DMV Practice Test Only $14.99
- Get the Official DMV.com Study Guide.
- BONUS - FREE access to the Road Signs Practice Test
You are required to have a South Dakota driver license if you live there for more than 90 days. If you are a commercial driver license holder, you must apply for a South Dakota license within 30 days. South Dakota law (SDCL 32-12-39) states that every licensee shall have their Drivers License in their immediate possession at all times when operating a motor vehicle.
NEW DRIVERS AND FIRST TIME APPLICANTS
Following are the basic requirements for applying for a South Dakota driver's license:
1.Applicants must be at least 14 years of age
2.Applicants must submit: proof of name, age, social security number and address
If you have never held a South Dakota or out-of-state driver license, you will have to provide the following documents:
- proof of your identity (if your name is different than the name on your identity document, you will need to bring additional proof of your legal name)
- date of birth, and lawful status
- proof of your Social Security number,
- two documents to prove your principle address. Click here for a complete list of acceptable documents.
Non-US citizens residing in South Dakota may apply for a South Dakota driver's license, as long as they can provide proof that they are legally authorized to be in the United States, and meet all the other requirements.
- Have parental/guardian consent if under age 18 for every application completed
- Pass needed driver license tests
- Turn in any drivers license or identification card
- Are not currently suspended, revoked, or denied
- Are not in this country illegally
- Have not been found by a court to be mentally incompetent, alcoholic, or a habitual user of illegal drugs
- Have no unpaid fines for moving traffic violations
- Are from a foreign country and can show INS documents with date of legal presence in the U.S.
Credit or debit cards are not accepted, only cash, check or money order will be accepted. The cost for obtaining a new driver's license in South Dakota is $20.
- Members of the Armed Forces on active duty or members of foreign military on temporary duty with the Armed Forces, as well as their spouse and children and,
- Students who are here to further their education and who are considered a non-resident for tuition purposes, can drive on a valid license from their home state, so long as they are at least 16 years old.