DMV.com is a privately owned website. Privacy

Applying for a Missouri New Driver’s License – Under 18

Compare Auto Insurance Rates and Save DMV.com Exclusive!

Any Missouri resident who intends to operate a motor vehicle on public roadways must apply for drivers licenses privileges. The Missouri Department of Revenue outlines a number of requirements that drivers need to meet in order to obtain a new drivers license. To get a MO drivers license you must pass a series of exams, as well as provide proof of identity and in-state residency.

Did you know? Almost 50 percent of all driving applicants fail the Missouri written exam. Greatly increase your chances of passing the test by taking one of our DMV practice tests.

How to Apply for a Missouri Learner's Permit:

  • Be at least 15 years of age.
  • Present the required documentation.
  • Pass the written DMV exam.
  • Pass the road sign recognition test.
  • Pass a vision screening.
  • Have a parent, stepparent or legal guardian sign a parental consent form.
  • Pay Missouri driver's license fees.

Applying for an MO Learner's Permit

New drivers applying for a learners permit in Missouri must complete what is known as a Graduated Driver Licensing program in order to obtain a full state drivers license. The graduated driver licensing program consists of three different stages: the DMV learners permit, intermediate license and a full driver's license).

What is the Graduate Driver Licensing Program in Missouri?

Getting a full Missouri drivers license involves progressing through the different stages of the graduate driver licensing program. The graduated driver licensing stages consist of the following:

  • The learner's permit.
  • The intermediate driver's license (provisional driver's license).
  • The standard driver's license.

Before advancing to the following driver's license stage, driving applicants must meet a series of requirements, including but not limited to passing the four-part exam, which includes" the DMV written driver's exam, road sign recognition test, driver skills test and a vision exam. Different stages of the graduate driver licensing program include certain restrictions for license holders.

How to Get an MO Learners Permit

Learners Permit Requirements in Missouri

The initial MO learning permit process consists of the following rules and requirements:

  • You must be at least 15 years of age to apply.
  • Pass the written knowledge exam, road sign recognition test and a vision exam.
  • Present documents that confirm your identity (name, date and place of birth), Social Security Number and in-state residency.
  • Have a parent, stepparent or legal guardian sign a parental consent form.
  • Pay the fees.

Preparing for a Missouri DMV Written Exam

Before getting a drivers permit in Missouri you must pass a state-approved written knowledge exam. Driving applicants must answer 20 out of the 25 exam questions correctly in order to receive a passing score. Test questions cover laws and driving methods found in the MO driver's manual. The road signs exam is used to test your ability to identify and understand traffic signs.

One of the best ways you can prepare for the driver's exam is by taking one of our practice tests. Our DMV practice test reviews traffic laws and road signs content that will be featured on the official exam.

Driver exams are administered at the Missouri State Highway Patrol locations. For your convenience, click here to find the MSHP office in your immediate vicinity.

Be prepared! Study with our DMV practice test and we guarantee you'll pass!

Missouri Teen Online Drivers Ed

Covers Road Rules And Signs.

Get you licesne fast, easy, and online.

  • Study all online - anywhere, anytime!
  • Easy and fun interactive lessons
  • MO DMV-approved course

Powered by CyberActive

Missouri Learners Permit Restrictions

New drivers with a permit for driving may only operate a motor vehicle under specific restrictions. The restrictions vary depending on the driver's age, and are as follows:

15 years of age - May only drive with a parent, stepparent, grandparent, legal guardian, certified driving instructor, or other licensed driver who is at least 25 years old and has held a license for a minimum of three years. The supervising driver must occupy the front passenger's seat.

16 years of age - May only drive when accompanied by a passenger who is at least 21 years old and has a valid driver license.

Missouri Provisional Licenses

To advance to the second stage of the graduated licensing program called the intermediate, or provisional license, drivers must:

  • Be at least 16 years of age.
  • Have no alcohol-related convictions within the last 12 months and no traffic violations within the last six months.
  • Have completed 40 hours of behind-the-wheel experience, 10 of which must have been conducted at night, with a parent, stepparent, legal guardian or certified instructor.
  • Pass the driving test.

Once you have fulfilled the requirements for the provisional driving license, you may schedule your road skills test at a local DMV branch. The purpose of the driving test is to assess your ability to safely and responsibly operate a motor vehicle.

NOTE: Driving applicants who took the vision, road sign recognition and written exam over one year before applying for an intermediate license must re-take all of the exams.

MO Provisional License Driving Restrictions

Restrictions for a provisional license, also referred to as an intermediate license, depend on the amount of time you've held the license. Provisional license restrictions are as follows:

  • During the first six months - Driver cannot transport more than one passenger who is younger than 19 years old, unless the additional passenger(s) is an immediate family member.
  • After the first six months - Driver cannot transport more than three passengers who are younger than 19 years old, unless additional passengers are immediate family members.
  • Driver may not operate a motor vehicle alone between 1:00 a.m. and 5:00 a.m., unless commuting to and from work, a school activity or in an emergency situation. Driver may driver during restricted hours when accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old.

NOTE: In order to be eligible for a full license, intermediate license holders must not have any alcohol-related convictions or traffic offenses within the last 12 months.

Replacing an MO Learners Permit

In the event your Missouri learners permit becomes lost, stolen or damaged, you can apply for a learners permit replacement at an MO DOR office. You will need to bring one document, preferably with a photo, to show proof of identity. You are also responsible for submitting payment for any replacement fees.

Locate a Missouri DMV

For your convenience, locations and important contact information for MO DOR branches in your area can be found here.

Have a Question? Get Instant Online Answers!

Powered By