How to Change Your Name on Your Car Registration in Colorado
Motorists are required to change name on car registration in Colorado when they have changed their names and have updated their driving records and other credentials. Drivers may change car registration name due to marriage, divorce or court order. Moreover, a transaction of correcting or adding name to a car registration may be also performed by vehicle owners who have changed their names. Driver and vehicle material should match the owners legal name.
Vehicle owners may perform a car registration name change by using the methods offered by the Division of Motor Vehicle (DMV) of the state Department of Revenue (DOR). For more information on how to change your name on car registration in Colorado, continue reading the sections below.
Instances Where You Must Change Your Name on Your Colorado Car Registration
To find out how and when to change your name on car registration in Colorado, you need to learn about the instances where you may be required to update your name.
In most cases, motorists perform a car registration name change after marriage, civil union or tribal court marriage. Likewise, vehicle owners may also perform a process of changing name on car registration after a divorce or separation.
To change your name due to court order is the final instance when you may be mandated to update your name. To learn why changing your name on car registration in Colorado may prove to be beneficial, continue reading to learn about the consequences of not completing the name correction.
Colorado Name Change Time Limits for Updating Your Car Registration
The CO DMV has determined the time limits to change your name on car registration in Colorado, which must be obeyed in order to avoid penalties.
If you are wondering, “How long do I have to change my name after marriage or divorce?” then be aware you need to perform an address update within 30 days of the change. You may face certain consequences for not changing your name on time or for not notifying the CO DOR of the update.
To learn more information about the penalties for not changing name on car registration in Colorado due to marriage, civil union, tribal court marriage, divorce, separation, or court order, you are recommended to contact the CO DMV.
Steps to Take Before Updating Your Registration in Colorado
When wondering what to do before updating your registration in Colorado, you need to know that vehicle owners are first required to change their names with the Social Security Administration (SSA).
You may perform a DMV registration update of your name after the SSA processes the change within 24 hours.
Another item from the list of things to do before updating your registration is to change your name on both your driver’s license or ID card. Part of the process of how to update your car registration in Colorado is performing a drivers license name change.
How to Change Your Name on Your Colorado Car Registration in Person
If you are wondering how to change your name on your car registration in person in Colorado, then you must first find a local CO DMV branch to perform the transaction.
You may have the opportunity to change name on vehicle registration in person at the same time as updating your driver’s license or ID card. However, the process of changing your name on your car registration in person will require documentation establishing the new legal name.
Note: There is currently no way for motorists to change vehicle registration name online in Colorado, as the DMV needs to verify the name correction documents.
When to Renew Instead of Update Your Registration in Colorado
If you are thinking about when to renew your car registration in Colorado as well as completing a name change, then you may be able to do both simultaneous.
Prior to performing a vehicle registration renewal name change requests may be submitted to the DMV in most cases. Therefore, if you want to renew your car registration name change procedures may be completed at the same time in order to avoid getting a duplicate credential.
In addition, a car registration name change in Colorado may not be required when motorists have performed a car registration renewal process.
Colorado DMV Name Change Fees
A payment for the DMV name change fees in Colorado may be required from vehicle owners as the final step of the name update procedure.
The DMV title name change fee and the registration name change fee may vary based on whether you want to obtain a duplicate credential. As an example, a duplicate registration credential costs $4 in Boulder County.
Motorists may be mandated to pay a certain DMV name change price when they want to obtain a replacement credential immediately after updating the DMV records.