DMV Practice Test Only $14.99
- Get the Official DMV.com Study Guide.
- BONUS - FREE access to the Road Signs Practice Test
Getting drivers license in New Jersey is mandatory for residents who want to become legal operators of motor vehicles in the state. The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission requires first-time drivers license applicants to complete a Graduated Driver License (GDL) program. Three options are available to residents who apply for drivers licenses: The Early Bird road permit, The Young Adult road permit, and The Adult road permit. Completing these options will grant a full drivers license in New Jersey. In addition, driving applicants must collect the necessary documentation, pay the applicable fees and pass a series of exams, such as: vision, knowledge and road tests.
Did you know? More than 70 percent of the drivers license applicants are not fully prepared for the written knowledge exam and fail it on their first try. Therefore, take our online practice driving tests to get a passing score on your New Jersey knowledge test.
How to Apply for a New Jersey Driver's License:
- Visit any NJ MVC location.
- Present the required documentation.
- Pass a vision test.
- Pass a knowledge test.
- Pass a road test.
- Pay the NJ drivers license fee.
If you want to find out more information about how to get a drivers license in New Jersey, continue reading the sections below.
Types of Drivers Licenses in New Jersey
New Jersey drivers license applicants must complete the application process in order to receive driving privileges. Part of the process is selecting the type of drivers license you want to apply for. Below are the types of drivers licenses issued in New Jersey:
- Class A, B or C Commercial Drivers License (CDL) - Issued to drivers who operate commercial vehicles such as large truck and busses.
- Class D drivers license - Issued to drivers who operate regular motor vehicles.
- Class E motorcycle license - Issued to drivers who operate vehicles with fewer than four wheels.
- Moped license - Issued to unlicensed motorists who are 15 years of age or older.
- Agricultural license - Issued to drivers who operate vehicles for farming purposes.
- Boat license - Issued to drivers who operate a motorboat.
First-Time Driver (Under 18) in New Jersey
The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) requires first-time drivers license applicants to complete a Graduated Driver License (GDL) program. Three options are available to residents who apply for drivers licenses, however only two of them are available to applicants younger than 18: The Early Bird road permit and The Young Adult road permit. Completing the GDL program will bring you a full drivers license in New Jersey.
For more information, visit our Learner's Permit page.
New Jersey New Drivers (Over 18)
NJ Driver's Study Guide and Driver's Practice Test
Drivers license applicants in New Jersey must pass a written knowledge test. Therefore, they need to study the New Jersey Driver Manual and practice a lot before taking the exam. Get prepared with our driving practice tests, which cover topics on traffic laws and road rules.
How to Apply for Drivers Licenses in NJ
New Jersey residents who apply for drivers licenses are required to complete a Graduated Driver License (GDL) program in order to gain driving privileges. Moreover, they need to pass three exams, pay the required fees and present the needed documentation. New Jersey has a Six Point ID Verification, which requires applicants to provide documents proving age, identity and legal presence in the U.S., all in total of six points. Below is the combination of documents each drivers license applicant must present:
- One primary document.
- One secondary document.
- Six points of ID.
- Proof of address.
- Social Security Number.
NJ Eligibility Requirements
New Jersey residents can obtain drivers licenses if they meet the given age requirements for completing a Graduated Driver License (GDL) program. This program offers three options, depending on the age of the applicants. If you are 16 years of age, you can take the GDL Early Bird road for getting drivers license. Applicants, who are at least 17 years of age, can go through the Young Adult road, while adults of at least 21 years of age, can enroll in the Adult road of the GDL program. All of these options require residents to pass three exams: vision, knowledge and road test.
NOTE: Minors, who are 16 years of age, have to complete a drivers education program and obtain a parent or guardian consent, in order to get a special learners permit.
NJ Written/Driving Test
The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission requires residents to pass a written knowledge test as part of the drivers license application process. The knowledge test contains 50 questions on traffic laws and road rules, and a survey question about organ donation. Applicants need to get a passing score in order to get drivers licenses for operating motor vehicles in the state. Get prepared for the knowledge test by utilizing our practice driving tests, which contain similar questions as those on the official exam.
NJ Driving Test
The final exam before getting drivers license in New Jersey is the road test. It examines your ability to safely operate a motor vehicle under various conditions. You will be examined on the following select maneuvers:
- Driving the vehicle in reverse.
- Following other vehicles.
- Nearing intersections and corners.
- Parking the vehicle parallel.
- Sitting properly with a seat belt on.
- Starting, turning and stopping the vehicle.
- Steering and turning the vehicle around.
- Using the horn.
- Yielding right-of-way.
New Jersey New Resident
New residents in New Jersey must apply for drivers licenses within 60 days of their move and after they establish residency in the state. Drivers who hold out-of-state drivers licenses can transfer them to New Jersey by visiting the nearest NJ MVC office. When you decide to surrender your out-of-state drivers license, you will have to pass all three exams (vision, knowledge and road test), pay the required fee, and present a Six Point ID Verification and proof of NJ residency.
Within 60 days of establishing New Jersey residency, you are required not only to apply for a drivers license, but also to register and title your vehicle. In addition, you must get insurance liability for your vehicle, before getting car registration or a car title. Thereafter, you will have to conduct a vehicle inspection to drive it legally on state roads.
NOTE: Drivers younger than 18 years of age will not be allowed to transfer their out-of-state drivers licenses, and they will have to complete all the stages of a GDL program.
Replace Drivers License in New Jersey
If you are in a situation where you have experienced a lost, damaged or stolen drivers license, then you will need to visit the nearest NJ MVC office and get a replacement drivers license. For more information on how to replace drivers licenses, follow this link.
Locate a DMV in New Jersey
Find out the phone number or address of the nearest New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission office by visiting our NJ MVC locations page.