Compare Auto Insurance Rates and Save DMV.com Exclusive!
In Colorado, drivers certified by licensed health personnel to have impaired mobility or a condition which substantially interferes with mobility may qualify for "Disabled" status.
You are also considered a disabled driver if you:
* Are unable to walk 200 m without resting due to orthopedic, arthritic or neurological condition.
* Need to use another person, support, a prosthetic device or a wheelchair.
* Have a disabling cardiac condition as per the American Heart Association standards.
* Have a disabling lung disease or need to use portable oxygen.
Disabled persons can acquire a Disabled Person (DP) placard or DP license plates. These entitle you to special parking privileges in areas designated for disabled persons, whenever you are the driver or a passenger of the vehicle. Misuse or abuse of these privileges is a misdemeanor with fines of up to $1000 being levied or revocation of your license plate/placard.
==HOW TO APPLY FOR DISABLED STATUS==
You are considered to have disabled status when you acquire a DP placard or license plates. The procedure to acquire these is explained below.
===Duration of status===
DP license plates are available only to those who are permanently disabled and need to be renewed annually.
DP placards may be issued to those with permanent or temporary disabilities:
* Placards for the permanently disabled are valid for 3 years.
* Temporary placards are valid for up to 3 months.
===How to apply for DP license plates or a DP placard===
To obtain DP license plate or placard:
# Download and complete the [http://www.dmv.com/redirect?url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.colorado.gov%2Fcs%2FSatellite%3Fblobcol%3Durldata%26blobheader%3Dapplication%252Fpdf%26blobkey%3Did%26blobtable%3DMungoBlobs%26blobwhere%3D1251680710513%26ssbinary%3Dtrue Application for Disabled Person Placard or Plates.]
# Have a licensed physician, surgeon, physician's assistant, nurse practitioner or certified midwife sign the Doctor's Certification of Disability portion of the form.
# Provide the current registration card in your name, or documents that prove the vehicle is registered in your name; as well as any registration fees due on the vehicle.
# Mail the completed form, along with any fees, to your [http://www.dmv.com/redirect?url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.colorado.gov%2Fcs%2FSatellite%3Fc%3DPage%26cid%3D1215770304647%26pagename%3DRevenue-MV%252FRMVLayout Title and Registration Office. ].
You do not need a doctor's certificate, if you are submitting a renewal application for a permanent DP placard or license plate.
A permanent DP placard is free and there is also no fee for replacement. For permanent DP plates the regular registration fee is charged.
Once the 3 year validity of permanent DP placards is over you need to re-certify your disability, though holders of permanent placards do not require recertification by a doctor.
DP license plates need to be renewed annually.
To replace lost, stolen or mutilated placards or plates you need to report to the local law enforcement office or your DMV office immediately. After reporting the incident, the replacement procedures will be explained by the local law officials.
* [http://www.dmv.com/redirect?url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.colorado.gov%2Fcs%2FSatellite%3Fc%3DPage%26cid%3D1215770304647%26pagename%3DRevenue-MV%252FRMVLayout DMV office] of Colorado DMV offices.