How to Order Your Utah Driving Record
A Utah driving record is issued by the Utah Department of Public Safety for all residents who have a valid driver’s license. If you want to know the content of your UT personal driving record, continue reading below for all the needed information.
What is on my Utah driving record?
Depending on the type of driving record and where you purchase it, your Utah driving record may provide either a partial or complete outline of your personal NH driving history. If you order your driving record directly from the Utah Department of Public Safety, it will contain:
- Your date of birth.
- Your home address.
- The application date and status of your driver’s license.
- A list of all car crashes.
- A list of driver’s license suspensions or revocations.
- Past traffic violations and violation points.
- Utah DUI reports.
If you order your driving record through DMV.com, you will receive valuable information such as: violation convictions, accidents (if reported by the state), suspensions or limitations, special license classifications and DUI offenses on record.
Did you know? Your personal driving history is a public record. Potential employers, insurance providers, and courts of law can all request a copy of your driving history.
What do points on my Utah driving record mean?
Demerit points are assigned on your Utah DMV driving record for every offense you commit. The more points you accumulate on your driving history, the higher the possibility is of getting a suspension or revocation on your driver’s license.
Different offenses bring different demerit points on your driving records. Those values are decided by the Utah Department of Public Safety and are as follows:
- Reckless Driving: 80 points
- Careless Driving: 50 points
- Speeding (1 to 10 miles per hour over): 35 points
- Speeding (11 to 20 miles per hour over): 55 points
- Speeding (21 miles per hour over): 75 points
- Failure to Yield Right-of-Way: 60 points
- Following Too Close: 60 points
- Wrong Way on a One-Way Street: 60 points
- Impeding Traffic: 50 points
- Red Light: 50 points
- Stop Sign: 50 points
- Improper Lookout: 50 points
- Improper Passing: 50 points
- Improper Turn: 50 points
- Negligent Collision: 50 points
- Texting While Driving: 50 points
- Other Moving Violations: 40 points
Fix any mistake or incorrect points on your driving history record by contacting any local Utah Department of Public Safety office. If you want to remove demerit points from your UT driving record, you may take a traffic school course.
How do points against my Utah license affect me?
The more demerit points you accumulate on your driving record, the higher your chances are to get a suspension or revocation on your Utah driver’s license. You may get a driver’s license suspension for the following:
- Three-year suspension for 200 points accumulated on your license.
- Three-year suspension for 70 points accumulated on your license, if you are under 21 years old.
Having a high number of demerit points on your Utah driving record, will get you higher insurance rates and lower chances to get new employment. Therefore, try to keep a clean personal driving history and do not let demerit points affect your driving privileges.
How do I remove drivers license points from my Utah record?
Utah offers different ways of removing demerit points from your driving records. In order to clear your personal history, you can do that by safely driving or by attending a driver improvement course:
- If you drive safely for one year, you can remove one half of the points on your record.
- If you drive safely for two years, you can remove all points from your record.
- If you attend and complete a driver improvement course recommended by a Division Hearing Officer, you will be able to delete 50 points from your record.
For a list of approved traffic school courses, click here.
How long do points stay on my Utah driving record?
Demerit points stay on your Utah driving record until you remove them either by safe driving or by completion of a driver improvement course. Points for separate convictions will be automatically removed from your record three years after the date of the committed violation.
Utah DUI Records
There is a section about the DUI records on your Utah Department of Public Safety driving record. If you want to check for your DUI criminal records, you can order your personal Utah driving history.
Drivers who commit DUI offenses may receive the following administrative penalties/suspensions on their driver’s licenses, depending on their age:
- Under 19 years old:
- A one-year suspension for a first offense Not-a-Drop arrest
- Two-year suspension for a first offense Per-Se arrest
- 19 or 20 years old:
- Six-month suspension for a first offense Not-a-Drop arrest
- Six-month suspension for a first offense Per-Se arrest
- 21 years old or older:
- 120-day suspension for a first offense Per-Se arrest
- 18-month suspension for refusal to submit to a chemical test
- Two-year suspension for a second offense Per-Se arrest
How do I know if my Utah driving license is suspended?
Checking the status of your driver’s license is the easiest thing you can do. You can order a copy of your personal Utah driving record and check the information about your past driving experience, including any possible suspension on your driver’s license.
Previous Traffic Violations in Utah
The Utah DPS driving record displays all the driver’s previously committed traffic violations. Order your driving history and access your data about unpaid traffic tickets and fix any mistake you might find.
Why do I need a copy of my Utah driving record?
Drivers in search of the entire information about their previously committed traffic violations are advised to order a copy of their DMV driving records. That way you could also get prepared for employment opportunities.
Check for Points in Utah
Utah drivers can check their demerit points by ordering a copy of their driving records. The Utah Department of Public Safety issues driving history records that display the number of demerit points you have and the closeness to a suspension on your driver’s license.
If you have too many points, your driver’s license could be suspended. Take corrective action to remove points if that is the case.
Applying for a Commercial Driver Position in Utah
Safe and responsible drivers are what every employer wants for their company. For that reason, they conduct research on all candidates before calling them in for an interview.
They order a copy of the employee driving records as part of the research process. You are advised to keep a clean record by ordering your personal driving history and by getting prepared for any question you might be asked on the day of the interview.
Lower Utah Car Insurance Premiums
Insurance companies check Utah driving history records when determining the premiums for drivers. You are encouraged to keep a clean UT driving record if you want to get lower insurance rates. Before you apply for auto insurance, order your personal driving report and fix any mistake you may find.
Take Utah Traffic School to Prevent Points
Drivers who attend and complete a traffic school in Utah have the opportunity to deduct 50 points from their driving records once every three years. Even if you do not deduct the points from your record, they will be automatically removed after three years.
Another positive factor about attending a defensive traffic school is that you can learn how to become a more responsible and safe driver on the public roads in Utah.
Why do employers check your Utah driving record?
Employers are in a constant search for responsible and safe drivers, which is why they order driving history reports before calling the candidates for an interview. All professional companies avoid dealing with problematic drivers who will cost them additional payments of lawsuits, potential medical bills or repair costs.
Once they take a look at every candidate’s driving record, they will eliminate the problematic ones and keep the best candidates for the job.
How do I get my Utah driving record?
DMV.com recommends ordering driving records from a secure and reliable source. You have the option of ordering your driving record directly from a local government branch of the Utah DPS. This is usually the most cost-effective way to obtain your driving record.
Different Types of Utah Driving Records
The Utah Department of Public Safety offers the same motor vehicle record (MVR) as a certified or non-certified copy.
Certified Driving Record
The certified driving record is usually ordered by potential employers or insurance companies.
Non-Certified Driving Record
The non-certified driving record is usually issued for personal use or for a simple proof of your driving history without having the information certified.
How do I fix a mistake on a drivers history report?
There might come a situation when you spot a mistake on your personal driving record. If that happens, contact the Utah Department of Public Safety to fix it, before any unwanted suspensions or fines occur.
What is not included on my driving record report?
The Utah DMV driving history report is a small part of the information that potential employers of insurance companies search for. That’s why DMV.com has provided the following resources of additional information:
- Background checks
- VIN checks
- DMV police reports
Vehicle Registration History
The Utah Department of Public Safety offers vehicle registration history reports as part of their driving records. This document displays all your previously owned or registered vehicles, and will serve as a proof of ownership if asked.
Driving Record Fees in Utah
A standard driving record in Utah costs $8, whereas a certified copy of this document costs $10.75.
Driving Record Forms
Note: DMV forms change regularly. The forms provided above are current based on the date of writing.
- Motor Vehicle Record (MVR) from Utah.gov