South Carolina Motorcycle Insurance
The South Carolina Law requires of you to carry insurance whenever you ride your motorcycle on the state roads.
In the state of South Carolina a motorcycle is every motor vehicle having no more than two permanent functional wheels in contact with the ground or a trailer; and having a saddle for the use of the rider, but excluding a tractor.
Motorcycle Insurance Requirements
Here are listed the minimum insurance requirements in South Carolina:
- $25,000 of bodily injury per person.
- $25,000 of property damage coverage (usually written as 25/50/25).
- $50,000 of bodily injury per accident.
These basic limits are noted in Section 38-77-140 of the SC Code of Laws. So whether you’re owner of an automobile or motorcycle registered in South Carolina you need to adhere to these minimum liability limits of an insurance policy.
All motor vehicle owners in the state are required to provide proof that the vehicle being operated is insured. When you register your motorcycle for the first time in SC, you must provide the name of your insurance company. The South Carolina DMV will verify your coverage electronically.
In case the insurance policy cannot be verified, your driver’s license and vehicle registration may be suspended. If you are a new resident and have an automobile policy with a national insurance company, be sure to change your address with your insurance company before you register your vehicle. According to state law every vehicle owner is required to be registered in this state to maintain liability insurance. To get the your motorcycle coverage use the form at the top of this page. It will help you save on motorcycle insurance for the future as well.
In this state all motorcyclists that are 17 years old or younger are obliged to wear a helmet by law. For all others wearing a helmet is an option.
Proof of Insurance
As the SC driver’s manual states the owner of a motor vehicle must maintain proof of insurance in his motor vehicle at all times. The motorcycle vehicle owner must provide this proof upon demand of a law enforcement officer. In most cases the proof comes in the form of insurance card issued by the licensed insurance provider.
If you fail to maintain proof of insurance on your motor vehicle you’re guilty of a misdemeanor and may face suspension action by the Department of Motor Vehicles. If this action is taken, the owner’s driver license and vehicle registration will be suspended and you may have to pay $5.00 for each day the vehicle was uninsured, up to $200.00, plus an additional $200.00 reinstatement fee.