Motorcycle insurance isn’t a choice – you must have a policy taken out on your bike in order to drive legally. Of course, this doesn’t mean that you have to purchase the most expensive coverage available.

The minimum requirement in most states is for basic liability insurance. You can purchase higher coverage limits if you need it, but it’s not a necessity. Moreover, there are different types of motorcycle insurance that suit different needs, such as accessory coverage, rental vehicle coverage, transport trailer coverage and etc.

Financial Responsibility

You need to buy an insurance policy which meets the state’s minimum liability insurance requirements if you want to have financial responsibility in the state of Arkansas. That means if your motorcycle causes damage in an accident, you will be able to cover it.

Two-Wheeled Vehicles

To see whether your vehicle needs to be insured before you are able to title and register it, contact the Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) at (501) 682-4692.

  • Your vehicle is defined as a motorcycle if it has:
    • A seat/saddle.
    • No more than three wheels.
    • Engine displacement of at least 250 cc.
  • Your vehicle is considered as a motor-driven cycle if it has:
    • A seat or saddle.
    • No more than three wheels.
    • Engine displacement of fewer than 250 cc.
  • Your vehicle is considered as a motorized bicycle if it has:
    • An automatic transmission.
    • Engine displacement of fewer than 50 cc.

Motorcycle Insurance Requirements

In case your motorcycle causes damage to somebody else or his/her property, liability insurance is there to offer financial protection. Below are the motorcycle requirements in the state of Arkansas:

  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury.
  • $50,000 per accident.
  • $25,000 to cover property damage.

Helmet Requirements

Wearing a helmet is a rule if you’re under 21 years of age and operating/riding a motorcycle. However, you must always wear a protective eye gear, regardless of your age.

Penalties

Penalties for not having proof of insurance vary depending on the situation. Generally, they include suspension of your registration and reinstatement fees. For more information regarding penalties and liability insurance requirements for any type of two-wheeled vehicles in the state of Arkansas, contact the OMV at (501) 682-4692.

Last updated on Tuesday, March 12 2019.

Have a Question? Get Quick Online Answers!