How to Apply for a Learners Permit in Colorado
Colorado learners permits are only granted to applicants who meet eligibility requirements in the state. Many residents are qualified to obtain drivers permits based on their age, legal and residency status. However, understanding these standards before submitting permit requests allows drivers to determine their qualifications for holding licenses.
In addition to adhering to eligibility rules, applicants must complete specific application processes developed by the state licensing authority. Exam, application and processing fees are also due during this procedure.
DMV learners permits provide restricted vehicle privileges to inexperienced CO license applicants. By consistently using permits and following all established rules, residents can become safe and effective drivers. Special laws are instated for minors using permits on the road. Furthermore, parent or guardian approval is often necessary for applicants below age 18 to obtain restricted licenses.
Learn more about the permit application process in Colorado in the upcoming sections.
Did you know? Behind-the-wheel drivers education is a requirement for many learners permit applicants. Register for driver ed today so that you be prepared to obtain your Colorado minor permit for driving.
Colorado Learners Permit Eligibility Guidelines
In Colorado, drivers permit requirements are developed by the state and apply specifically to new license applicants. Drivers must meet eligibility standards in order to successfully receive permits. These guidelines are based on various personal and legal details of residents.
Certain age groups are eligible to receive different types of restricted licenses. The follow age requirements are established:
- Driver education permits are available to residents from age 15 to 15 and a half years of age.
- Driver awareness permits are available to residents from age 15 and a half to 16 years of age.
- Minor instruction permits are available to residents from age 16 to 21 years of age.
New drivers are also required to provide accurate personal details and backup documents when submitting DMV requests. Only official forms are accepted in the verification process. Name, date of birth, citizenship status, identity and residency are important factors that determine whether residents can hold licenses.
Learning license requests should offer the following documents and pieces of information:
- Full legal name of applicants
- Proof of Social Security Number (SSN), such as:
- Social Security Card.
- Pay stub.
- Proof of name, date of birth and lawful state presence, such as:
- Birth Certificate.
- CO identification card.
- Valid U.S. passport or foreign passport.
- S. adoption order.
- Military ID.
- Certificate of Citizenship.
- Consular Report of Birth Abroad.
- Proof of identity, such as:
- Military ID card.
- Bureau of Indian Affairs ID.
- Parent or guardian affidavit.
- Two proof of residency documents displaying name and an address less than a year old, such as:
- Recent utility bills
- CO ID card
- Report card
- Pay Stub
- Mortgage documents
- Property tax bill
- Lease or rental agreement
Additionally, minor drivers below age 16 must complete drivers education classes in order to receive valid permits.
Drivers younger than 18 years of age need DMV learner license approval from their parent or guardian. To obtain this, legal guardians should provide their signatures on an affidavit of liability document.
How to Apply for a Learners Permit in Colorado
When eligibility standards are confirmed, the licensing process may begin. Colorado drivers interested in getting a learners permit should understand the entire application process for residents. Doing this ensures the procedure is completed as quickly an easily as possible.
Many drivers may wonder how to get a driving permit online, but CO permits can only be obtained in person. Applicants can go to licensing agencies to submit necessary information and begin this process. Adhere to the following steps detailing the application process for obtaining instructional driving privileges in the state.
- Go over necessary personal details and gather verification documents in advance. Drivers are required to provide their full names, dates of birth, Social Security Numbers and more. Verification documents should include financial responsibility affidavits and other forms confirming eligibility standards.
- Make an appointment to visit a DMV location. Discover where to get a learners permit locally by doing a search for the nearest DMV office location. This can easily be done online or by phone.
- Apply for a learners permit when visiting an office by presenting necessary documents and personal information.
- Take state vision and written knowledge assessments. Both exams must be passed in order for new permits to be issued. Drivers younger than 16 years of age are eligible to take the written test during drivers education courses. Certificates of completion are then submitted to the DMV.
- Pay required fees using one of the following acceptable forms of payment:
- Personal check made out to DOR
- Visa, MasterCard, American Express or Discover credit cards
- Provide fingerprints and take a permit photograph.
CO learners permit cards are sent by mail when all provided information is approved by the DMV.
The Colorado Driver Permit Test
DMV permit tests are an essential factor in obtaining vehicle privileges for new drivers. State medical, vision, knowledge and road skills assessments are indicators of how ready applicants are to receive licenses. For all instructional permits offered in Colorado, drivers must only take vision and written knowledge exams.
Written online drivers permit tests are not available in the state. Alternatively, new drivers can visit DMV offices to take written examinations.
The knowledge test covers specific topics relevant to license holders. This includes driving techniques, road sign and law knowledge, etiquette and more. All important exam information is found in the state drivers manual.
Understanding what to bring to permit tests is helpful for drivers to get the best score on exam day. For vision tests, applicants are permitted to bring their prescription eyewear including glasses and contacts to the DMV. Personal identification is also required for residents to take vision and written assessments.
Official DMV practice permit tests are not available to CO drivers. However, in-depth studying of the state drivers manual adequately prepares applicants for exams. Additionally, some learners permit practice tests are available online from third-party sources. These practice questions are not endorsed by the DMV.
Colorado Driving Permit Rules and Restrictions
The learners permit rules for Colorado cover a variety of situations that may arise for new drivers. These laws are established to keep residents safe while they are learning how to drive. A variety of restrictions are placed on new drivers to ensure safe and effective practices are developed.
Can you drive with a permit without supervision? CO license restrictions require a supervising person to remain in the passenger seat while drivers operate vehicles. Supervisors must be licensed in the state and age 21 or older. Other rules and restrictions in the state are as follows:
- All residents must wear seatbelts while driving.
- Passengers younger than 21 years of age cannot ride in the car for the first 6 months of holding permits.
- CO learners license holders who commit traffic violations will have points added their records, possibly leading to license suspension.
- Specific permit driving hours prohibit driving between midnight and 5 a.m. for the first year of holding a license
- Residents under age 18 cannot use cell phones while driving.
Breaking any of these laws could result in license revocation or suspension. Additionally, drivers may have to wait longer to apply for unrestricted driving privileges.
How long does a learners permit last in Colorado? Restricted permits must be held for 12 months before applicants are eligible to receive unrestricted licenses in the state.
Colorado Learners Permit Fees
How much does it cost to get your permit for drivers in Colorado? A number of fees can apply when obtaining various licenses. Costs may include application, processing, exam and/or retesting fees. The prices relevant to permit applicants include:
- DMV permit cost: $16.80
- Knowledge examination retest: $11.15
These learners license costs must be paid by drivers at the time of permit request submission. Otherwise, DMV offices will not provide valid permits. To make the overall process easier, residents can ensure they are using an accepted form of payment in advance.
Checking on the DMV permit price in the state is a great way to prepare for the entire application procedure.
Note: DMV forms change regularly. The forms provided above are current based on the date of writing.
- Minor Permit from Colorado.gov
- Applying for a Colorado License, Permit or ID Card? from Colorado.gov
- Colorado Driver Handbook from Colorado.gov