How to Order Your Colorado Driving Record
What is on my Colorado driving record?
Depending on the type of driving record and where you purchase it, your Colorado driving record may provide either a partial or complete outline of your personal CO driving history. If you order your driving record directly from the Colorado Department of Revenue, it will contain:
- Your personal details, such as full name and address.
- Details about traffic accidents.
- DWI violations.
- Driving license points.
- Lengths of license suspensions.
- Steps for reinstatement.
- Requirements for SR-22 insurance.
When you order your driving record, you will receive valuable information such as violation convictions, accidents (if reported by the state), suspensions or limitations, special license classifications and DUI offenses on record. DMV.com recommends ordering a copy at least every three years. Find out what is on your driving history report by filling out the form above to order a copy of your records.
Did you know? Your personal driving history is a public record. Potential employers, insurance providers, and courts of law can all request a copy of your driving history.
What do points on my Colorado driving record mean?
The driver’s license points on your Colorado driving record are penalties assigned for specific moving violations. Depending on the type of traffic offense, you can get between one and 12 points on your CO drivers record:
- DWI by drug use: 12 points
- DWI by alcohol: 8 points
- Leaving a car crash scene: 12 points
- Evading a law enforcement officer: 12 points
- Reckless driving: 8 points
- Failure to yield to an emergency vehicle: 4 points
- Failure to show proof of insurance: 4 points
- Improper passing: 4 points
- Failure to yield right of way: 3 points
- Operating an unsafe vehicle: 2 points
Even if you complete driving license reinstatement steps to end a suspension, the traffic points on your Colorado Department of Revenue driving history will stay visible for as long as your license is valid.
How do points against my Colorado license affect me?
The points on your CO driving record can affect the status of your driver’s license by having it suspended, canceled or denied. Your license can be suspended if you accumulate enough points, based on the driver category you belong to:
- For drivers younger than 18:
- 6 points in 12 months
- 7 or more points for the period of the license’s validity
- For drivers between 18 and 21 years of age:
- 9 points in 12 months
- 12 points in 24 months
- 14 points for the period of the license’s validity
- For drivers older than 21:
- 12 points in 12 months
- 18 points in 24 months
- For chauffeurs on official duty:
- 16 points in 12 months
- 24 points in 24 months
- 28 points in 48 months
In addition, the demerit points found on your DOR driving history can limit your employment opportunities and force you to pay higher sums for auto insurance. The presence of points on your Colorado driving record demonstrates that you pose a risk to both insurers and potential employers, who may reject or cancel your applications altogether.
How do I remove drivers license points from my Colorado record?
You can reduce the total number of points on the Colorado personal driving history issued by the Department of Revenue by completing one or more of the improvement actions required during a driver’s license suspension:
- Submit a reinstatement application.
- Pay traffic fines for moving violations.
- Attend a defensive driving course at a traffic school.
- Install an ignition interlock device.
- Pay license reinstatement fees.
- Present proof of SR-22 insurance.
For a list of approved Colorado traffic schools in the area, click here.
How long do points stay on my Colorado driving record?
The total number of traffic points on your Colorado DOR personal driving record gets reduced gradually as you avoid accumulating subsequent traffic points. In addition, you may need to take a traffic school course to reinstate your driver’s license, if you committed certain violations.
Checking For Traffic Violations and Penalties in Colorado
Colorado DUI Records
Alcohol-related accidents and moving violations can be found in the DUI arrest record portion of the CO DOR driving record. You may need to obtain your DUI criminal record if you have been ordered to take an alcohol improvement course, or if you are in the process of reinstating your driver’s license.
How do I know if my Colorado driving license is suspended?
Your DMV driving record report provides detailed information about the status of your driver’s license. Order a copy of your driving record to learn about your current license status.
Previous Traffic Violations in Colorado
Colorado drivers records contain all of the traffic violations that you have been convicted of within the state. By observing the history of your traffic violations, you can adjust your driving practices to establish a clean driving record.
Why do I need a copy of my Colorado driving record?
A copy of your Colorado driving record is necessary as evidence of your personal driving accountability. When you negotiate your auto insurance premiums with an agent or apply for a job as a commercial driver, you will be asked to submit a copy of your motor vehicle history to demonstrate your driving behavior.
Check for Points in Colorado
Driving records from the Colorado Department of Revenue include details about your driver’s license points. Access to these demerit point totals is a common reason why drivers decide to review their CO driving history. By following their motor vehicle records, they can act before driver’s license suspension sets in.
Applying for a Commercial Driver Position in Colorado
Transport businesses consider the personal driving history records of applicants before they make hiring decisions. Too many violations, car accidents or unpaid tickets will portray you less favorably.
Take the necessary steps to keep track of your motor vehicle record, and perform any corrective actions required to clean up your CO driving history before you apply to any driving job.
Lower Colorado Car Insurance Premiums
To secure the most affordable insurance rates, you must have a clean motor vehicle record that is free from violations and accidents, and which proves that you drive safely and responsibly. Having a bad driving record, which features countless infractions, will cause insurance companies to charge you higher rates, because violations and crashes convey that you are a liability.
Before you apply for car insurance, order a recent copy of your Colorado drivers record to determine if there is any corrective action you can take to improve your standing.
Take Colorado Traffic School to Prevent Points
Drivers are typically required to enroll in a defensive driving course for DUI convictions. Even if it is not ordered by a court, the Colorado Department of Revenue may ask that you attend an alcohol awareness course at a state-approved traffic school to remove points and reinstate your license. A review of your Colorado DOR drivers record is a sure way to adjust your driving practices and avoid accumulating too many traffic points.
Why do employers check your Colorado driving record?
The personal driving history is a proof of credibility for candidates who apply to work as professional drivers. Hiring managers of transport businesses only want to provide company assets to trustworthy individuals.
Thus, they order motor vehicle histories to limit business liability by ruling out potential employees who could cost them a significant amount of money in medical bills, lawsuits and property damage.
How do I get my Colorado driving record?
DMV.com recommends ordering driving records from a secure and reliable source. You have the option of ordering your driving record directly from a local government branch of the Colorado DOR. This is usually the most cost-effective way to obtain your driving record.
As an alternative option, DMV.com has partnered with BackgroundChecks.com to deliver you the most up-to-date information quickly and conveniently. We partnered with BackgroundChecks.com because their commitment to keeping your information confidential and safe is a top priority.
Different Types of Colorado Driving Records
The Colorado Department of Revenue offers several variations of driving record reports. By reading more about what constitutes a specific motor vehicle record, you will know which one suits your needs.
7-Year Driving Record
If you do not require a full driving history, the seven-year driving record issued by the Colorado DOR provides information about the traffic violations and infractions you committed in the last seven years.
Complete Driving Record
The CO complete driving record reports all of your violations, suspensions and infractions, from the initial date your driver’s license was issued to the present.
Employee Driving Record
To obtain information about a job applicant’s driving history in Colorado, employers will typically order employee drivers records, which are specifically designed for the hiring process.
How do I fix a mistake on a Colorado drivers history report?
Errors occasionally occur on Colorado driving records, which can result in wrongful fines or driver’s license suspension. The easiest way to correct any issues is to contact the nearest DOR office as soon as you notice the mistake.
What is not included on my Colorado driving record report?
Specific information that can be of use to potential employers, government agencies or car insurance companies is not always included in the CO driving record report. These details can be found in other reports, which you have access to through DMV.com:
- Background checks
- VIN checks
- DMV police reports
Colorado Vehicle Registration History
In addition to personal driving records, residents of Colorado also have access to vehicle registration histories. Vehicle registration history reports, unlike Colorado drivers records, feature information on all of the vehicles that a given driver has ever owned/registered. These documents can be used whenever you are asked to provide proof of vehicle ownership or registration.
Driving Record Fees in Colorado
In Colorado, a standard driving record costs $9. Moreover, a certified copy of this document costs $10.
Driving Record Forms
Note: DMV forms change regularly. The forms provided above are current based on the date of writing.
- Purchase Motor Vehicle Record (MVR) Letter of Clearance from Colorado.gov