How to Order Your New Mexico Driving Record
To simplify the process of getting your driving record, you can place your order online. By easily ordering your driving record online, you will receive the most up-to-date information in a shorter time frame. Your driving record will include your driver’s license status, violation convictions (including DUIs), endorsements, restrictions and administrative actions that are associated with your drivers license and reportable in your state, according to its policies. Accidents and points will only show if applicable based on your state. Your driving record can only be ordered from a state where you have been issued a license.
2. By Phone
Driving records can also be ordered quickly and conveniently by submitting your request by phone. Requesting your driver record by phone is as simple as submitting your order online, as you only have to provide certain pieces of information and payment for the driving record fee. Simply call 855-996-0244, and a customer service agent will help you through the process so that you can easily order a copy of your driving record today.
3. Via a DMV office
You can also get your driving record from your local DMV office. This option tends to be the most cost-effective choice. However, it is important to note that not all DMV locations have the ability to process driving record requests. Thus, be sure to check with your state DMV to verify that it can fulfill this service. Click here to find a DMV office near you. If your DMV office offers the option, make sure to make an appointment. Also, double-check that you have all your personal documents and payment for the fees before visiting the office.
4. By Mail
If you are not in a rush to get your driving record, you can request it by mail through the DMV. First, find out if your local DMV processes driving records. If your office accepts mail-in applications, make sure to gather all the required documentation and send it to the appropriate mailing address. To avoid delays, which are common with this procedure, double-check that you have included all the correct information. Almost all DMV offices accept payment in the form of a check or money order, but for alternative payment methods, check with your local office.
|Safe and Secure Information|
|Accurate, Up-to-Date Records|
|Fast Email Delivery within 24 hours|
|Dedicated DMV.com Advisor|
|Phone and Email Support|
|FREE 60-day Roadside Assistance|
What is on my New Mexico driving record?
Depending on the type of driving record and where you purchase it, your New Mexico driving record may provide either a partial or complete outline of your driving history. If you order your driving record directly from the New Mexico MVD, it will contain:
- Background and drivers license information.
- Past traffic violations, convictions and/or DUI reports
- Reports of car accidents.
- Driver’s license suspensions and demerit points, if any.
If you order your driving record through DMV.com, you will receive valuable information such as: violation convictions, accidents (if reported by the state), suspensions or limitations, special license classifications and DUI offenses on record. DMV.com recommends ordering a copy at least every three years. Find out what is on your driving history report by filling out the form above to order a copy of your records.
Did you know? Your personal driving history is a public record. Potential employers, insurance providers, and courts of law can all request a copy of your driving history.
What do points on my New Mexico driving record mean?
Motor Vehicle Division driving record points represent the violations that you have committed while driving in New Mexico. You will see that each motor vehicle record point value is based on the severity of the traffic offense:
- Speeding at 26 mph or more over the speed limit when the posted limit is either 15 mph, 30 mph or 75 mph: 8 points
- Reckless driving: 6 points
- Speeding at 16-25 mph over the speed limit when the posted limit is either 15 mph, 30 mph or 75 mph: 5 points
- Not yielding right of way to an emergency vehicle: 4 points
- Careless driving: 3 points
- Giving the wrong signal and other minimal infractions: 2 points
These points, if accumulated, can lead to certain penalties enforced by the New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division.
How do points against my New Mexico license affect me?
Drivers who accumulate 7 points or more on their NM driving records within a period of 12 consecutive months will have their driving privileges suspended by the Motor Vehicle Division. Furthermore, incurring points from traffic violations can result in higher car insurance premiums and fewer driving employment opportunities for residents of New Mexico.
How do I remove drivers license points from my New Mexico record?
Preventing personal driving history points is only possible by exercising safe-driving practices in New Mexico. One way to learn all of the skills necessary to safely operate a motor vehicle within the state, and to avoid point-induced driver’s license suspension, is to enroll in a local certified traffic school.
How long do points stay on my New Mexico driving record?
DMV driving record points will count towards a possible driver’s license suspension for only one year. Points that are older than 12 months can no longer be applied.
To check your point total, and to determine if you are approaching a driver’s license suspension, order your MVD driving record today. Get a driving record copy today to assess how many points you will have with the MVD.
New Mexico DUI Records
Motor Vehicle Division driving history reports contain DUI records for the residents of New Mexico who were charged with DUIs. These DUI criminal records are often required when you apply for driver’s license reinstatement or court-ordered traffic school.
Maintain your New Mexico driving history records by ordering a current report today.
How do I know if my New Mexico Driving License is suspended?
DMV driving records prominently feature your drivers license status in New Mexico. If you order a copy of your driving record, you can see if your license is currently suspended or near suspension.
Previous Traffic Violations in New Mexico
All of your previous traffic violations are included within your New Mexico driving record, as well as when and where these infractions occurred. Verify the accuracy of each claim on your drivers record by ordering yours today.
Why do I need a copy of my New Mexico driving record?
Motor Vehicle Division drivers records are required to see how many demerit points you have accumulated as a licensed driver in New Mexico. These driving documents can also be used to apply for low auto insurance rates or commercial driving positions, as long as the driving records are free from errors, violations and car accident reports.
Check for Points in New Mexico
In addition to traffic violations, demerit points are also prominently featured on MVD New Mexico driving records. Keeping track of your driving history point total is crucial for preventing the suspension of your driver’s license by the Motor Vehicle Division.
As a general rule, 7 accumulated points (for various offenses) will result in the suspension of your driving privileges.
Applying for a Commercial Driver Position in New Mexico
Employers for commercial vehicle companies only seek to hire candidates with clean driving records. Drivers with points, infractions or accidents on record are more likely to be liabilities to companies, and thus, their applications will quickly be passed over.
However, if you practice safe-driving practices for an extended period of time in your driving history, you are likely to be considered an excellent candidate for a commercial driving job. Order a copy of your driving record today to gauge your chances of employment.
Lower New Mexico Car Insurance Premiums
By accumulating demerit points, traffic violations and car crashes on your personal driving record, you are showing an auto insurance provider that you are a liability. The result of traffic convictions and accidents will be an increase in your auto insurance rates.
However, by practicing safe-driving techniques and keeping a clean NM driving record, you can accomplish the opposite and reduce your premiums. Auto insurance companies prefer to insure safe drivers, and discounts are one way that they encourage you to remain within their coverage.
If you are preparing to apply for car insurance, order a copy of your New Mexico driving record beforehand to ensure the lowest possible rates.
Take New Mexico Traffic School to Prevent Points
To improve your driving skills so that you can prevent points from being assessed on your New Mexico driving record in the future, enroll in a defensive driving course. These classes teach safe-driving techniques to both novice and veteran drivers.
Furthermore, if you are ever suspended for drivers record point accumulation, the MVD will require you to take a defensive driving class before you can reinstate your license.
Why do employers check your New Mexico driving record?
Companies hiring for driving-related jobs check driving records to minimize employer liability. As NM driving records provide information on previous crashes, violations and demerit points, an employer can gauge whether or not a candidate is likely to cost the company thousands of dollars in medical bills or repair costs.
By cleaning up your New Mexico driving record before you apply for any driving-related position, you are giving yourself the best chance of getting hired for the job. Furthermore, you can verify the status of your driving history by learning how to check your driving record now.
How do I get my New Mexico driving record?
DMV.com recommends ordering driving records from a secure and reliable source. You have the option of ordering your driving record directly from a local government branch of the New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division. This is usually the most cost-effective way to obtain your driving record.
As an alternative option, you can order your NM driving record through DMV.com. We aim to deliver you the most up-to-date information quickly and conveniently, and keeping your information confidential and safe is a top priority.
Different Types of New Mexico Driving Records
The New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division offers two different types of driving records to residents. Depending on your reason for needing driver documentation, order the NM driving history report that is right for you.
Overall, DMV.com driving records are for employment purposes and personal information only. They are not certified so they cannot be used in court or to obtain your license in another state. The content and length of the report is determined by the state and not DMV.com. The record you receive will be the public record for employment purposes as determined by your state on the date of the order.
Non-Certified Driving Record
As a non-certified MVD driving history, this document can only be kept for your personal records. This New Mexico drivers record includes details of your previous violations, car accidents and demerit points, as well as your driver’s license information.
Certified Driving Record
The certified version of the previous driving record can be submitted to potential employers or insurance providers for official use in determining your candidacy.
How do I fix a mistake on a New Mexico drivers history report?
If you have located even a single error on your personal New Mexico driving record, it is imperative that you take the necessary steps to correct the mistake. Just one error can result in an increase in your car insurance premiums or other such penalties.
If that is your case, notify the New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division as soon as possible by filling out the digital form on the MVD website or by calling 888-683-4636.
What is not included in my New Mexico driving record report?
Certain pieces of background information are not included with your DMV driving record. However, you can easily attain access to this information by ordering the following backup documents via DMV.com:
New Mexico Vehicle Registration History
If you need access to information about vehicles that you have previously owned, order a copy of your vehicle registration history report. This driver’s document comes with details on all of the cars that you have owned or registered during your time in New Mexico. It can be used as proof of vehicle ownership or proof of car registration. Order a copy of your New Mexico driving history today.
Driving Record Fees in New Mexico
A non-certified driving record in New Mexico costs $6.63, whereas a certified one costs $9.99.