Utah DUIs And DWIs
FREE DUI Attorney Consultation
Find a Top Rated Lawyer In Your Area
Utah DUI and DWI offenses may result in harsh penalties added to a motorist’s driving record, such as a driver’s license suspension or revocation, jail time and large fines. Motorists may incur serious charges if they are found to operate motor vehicles with an excess of blood or breath alcohol concentration (BAC) level.
Utah DUI laws determine the consequences that offenders may face in the case of committing traffic offenses while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. In such situations, drivers are encouraged to hire a DUI defense attorney to defend them in court and to help them minimize their penalties. For more information and details on how to fight a DUI in Utah with the help of an experienced lawyer, read the sections below.
DUI Citations and Convictions in Utah
A Utah DUI or DWI citation may occur when a driver is pulled over by a law enforcement official and found to be driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol and/or drugs. A DUI is a criminal offense classified as a felony or misdemeanor due to the danger it poses to public safety. Drivers are convicted of a DUI or DWI when found guilty by the presiding court.
Utah Under the Influence Violations and Penalties
Disobeying DUI laws in Utah may result in additional penalties on a motorist’s driving record. DUI penalties may vary depending on the driver’s age, the level of BAC recorded or the number of previously committed offenses. For specific drunk driving charges, continue reading the sections below.
First DUI Offense
A first DUI in Utah will suspend an offender’s driving privileges for 120 days if he or she is over 21 years old. Drivers who are younger than 21 years of age will face DUI penalties such as a driver’s license suspension for a period from 6 months to 1 year or until they turn 21. In addition, drivers who are found driving while intoxicated will face imprisonment and high driving fines.
Second DUI and Subsequent DUI Offense
A second and any subsequent DUI violation in Utah bring more severe consequences on a driving record. The charges for a second DUI will result in a revocation of driving privileges for a period of 2 years. Additionally, drivers will get a mandatory prison sentence or community service, depending on the court verdict.
Drinking and Driving in Utah
Impaired driving in Utah includes operating a motor vehicle under the influence of either alcohol or drugs. DUI violations occur due to an increased presence of alcohol and/or drugs in a driver’s system, thus causing serious criminal offenses. Intoxicant all have similar effects on a driver’s ability to operate a vehicle. Driving while intoxicated may cause loss of life, which is classified as a vehicular manslaughter and may add criminal charges to a motorist’s driving record. A defense attorney is required immediately when impaired driving causes death or bodily injury of passengers or other drivers.
Utah DUI Attorneys
A drunk driving attorney in Utah is a legal representative whose professional experience with driving laws will help in resolving your specific situation. A defense attorney will be able to give you advice and help you prepare a good defense strategy that may result in a dismissal or reduction of charges against you.
Prior to hiring a DUI defense attorney, you are recommended to conduct background checks on all professionals who may potentially defend you in court. That way, you will ensure that you have hired an attorney who can help you minimize the drunk driving charges filed against you.
Open Container Laws in Utah
One of the Utah DUI laws that must be followed is the Open Container Law, which prohibits drivers from carrying or drinking from an open alcoholic beverage container while operating motor vehicles. Drivers are charged with a DUI if they are caught driving and drinking by a police officer. DUI charges are given to motorists who disobey this law, regardless of whether the vehicle is moving, stopped or parked. However, drivers may transport alcoholic beverages in their vehicle as long as the container’s seal is not broken and the beverages are not within their reach.
Reinstating a Suspended Drivers License in Utah
Facing a license suspension may require that drivers complete several reinstatement requirements in order to restore their driving privileges. Licensees who face DUI drivers license suspension periods will be required to satisfy different requirements, depending on the type of traffic offense committed. One of those requirements is to enroll in a DUI-related traffic school program, provide proof of appropriate car insurance, reapply for a new credential by retaking the DMV exams and pay the applicable fees. For more details about reinstating a Utah DUI suspended license, contact a local DMV office.
Utah Alcohol Awareness Classes
Drivers who face DUI offenses resulting in harsh penalties are encouraged to enroll in a state traffic school that offers DUI classes. Offenders charged with a DUI may enroll in a Substance Abuse Authority Program in order to reinstate their driving privileges. This program will determine whether the driver must continue with education or treatment procedure. Prime for Life DUI classes are available to drivers who need DUI education to learn how to avoid risks while operating motor vehicles. For more information on DUI courses in Utah, contact your nearby DMV location.
SR-22 Insurance in Utah
Insurance for DUI drivers in Utah is needed when drivers disobey state driving laws and get a driver’s license suspension or revocation as a result. SR-22 insurance is a liability statement which certifies that high-risk drivers who have committed a DUI are in compliance with state laws. Utah SR-22 auto insurance for DUI offenders is required for 3 years from the date of the suspension or revocation.
Utah Laws That Pertain to DUI/DWI
Utah DUI laws were created to determine the penalties that drivers will face when driving drunk. Under the Implied Consent Law, for instance, drunk driving charges are given to drivers who refuse to submit to a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test. Failure to obey this law will result in a driver’s license revocation for 18 months for a first-time DUI, or a revocation of 36 months for a second or subsequent offense. Penalties are also given to drivers 21 years and older who fail to have a BAC level below the allowed limit of 0.08 percent. More severe charges may be added in a situation where drivers who are younger than 21 years old disobey the “Not a Drop” Act, which prohibits any amount of alcohol in their system while operating a vehicle.
Utah Hardship License
Prior to reinstating a DUI suspended license in Utah, drivers may be eligible to apply for a hardship license while waiting for the suspension period to be over. Offenders charged with a DUI may operate their motor vehicle to and from work or school with their hardship (restricted) license. A driver’s license may be reinstated by satisfying a set of requirements by the Utah DMV. UT DUI violation conditions can be found on a driving record.