How to Register a Custom or Antique Vehicle in Minnesota
Car owners can complete the Minnesota registration for custom cars and the antique vehicle registration procedures through the state Department of Public Safety (DPS). However, historic and custom car registration documents can only be obtained for vehicles that qualify for these special registration cards under the state motor vehicle laws. Note that registering a vintage car in MN is a process that differs from the procedure to apply for a custom auto registration. Also, both transactions vary from the standard car registration process in certain steps. To learn more about applying for a custom or historic vehicle registration in MN, read the following sections.
Definition of a Custom or Antique Vehicle in Minnesota
Prior to requesting Minnesota vintage vehicle registration documents or registering custom car projects, auto owners must review the state definitions for these special types of motor vehicles. Custom car registrations, for example, can only be obtained for vehicles that were reconstructed by using new or used vehicle components or for motor vehicles that were specially assembled by individuals other than a certified manufacturer.
Vintage license plates, on the other hand, are available for several types of vehicles with a historical value. Termed as a collector class of car tags under the MN antique license plates rules, these specialized plates are available for the following types of vehicles:
- Pioneer vehicles that were manufactured prior to 1936.
- Classic vehicles that were built between 1925 and 1948.
- Street rod vehicles that were built before 1949 or made into a replica of this type of vehicles.
- Collector's item vehicles that are older than 19 years or vehicles older than 9 years if a limited number was produced.
Note: The types of collector vehicles outlined above can only be driven to and from events such as exhibitions, car shows and other similar happenings.
Steps in the Minnesota Registration Process
To successfully apply for collector or custom auto registrations in Minnesota, applicants will be required to complete several steps, which vary based on the type of vehicle they are registering. To obtain antique license plates, for example, car owners will be required to submit a set of documents and the applicable fee payments either in person through a local DMV office or by mail to the DPS Driver and Vehicle Services Division in St. Paul. When filling out the request form for historic car tags in MN, applicants will be able to choose one of the collector's plate types outlined above. In addition to the Application for Special Plates (Form PS2010), car owners will have to submit the Application to Title and Register a Vehicle (Form PS2000) and payment for the registration and tax costs.
The procedure to register custom car projects, on the other hand, can only be completed after submitting your vehicle to the appropriate motor vehicle inspection. Applicants for MN custom vehicle registrations will be required to fill out and submit the Declaration of Reconstruction/Special Assembly (Form PS2015), in addition to the PS2000 standard registration form. Auto owners will also have to submit ownership proof for the major components used to build their new vehicle, such as title certificates, bills of sale and receipts.
Fees to Register a Custom or Antique Vehicle in Minnesota
One of the last steps in the Minnesota antique car registration process and the procedure to register custom vehicles is arranging payment for several types of fees. For instance, when purchasing collector historic license plates in MN, applicants will have to pay a $150 sales tax, a one-time registration tax of $25 and a car tag fee of $15 for double plates. The initial filing fee for specialized plates is currently set at $10. Car owners registering custom cars will also be required to pay the registration and sales taxes as well as a smaller plate fee than the one that applies for MN vintage car tags. To inquire about the exact fees that apply to your specific circumstances, contact a nearby DPS office.
Note: While the department issues non-expiring antique auto registrations for historical vehicles, owners of regular passenger vehicles will still be required to complete the registration renewal procedure on a regular basis.