How to Register a Custom or Antique Vehicle in Arkansas
Drivers can apply for custom or antique vehicle registration in Arkansas if they own custom-made autos, street rods or antique cars. In order to complete the application procedure for registering a custom car, vehicle owners need to satisfy certain requirements set by the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration (DFA) and to submit the necessary documents in person. However, applicants must note that the classic car registration process may slightly differ than that for a standard car registration. When registering a custom car in AR, drivers may be required to provide additional documents to the standard paperwork, for instance an Affidavit for Antique Motor Vehicle License Plate Registration. Moreover, drivers will be required to provide payment for the custom or antique vehicle registration fees and possible taxes. Vehicle owners who want to find out how to register custom cars in Arkansas are encouraged to continue reading the following sections.
Definition of a Custom or Antique Vehicle in Arkansas
When registering classic cars, applicants need to be familiar with the category of their vehicles and to know the specific regulations that apply to their autos. A custom-built car is a motor vehicle that is at least 25 years old and of a model year after 1948, or it is constructed to either feature the original design or to have non-original materials used in the construction process. An antique vehicle registration may be needed for historic/classic cars that are unaltered from the original and are preserved and collected by a hobbyist. Modifications may be done to these vehicles only for the purpose of saving the historic nature of the vehicle and the characteristics of the year when the vehicle was manufactured. In order to complete the registration procedure and obtain Arkansas antique license plates, the vehicle must be at least 25 years old.
Steps in the Arkansas Custom or Antique Vehicle Registration Process
Applying for an antique or custom car registration in Arkansas is a process that must be conducted at the state Department of Finance and Administration (DFA). Vehicle owners must register custom or antique cars by visiting a local DFA office and submitting the required documentation. Drivers who are registering antique cars may be required to fulfill the following steps:
- Complete an Affidavit for Antique Motor Vehicle License Plate Registration or an Affidavit for Issuance of a Special Street Rod or Custom Vehicle License Plate.
- Submit a car title or a bill of sale containing the year, make, model and VIN.
- Submit a bill of sale for every assembled part installed on the vehicle, if applicable.
- Provide payment for the applicable fees.
Drivers who want to apply for an antique vehicle registration may be required to own and have registered at least one standard vehicle for transportation. Moreover, they will be required to provide the license plate number of their everyday vehicle on the Affidavit for Antique Motor Vehicle License Plate Registration.
Note: Antique license plates will be seized and the vehicle owner will be fined $100 as a result of violating the regulations from the Arkansas Code.
Fees to Register a Custom or Antique Vehicle in Arkansas
The last step in the custom or antique vehicle registration procedure is to provide payment for the applicable fees to a local AR DFA branch. The application process for custom car registration and license plates may require drivers to pay a $50 fee for the first time and $25 for annual registration. Drivers who are registering antique cars, which are also known as historic or special autos, may be required to pay lower fees than those for a custom-built vehicle. The antique car registration cost is $7 and owners may not be required to renew their car registration annually.
Note: In addition to the renewing procedure for a custom or antique vehicle registration, drivers are also required to renew car registrations for their standard passenger vehicles.