Minnesota Driver Vehicle Services Point System
Minnesota Driver Vehicle System (DDVS) does not follow a “point system”. However, the Minnesota Office of Traffic Safety enforces the Minnesota Safe and Sober Campaign which oversees the safety programs in Minnesota. The campaign has five parts:
- The Challenge Program
- The Grant Program
- Law Enforcement Liaison
- Operation Night Concentrated Alcohol Patrol
- Belt Program
MOVING VIOLATIONS AND SPEED LIMITS
Minnesota traffic laws require you to drive at reasonable speed limits and it is illegal to drive faster than posted speed limits. Minnesota law allows you to drive at the following speed limits unless otherwise posted:
10 mph in alleys 30 mph in town and urban roads 55 mph in all other locations
You will be fined for driving a vehicle faster than the posted speed limit and additional fines are usually charged for driving 20 mph over the posted speed limit. Speeding in marked construction zones will cost you double fines and your driver’s license will be revoked if you are caught driving in excess of 100 mph.
View the complete speed limits to learn about the penalties associated with each type of moving violation. When you approach a stopped emergency vehicle with flashing lights, you must slow down or pay a surcharge of $25.00 in addition to the fines imposed for violations.
You will be subject to specific penalties for specific violations:
- You will have your license suspended if you are convicted of violations like lending your license to some one else, altering information on your license or being responsible for an accident causing death or injury. A complete list of violations leading to license suspension can be found here.
- Increased violations are also likely to increase your auto insurance rates. See our auto insurance section for more information about obtaining quality car insurance at competitive rates.
HOW TO CLEAR YOUR DRIVING RECORD
The Minnesota DDVS maintains a record of all the violations added to your driving license. Once the traffic tickets are issued, you cannot remove violations from your current driving record.
- Taking a Defensive Driving Course may qualify you for a reduction in your car insurance rates.
- Check with DDVS Office if you can reduce violations in your record by taking a driving course. Minnesota DVS may instruct you to take a course after issuing a violation and provides you with a list of Driver Improvement and DWI Clinics.
HOW TO DISPUTE A MOVING VIOLATION CHARGE
If you believe you have been incorrectly charged with committing a moving violation, you may be able to fight the charge in court. See Traffic Tickets and Traffic Ticket Attorneys for more information.