Take your DriversEd.com State-Approved Course Online and Ace Your DMV Exam!
How to Take a Drivers Education Course in Utah
Take your DriversEd.com State-Approved Course Online and Ace Your DMV Exam!
Drivers ed in Utah is a training course that aims to prepare new motorists for driving on public roadways. Generally, the state’s Department of Public Safety (DPS) requires motorists who are younger than 18 years of age to complete a driver’s education course in order to obtain a driver’s license. These programs typically have three major components: a classroom portion, the behind-the-wheel instruction and observation. Consequently, motorists must complete the minimum learning hours for each portion as established by the DMV.
Furthermore, motorists may complete drivers ed online, via their high school or through commercial or private driver education schools. Overall, the state DPS does not offer its own drivers ed classes in UT. However, applicants must select a DPS-approved course provider from a list provided by the state. Otherwise, certificates of completion will not be valid. To learn more about driver’s education in Utah, reviews the sections below.
Who needs to take drivers ed in Utah?
The DPS makes it mandatory for first-time motorists of a certain age group to complete the UT driver’s ed course before being issued a license. As such, new drivers who are 17 years of age or younger must complete teen driving school and hold a learner’s permit for at least six month. Alternatively, motorists who are 18 years of age are not required to hold a learner’s permit but must still complete the teen driving school.
Furthermore, motorists who are 19 years of age and older can choose between completing the driver’s education course or holding a learner’s permit for three months along with 40 hours of driving (10 of which must be completed at night). On the other hand, residents moving from out of state may need to complete Utah’s drivers ed test and course if they only hold a home study or online certificate of completion.
Types of Drivers Ed Classes in Utah
Drivers must complete a state-approved driver’s ed course in Utah in order to obtain their driver’s licenses. Although the requirements vary for drivers depending on the age, the course materials typically remain the same.
Certain online providers categorize their courses as teen or adult drivers ed. However, the UT DPS does not differentiate between the two. Both courses are meant to teach first-time drivers about traffic laws and safe driving techniques, including traffic laws in Utah, road signals, vehicle maintenance and defensive driving strategies.
Utah Online Drivers Ed vs. In-Person Courses
Taking a UT driver’s education course online is vastly different than taking it in person. Motorists who take the course online have the convenience of completing the course at their own pace. Therefore, these students can easily fit the course into their schedule without having to leave their home.
First-time motorists may find additional course materials through an online drivers ed course that are not available in classroom-based courses. As an example, third-party providers such as DriversEd.com offer access to unlimited permit practice tests. This helps novice drivers prepare for the official exam and review important concepts.
Many local institutions also offer in-person drivers ed courses that can benefit novice drivers who prefer a hands-on learning approach. While the content generally covers the same material, the classroom-based course will typically include opportunities for questions and discussions.
What will you learn in a Utah drivers ed school?
In drivers ed school in Utah, new drivers will learn everything they need to know about operating on public roadways in Utah. Motorists can expect to learn the following:
- Utah traffic laws.
- Signals and road markings.
- Defensive driving techniques.
- Vehicle maintenance.
- Consequences of driving under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol.
- Traffic citations and points on a driving record.
Utah Drivers Education Requirements
In order to successfully pass drivers education classes in Utah, motorists must complete three main components of the course. Each component has a minimum of required hours. Find below a list of required hours for a teen drivers ed course:
- 27 hours of classroom-based instruction, or 18 hours of schooling through a private or commercial provider.
- Six hours of instruction while behind the wheel.
- Six hours of observation.
Adult drivers must meet these requirements if taking a DPS drivers ed course. However, they have the option to obtain a learner’s permit, hold it for 90 days and complete 40 hours of monitored driving with 10 hours at night.
Benefits of a Utah Driver Education Course
The biggest benefit of completing a UT driver’s ed course is fulfilling the state requirement. Drivers who are younger than 19 years of age cannot obtain a drivers license without completing a DPS-approved driver’s education course. As such, the completion of the course will allow motorists to obtain a license to drive and get unrestricted driving privileges.
In addition, various auto insurance companies offer discounts to first-time motorists who complete a driver’s ed classes. New drivers can benefit from up to 15 percent discounts on their auto insurance premiums following the completion of a qualifying course.
Aside from the legal and financial benefits of the course, motorists gain extensive knowledge on the rules of the road and safe driving techniques when taking a Utah driver’s ed course. Third-party providers such as DriversEd.com help motorists to gradually gain experience being on the road with other drivers and learn the necessary skills to stay safe while driving.
How to Enroll in a Utah Driver Ed School
Enrolling in UT drivers ed is typically a straightforward process. However, this procedure can vary from one provider to the next. The first step motorists must take before enrolling into a course is identify which providers are approved by the state DPS. Otherwise, the certificate of completion issued to you will not be valid in the state. Consequently, drivers will not be able to obtain their driver’s license.
After the proper verification, motorists must visit their chosen provider’s website and register for an online driver’s ed course. During this process, applicants will have to provide their name and address. Then, the last step for enrolling in the course is providing an acceptable form of payment for the applicable fees.
Motorists who are taking the driver’s ed course in person typically have an additional step to complete, because they must select a time and date to take the in-person course. Generally, attendance is required at every session in order to receive full credit for the course.
Utah DPS Drivers Ed Certificates
A Utah driver’s ed certificate of completion is a document that proves that a motorist has successfully completed a course. Overall, drivers will receive this certificate via mail after completing an online program. Alternatively, drivers taking the course in person through a high school or third-party company may obtain the certificate from the instructor on the last day.
In any case, the certificate must have a seal of the state-approved provider along with the date of completion. Motorists must then present this document to the Utah DPS and follow instructions to obtain their driver’s license.
Drivers Ed for New Utah Residents
The Utah DPS allows new residents to submit their out-of-state drivers ed completion certificate. However, it must meet the required hours set by the UT DPS, as mentioned in previous sections. Furthermore, be mindful that the DPS does not accept online or home study drivers education certificate from out-of-state providers.
Utah Drivers Ed vs. Traffic School
The Utah driver’s education program caters to first-time drivers, preparing them to obtain their unrestricted driving licenses through classroom course, behind-the-wheel instruction and observation. Generally, students may complete the course over the course of a few weeks.
On the other hand, traffic school is a refresher course designed for motorists who already hold licenses and have driving experience. As such, traffic school programs are typically short, lasting up to 12 hours, and include a final exam that reviews all course materials.
Utah Driver Education Fees
Drivers ed prices in Utah can vary greatly depending on the provider, as the Utah DPS does not have its own course. For example, motorists can expect to pay up to $350 for a driver’s ed course. This generally includes the three main components of the course. Some providers like DriversEd.com also offer unlimited learner’s permit practices tests in their online course.