How to Take a Drivers Education Course in Rhode Island
The completion of drivers ed is required of any teen in Rhode Island who is applying for a driver’s license for the first time. However, anyone who wishes to learn how to drive a motor vehicle can benefit from participating in the course. Courses are designed to teach prospective drivers how to operate a vehicle safely as well as instill collision avoidance techniques that can save lives. While this Rhode Island program is mostly available to teens, adult programs are also available.
Drivers ed online is not accepted in Rhode Island as state laws require that a course be completed in a classroom-based setting. Additionally, teens that have completed a course in another state, but did not obtain a license, may not be required to complete a class in RI, but will need to meet additional requirements. You can learn more about drivers education, including the types of courses available in Rhode Island and the cost of the course, in the sections that have been provided below.
Who needs to take drivers ed in Rhode Island?
RI drivers ed classes are only required of teens who are 16 and 17 years old who are obtaining a drivers license permit within the state. However, classes are encouraged to any individual who has not yet been licensed and would like to learn how to operate a motor vehicle safely.
Types of Drivers Ed Classes in Rhode Island
For Rhode Island teens, drivers education is the first step to obtain a leaners permit and, ultimately, a drivers license within the state. Courses are only provided through the Community College of Rhode Island. Courses are offered through most high schools and four CCRI campus locations.
Adult education may also be available through third-party programs. However, adults who are at least 18 years of age are not required to complete an educational course to obtain a license within the state.
What will you learn in a Rhode Island drivers ed school?
Rhode Island teen driving school includes a combination of classroom and behind-the-wheel instruction in a 33-hour course. As part of the classroom curriculum, you can expect to learn information regarding:
- Rhode Island traffic laws.
- Safe driving practices.
- Collision avoidance techniques.
- Crash statistics.
- The dangers of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
A divers ed test must be passed at the end of the course in order to successfully complete the course.
Rhode Island Drivers Education Requirements
To attend a drivers education course in Rhode Island through the Community College of Rhode Island, you must be a high school student who is between the ages of 15 years and 10 months through 19 years of age. Additionally, students must be able to meet the following requirements:
- A registration form must be completed and submitted along with payment for the course prior to the start date of the class.
- Proof of age must be submitted on the first day of class, such as with a birth certificate or passport.
- Students must purchase the textbook, “How to Drive: The Beginning Drivers Manual – 14th Edition” prior to the first day of class.
If a student requires accommodations, accommodations must be requested at least 40 days prior to the start date for the class by contacting Monica Russell at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Benefits of a Rhode Island Driver Education Course
RI drivers ed allows teens to obtain a learners permit and work towards a Rhode Island drivers license. Furthermore, this educational course provides safe driving knowledge and skills. In some cases, you may also be able to obtain a discount on your auto insurance as many insurers will provide discounts to teens that have completed an educational course.
How to Enroll in a Rhode Island Driver Ed School
Rhode Island drivers education can only be enrolled in through the Community College or Rhode Island. You can enroll in an upcoming class online by reviewing the upcoming class schedule. The state of Rhode Island does not accept completion certificates from third-party providers when course completion is required for a learners permit.
Rhode Island DMV Drivers Ed Certificates
After completing drivers ed in RI, you will be provided with a green CCRI certificate. This certificate can then be taken to any DMV branch along with other documents that are required for the issuance of a learners permit. A parent or legal guardian must accompany any teen who is seeking a permit to the DMV.
Drivers Ed for New Rhode Island Residents
If you previously completed drivers ed in a state other than Rhode Island, you may visit the DMV headquarters in Cranston with your class completion certificate. You will be required to take a computerized knowledge exam. You must pass the exam before a learners permit can be issued to you.
Rhode Island Drivers Ed vs. Traffic School
Rhode Island drivers ed classes have nothing to do with traffic school as these courses are designed to help the RI youth obtain a learners permit and ultimately a drivers license. Traffic school is designed for drivers who have already obtained a license and is taken for other purposes, such as auto insurance discounts and traffic ticket avoidance. Traffic school also does not include any behind-the-wheel curriculum and classes are far shorter by comparison.
Rhode Island Driver Education Fees
RI drivers ed prices are $95 for the course and $19.95 for the textbook that must be purchased prior to the first day of the class. Should you need to cancel a course, you must do so at least 48 hours before the start of class. Refunds will not be provided if you cancel attendance less than 48 hours before the class start date.