How to Take a Drivers Education Course in Michigan
Drivers ed in Michigan is a required component of the Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) program, which promotes the education of teen drivers interested in receiving a driver’s license. Through this program, young drivers gradually build their knowledge and driving experiences to pass the road test. MI drivers ed classes are split into two segments, both of which are required for completing the GDL program.
Drivers education is offered in several formats across Michigan. One of the most popular choices among young motorists is the option to take driving courses in high school. This is because young drivers must complete a course before they are eligible for a full, unrestricted driver’s license in Michigan. However, drivers ed online is not approved by the SOS at this time, but some motorists choose to enroll in an online course to help them study. Furthermore, drivers may also take classes at approved locations throughout the state. Private training courses are also available, though these typically cost more.
Who needs to take drivers ed in Michigan?
MI drivers ed is required for all new drivers younger than 18 years of age. The program is an important part of the GDL system, which ensures young motorists are properly educated before they get behind the wheel. It focuses on Michigan’s traffic rules and laws, road signs, driving maneuvers and traffic violations. It also teaches young drivers how to avoid distractions and stay safe while operating a vehicle.
Motorists older than 18 years of age are not required to take the education course. Adult drivers ed is not required as part of the GDL program, but older motorists may elect to take a voluntary skills class.
Types of Drivers Ed Classes in Michigan
Michigan drivers education classes are offered throughout the state to accommodate young drivers in all regions. Young drivers have a few options when it comes to choosing where they receive their driving education.
A high school driver education course is typically offered in a classroom-style format at public schools throughout the state. This classroom training is integrated into the student driver’s curriculum. Completing a course at a high school satisfies the classroom requirement of the GDL system, but student drivers must still complete the on-road learning portion.
Many private drivers ed training courses are also accepted by the SOS and are offered at driving schools across Michigan. Before choosing a driving school, motorists must verify that the program has been approved by the SOS.
What will you learn in a Michigan drivers ed school?
The concepts included in the drivers ed test in MI are thoroughly covered during the course of a driving education program. Young drivers will learn all the essential information necessary to pass the licensing exam.V Some of the topics covered in the curriculum include traffic rules, road signs and operational procedures. For example, student drivers will learn about:
- Seatbelt laws.
- Automatic and manual transmissions.
- Right-of-way procedures.
- Traffic flow (such as merging and entering).
- Driving conditions (such as nighttime driving and bad weather).
Teen driving school in Michigan also reviews the dangers of distracted driving. This includes cell phones, loud music, rowdy passengers and the consequences of driving while intoxicated.
Michigan Drivers Education Requirements
Drivers ed in MI is regulated by the Department of State, or MDOS, in conjunction with the Secretary of State (SOS). The department requires all new drivers younger than 18 years of age to complete both segments of the program. Segment one includes:
- 24 hours of classroom learning.
- 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training.
- 4 hours of observation in a vehicle.
Before starting segment two, drivers must have held a Level 1 license for at least three consecutive months and complete at least 30 hours of driving time (two of which must be completed at night). Segment two includes six hours of classroom learning with a maximum of two hours per day.
Parent-taught drivers ed consists of the parent or legal guardian driving with the teen driver and logging the hours into a practice log. Parents play a key role in young driver education, so they must sign this log before the teen can continue with the GDL system.
Benefits of a Michigan Driver Education Course
The benefits of drivers education in Michigan are invaluable for all young motorists. The program is an essential step in the GDL system and helps lower the risk of teen driver crashes. It helps beginners become familiar with important traffic laws and rules so they can operate safely on all roadways. Teen drivers ed also allows parents to feel confident that their young drivers have the knowledge and training necessary to stay safe and drive responsibly.
Adult drivers education is not required for new drivers older than 18 years of age. However, it is always a voluntary option for any driver who wishes to further his or her driving skills. Any driver, regardless of age, may elect to enroll in driving school to brush up on Michigan’s rules of the road.
How to Enroll in a Michigan Driver Ed School
Drivers ed courses are offered at locations throughout Michigan. The enrollment process varies depending on the format of instruction. Those interested in drivers ed classes provided through public high schools may enroll through their school’s guidance department. Student drivers may be required to enroll during a specific period, so it is important to check with the school board.
A private drivers ed course offered at a third-party provider may require motorists to complete additional steps for enrollment. Generally, drivers are required to provide their name, date of birth, valid level one license (if enrolling for segment two) or more.
Michigan DMV Drivers Ed Certificates
Upon completing a drivers education school, motorists will receive a certificate of completion. This certificate may be presented after finishing segment one of the GDL system. To verify enrollment eligibility for segment two, drivers may need to present the segment one certificate of completion, their level one driver’s license and a driving log or parent certification of the student’s driving hours.
Drivers Ed for New Michigan Residents
New Michigan residents who have completed drivers ed in their previous state of residents may be able to transfer their certificate. To do so, drivers must verify that the education they received in their previous state meets Michigan’s driving education requirements, which are:
- At least 30 hours of classroom instruction.
- At least six hours of on-road training.
Michigan Drivers Ed vs. Traffic School
A driver education course differs from a defensive driving course. Many motorists confuse driving school with traffic school, but they are not the same. All new drivers younger than 18 years of age must complete an education course before they can receive a license.
Drivers who commit certain traffic violations may need to take a defensive driving course in order to improve their driving skills, remove points from their records or avoid having their license suspended.
Michigan Driver Education Fees
Drivers ed prices in Michigan depend on where the driver chooses to enroll. Currently, the costs range between $200 and $400.