How to Take a Drivers Education Course in Oregon
Oregon drivers ed is never required to obtain an Oregon driver’s license, regardless of the age of the applicant. However, attending an educational course can make obtaining a license easier for drivers who are under the age of 18. Oregon offers two types of educational courses with a longer specialized course including a waiver for the Oregon DMV drive test. Therefore, it is important to learn more about the types of courses available within the state as well as the benefits of completing one.
Drivers ed online is not accepted in Oregon. However, parents can opt to teach teens how to drive as an alternative to an educational course. Each option for obtaining an Oregon provisional driver’s license will be accompanied with different requirements. By reviewing these options, you will be able to make an informed decision on whether or not to enroll in an educational course.
Who needs to take drivers ed in Oregon?
In Oregon, drivers education is not mandatory, regardless of age. If you are younger than 18 and you are applying for a driver’s license for the first time, you can meet requirements by completing:
- An educational course and acquiring 50 hours of supervised driving experience.
- A specialized teen driving course.
- 100 hours of supervised driving experience.
Types of Drivers Ed Classes in Oregon
OR drivers ed for teens is broken down into two different types of courses. The standard course will include 30 hours of classroom education and 12 hours of behind-the-wheel training. If a teen younger than 18 is seeking a driver’s license, an additional 50 hours of supervised driving practice in addition to the standard course.
A specialized teen course will include additional course material and will meet the 50-hour driving experience requirement. The drivers ed test issued by the DMV for an Oregon driver’s license will also be waived as part of the course. This can aid teens in obtaining a driver’s license faster and with fewer requirements.
Additionally, it is worth knowing that some providers offer adult education courses. While these courses are not required, they can assist adults who are new to driving in learning how to operate a motor vehicle safely as well as teach these new drivers about Oregon traffic laws.
What will you learn in an Oregon drivers ed school?
Review required topics and learning outcomes for drivers ed courses in your state. These typically include state traffic laws, road rules, defensive driving skills, DUI regulations and more.
Oregon Drivers Education Requirements
To participate in teen driving school in Oregon, you must be 16 to 17 years of age. Adult classes may have other requirements, but these requirements will be based upon the provider of the educational course.
Benefits of an Oregon Driver Education Course
While a driver education course is not required to obtain an Oregon driver’s license, these courses offer both teens and adults numerous benefits, including:
- Safe driving knowledge, accident avoidance techniques and further understanding of Oregon traffic laws.
- Potential car insurance discounts as a variety of insurers will provide discounts to young drivers who have completed an approved educational course.
- For teens, the ability to waive the DMV road skill exam for an Oregon driver’s license, if a specialized course is attended.
How to Enroll in an Oregon Driver Ed School
To enroll in a drivers ed course in OR, you will need to first review the list of approved providers for each type of educational program. After reviewing providers, you can choose to attend a course with any of the providers on the list, but many may offer different features or pricing. You must enroll directly with the provider that you choose. Most providers offer online or over the phone enrollment.
Oregon DMV Drivers Ed Certificates
After Oregon drivers education, you will receive a certificate of completion for passing the course. If you are a teen driver who is seeking your Oregon driver’s license, you must bring this certificate with you when applying for a license.
As stated previously, some courses will also provide a road skill test waiver, which must also be provided to the DMV. If seeking insurance discounts, your insurer will most likely need to receive a copy of the certificate before a discount can be applied to a policy.
Drivers Ed for New Oregon Residents
If you are a teen that took drivers ed classes outside of Oregon, you may be required to either complete additional supervised driving experience or attend an educational course that the state of Oregon has approved. Previous completion certificates that were issued in another state may not count towards license requirements within the state.
Oregon Drivers Ed vs. Traffic School
Oregon drivers ed is far different from traffic school as these educational courses are designed to assist teens and adults who would like to learn how to drive a vehicle and obtain a driver’s license for the first time. Traffic school, also referred to as a defensive driving course, is designed to provide experienced drivers with additional safe diving practices and collision avoidance techniques.
Traffic school is not taken before getting a driver’s license but is rather commonly attended for potential driving record point reductions, car insurance discounts and traffic citation dismissals.
Oregon Driver Education Fees
Average drivers ed prices in OR are $330, however, each provider has the ability to set their own prices for a course. Fees cover course material, instructor time, vehicle usage, insurance costs and other related expenses.
As Oregon does not require course completion for a driver’s license, the ODOT offers a $75 subsidy for approved providers who then pass that discount onto eligible families. Student eligibility is based upon provider eligibility requirements, but are generally offered to low-income families.