New Jersey DMV Point System
Per the New Jersey demerit point system, drivers who violate the set motor vehicle laws, thus endangering the safety of other traffic participants will be penalized with demerit points on their driving record. A different number of penalty points is generally assessed for different moving violations. More serious offenses result in a larger number of NJ infraction points than minor misdemeanors. Motorists who accumulate too many points on their report will receive a notice of scheduled suspension of their privilege to drive by the state Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC). In order to avoid the harsh penalties, as well as practice safe driving habits, drivers may enroll into a traffic school course among other options. Learn more about the ways to get points off your license in New Jersey and clean your driving record in the following sections:
- Moving violations and points in New Jersey
- Penalties in New Jersey
- How to fix a New Jersey driving record
- Disputing a New Jersey moving violation charge
Moving Violations and Points in New Jersey
According to the driver point system in NJ, you will be assessed a certain amount of points provided you have been convicted of a specific offense. The purpose of the assigned moving violation points is to regulate your driving behavior while on the road and ensure the safety of the general public. Note that non-moving infractions, such as parking and other violations do not result in penalty points. Points for speeding or New Jersey reckless driving points, however, will be placed against your driving transcript upon convictions of such violations within the state. The following list outlines several traffic offenses and their corresponding negative points:
- Driving through safety zone – 2 points.
- Driving on a sidewalk – 2 points.
- Careless driving – 2 careless driving points.
- Improper passing – 4 points.
- Reckless driving – 5 reckless driving points .
Drivers will receive eight car accident points in New Jersey if they were involved in an accident resulting in personal injury. Also, five speeding ticket points will be added on their report for driving 30 mph or more over the designated speed limit.
Penalties in New Jersey
Traffic violation penalties in New Jersey may be administered both by the Motor Vehicle Commission and the court system, depending on the severity of the offense. The traffic ticket penalty resulting from the accumulation of 12 or more points on a driving record, for instance, is an MVC-imposed license suspension. Also, if you accrue six or more points within three years on your report, you will be required to pay a surcharge. Due to the seriousness of certain traffic offenses, such as driving while under the influence, harsher penalties may apply. For instance, NJ DUI points may not be assigned upon conviction of such offense, but other penalties, including steep fines, fees and surcharges, immediate license suspensions, jail time, community service and more will be issued. The following New Jersey drunk driving penalties will be imposed to first-time DUI offenders with a BAC between .08 and .10 percent:
- A three-month license suspension
- A fine between $250 and $400
- A 30-day jail sentence
Note: The DUI penalties for any subsequent offenses will be even stricter.
How to Fix a New Jersey Driving Record
Motorists who wish to reduce license points in NJ, thus avoiding the negative consequences of their offense have several options at disposal to complete the process. The best way to become eligible for driving record point removal is by completing an MVC-authorized traffic school course. Drivers who submit a certificate of completion of a New Jersey defensive driving course will be able to reduce their point total by two points. Prior to taking such step, however, contact a nearby MVC office in NJ to inquire about the possibility to attend online classes.
Another option to clear your driving record is to practice safe driving habits, thus remaining violation- and suspension-free for a period of one year. In such case, your point total will be subtracted by up to three demerit points.
Disputing a New Jersey Moving Violation Charge
Disputing a traffic ticket in New Jersey is a demanding procedure, as it requires motorists to prove their innocence in court. When fighting speeding tickets or other types of summons, drivers will need to appear in court and enter a plea of “not guilty” to their charges. Motorists may need to submit a notification of their decision to fight a traffic ticket in NJ either on the date displayed on the form or within a week before their due date, depending on the court handling their case. For a successful defense, licensees may need to hire an experienced traffic ticket attorney. Drivers who win their case will avoid the related infraction points on their driver transcript, and will not be expected to pay any fines or additional fees.