will need to provide the documents listed below:

  • Your Social Security card
  • Your Birth Certificate, either an original or certified copy
  • Proof of MS residency

You will also need to bring in payment for the $14 ID fee. This fee is subject to change without notice. Payment is only accepted in the form of cash or check.

For more information: How to Apply for a Mississippi Identification Card

Which types of vehicles need to be insured?
The majority of vehicles, both passenger and commercial, must be insured in Mississippi. If you reside in the state and intend to drive on the roadways, you will need to obtain the minimum insurance coverages. Vehicles that require insurance include these below:

  • Passenger vehicles
  • Motorcycles
  • Trucks
  • Vans
  • Commercial vehicles
  • SUVs

For more information: Mississippi Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

Who can sign for my permit or license if I am under 18?
If you are 15 or 16 years old, you must have a parent or legal guardian sign your Application for Mississippi Driver’s License. If your parents are divorced, then the one who has custody is required to provide their signature.

If you are 17 or older, you will need to fill out a different form, the 17 and Older Driver’s License Application. This application must be presented when you are obtaining a learner s permit, an intermediate license or a regular driver s license. In addition to a few, personal questions, you will also be asked whether or not you would like to register to vote when applying for your license.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in Mississippi

Why doesn’t a recent traffic ticket I received appear on my driving record?
Your traffic ticket may not yet be reflected on your Mississippi driving record if you just had it issued. If you would like to request a copy of your driving record, you can do so online, by mail or in person. A convenience fee is charged for online transactions, and you must have your drivers license number at hand.

Mail requests must be sent to the address below:

MS Department of Public Safety Attn: MVR 1900 E. Woodrow Wilson Jackson, MS 39216

For more information: Your Mississippi Driving Record

Will I be required to take a vision test for a drivers license renewal?
The state of Mississippi has no rules in place for vision testing at the time of a drivers license renewal. However, you are required to bring the following documentation to your local DPS office:

  • Your Mississippi drivers license
  • Payment for renewal ($51 for 8-year license; $24 for 4-year license)

The aforementioned fees may change without notice.

To renew your drivers license online, you will need to have a credit card available for payment. A convenience charge will be added to your online transaction.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Mississippi

Will I get a drivers license renewal notice in the mail?
To find out whether or not you can expect to receive a renewal notice in the mail, contact the Mississippi Department of Public Safety. You can reach them by phone at 601-987-1212 during regular business hours. In any case, check the expiration date of your MS drivers license so you are aware of when to renew. If your drivers license has expired for less than a year, you can apply online. However, you will be charged an extra fee to complete the online transaction.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in Mississippi

Will I get any points on my record if I received a traffic ticket from another state?
Mississippi does not implement a point system to track traffic violations and convictions. However, the state still records your traffic citations and penalties on your drivers record. Therefore, if you receive an out-of-state traffic ticket you can either pay the ticket, thus pleading guilty to the traffic offence, or you can hire a traffic attorney and contest the traffic citation.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Mississippi

Will I have points against my driver’s license if I get a ticket?
Mississippi does not implement a point system to track traffic violations and convictions. However, in some cases, you may be considered eligible to enroll in a traffic school course. By completing this class, you may have your ticket dismissed. Those who are qualified to attend the defensive driving program will be notified by the court of the MS Department of Public Safety. If you are unsure about whether or not you can attend this program, contact the DMV.

For more information: Traffic Tickets and Violations in Mississippi

Will I have to take an alcohol awareness class to reinstate my driver’s license?
Those who are convicted of DUI for the first time are required to complete a Mississippi Alcohol Safety Education Program, also known as MASEP. The enrollment fee for this course is $190 (subject to vary). It can be made payable by money order or check. If you would like more information about the program, contact them at 1-800-678-2534 or email: masep@ssrc.msstate.edu. Their hours of operation are Monday to Friday, from 8 a.m. to 5p.m.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for Mississippi

Will I need to fill out an application to replace my car registration?
When replacing car registration, you must visit a local tax county collector s office to complete the process. While there, you may be handed an application to fill out in order to properly submit your request. Make sure to bring your current Mississippi drivers license and payment for any fees. To get a Mississippi car registration replacement tag and decal, you will be charged $10. If you only need the decal, the fee is $2.50 (may vary).

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in Mississippi

Will I need to present proof of insurance to get a car title replacement?
Mississippi does not require residents to bring proof of car insurance when requesting a car title replacement. However, the more documents you present, the lesser chance of a delay in processing your request.

When obtaining a duplicate car title, you will be required to have the following items with you:

A duplicate car title fee costs $9. Expedited service requires an additional payment of $39.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in Mississippi

Will I receive a renewal registration notice in the mail?
The state of MS does send out renewal notices for car registrations, however, you are nonetheless responsible to be aware of your expiration date. If you would like more information, you can callthe DOR at 601-923-7700 or send a fax to 601-923-7714. You may also visit a local tax county collector s office to speak to an agent. As part of your Mississippi car registration renewal process, you will be required to pay a $12.75, subject to vary without notice.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Mississippi

Will my registration expire on my birthday or birth month?
Registrations expire on an annual basis, thus you must complete Mississippi car registration renewal before this date. You have up to 15 days after your expiration date to renew car auto registration without being charged late fees. Check your vehicle registration tag and related documents to find out about the exact day of your expiration. If you are unsure, you can call the Mississippi Department of Revenue at 601-923-7700 for clarification. If you prefer to speak to a customer service representative in person, you can also visit a local tax county collector s office.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in Mississippi