South Dakota Frequently Asked Questions

Am I required to take a motorcycle training course?
The state of South Dakota does not require you to take a motorcycle training course in order to obtain a motorcycle license. Completing a drivers ed course will reduce the time needed for retaining a learner s permit from 180 to 90 days, and it allows you to avoid the drivers license tests. The South Dakota Department of Education, as part of the South Dakota Department of Public Safety, offers a drivers ed course which gives you the opportunity to improve yourself as a cautious and responsible operator of any motor vehicle. To go into further details about the course and what are the advantages of taking it, you should read the South Dakota Motorcycle Manual.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in South Dakota

Am I required to wear a helmet while riding a motorcycle?
South Dakota has a state law which requires all motorcycle drivers and passengers under 18 years of age to wear protective headgear while riding a motorcycle. Riders above 18 years old are not required by law to wear protective headgear, but it is recommended in case of an accident.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in South Dakota

Are there times I won’t be allowed to renew registration?
South Dakota residents who have a suspended license, do not have some form of the required documentation, or are unable to pay the registration fee will not be allowed to renew their registrations. If you fail to receive the car registration renewal notice, or have any questions on registration renewal, contact a local South Dakota DMV office or County Treasurer’s office.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in South Dakota

Can I have different addresses on my driver license and my vehicle registration?
In South Dakota, drivers who have done an official address change must have their address changed in the South Dakota DMV records within 90 days of moving to a new address. Drivers can take care of this by email. However, in order to have the same address both on your driver’s license and on your car registration, you need to update the information at a local South Dakota DMV office. Once there, residents may submit an address change request for their driver s license, ID card or car registration.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in South Dakota

Can I keep the car insurance I have from my previous state of residence?
A new South Dakota resident will need to find out if their auto insurance company is locally or nationally recognized. If your auto insurance company is nationally recognized, you will easily be able to transfer your car insurance by providing your new address to your insurance company. Individuals with local auto insurance coverage, will have to find a new auto insurance provider with coverage in South Dakota.

For more information: South Dakota Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

Can I renew my commercial drivers license online?
South Dakota residents do not have the option of renewing their CDL license online, and must visit a local South Dakota DMV office. The renewal process must be completed 180 days before the expiration date by providing the following:

For more information: South Dakota Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Can I request a certified driver’s record online?
The state of South Dakota does not offer certified copies of driving records online. You can obtain a non-certified version of your driving record online by visiting the South Dakota DMV website. If you want to obtain a certified copy of your driving record, you are required to visit one of the exam stations or mail a request to the following address:

Driver Licensing Program

118 W Capitol Ave, Pierre SD 57501

For more information: Your South Dakota Driving Record

Can I take the DMV written test online?
South Dakota does not offer the written drivers test online. You must to your local South Dakota DMV office and submit a signed application from a parent or legal guardian, along with the needed documentation and a payment for the learners permit fee. Once you are there, you will have to pass two examinations:

  • Vision screening
  • Written drivers test.

You can prepare yourself by taking online practice driving tests and reading the South Dakota Driver License Manual prior to your visit to the South Dakota DMV.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in South Dakota

Can I use my state CDL anywhere in the United States?
If you want to operate a commercial motor vehicle anywhere in the United States, you must be at least 21 years old. South Dakota residents who possess a CDL license are required to submit a Medical Self-Certification Statement to the South Dakota Driver Licensing Program classifying their commercial transportation as one of the following:

  • Non-excepted Interstate
  • Excepted Interstate
  • Excepted Intrastate
  • Non-excepted Intrastate

For more information: South Dakota Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Can somebody else renew my registration for me?
South Dakota does allow the process of renewing vehicle registration to be completed by someone other than you. They may only do so when renewing online or by mail. You will need to make a payment of the renewal fee with your debit or credit card and give the required personal information to the individual who will renew vehicle registration. Vehicle registration renewals done at a local South Dakota DMV office or local County Treasurer’s office require your presence along with your valid driver’s license.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in South Dakota

Do boats need to be registered?
South Dakota policy is for all boats over 12 feet long and motor boats of any length to be titled and registered within 45 days of purchase. In order to register your boat, you need to complete a South Dakota Boat Title and Registration Application and submit it along with a payment for the required fee to your local County Treasurer’s office.

For more information: How to Register a Boat or Water Craft in South Dakota

Do I need a motorcycle license to ride a scooter or moped?
Residents of South Dakota who own and want to legally operate scooters or mopeds on the road must get a motorcycle endorsement on their drivers licenses The state of South Dakota has certain regulations which require the drivers to pass a written drivers test and a driving test. For additional details about these exams and the motorcycle endorsement, read the South Dakota Motorcycle Manual.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in South Dakota

Do I need to cancel my insurance if I am moving to another state?
Residents of South Dakota who move to another state, may or may not be able to transfer their auto insurance policy. This depends on the auto insurance company and whether or not they supply coverage in the destination state. If your insurance company does offer coverage in your new state, notify the customer service department your move and provide a new address for their records. If the auto insurance company does not offer coverage, you will have to find a new company in the state where you plan to move.

For more information: South Dakota Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

Do I need to file a police report if my license was lost or stolen?
South Dakota does not require you to file a police report if your drivers license has been lost or stolen. Informing a local law enforcement agency of a lost or stolen license may help to prevent identity theft or fraud. If you do file a police report, bring a copy to a local South Dakota DMV office when you apply for a drivers license replacement.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated South Dakota Driver’s License or ID Card

Do I need to file a police report if my registration was lost or stolen?
South Dakota residents should report lost or stolen car registration to local law enforcement officials before they apply for duplicate car registrations. After you file the police report, you will be given a copy to bring to a local South Dakota DMV office.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in South Dakota

Do I need to return my license plate if I move out of the state?
South Dakota residents who move out-of-state, do not have to return their license plates. If you do not need your license plate and would like to return it, you may surrender it at a local South Dakota County Treasurer’s office.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in South Dakota

Do I need to take a drivers ed course?
Drivers in South Dakota are not required to take a drivers ed course to obtain a drivers license. Enrolling in a drivers ed course will reduce the time period for holding a learners permit before being eligible to apply for a drivers license from 180 days to 90 days. It will also allow a driver to bypass the vision and written exams.

Once you successfully finish a drivers ed course, a copy of the certificate will be sent to the South Dakota DMV. If you are under 18, your certificate must be signed by a parent or a legal guardian.

For more information: Driver’s Education in South Dakota

Do I need to turn in my damaged car title?
South Dakota residents who have a damaged car title, are not obligated to bring it to a local South Dakota DMV office when applying for a car title replacement. You will also need to complete and notarize an Application for a Duplicate Certificate of Title and provide a payment of $10 for the duplicate car title fee.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in South Dakota

Do I need to turn in my damaged registration?
Drivers in South Dakota are required to submit the damaged registration card or certificate to the South Dakota DMV office when applying for a duplicate car registration. You must also provide:

  • A South Dakota driver’s license
  • Make and model of the vehicle
  • Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
  • License plate number

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in South Dakota

Does a motorized scooter need to be registered?
South Dakota requires motorized scooters to be registered within 30 days of purchase. To register your motorized scooter, you will need to fulfill the same conditions for registering motorcycles and submit the following to your County Treasurer’s office:

o Completed Power of Attorney document, as addition to the application if the application is signed by an authorized agent

  • Proper identification
  • Completed Bill of Sale
  • Payment for the fee

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in South Dakota

Does my vehicle qualify for a smog inspection?
The state of South Dakota does not require you to inspect your motor vehicle for emissions of any kind.

For more information: Vehicle Emissions Testing in South Dakota

How can I avoid a license suspension if I choose not to insure my vehicle?
Drivers of motor vehicles in South Dakota are required by a state law to have minimum liability auto insurance if they own and operate a motor vehicle. If an individual decides to operate their vehicle without getting car insurance, then they will face penalties such as:

  • Fines,
  • Jail time,
  • Demerit points
  • Suspension of driver’s license and car registration for up to one year
  • $500 restoration fee
  • Obtain SR22 insurance for three years

The only way to avoid these penalties is to insure your motor vehicle as per the regulations set forth by the laws of South Dakota.

For more information: South Dakota Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

How can I get a veteran designation on my ID card?
Veterans who have been honorably discharged from the military have the option of adding a veteran designation to the front of their South Dakota driver’s license or ID card. A South Dakota resident who wishes to add the veterans designation to their driver’s license or non-driver ID card may visit a local South Dakota DMV office. They must present their DD-214 document showing their honorable discharge status from active duty, or present a certificate signed by a veterans service officer proving their veteran status.

For more information: How to Apply for a South Dakota Identification Card

How can I obtain a copy of the driver manual?
Drivers in South Dakota can prepare themselves for the drivers license application by reading the South Dakota Driver License Manual. If you want to obtain a copy of the South Dakota Driver License Manual immediately, you may download it as a PDF file from the DMV website, or go to your local South Dakota DMV office and request one.

For more information: South Dakota Driver’s License Manual

How can I renew my drivers license?
South Dakota residents may complete a drivers license renewal, online, by mail or at a local South Dakota DMV office. State and federal laws require you to have a federally compliant South Dakota drivers license (with a gold star on it) in order to apply by mail or online unless you are an active member of the military. To renew your drivers license at a local South Dakota DMV office, you must submit:

  • Completed South Dakota Driver License/I.D. Card Application
  • Expired drivers license
  • Two forms of proof of your South Dakota residential address
  • Proof of lawful status in U.S. (if you are a non-U.S. citizen)
  • Proof of name change (if applicable).

If you do not have a golden star on your drivers license, you will have to present additional documents as Proof of identity, date of birth, and Social Security number.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in South Dakota

How can I renew my vehicle registration?
In South Dakota renewing car registrations may be done online, by mail, or in person at a local County Treasurer’s office. Drivers may also use any of the ten Self Service Terminal locations throughout the state. Individuals renewing car registrations will require:

  • Car registration renewal notice,
  • South Dakota driver’s license number and date of birth
  • Payment for the renewal fee

Additional documents might be needed, depending on a drivers situation and method of applying for a car registration renewal.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in South Dakota

How can I transfer my registration to another state?
Residents of South Dakota who are moving to another state, must have their vehicle registration and title transferred to their new state. You must contact the DMV from your new state in order to find out the requirements for a successful transfer of your vehicle registration.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in South Dakota

How do I apply for a commercial drivers license?
South Dakota residents applying for a Commercial Drivers License (CDL) must visit a local South Dakota DMV office. The State requires a CDL applicant to be of at least 16 years of age and hold a valid Class 1 or Class 2 South Dakota drivers license. CDL applicants will need to complete the following:

  • Bring the required documents:

â—¦ A certificate of the agreement with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations

â—¦ proof of identity

â—¦ proof of South Dakota residency

â—¦ proof of authorized presence

â—¦ proof of Social Security number

â—¦ Medical Examiner’s Certificate

  • Pass the required exams:

â—¦ written drivers test

â—¦ vision screening test

â—¦ skills test

  • A $25 fee for your commercial drivers license, along with a $15 fee for each license endorsement.

For more information: South Dakota Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How do I apply for a disabled person parking placard or plates?
South Dakota drivers may apply for disabled person parking placard or plates, by mail or in person at a local South Dakota DMV office. You will need to submit the following:

o Medical certification on Section D, completed by a doctor

  • Proof of residency:

o South Dakota driver’s license

o South Dakota utility bill

  • Payment for the required fee:

o Disabled placards are free

o Disabled license plates: $5

For more information: Information for Disabled Drivers in South Dakota

How do I apply for a drivers license?
South Dakota residents who want to get drivers license, must applying for drivers license by visiting a local South Dakota DMV office. When you go to the DMV, you will have to:

  • Provide proof of your identity, date of birth, lawful status, Social Security number and two documents proving your South Dakota residential address
  • Have your photo taken
  • Pass the DMV drivers tests
  • Submit a payment for the required drivers license fee of $28

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in South Dakota

How do I apply for a learner’s permit?
If you are a South Dakota resident under 18 years of age, you need to go through the Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) process in order to obtain a learners permit. This process consists of three steps:

  • Instruction permit
  • Restricted minor’s permit
  • Operator s driver’s license

You must be at least 14 years old and you have to be accompanied by your parent or legal guardian when signing the application for instruction permit at a local South Dakota DMV office. Documentation proving your identity, Social security number and South Dakota residency will be required and you must pass two examinations:

  • Vision screening
  • Written knowledge test.

The instruction permit is valid for one-year and carries a $28 administrative fee .

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in South Dakota

How do I apply for a motorcycle license?
South Dakota drivers can apply for a motorcycle endorsement on their existing drivers license. You can submit an application for any of these motorcycle licenses at a local South Dakota DMV office:

  • Motorcycle Instruction Permit
  • Motorcycle Restricted Minor’s Permit
  • Motorcycle Operator’s License

In order to obtain any of these motorcycle licenses, you must:

  • Be 14 years old (or 16 years old for the motorcycle operator’s license)
  • Have a valid South Dakota drivers license
  • Successfully complete the motorcycle knowledge, vision and skills tests
  • Pay the required motorcycle endorsement fee

To study for the knowledge and skills tests, refer to the South Dakota Motorcycle Manual.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in South Dakota

How do I change my address on my car insurance?
South Dakota state law requires residents to have a minimum amount of liability auto insurance on their motor vehicles. After your official address change, you are required to notify the customer service department of your car insurance company to update your personal information. The insurance company will update your new address in their records and send you a current insurance ID card, or will ask you to show up in person at their office to verify the validity of the changes.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in South Dakota

How do I change my address on my car registration?
South Dakota residents who have recently changed addresses, must notify the South Dakota DMV of the address changing in order to receive a registration renewal notice and other pertinent correspondence. You can find the county treasurer you are required to notify, by checking the County Treasurer Office Contact Information. The fees vary according to the type of motor vehicle you operate.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in South Dakota

How do I change my address on my commercial drivers license?
Commercial motor vehicle (CDL) operators in South Dakota must make an official address change to their CDL licenses. Visit a local South Dakota DMV office and submit an address change request. Provide the DMV with the proper documentation and correct replacement fee according to the type of CDL you possess. For any additional information, contact the South Dakota DMV.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in South Dakota

How do I change my address on my drivers license?
South Dakota residents can make an address change by sending an email at DPSLicensingInfo@state.sd.us, along with the following information:

  • Full name
  • South Dakota driver’s license number
  • Date of birth
  • Old Address
  • New Address

This will only update the South Dakota DMV electronic records. If you want your driver’s license to be updated with an official address change, you have to visit a local South Dakota DMV office and pay the required fee.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in South Dakota

How do I change my address on my ID card?
Residents of South Dakota who want to make an official address change on ID cards, must visit a local South Dakota DMV office and pay the required fee. You can update your South Dakota DMV records by sending an email at DPSLicensingInfo@state.sd.us, along with the following information:

  • Full name
  • South Dakota driver’s license number
  • Date of birth
  • Old Address
  • New Address

This will only update the South Dakota DMV electronic records. The address on your ID card will remain the same, you will have to change your address by applying for an ID card renewal at a local South Dakota DMV office.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in South Dakota

How do I change my name on my car insurance?
All residents of South Dakota are required by law to have a minimum amount of liability auto insurance on their motor vehicles. To complete an official name change on your car insurance documents, you must notify the customer service department of your car insurance company. Most insurance companies will update your name change on their records online or over the phone, and send you a new ID card. Some will ask you to show up in person at their office to insure the validity of your name change.

For more information: South Dakota DMV information.

How do I change my name on my car registration?
South Dakota residents who require an official name change on their car registration, must visit the Social Security Administration (SSA) office and complete an Application for a Social Security Card. Once an official name change has been completed with the SSA, you should visit your local South Dakota DMV office, with the following documentation:

  • Proof of legal name change
  • Current title certificate and registration documents
  • Payment for duplicate documents

For more information: South Dakota DMV information.

How do I change my name on my driver’s license?
South Dakota residents who want to request a name change on drivers license must first submit a name change request to the Social Security Administration (SSA) office. After an official name change at a SSA office has been made, visit your local South Dakota DMV office with the following documentation:

â—¦ ID card

â—¦ South Dakota driver’s license

â—¦ U.S. passport

  • Proof of legal name change

â—¦ Marriage certificate

â—¦ Court order

â—¦ Divorce decree

  • Proof of U.S. citizenship or South Dakota residence

â—¦ A permanent resident card

â—¦ U.S. birth certificate

  • Two proofs of South Dakota address

â—¦ Utility bill

â—¦ Rental receipt

â—¦ Bank statement

  • Proof of Social Security number

â—¦ Social Security card

â—¦ Pay stub

  • Payment for the replacement fee

You may also mail the documents to:

South Dakota Driver Licensing Program

118 West Capitol Avenue, Pierre, SD 57501

For more information: South Dakota DMV information.

How do I change my name on my ID card?
Residents of South Dakota must first submit a name change request to the Social Security Administration (SSA) office before applying for a legal name change on an ID card. Upon completion with the SSA office, an official name change request is needed at a local South Dakota DMV office.: The following documentation will be required:

â—¦ ID card

â—¦ South Dakota driver’s license

â—¦ U.S. passport

  • Proof of legal name change

â—¦ Marriage certificate

â—¦ Court order

â—¦ Divorce decree

  • Proof of U.S. citizenship or South Dakota residence

â—¦ A permanent resident card

â—¦ U.S. birth certificate

  • Two proofs of South Dakota address

â—¦ Utility bill

â—¦ Rental receipt

â—¦ Bank statement

  • Proof of Social Security number

â—¦ Social Security card

â—¦ Pay stub

  • Payment for the replacement fee

You can also mail the documents to:

South Dakota Driver Licensing Program

118 West Capitol Avenue, Pierre, SD 57501

For more information: South Dakota DMV information.

How do I contact the Social Security Administration for my name change?
South Dakota residents who have recently had an official name change, need to submit an Application for a Social Security Card at the Social Security Administration (SSA) office prior to updating their records at a local South Dakota DMV office. Applications for an updated Social Security card may be submitted in person or by mail. The SSA will send you an updated card within 10 business days of processing.

For more information: South Dakota DMV information.

How do I file a complaint when I believe someone has illegally accessed my DMV record?
If you are a South Dakota resident who believes that someone has illegally accessed your driving record, you can file a complaint against the offending party under the Federal Driver Privacy Protection Act (FDPPA). Anybody who obtains personal information from a driving record without permission will be accused of illegal access to information. If it is found that your information was illegally accessed, you may bring a civil lawsuit against the offending party. In order to file a complaint, you must first contact the South Dakota DMV on the following address:

Driver Licensing Program

118 W Capitol Ave, Pierre SD 57501

For more information: Your South Dakota Driving Record

How do I file a police report if my car registration was stolen?
Residents of South Dakota who have a stolen car registration must contact a local law enforcement agency to file a police report. The law enforcement officials will take your statement and will supply you with a copy of the police report. You are required to take this police report to your local South Dakota DMV office when applying for car registration replacement, so that the DMV can have it on file.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in South Dakota

How do I file a police report if my car title was stolen?
South Dakota residents are required to contact a local law enforcement agency in order to file a police report for the stolen car title. Car titles contain identity and ownership information, so an immediate report a law enforcement agency may help avoid identity theft. Once you file a police report, you will need to bring a copy to your local South Dakota DMV office.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in South Dakota

How do I get a copy of my driving record?
South Dakota drivers can get a copy of their driving record by mail, online or in person. Check your driving record online by visiting the DMV website where you can pay for a non-certified electronic copy. To check your driving record in person, you are required to submit a completed and notarized Driver Licensing Request from Record Holder form, proof of identity and a payment of a $5 fee for each record, to one of the following exam stations:

  • Aberdeen Exam Station
  • Brookings Driver Exam Station
  • Rapid City Driver Exam Station
  • Sioux Falls Driver Exam Station
  • Watertown Driver Exam Station
  • Mitchell Driver Exam Station
  • Yankton Driver Exam Station

Drivers in South Dakota can also have their driving records mailed to them by completing the Driver Licensing Request from Record Holder, paying a $5 fee for each record requested by sending all documentation to the following address:

Driver Licensing Program

118 W Capitol Ave, Pierre SD 57501

For more information: Your South Dakota Driving Record

How do I get a duplicate ID card?
Residents of South Dakota with a lost, damaged or stolen ID card, must contact the nearest South Dakota DMV office for information on obtaining an identification card replacement. If you apply in person, you should submit the same documentation at the DMV as when you were submitting your original ID card application. If you are outside the state of South Dakota or a military member, you are required to apply for a duplicate ID card by mail by sending in:

  • A federally compliant ID card
  • A completed South Dakota Driver License/I.D. Card Application
  • Two proofs of your South Dakota residential address
  • Two proofs of your identity
  • A self-addressed and stamped envelope
  • A check or money order for the replacement fee

To the following address:

Driver Licensing Program

118 W Capitol Ave, Pierre SD 57501

For more information: How to Apply for a South Dakota Identification Card

How do I get a replacement license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
If you are a resident of South Dakota who is an active military member stationed elsewhere and who has a stolen, damaged or lost drivers license, you have the option to replace your license by mail. To complete the application process for a drivers license replacement, you need to mail the following documentation to the South Dakota DMV:

  • A South Dakota Driver License/I.D. Card Application
  • Copies of two documents for identification (from the above-mentioned primary and secondary identification documents) or copy of your federally compliant South Dakota drivers license
  • Copies of two documents showing your South Dakota residency
  • Check or money order for the $15 duplicate drivers license fee
  • Self-addressed and stamped envelope

Mail may be sent to the following address:

Driver Licensing Program

118 W Capitol Ave, Pierre SD 57501

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated South Dakota Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I obtain a copy of someone else’s driving record?
In South Dakota, only certain individuals and organizations have the permission to obtain a copy of someone else’s driving record:

  • Employers
  • Insurance companies
  • Government agencies

Individuals or businesses in South Dakota can obtain someone else’s driving record by mail or in person, by completing the following:

Submit the request and payment to any of the exam stations in Aberdeen, Brookings, Rapid City, Sioux Falls, Watertown, Mitchell and Yankton, or mail them to the following address:

Driver Licensing Program

118 W Capitol Ave, Pierre SD 57501

For more information: Your South Dakota Driving Record

How do I obtain a duplicate car registration?
South Dakota residents dealing with stolen, damaged or lost vehicle registrations, must apply for a duplicate vehicle registration at a local County Treasurer’s office. You will only be required to provide the following:

  • South Dakota driver’s license
  • Make and model of the vehicle,
  • Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
  • License plate number.

There is possibility that you will not have to pay fee for the duplicate registration card. Contact the County Treasurer’s office or the South Dakota DMV office before applying for a duplicate car registration for additional information.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in South Dakota

How do I obtain a duplicate car title?
South Dakota residents with damaged, lost or stolen car titles may apply for a duplicate car title at a local South Dakota DMV office or a County Treasurer’s office. You will need to complete an Application for a Duplicate Certificate of Title, have it notarized, and pay a $10 fee for the car title replacement. The application can be submitted by mail or in person.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in South Dakota

How do I obtain a duplicate license?
South Dakota resident who have a lost, damaged, mutilated or stolen drivers license must apply for a duplicate drivers license online, by mail (if a federally compliant license with a gold star) or in person at a local South Dakota DMV office. You will be required to submit the following:

  • A South Dakota Driver License/I.D. Card Application
  • One proof of your identity, date of birth and lawful status in U.S.
  • One proof of your Social Security number
  • Two proofs of your South Dakota residential address
  • Proof of a name change, in case that you have made a change
  • Payment of $15 fee

Use the following address if mailing in your duplicate license request:

Driver Licensing Program

118 W Capitol Ave, Pierre SD 57501

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated South Dakota Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I obtain car registration?
South Dakota residents are required to visit a local South Dakota DMV office to get car registrations for their new vehicles. Drivers will need to bring the following:

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in South Dakota

How do I reinstate my license if I refused to submit a breath/urine/blood test?
South Dakota residents who refuse to submit to a chemical test requested by a law enforcement individual, will have their driver’s license revoked for a period of one year. In order to reinstate revoked drivers license, you will have to satisfy all of the requirements of the court ordered suspension. Visit a local South Dakota DMV office and file an application for suspended drivers license reinstatement. You will have to submit a SR22 insurance document as proof that you have valid insurance no matter whether you possess a vehicle or not. Payment of a reinstatement fee and any application fees are also required.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for South Dakota

How do I renew my driving permit?
In South Dakota your instruction permit is valid for one year. If you do not pass the written drivers test three times or do not complete the drivers ed course, you will have to reapply for an instruction permit. You must hold your instruction permit for 180 days unless you complete a drivers ed course which will reduce that time period to 90 days. Then you may obtain a restricted minor’s permit that has a validity of five years. Once those five years pass or you turn 16 years of age, you can apply for a full and unrestricted operator’s driver’s license.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in South Dakota

How do I renew my ID card?
South Dakota residents that need an ID card renewal, will be required to provide a federally compliant ID card with a golden star on it in order to apply by mail or online. The only exception to this law is for active military members. The following ways are available to South Dakota residents for renewing ID cards:

  • When applying online at the Driver Licensing – Online Renewal, you must have a federally compliant ID card. You need to provide two proofs of your current address and pay the $28 required renewal fee.
  • When applying by mail, you must have a federally compliant ID card and you need to submit the documents:

â—¦ Completed South Dakota Driver License/I.D. Card Application

â—¦ Two proofs of your South Dakota residential address

â—¦ Proof of legal status in U.S., if you are a non-U.S. citizen

â—¦ Payment for the $28 renewal fee

Send all these documents to the following address:

Driver Licensing Program

118 W Capitol Ave, Pierre SD 57501

â—¦ A completed South Dakota Driver License/I.D. Card Application

â—¦ Your ID card

â—¦ Proof of legal status in U.S., if you are a non-U.S. citizen

â—¦ Payment for the $28 renewal fee

For more information: How to Apply for a South Dakota Identification Card

How do I renew my license if I am in the military and stationed elsewhere?
South Dakota residents who are active military members stationed elsewhere, are not required to have a federally compliant drivers license when applying by mail. You need to mail the following documentation:

  • Completed South Dakota Driver License/I.D. Card Application
  • Certified copy of your military ID card
  • Two proofs of your South Dakota residential address
  • Proof of lawful status in U.S., if you are a non-U.S. citizen
  • Payment for the $28 renewal fee

To the following address:

Driver Licensing Program

118 W Capitol Ave, Pierre SD 57501

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in South Dakota

How do I renew my medical report for a commercial license?
Residents of South Dakota should not wait for a CDL renewal to renew their medical report, since the Medical Examiner’s Certificate expires every two years. Drivers will be notified by mail 60 days before the expiration date of their medical certificate. They will have to make an appointment with a Medical Examiner to have an examination. CDL holders must send a new Medical Examiner’s Certificate and Medical Self-Certification Statement to the South Dakota Driver Licensing Program prior to the expiration date. The following are acceptable ways of sending the needed certifications:

  • By mail to the address:

Driver Licensing Program

118 W Capitol Ave, Pierre SD 57501

  • By fax: 605-773-3018
  • By email: DPSCDLMedCert@state.sd.us

If South Dakota drivers do not send a copy of the Medical Examiner’s Certificate and Medical Self-Certification Statement to the South Dakota Driver Licensing Program before the expiration date, their CDL license will be downgraded.

For more information: South Dakota Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How do I renew my motorcycle license?
Residents in South Dakota who have a motorcycle endorsement on their drivers license must renew the motorcycle endorsement at the same time of their drivers license renewal. You have the option to renew your motorcycle license either online at the Department of Public Safety website or in person at any local South Dakota DMV office by providing:

  • Driver’s license number
  • Date of birth
  • The last four digits of your Social Security number
  • Two documents as proof of your residential address

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in South Dakota

How do I replace my license if I am a non-U.S. citizen?
If you are a non-United States citizen living in South Dakota, you should present the following documentation when applying for a duplicate drivers license:

â—¦ I-551 (Lawful Permanent Resident Card, Machine Readable Immigrant Visa) with your unexpired foreign passport

â—¦ I-766 (Employment Authorization Document, EAD, work permit)

â—¦ I-94 (Arrival/Departure Record) or admission stamp in the unexpired foreign passport

  • Proof of work eligibility:

â—¦ Non-citizens or foreign workers need permission to work from DHS, and need to show their I-94 form and I-766 form from DHS

  • Proof of age:

â—¦ Your foreign birth certificate (If you don t have your foreign birth certificate, you can present your passport or a DHS document, as evidence of your age)

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated South Dakota Driver’s License or ID Card

How do I replace my license if I lost it out of state?
Resident of South Dakota who are currently out of the state and have a stolen, damaged or lost drivers license, have the option to replace your license by mail. This is only an option if you have been issued a federally compliant driver’s license with a gold star on it or if you are on active duty in the military. If you qualify, mail the following documentation to the South Dakota DMV:

  • A South Dakota Driver License/I.D. Card Application
  • Copies of two documents for identification (from the above-mentioned primary and secondary identification documents) or copy of your federally compliant South Dakota drivers license
  • Copies of two documents showing your South Dakota residency
  • Check or money order for the $15 fee for duplicate drivers license
  • Self-addressed and stamped envelope

Mail should be sent to the following address:

Driver Licensing Program

118 W Capitol Ave, Pierre SD 57501

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated South Dakota Driver’s License or ID Card

How does a military member obtain a motorcycle license?
Military members in South Dakota undergo the same process for getting a motorcycle license as for getting a regular drivers license, since they re only adding a motorcycle endorsement on their drivers license. Members of the Armed Forces on active duty can obtain a valid license from their home state, following the same process as for obtaining a regular drivers license:

  • Present:

â—¦ Proof of your identity, date of birth and lawful status

â—¦ Proof of Social Security number

â—¦ Two documents as a proof of your South Dakota residential address

â—¦ Proof of your name change (if relevant)

  • Have your photo taken
  • Pass the following tests:

â—¦ Vision test

â—¦ Written knowledge test

â—¦ Driving skills test

  • Pay the required motorcycle license fee

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in South Dakota

How does the DMV check my vision?
The vision test is one of the required examinations in the process of applying for drivers license at a local South Dakota DMV office. This test will check your visual acuity and will determine whether you have a minimum standard of vision for safe driving of 20/40. Applicants may wear corrective lenses while taking the vision test, but will be required to wear them anytime they plan to operate a motor vehicle. If you do not pass the vision test (with or without corrective lenses), the examiner has the right to suspend your drivers license until you present a statement from an optometrist or ophthalmologist certifying that you possess the visual ability to drive safely.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in South Dakota

How long do I need my learners permit before I can get my drivers license?
The length of time required to hold a learner s permit before applying for a drivers license in South Dakota is 180 days. Completing a driver s ed program will reduce that waiting period from 180 days to 90 days. Depending on when you complete each of the three steps that minors in South Dakota are required to go through will determine when you get drivers license:

  • Instruction permit
  • Restricted minor’s permit
  • Operator s driver’s license

In South Dakota, you must be at least 16 years old in order to be eligible for a full, unrestricted operator’s drivers license. You need to complete all the requirements for an instruction permit and not commit any traffic violation in the six months prior to the application date. If you fail to apply for an operator’s drivers license by 16 years of age, your restricted minor’s permit will turn into an operator’s drivers license once you turn 18 years old.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in South Dakota

How long does it take to receive my replacement car title after ordering online?
In South Dakota, you do not have the option of applying for a car title replacement online, so you need to submit both the notarized Application for a Duplicate Certificate of Title and $10 replacement fee payment to a local South Dakota DMV office or County Treasurer’s office or you can mail them to:

Division of Motor Vehicles

445 East Capitol Avenue Pierre SD 57501

The duplicate car title will arrive by mail. If this doesn’t happen, you could contact your local South Dakota DMV office for additional details.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in South Dakota

How long will it take to get my new ID card?
South Dakota residents may obtain an ID card at a local South Dakota DMV office and will receive the ID card the same day or within the few days following. This depends on whether they have time to wait at a DMV office or must return on a more convenient day to receive their new ID card.

For more information: How to Apply for a South Dakota Identification Card

How many points can I get on my driving record before my driver’s license is suspended?
Residents of South Dakota who commit traffic violations will have demerit points added to their driving record. A driver’s license will be suspended if the number of demerit points reaches above 15 within a year, or above 22 within two years.

For more information: Your South Dakota Driving Record

How many times can I attend a traffic school course to remove points from my driving record?
South Dakota residents cannot remove demerit points from their driving record by attending and completing a traffic school course. Taking a traffic school course will provide you with an insurance discount, and may help you reduce the number of traffic violations you commit in the future.

For more information: Your South Dakota Driving Record

How much does it cost to change my name on my car registration?
Car registration duplication fees in South Dakota vary according to the type of motor vehicle you operate. To obtain more accurate information on registration fees associated with name changing, contact your South Dakota DMV.

For more information: South Dakota DMV information.

How much does it cost to change my name on my car title?
Residents of South Dakota who need official name changing on a car title will incur an administrative processing fee of $10. For more information on the fees associated with name changing, contact a local South Dakota DMV office.

For more information: South Dakota DMV information.

How much does it cost to change my name with the DMV?
South Dakota residents who have recently had an official name change and require an updated driver’s license or ID card will incur a fee of $15. Updating your name change on a car title in South Dakota has a $10 administrative fee. For more information on the fees for name changing, contact your local South Dakota DMV office.

For more information: South Dakota DMV information.

How often do I need to renew my CDL license?
South Dakota residents need a CDL license renewal before the expiration date printed on their license. CDL licenses are valid for five years and usually expire on the holder s birthday. The renewal process must be completed at a local South Dakota DMV office 180 days prior to the expiration date.

For more information: South Dakota Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

How soon can I renew my driver’s license?
The South Dakota DMV allows drivers license renewal in the period of 180 days before the birthday on which it will expire. If you fail to renew it by the expiration date, you have one additional month to apply for a drivers license renewal.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in South Dakota

If I do not renew on time, will there be an additional fee?
If you do not renew vehicle registration on time in South Dakota, you may receive a traffic citation from a law enforcement official in addition to the late fee associated with an expired registration. For additional details contact the South Dakota DMV office.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in South Dakota

If I file a police report, will my replacement fee be waived?
South Dakota residents will have to pay the $15 drivers license replacement fee in most cases. For further questions about whether your replacement fee will be waived or not, contact the South Dakota DMV at (1-800) 952-3696, or send an email at DPSLicensingInfo@state.sd.us.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated South Dakota Driver’s License or ID Card

If I have been in an accident, what property damage do I have to report?
If you are an operator of motor vehicle who has been in an accident in South Dakota, you are required by state law to report all damages to a South Dakota DMV office. There are two types of property damages that need to be reported: damages to vehicles and damages to personal property, such as house, building, fence, lamppost, etc. In order to receive financial compensation, you are required to report the property damage to the DMV and to your car insurance company.

For more information: South Dakota Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

If I live outside of the state for half the year, am I still required to have car insurance?
In South Dakota all drivers are required to have a minimum liability auto insurance whether they are permanent residents or out-of-state residents for half the year. If a driver owns and operates a motor vehicle in the state of South Dakota, they are required by law to acquire a minimum auto insurance policy covering:

  • Bodily Injury/Death Liability Insurance:

â—¦ Injury or death of one person: $25,000

â—¦ Total injury or death if multiple people are hurt: $50,000

  • Property Damage Liability Insurance: $25,000
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Insurance:

â—¦ Bodily injury per person: $25,000

â—¦ Bodily Injury per accident: $50,000

For more information: South Dakota Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

If I’m out of state and lost my ID, how can I get a new one?
If you are an out-of-state South Dakota resident or a military member on active duty, you will have to apply for a duplicate ID card by mail, by providing:

  • A federally compliant ID card
  • A South Dakota Driver License/I.D. Card Application
  • Two proofs of your South Dakota residential address
  • Two proofs of your identity
  • A self-addressed and stamped envelope
  • A check or money order for the replacement fee

To the following address:

Driver Licensing Program

118 W Capitol Ave, Pierre SD 57501

For more information: How to Apply for a South Dakota Identification Card

If my driver’s license was confiscated at the time of my DUI/DWI arrest, how do I get it back?
South Dakota residents whose driver’s licenses have been confiscated due to a DUI/DWI arrest, might be able to get it back after the period of suspension or revocation has passed. To reinstate suspended drivers licenses, you will have to submit an SR22 insurance document at the end of the suspension or revocation period. This insurance serves as a proof that you have valid insurance no matter whether you possess a vehicle or not. You will also be required to pay a reinstatement fee and any application fees. If you are a South Dakota driver with a revoked drivers license, you will have to pass the required tests again before a new license is issued. Go to a local South Dakota DMV office in order to begin the process of reinstating suspended drivers license.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for South Dakota

Is there a different process I must follow if I lost personalized plates?
Residents of South Dakota who have stolen, damaged or lost personalized license plates, should follow the same procedure as for regular plates. It is mandatory to file a police report for lost or stolen plates with a local law enforcement agency. You should prepare the following:

If your license plates were damaged, you should submit them along with the obligatory documentation to a local South Dakota DMV office. If you are not able to visit the DMV office, you may mail the documents and payment to the address given on the affidavit form.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in South Dakota

Is there a minimum age I have to be to get a commercial drivers license?
South Dakota residents must be at least 16 years old and have a valid Class 1 or Class 2 drivers license to apply for a CDL license. To obtain a CDL license with a hazardous materials endorsement, an applicant must be 21 years old and hold a South Dakota drivers license.

For more information: South Dakota Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

Is there an age limit to renew your license?
In South Dakota, there is no age limit on whether a resident can renew drivers license. Drivers under 21 years of age have an expiration date of their driver’s license on their 21st birthday. Drivers between 21 and 65 years old must renew drivers licenses after a period of five years. Motor vehicle operators above 65 years of age have a driver’s license validity of five years, but they are required to provide a Vision Statement upon renewal.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in South Dakota

Should I carry the registration on me or in the car?
South Dakota requires drivers to carry car registration documents in their motor vehicles at all times.

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in South Dakota

What address will my replacement license be mailed to?
The drivers license replacement will be sent to the mailing address that has been entered in the South Dakota Driver License/I.D. Card Application.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated South Dakota Driver’s License or ID Card

What are requirements for seniors to renew a driving license?
Drivers in South Dakota have no restrictions on age. This means that senior drivers are required to renew their drivers license following the same process for drivers license renewal as for every driver in South Dakota. Visit a local South Dakota DMV office, and complete the following:

  • Take a vision test
  • Present a medical statement that you are a safe driver

You might be required to undergo a reexamination of your driving skills in order to reevaluate your physical and mental condition. A reexamination includes:

  • An interview
  • Vision test,
  • Written drivers test
  • Driving test

To prepare for this reexamination, you can enroll in a drivers ed course or study the South Dakota Driver License Manual.

For more information: Senior drivers in South Dakota

What are the age restrictions to ride a motorcycle?
South Dakota has age restrictions on motorcycle endorsements based on type:

  • Motorcycle Instruction Permit: 14 years old
  • Motorcycle Restricted Minor’s Permit: 14 years old
  • Motorcycle Operator’s License: 16 years old

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in South Dakota

What are the available commercial license endorsements?
Commercial drivers in South Dakota are required to add CDL endorsements to their licenses before transporting passengers or cargo in a commercial motor vehicle. South Dakota has six endorsements:

  • Double/Triple Trailers (Class T)
  • Tank Vehicles (Class N)
  • Passengers (Class P)
  • School Buses (Class S)
  • Hazardous Materials (Class H)
  • Combination Hazardous Materials and Tank Vehicle (Class X)

To apply for a CDL license or CDL endorsements, contact your local South Dakota DMV office.

For more information: South Dakota Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the different types of driving records?
In South Dakota, there is only one official driving record, which includes the following information:

  • Suspensions
  • Violations
  • Driving status
  • Points
  • Fines
  • Violation codes
  • License classification
  • Endorsements

For more information: Your South Dakota Driving Record

What are the fees associated with an ID card?
In South Dakota, ID card fees vary depending on whether or not the resident is getting a new ID card, a replacement or a renewal but are typically $28.

For more information: How to Apply for a South Dakota Identification Card

What are the fees for a duplicate drivers license?
The fee for a duplicate drivers license is $15 in South Dakota. You will need pay this fee by visiting a local South Dakota DMV office, or by sending a check or money order to the following address:

Driver Licensing Program

118 W Capitol Ave, Pierre SD 57501

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated South Dakota Driver’s License or ID Card

What are the learners permit restrictions during my first year?
South Dakota residents face the following learners permit restrictions, according to the type of learners permit they possess:

  • Instruction permit

â—¦ Between 6 a.m. and 10 p.m. you can drive under the supervision of a driver who has one-year driving experience, at least 18 years of age and who is sitting next to you

â—¦ Between 10 p.m. and 6 a.m. you can drive only under the supervision of your parent or legal guardian

  • Restricted minor’s permit

â—¦ Between 6 a.m. and 10 p.m. you are allowed to drive unsupervised only if you have your parent or legal guardian’s permission

â—¦ Between 10 p.m. and 6 a.m. you can drive only under the supervision of your parent or legal guardian

  • Operator s driver’s license

â—¦ This license is a regular drivers license with full privileges and no restrictions

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in South Dakota

What are the medical certifications required to obtain a CDL?
South Dakota drivers need to obtain certain medical certifications to apply for a CDL license. Applicants must self-certify or be medically certified by an approved medical examiner that they are fit to operate a motor vehicle safely. Commercial drivers are required to bring a copy of their self-certification or Medical Examiner’s Certificate to a local South Dakota DMV office, or mail it to the following address:

Driver Licensing Program

118 W Capitol Ave, Pierre SD 57501

A copy of the self-certification or the Medical Examiner’s Certificate is required to be in your motor vehicle during operation. Drivers in South Dakota must certify on their driver license application which of the following types of commerce they will operate in:

  • Interstate non-excepted
  • Interstate excepted
  • Intrastate non-excepted
  • Intrastate excepted

For more information: South Dakota Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What are the most common reasons why I would need to replace my registration?
In South Dakota, the most common reasons to replace vehicle registration are:

  • Your registration certificate was lost, stolen or damaged
  • Your license plate was lost stolen or damaged
  • Your validation sticker was lost, stolen or damaged

You may apply for a duplicate vehicle registration at any local County Treasurer’s office.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in South Dakota

What are the penalties of being convicted of driving under the influence?
South Dakota drivers who have been found driving above the legal alcohol limit, will receive a DUI citation. Penalties for DUI/DWI are:

  • First offense:

â—¦ Revoked driver’s license from 30 days to one year

â—¦ Up to $2,000 fine

  • Second offense:

â—¦ Revoked driver’s license for one year

â—¦ Up to $2,000 fine

â—¦ Court-approved alcohol treatment program

â—¦ Possible three-day jail time if convicted of another DUI conviction

  • Third offense:

â—¦ Revoked driver’s license for one year

â—¦ Up to $4,000 fine

â—¦ Ten days jail time if caught driving in that period

  • Fourth offense:

â—¦ Revoked driver’s license for two years

â—¦ Up to $10,000 fine

â—¦ Twenty days jail time if caught driving in that period

  • Fifth or subsequent offense:

â—¦ Revoked driver’s license for three years

â—¦ Up to $20,000 fine

â—¦ Twenty days jail time if caught driving in that period

An additional penalty may include a lifetime revocation of driving privileges.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for South Dakota

What are the required fees for my vehicle registration?
South Dakota has standard vehicle registration fees:

  • Title fee: $5
  • Lien Notation: $5
  • Solid Waste: $1
  • Mailing: $5
  • Highway Patrol: $1
  • Late Title Application: $1 for every week after the grace period

There are also different monthly auto registration fees according to the motor vehicle’s weight and manufactured date:

  • 1 to 2,000 pounds:

o Zero to nine years old: $3

o Ten years of age and older: $2.10

  • 2,001 to 4,000 pounds:

o Zero to nine years old: $6

o Ten years of age and older: $4.20

  • 4,001 to 6,000 pounds:

o Zero to nine years old: $9

o Ten years of age and older: $6.30

  • Above 6,000 pounds:

o Zero to nine years old: $12

o Ten years of age and older: $8.40

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in South Dakota

What are the required fees to get a replacement car title?
South Dakota drivers applying for a duplicate car title are required to pay a $10 replacement fee.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in South Dakota

What are the required fees to get replacement registration?
Fees for a replacement registration in South Dakota vary and you should contact the County Treasurer’s office or the South Dakota DMV office before applying for a duplicate car registration for additional information.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in South Dakota

What are the required fees to renew my registration?
In South Dakota, the fees for a vehicle registration renewal vary according to the weight and age of your vehicle. You can find the information about the registration fee written on the car registration renewal notice which you will receive prior to the expiration date.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in South Dakota

What are the requirements to operate a three-wheel motorcycle?
In South Dakota, a motorcycle endorsement is required in order to operate a three-wheel motorcycles. The requirements to operate it would be the same as for a motorcycle:

  • Pass a written drivers test
  • Pass a driving test

For additional details about the exams, read through the South Dakota Motorcycle Manual. This supplement contains specific information about the safe operation of a two-wheeled or three-wheeled motorcycle.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in South Dakota

What do I need to do to get my driver’s license if I fail the driving test?
If a South Dakota resident fails the driving test, they have two chances to retake it in the following six months. Drivers failing three times must restart the entire application process. Preparing for the exam in advance by reading the South Dakota Driver License Manual and taking practice tests will help prospective drivers avoid having to restart this process.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in South Dakota

What documents do I need to get a learner’s permit?
When you file an application for a learners permit at a local South Dakota DMV office, you will be required to submit the following documents:

  • Application form
  • Signed parental consent
  • Proof of identity:

â—¦ Original U.S. birth certificate

â—¦ Valid U.S. passport

â—¦ Documents for citizenship

  • Social Security Card as a proof of your Social Security number (SSN)
  • Two proofs of South Dakota residency:

â—¦ School report card

â—¦ Pay stub

â—¦ Residency documents from your parent or legal guardian

  • Payment for the $28 learners permit fee

The South Dakota DMV also requires you to pass two examinations:

  • Vision screening
  • Written knowledge test

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in South Dakota

What documents do I need to get a motorcycle license?
Residents of South Dakota who would like to apply for a motorcycle license or motorcycle endorsement, must provide the same required documentation as for a regular drivers license to their local South Dakota DMV office:

  • Proof of identity, date of birth and lawful status
  • Proof of your Social Security number
  • Two proofs of your residential address in South Dakota
  • Proof of your registration at the Selective Service
  • Payment of the required fee

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in South Dakota

What documents do I need to get my drivers license?
South Dakota residents must submit the following to a local South Dakota DMV office to receive a drivers license:

  • Drivers license application
  • Proof of your identity, date of birth and lawful status
  • Proof of Social Security number
  • Two documents as a proof of your South Dakota residential address
  • Proof of your name change (in case that you have made a name change)
  • Have your photo taken
  • Pass the following tests:

â—¦ Vision test

â—¦ Written knowledge test

â—¦ Driving skills test

  • Pay the required drivers license fee of $28

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in South Dakota

What documents do I need to present for a replacement car title?
South Dakota residents who have a damaged, stolen or lost car title, must replacing car title either by mail or in person at a local South Dakota DMV office or County Treasurer’s office. You can obtain a duplicate car title by providing the following:

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in South Dakota

What documents do I need to present for proof of residency?
Residents of South Dakota who apply for an official address change will be asked to provide proof of their new address with any of the following:

  • Utility bill
  • Mortgage document
  • Credit card statement
  • Tax document
  • Pay stub or earnings statement
  • Homeowners/renter s insurance policy
  • Rent receipt
  • Phone bill
  • Transcript or report card from accredited school
  • Bank statement
  • PO Box addresses are acceptable in areas not assigned street or 911 addresses
  • Other items will be reviewed by licensing personnel

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in South Dakota

What documents do I need to present if I am a non-U.S. citizen changing address?
Residents of South Dakota who have recently moved to a new address but are non-United States citizens, need to present the following documents:

  • DHS proof of identity and immigration status:

â—¦ I-551 (Lawful Permanent Resident Card, Machine Readable Immigrant Visa) with your unexpired foreign passport

â—¦ I-766 (Employment Authorization Document, EAD, work permit)

â—¦ I-94 (Arrival/Departure Record) or admission stamp in the unexpired foreign passport

  • Proof of work eligibility:

â—¦ Non-citizens or foreign workers need permission to work from DHS, and need to show their I-94 form and I-766 form from DHS

  • Proof of age:

â—¦ Your foreign birth certificate

â—¦ If you don t have your foreign birth certificate, you can present your passport or a DHS document, as evidence of your age

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in South Dakota

What documents do I need to present to get a replacement car registration?
In South Dakota, you can get a car registration replacement in person at a local County Treasurer’s office by providing:

  • Your South Dakota driver’s license
  • Your vehicle information:

â—¦ Model of the vehicle

â—¦ Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)

â—¦ License plate number

You may not have to pay any fee for a duplicate registration card. Contact the County Treasurer’s office or the South Dakota DMV office before applying for a duplicate car registration for additional information of possible fees.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in South Dakota

What documents do I need to present to get new registration?
To register car in South Dakota, you will need to present the following to any County Treasurer’s office:

  • Proof of ownership:

â—¦ Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin (MSO)

â—¦ Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin (MCO)

â—¦ The transferred certificate of title

For more information: How to Register a Vehicle in South Dakota

What documents do I need to present to renew my car registration?
When applying to renew car registrations in South Dakota you should have the following documentation:

  • Car registration renewal notice
  • Your South Dakota driver’s license
  • Proof of identification
  • The registration from the previous year
  • Proof of insurance
  • Proof of passing the emissions tests (only in areas where required)
  • Proof of your new address, in case that you have changed it
  • Cash or money order for the registration renewal fees

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in South Dakota

What documents do I need to present to renew my drivers license?
If you have a federally compliant South Dakota drivers license with a golden star on it, you should present the following:

  • Completed South Dakota Driver License/I.D. Card Application
  • Your South Dakota drivers license
  • Two proofs of your South Dakota residential address
  • Proof of lawful status in U.S., if you are a non-U.S. citizen
  • Proof of name change (if applicable)

If you do not have a federally compliant South Dakota drivers license with a golden star on it, you should present the following:

  • Completed South Dakota Driver License/I.D. Card Application
  • One proof of your identity, date of birth and lawful status in U.S.
  • One proof of your Social Security number
  • Two proofs of your South Dakota residential address
  • Proof of name change (if applicable)

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in South Dakota

What documents will I need to present to replace my drivers license?
If you have a federally compliant South Dakota drivers license with a golden star on it, you will be able to apply by mail. When applying in person or by mail, you should present the following documentation:

â—¦ U.S. certified birth certificate

â—¦ Valid U.S. passport

â—¦ Certificate of citizenship or naturalization

â—¦ Valid permanent resident card

â—¦ Valid employment authorization document

â—¦ Foreign passport with U.S. visa or I-94

  • One proof of Social Security number:

â—¦ Social Security card

â—¦ W-2 form

â—¦ Military ID, tribal ID, or other document approved by examiner

  • Two proofs of your South Dakota residential address:

â—¦ Utility bill or a credit card statement showing your address

  • Proof of legal name change, if you had a change of your name

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated South Dakota Driver’s License or ID Card

What exams do I need to pass to get a motorcycle license?
The South Dakota residents are required to pass certain examination in order to obtain a motorcycle endorsement on their drivers license. The process consists of three exams:

  • Vision test
  • Knowledge test
  • Motorcycle skills Driving test

Before taking any test, schedule an appointment at a local South Dakota DMV office. For additional details about the exams, read the South Dakota Motorcycle Manual. Practice exams are also available to help familiarize an individual with the South Dakota knowledge tests.

For more information: How to Apply for a Motorcycle License in South Dakota

What forms must I fill out for a duplicate car title?
To receive a duplicate car title in South Dakota, you must complete the following forms:

Motor vehicle owners must submit these forms along with the required payment of $10 to a local South Dakota DMV office or County Treasurer’s office in person or by mailing them to:

Division of Motor Vehicles

445 East Capitol Avenue Pierre SD 57501

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in South Dakota

What happens to my commercial driver license if I am convicted of a DUI?
Residents of South Dakota convicted of a DUI while operating any motor vehicle will have their CDL license disqualified. Also CDL s can suspended or revoked for the following:

  • If you have an alcohol concentration of 0.04 percent or more
  • If you refuse to take a BAC test
  • If you are criminally convicted for DUI

CDL drivers in South Dakota face the following penalties for DUI related convictions:

  • First offense: CDL license disqualified for one year (three years if transporting hazardous materials).
  • Second offense: Lifetime disqualification on your CDL license, which can be reinstated after 10 years, if the state decides to award you a reinstatement.
  • Major violation: permanent and irreversible disqualification of your CDL license at the courts discretion.

For more information: South Dakota Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What if the original is located after my car title replacement has been issued?
If you are a South Dakota resident and you find your lost car title after your car title replacement has been issued, you should keep both as proof of ownership. Submit both the notarized Application for a Duplicate Certificate of Title and the $10 payment in person to a local South Dakota DMV office or County Treasurer’s office, or mail them to the following address:

Division of Motor Vehicles

445 East Capitol Avenue Pierre SD 57501

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in South Dakota

What information does a driving record contain?
A South Dakota motor vehicle record (MVR), or driving record, contains the following information:

  • Suspensions
  • Violations
  • Driving status
  • Points
  • Fines
  • Violation codes
  • License classification
  • Endorsements

For more information: Your South Dakota Driving Record

What is an ID card?
Residents of South Dakota can apply for ID cards at a local South Dakota DMV office which provide proof of:

  • Identity
  • Age
  • South Dakota residence

ID cards do not allow for the legal operation of a motor vehicle.

For more information: How to Apply for a South Dakota Identification Card

What is considered the legal alcohol limit?
What is the cost of a DUI?
The cost of a DUI conviction in South Dakota depends on the number of offenses the driver has committed:

  • First offense: $2,000
  • Second offense: $2,000
  • Third offense: $4,000
  • Fourth offense: $10,000
  • Fifth or subsequent offense: $20,000

Drivers may also receive jail time and a period of suspension or revocation of their driver’s license.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for South Dakota

What is the cost to get a driver record?
The cost of obtaining a driving record in South Dakota is $5 per record. South Dakota is restricted by a codified law to retrieve records only from three years prior to date of the driving record request. For further questions, call 1-800 952-3696 or (605) 773-6883.

For more information: Your South Dakota Driving Record

What is the DUI penalty for a CDL driver?
CDL drivers who are found with a blood alcohol content (BAC) higher than 0.04 percent, will received a DWI citation. If it is a first offense, their licenses will automatically be suspended for a year. DUI or DWI convictions while transporting hazardous materials will result in a three year license suspension. Any subsequent offense will result in a lifetime revocation of your CDL.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for South Dakota

What is the DUI penalty for a minor?
Minors found driving under the influence of alcohol with a BAC above the legal alcohol limit of 0.02 percent , will face the following penalties:

  • Demerit points added to your driving record
  • Suspension or revocation of driver’s license
  • Payment of a fine
  • Possible jail time

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for South Dakota

What is the minimum liability insurance coverage?
If you are a driver in South Dakota, it is illegal to operate a vehicle if it is not covered by a minimum amount of liability car insurance. The minimum vehicle coverage required in South Dakota includes:

  • Bodily Injury/Death Liability Insurance:

â—¦ Injury or death of one person: $25,000

â—¦ Total injury or death if multiple people are hurt: $50,000

  • Property Damage Liability Insurance: $25,000
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Insurance:

â—¦ Bodily injury per person: $25,000

â—¦ Bodily Injury per accident: $50,000

For more information: South Dakota Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

What is the passing score for a written test?
In South Dakota, a written drivers test contains 25 questions on topics related to safe driving, rules of the road and traffic laws. If you want to obtain a South Dakota learners permit, you need to pass this written drivers test with a score of 80 percent or higher. You may take the written drivers test once a day and if you fail, you are allowed to take the test again the following business day. Once an applicant fails the written drivers test three times they will not be allowed to take the exam again until they reapply for a learners permit. Prepare yourself by taking online practice driving tests and reading the South Dakota Driver License Manual.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in South Dakota

What languages is the written test available in?
The written drivers test is only available in English. If English is not your first language, you may qualify for additional time on your examination. You must request an ESL Authorization for this time extension from Prometric, by providing the following:

  • A personal letter requesting the authorization
  • A letter from your English instructor proving that English is not your primary language

If this time extension is approved, Prometric will extend the examination time by 50 percent. You will be notified by mail, and do not schedule the exam until you receive the approval letter.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in South Dakota

What must I do to reinstate my driver’s license as a result of a DUI/DWI?
South Dakota motor vehicle operators who have been given a DUI citation resulting in a suspended or revoked drivers license, must meet all the following requirements in order to be able to apply for a suspended drivers license reinstatement:

  • Complete the court requirements
  • Complete the period of your driver’s license suspension
  • Complete a possible court-approved alcohol treatment program
  • Provide proof of SR22 insurance
  • Provide payment for the driver’s license reinstatement fee
  • Possible installment of an Ignition interlock device (IID)
  • Successful retake of all exams in the case of a revoked driver’s license

Drivers can apply for suspended drivers license reinstatement at a local South Dakota DMV office.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for South Dakota

What penalties will I face if I do not change my address with the DMV?
Any South Dakota resident who has recently moved to a new address, must notify the South Dakota DMV of the address changing within 90 days. South Dakota allows you to update your DMV records by sending an email. You will have to change the address on your documents at a local South Dakota DMV office in order to receive a registration renewal notices and other pertinent correspondence. To avoid penalties and fines from law enforcement officials that become aware that you have the wrong address on your license, submit an official address change form to the local South Dakota DMV office.

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in South Dakota

What penalties will I face if I do not renew my expired drivers license?
South Dakota drivers who fail to renew drivers licenses by their expiration date, have an additional one month to apply for a drivers license renewal. It is illegal to drive with an expired drivers license and you will be required to pay fines and administrative fees if discovered operating a motor vehicle by a law enforcement official.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in South Dakota

What proof of insurance can I provide when registering my car?
South Dakota state law requires you to show proof of car insurance when registering your car, when you are involved in a car accident and whenever you are stopped by a police officer. A car insurance company issued proof of insurance that includes the name of the company, your policy number and the effective date of coverage, as well as the expiration date will be sufficient.

For more information: South Dakota Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

What should I do if I have not received my registration tags or stickers?
South Dakota residents who have successfully completed the renewing car registration process but have not received their registration tags or stickers, should contact a South Dakota DMV office.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in South Dakota

What should I do if I have not received my renewed license?
In South Dakota, the DMV will send you a drivers license renewal notice by mail or email prior to your drivers license expiration date. If you haven’t received the renewed driver’s license in the period of time specified by the DMV, you must contact a local South Dakota DMV office at (1-800) 952-3696 or (605) 773-6883 or send an inquiry to:

Driver Licensing Program 118 W. Capitol Ave, Pierre, SD 57501

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in South Dakota

What test do I need to take for my learners permit?
Any South Dakota resident who wants to obtain a learners permit, needs to pass two examinations at the time of application:

  • vision screening
  • written knowledge test

Completion of a drivers ed course excludes you from these exam requirements. Presenting a signed drivers ed certificate with a score of 80 percent, will be enough to get your restricted minor’s permit without taking the road skills test.

You can always prepare for the tests by reading the South Dakota Driver License Manual, taking a learners permit practice test online, or buying a South Dakota Practice Test from the DMV website.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in South Dakota

What tests do I have to take to obtain a CDL?
South Dakota residents must pass number of tests in order to receive their CDL license. These tests include:

  • Knowledge tests:

â—¦ One or more knowledge tests are required, depending on the commercial license class and on the types of endorsements you need.

  • Skills tests:

â—¦ Pre-trip inspection

â—¦ Basic vehicle control

â—¦ On-road driving

The skills test for a CDL license are not conducted in a local South Dakota DMV office, but at a Third Party Tester location.

For more information: South Dakota Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Application

What tests will I need to take for my drivers license?
If you are a South Dakota resident and you are applying for drivers license, you will be required to pass the following exams:

  • Vision test
  • Written knowledge test
  • Driving skills test

If you want to obtain a South Dakota learners permit, you are required to pass the written drivers test with a score of 80 percent or higher. The exam contains 25 questions on topics related to safe driving, rules of the road and traffic laws. If you fail the test three successive times, you will have to repeat the whole drivers license application process before you will be allowed to retake the test. To prepare yourself for the exams, take the online practice driving tests and review the South Dakota Driver License Manual.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in South Dakota

What type of car insurance am I required to have?
In South Dakota, all motor vehicles are required to have a minimum amount of liability car insurance. Required car insurance includes:

  • Bodily Injury Liability Insurance
  • Property Damage Liability Insurance
  • Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Insurance

For more information: South Dakota Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

What type of noncommercial license will I need?
Which noncommercial drivers license you need, depends on your age and type of motor vehicle you operate. In South Dakota there are different types of drivers licenses according to the type of motor vehicle you want to drive:

  • Commercial driver’s license
  • Noncommercial driver’s license:

â—¦ Instruction permit or restricted minor’s permit

â—¦ Full unrestricted driver’s license

â—¦ Motorcycle license

If you are under 21, you will need either the instruction permit or the restricted minor’s permit. If you are above 21, you can apply for a full unrestricted drivers license. Residents that want to drive a motorcycle will need a motorcycle license, or a motorcycle endorsement on your existing drivers license.

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in South Dakota

What will happen if I fail to get or keep car insurance?
South Dakota residents are required to obtain proof of insurance from their auto insurance company, in the form of a car insurance ID card. Drivers of motor vehicles in South Dakota who decide to operate their vehicle without getting car insurance will face penalties associated with minimum liability coverage laws. Those penalties are:

  • Fine of $100
  • Jail time of 30 days
  • Demerit points on a driving record
  • Suspension of a driver’s license and car registration for up to one year
  • $500 restoration fee
  • Obtain SR22 insurance for three years

For more information: South Dakota Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

When does my car registration expire?
South Dakota has a vehicle registration renewal system based on the first letter of your last name, which is connected to a month of the year. Below are listed the corresponding months and letters:

  • January: A, B
  • February: C, D, E
  • March: F, G, J
  • May: H, I, O
  • June: K, L
  • July: M, N
  • August: P, Q, R
  • September: S
  • November: T, U, V, W, X, Y, Z

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in South Dakota

When does my ID card expire?
In South Dakota, an ID card is valid for five years before you will have to renew ID card. A South Dakota ID card issued before a drivers 21st birthday expires 30 days after their 21st birthday. If your ID card is expired for more than one year, you will not be allowed to renew ID card, and will have to apply for a new one.

For more information: How to Apply for a South Dakota Identification Card

When must I change my address with the DMV?
Residents of South Dakota who are changing address when moving must notify the South Dakota DMV within 90 days. To submit an address change request for a driver’s license or an ID card, residents must present the needed documentation at a local South Dakota DMV office. If you are interested only in an update at the South Dakota DMV electronic records, you can send an email at DPSLicensingInfo@state.sd.us, along with the following information:

  • Full name
  • South Dakota driver’s license number
  • Date of birth
  • Old Address
  • New Address

For more information: How to Handle a Change of Address in South Dakota

When will I need to renew my license?
South Dakota drivers licenses expire on your birthday five years after they were issued. The South Dakota DMV will send you a drivers license renewal notice via mail or email prior to your drivers license expiration date. You have one additional month after the expiration date to apply for a drivers license renewal.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in South Dakota

When will I receive a replacement license after applying?
South Dakota residents who apply for a duplicate drivers license in person, will receive their replacement license immediately. Those choosing to apply by mail will have to wait for the duplicate drivers license to arrive.

For more information: Replace a Lost, Stolen, or Mutilated South Dakota Driver’s License or ID Card

Where can I find a local tax county collector office?
Each county in South Dakota has a number of County Treasurer’s offices for drivers to obtain a duplicate vehicle registration. These offices are throughout the state, and you can choose the most convenient location from this list to complete your vehicle registration replacement.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in South Dakota

Where can I find more information about an ignition interlock device?
Residents of South Dakota must install an ignition interlock device (IID) on the vehicle they drive, after a conviction of a DUI or DWI. An ignition interlock device (IID) is a device connected to the ignition, requiring the driver to breathe into it before starting the vehicle. This device detects the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of the driver, and whenever the concentration is above the legal limit, the vehicle s engine will not start. Further details about the ignition interlock device (IID) are available at the Driving Laws website.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for South Dakota

Where can I get a new drivers license?
To apply for drivers license in South Dakota, you are required to visit a local South Dakota DMV office. You must submit the necessary documentation and pay the drivers license fee. Drivers must also pass the following exams:

  • Vision test
  • Written drivers test
  • Driving test

Residents of South Dakota can obtain their drivers license at the local South Dakota DMV office at the time of application

For more information: How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in South Dakota

Where can I mail my request for a replacement title?
If you are a South Dakota resident with a damaged, lost or stolen car title, you have the option to apply for a duplicate car title either by mail or in person at a local South Dakota DMV office or County Treasurer’s office. You need to complete and notarize an Application for a Duplicate Certificate of Title and pay a $10 replacement fee for the new car title. The application and payment can be mailed to the following address:

Division of Motor Vehicles

445 East Capitol Avenue Pierre SD 57501

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in South Dakota

Where can I obtain an ID card?
Residents of South Dakota may obtain ID cards by visiting a local South Dakota DMV office. Initial ID cards cannot be obtained online or by mail. To apply for ID cards, residents must bring documents proving their identity, date of birth, Social Security number, lawful U.S. presence and South Dakota residential address. A $28 fee for a new ID card is also required.

For more information: How to Apply for a South Dakota Identification Card

Which types of vehicles need to be insured?
In South Dakota it is illegal to operate any type of motor vehicle that is not covered by a minimum amount of liability car insurance, including:

  • Bodily Injury/Death Liability Insurance:

â—¦ Injury or death of one person: $25,000

â—¦ Total injury or death if multiple people are hurt: $50,000

  • Property Damage Liability Insurance: $25,000
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Insurance:

â—¦ Bodily injury per person: $25,000

â—¦ Bodily Injury per accident: $50,000

For more information: South Dakota Auto Insurance Get a Quote and Save

Who can sign for my permit or license if I am under 18?
Residents of South Dakota under 18 years of age need to be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian when signing the application for a learners permit at a local South Dakota DMV office. Parents or legal guardians need to sign your drivers ed certificate as well. One of the parents or legal guardians must also supervise or give their permission so that you may drive with an instruction permit or restricted minor’s permit.

For more information: Learner’s Permits for Beginner Drivers in South Dakota

Why doesn’t a recent traffic ticket I received appear on my driving record?
South Dakota drivers who believe that a recent traffic ticket or any other information is missing from their driving record, must contact a local South Dakota DMV office in order to notify them. A request for a revision of your driving record may be sent to:

Driver Licensing Program

118 W Capitol Ave, Pierre SD 57501

For more information: Your South Dakota Driving Record

Will I be required to take a vision test for a drivers license renewal?
The South Dakota DMV does not require you to take a vision test upon renewal unless you are over the age of 65. If you are 65 years of age or older, you will be required to provide a Vision Statement. Your vision exam must have been taken in the past six months and if you wear bioptic lenses, you are required to apply in person.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in South Dakota

Will I get a drivers license renewal notice in the mail?
Prior to your drivers license expiration date, the South Dakota DMV will send you a renewal notice by mail or email. If you haven’t received a renewal notice, you should contact a local South Dakota DMV office.

For more information: How to Renew a Driver’s License in South Dakota

Will I have to take an alcohol awareness class to reinstate my driver’s license?
Drivers with DUI citations may be required to attend court-approved alcohol treatment programs. These programs may or may not be mandatory as they are assessed on a case by case basis.

For more information: DUI/DWI Information for South Dakota

Will I need to fill out an application to replace my car registration?
In South Dakota you are not obligated to complete any applications or forms when applying for a car registration replacement. You will be only required to provide information pertaining to your South Dakota driver’s license, the make and model of the vehicle, the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) and the license plate number.

For more information: How to Replace a Vehicle Registration in South Dakota

Will I need to present proof of insurance to get a car title replacement?
South Dakota residents who apply for a duplicate car title do not need to present any proof of insurance.

For more information: How to Replace a Lost Vehicle Title in South Dakota

Will I receive a renewal registration notice in the mail?
The South Dakota DMV does mail out car registration renewal notices prior to the expiration date of your vehicles registration. Drivers also have the option to register on the South Dakota government website by providing their drivers license number and date of birth, in order to receive the car registration renewal notice via email. If you fail to receive the car registration renewal notice, contact any local South Dakota DMV office or your local County Treasurer’s office.

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in South Dakota

Will my registration expire on my birthday or birth month?
In South Dakota vehicle registrations do not expire on the owners birthday or birth month, but on a predetermined month connected with the first letter of your last name. The month and letter designations are:

  • January: A, B
  • February: C, D, E
  • March: F, G, J
  • May: H, I, O
  • June: K, L
  • July: M, N
  • August: P, Q, R
  • September: S
  • November: T, U, V, W, X, Y, Z

For more information: How to Renew Your Vehicle Registration in South Dakota