Utah Boater Registration
Utah boat registration is required on most vessels owned by state residents. In fact, all motor boats and sailboats must obtain UT vessel registration before being operated on state waterways.
The Utah State Tax Commission’s Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) helps set registration requirements in Utah, and processes registrations at offices located throughout the state. Because registration is a requirement, state law also requires boaters to carry proof of registration while onboard and make it available for inspection if requested.
Requirements for Boater Registration in Utah
“What do you need to register a boat in Utah?” is a common question many boaters have, and the registration requirements are simple and straightforward. The UT boat registration form is the primary component. Registration instructions dictate that boaters obtain this form at any DMV office, as all boat registrations are processed through the UT DMV.
The Utah boat registration form must be filled out correctly and completely. Along with the application form, boat registrants will submit a tax certificate showing that sales tax was paid on the purchase of the vessel. Finally, include the applicable registration fees when payment is remitted.
Once requirements to register a boat in Utah are met, a certificate of registration will be issued, along with annual registration decals. Boat owners must keep this certificate on board at all times during operation and registration decals should be displayed properly on the vessel’s hull.
Exemptions From Boat Registration and Titling in Utah
Some types of vessels are exempt from the registration process. Common boat registration exemptions in Utah are listed below:
- Canoes, kayaks, inflatables and other watercrafts that are not propelled by a motor or sail.
- Vessels owned by non-resident boaters who are using Utah waters for less than 60 days and have proper registration in their home state.
- Lifeboats on a ship.
- Watercraft that is owned by the U.S. government.
- Watercraft from outside the country staying briefly in Utah.
Learn which boats are exempt from registration in UT before beginning the process of purchasing and registering a watercraft.
Utah Boat Insurance
Comparing boat insurance rates in Utah is important because unlike many states, Utah requires boater’s insurance to be maintained on all motorboats and personal watercraft (PWC) in order to receive legal registration. Boaters should seek out boat insurance quotes in Utah on owner’s or operator’s liability for the following coverage minimums:
- Bodily injury/death coverage with a minimum $25,000/$50,000 coverage
- Property damage with a minimum $15,000 coverage
- Combined minimum coverage per accident of $65,000
Once enrolled in boat insurance programs in Utah, insured boaters must carry proof of coverage at all times when on the water. Note that insurance coverage is required on all registered watercraft except motorboats powered by less than 50 horsepower and all airboats. Like auto insurance, insurance for water vessels helps protect vessel owners financially in case of an accident.
Utah Boat Registration Fees
“How much does it cost to register a boat in Utah?” is another important question to ask when registering a boat. Boaters will find boat registration fees in UT vary widely, with fee levels based on the age of a vessel, the model year it was produced and the length of the vessel. Fees can range from $10 to $700.
Renewing Your Utah Boat Registration
You can renew boat registration online in UT via the Renewal Express online service. Knowing how to renew your boat registration in Utah is vital to maintaining active and legal boat registration.
Similar to the car registration process, renewal for a boat happens one year after initial registration and every year thereafter on the last day of the month. Boat owners will typically receive a renewal notice during the month of expiration.
Replacing Your Utah Boat Registration
You must replace registration as soon as possible after learning that the documents were lost or destroyed. Part of how to replace your boat registration in Utah involves paying $7 for decal stickers and $4 for the registration certificate. You can also replace a boat registration online if you need replacements for lost, damaged or stolen registrations documents.
Boater Safety Courses in Utah
A boater safety course in Utah can be educational for boaters with any level of experience. Though typical adult boaters are not required to take one of these courses, state law requires a youth certification course for Personal Watercraft (PWC) such as a jet ski. The official boater safety course in Utah is a requirement for boaters ages 12 to 17 only.
This course is the only mandatory requirement in terms of boater safety, but it is always a good idea to participate in a boat safety education course. Even if a student just learns one thing during boating safety education, it could be the one thing that saves someone’s life in the future. After completing the course, students will be required to pass an exam.
Utah Boater License
“How do you get a boating license in Utah?” is a question many boaters may ask. A Utah boating license is basically a certification achieved by participating and passing a boating safety education course, similar to a driver’s license.
Online boating license study guides and tests make this type of certification fun and easy to complete. The PWC requirement for youth ages 12 to 17 is a mandatory requirement, and thus, the certification received upon completing the course serves as a license to ride and drive jet skis and other personal watercraft until the age of 18.