Get your free quote

Do you currently have auto insurance?:

Compare Auto Insurance Quotes

In seconds

  • Save up to $415 on your Auto Insurance
  • Apply online
  • 100% free
Image

Motorcycle accidents are unpredictable and may cost you a lot, especially if you are deemed the guilty party. That is why the Secretary of State’s (SOS) office requires you to have proof of a certain level of financial responsibility before allowing you to register your motorcycle. In the state of Michigan, this is possible only if you have a vehicle liability insurance that meets the state’s minimum requirements.

Two-Wheeled Vehicles

See if your ride is considered as a motorcycle by the following definitions:

  • A motorcycle has two or three wheels, a saddle/seat for the rider, produces more than 2.0 brake horsepower and can attain a speed higher than 30 miles per hour on a level surface.
  • A moped has an engine displacement of 50 cubic centimeters or less, two-brake horsepower or less and cannot reach a speed of 30 miles per hour or higher on a flat service.

Motorcycle Insurance Requirements

Below are Michigan’s minimum motorcycle insurance requirements.

  • $10,000 for property damage in a single accident.
  • $20,000 for bodily injuries or death involving one person in a single accident.
  • $40,000 for bodily injuries or deaths involving more than one person in a single accident.

To be more prepared to handle the possible costs associated with an accident you might want to consider much higher levels of insurance. You can also get motorcycle insurance by using the form at the top of this page. It will provide you with instant quotes for auto insurance and can help you save money on motorcycle insurance in the future.

Helmet Requirements

In Michigan, you must wear a helmet, and meet the same insurance requirements. Having motorcycle insurance does not allow you to ride without protective headgear.

Establishing Financial Responsibility and Proof of Insurance

In this state motorcyclists have only one option to show their proof of financial responsibility, that is liability insurance that includes bodily injury and property damage. Michigan practices no-fault insurance for cars, but that is not the case with motorcycles. By using it you can easily get instant quotes for auto insurance and also you can save on motorcycle insurance in the future.

Penalties

If you are not able to provide proof of insurance upon request, you will receive a traffic citation. In case you are caught riding your motorcycle without having proper insurance, your registration could be canceled and your license will be suspended. To be able to ride again, you will have to pay a $50 penalty along with reinstatement fees.

Last updated on Tuesday, March 12 2019.

Have a Question? Get Quick Online Answers!