How to Reinstate Your Suspended Drivers License in Missouri
Reinstating drivers licenses in Missouri is a procedure that must be completed by drivers with revoked or suspended drivers licenses who would like to resume their driving activities. Drivers license suspensions and revocations are issued by the MO Department of Revenue (DOR) for various types of driving and non-driving offenses.
During the process to reinstate drivers licenses in MO, motorists will be required to meet several reinstatement requirements. Depending on your circumstances, you may even be required to meet certain court-imposed conditions. Learn how to complete the Missouri drivers license reinstatement process in the following sections.
Reinstating a Missouri Suspended License
Since driving with a suspended license in Missouri leads to even stricter penalties, drivers must initiate the MO drivers license restoration process as soon as they meet the eligibility criteria to do so. Notices of drivers license revocations and suspensions are also mailed out by the DOR Driver License Bureau (DLB) to inform motorists of the penalty in effect against their driving privileges. The department’s letter will outline the reasons for the punishment and provide information on how to restore your license.
How to Reinstate a Missouri Suspended Drivers License
When reinstating driving licenses in Missouri, drivers will be required to complete several steps, such as submitting certain forms and paying a reinstatement fee. Based on the nature of the committed offense and the MO driving license suspension or revocation in effect, the procedure will vary.
For instance, in order to restore revoked drivers licenses, motorists will generally be required to meet stricter requirements. To finalize the MO driving license reinstatement process, you may generally be required to complete any of the following steps:
- Wait out the mandatory period of suspension or revocation.
- Pay the MO driving license restoration fee in person, by mail or by phone.
- Provide payment for additional costs (if required).
- Submit proof of liability insurance (Form SR-22).
- Participate in a Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program (SATOP).
- Install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID).
Drivers may also be required to complete additional drivers license reinstatement steps, as the above list does not outline certain case-specific steps. If your privileges were suspended for failing to resolve a traffic ticket issue, for instance, you will first be required to pay the ticket fee to the corresponding court.
Suspension Periods in Missouri
Prior to submitting a request for a driving license restoration in Missouri, motorists will be required to complete a penalty period, which varies based on the severity of the committed infraction. Note that drivers with revoked driving licenses in MO will generally be required to wait for a longer time period than those who were handed down suspended drivers licenses.
Review several types of MO driving license revocations and suspensions and their corresponding penalty periods in the following list:
- First Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) offense within a five-year period: A 90-day suspension.
- Second no-insurance violation within two years of the first: A driving license suspension of 90 days.
- Third Minor in Possession of Alcohol offense: A revoked drivers license in MO for the duration of one year.
Certain types of drivers license suspensions or revocations will last until the motorist takes a certain action to lift the penalty. For instance, drivers will be able to reinstate driving licenses in MO only after resuming any obligations they may have for court-ordered child support payments.
Missouri Point System
Drivers may also incur suspended driving licenses in Missouri for an excess of demerit points on their driving records. Per the rules and regulations of the DOR Point System, convictions of traffic violations generally result in a specific number of points, which vary based on the offense.
The type of drivers license suspension or revocation issued for point-related offenses differs based on the number of points accumulated within a specific time period. Review several examples of traffic offenses and their corresponding DMV points in the following list:
- Speeding over the limit: 3 points.
- Reckless driving: 4 points.
- Vehicular manslaughter or vehicular homicide: 12 points.
- Driving with a suspended license in MO: 12 points.
Suspended drivers licenses in MO are issued to drivers who accumulate more than 7 points within an 18-month period. The duration of the suspension is 30 days for the first offense, 60 days for the second and 90 days for third and subsequent offenses. Revoked drivers licenses, on the other hand, are handed down to motorists who accrue more than 11 points in a 12-month period, more than 17 points in a two-year period or more than 23 points in a three-year period.
Traffic School in Missouri
Motorists may be able to avoid a driving license suspension in Missouri for an excess of demerit points by completing a state-approved traffic school program. Note that drivers will not be able to reduce their total point count by participating in the state Driver Improvement Program (DIP).
Enrolling in a DIP course will only help you avoid the addition of points on your record for certain traffic offenses. If you are at risk of incurring a suspended driving license in MO for an excessive number of points, for instance, you can choose to pay the ticket fine and request to attend a DI program.
Note that state-approved defensive driving courses are not currently available in every county within the state. Also, commercial drivers are ineligible to attend a DIP course. Participation in the program is optional, and drivers who would like to avoid driving license suspensions via this method will be required to complete the course within 60 days of submitting their guilty plea.
Types of Missouri Driver’s License Suspensions
The state DOR issues drivers license suspensions in Missouri of various types, which vary based on the severity of the committed offense. Suspended drivers licenses are generally the result of less severe violations, such as accumulating 8 points within 18 months.
On the other hand, revoked driving licenses are handed down as a consequence of serious offenses, such as committing multiple alcohol and/or drug-related offenses. By ordering your driving transcript via the internet, you will receive detailed information about the type of DMV penalty imposed against your driving credential. Several reasons leading to Missouri driving license revocations and suspensions are outlined in the following list:
- Allowing another individual to operate a vehicle using your license.
- Submitting false data and/or documents to the department.
- Causing injury or death while driving your vehicle.
- Failure to meet certain court-imposed obligations.
In addition to issuing revoked and suspended driving licenses in MO, the state DOR is also authorized to administer driving license denials. For instance, parents or legal guardians of drivers younger than 18 years of age can request a credential denial. This administrative action will remain in effect until the motorist turns 18 years of age or his or her parent or legal guardian reverses the decision.
Missouri DUI Suspensions
During the process to reinstate driving licenses in Missouri after alcohol or drug-related offense, drivers will generally be required to meet stricter requirements than those outlined above. In addition to administrative drivers license suspensions and revocations, motorists may also be subject to certain court penalties as well. For instance, if you injure or take the life of another individual while under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol, you may be penalized with fines up to $5,000 and seven years in jail.
Stricter DUI-related driving license revocation and suspension rules apply to Minor drivers and commercial operators. While adult drivers are in violation of the law if driving with a BAC higher than .07, for instance, commercial drivers and minors must not operate a vehicle if their BAC level is higher than .03 and .01, respectively.
Drivers Older Than 21
Reinstating drivers licenses in Missouri from a drug or alcohol-related violation is a process that varies based on the type of the offense and its corresponding driving license suspension or revocation. The department classifies substance abuse and driving offenses in the following three categories: Driving with a high Blood Alcohol Content (BAC), Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) and Driving Under the Influence of Drugs (DUID).
In addition to issuing suspended or revoked drivers licenses in MO for the above violations, the department will also penalize drivers who refuse to undergo a BAC test with a one-year driving license revocation. Review several types of drivers license suspensions and revocations resulting from substance abuse violations in MO in the following list:
- First BAC, DUID or DWI-related convictions result in MO suspended driving licenses for the duration of 90 days.
- Second convictions may lead to a driving license revocation of one year. If you receive the second conviction within five years of the first you may also be penalized with a five-year license denial.
- Three or subsequent convictions of alcohol or drug-related offenses may lead to a license denial of 10 years.
In addition to the above driving license suspensions and revocations, drivers are also subject to certain court actions. Depending on the number of similar offenses you have previously committed, for example, you will also receive a fine ranging from $500 to $5,000 and a six-month to a 15-year jail sentence.
Note: To reinstate driving licenses in MO from a substance abuse-related conviction, drivers may also be required to install an Ignition Interlock Device on their vehicles and attend a rehabilitation program.
Drivers Younger Than 21
Minor drivers are at a greater risk of incurring suspended driving licenses in Missouri for alcohol or drug-related violations than adult drivers, as the state motor vehicle laws are stricter for this group of motorists. MO drivers license suspensions and revocations will be administered to young drivers even if they are driving with a BAC level higher than .01.
Note that motorists younger than 21 years of must abide by certain motor vehicle laws which do not apply to adult drivers. Suspended and revoked driving licenses, for example, may also be administered for purchasing or possessing alcohol while driving a vehicle as a minor driver.
Car Insurance Suspensions in Missouri
Reinstating suspended drivers licenses in Missouri is a procedure that must also be completed if you are penalized with a driving license suspension for failure to maintain a valid car insurance policy in MO. The minimum coverage amounts required by state laws are $10,000 for property damages, $25,000 for the injuries of one individual and $50,000 for injuries of all participants in the accident.
Suspended driving licenses of an indefinite nature are issued to drivers who commit a no-insurance offense for the first time. In such cases, motorists can reinstate driving licenses in MO at any time by paying a $20 fee and by filing the necessary proof of insurance. Drivers who commit a second suspension within two years of the first, however, will be required to complete a 90-day suspension period prior to reinstating their credentials.
One-year driving license suspensions are handed down to drivers who commit three or more no-insurance infractions. Repeat offenders will also be required to pay a larger fine.
Traffic Summons or Failure to Pay
Suspended drivers licenses in Missouri may also be incurred by failing to resolve a traffic ticket issue in due time. Drivers who do not appear for their hearing or pay the citation by the date displayed on the ticket will be notified by the presiding court within 10 days of their offense.
In order to avoid a drivers license suspension in MO in such circumstances, you will be required to provide the late payment within 30 days of receiving the letter from the court. If you fail to do so, the court will notify the DOR Driver License Bureau and your driving privileges will be suspended.
Drivers who must reinstate drivers licenses after a traffic ticket-related suspension can do so by providing proof of ticket payment, as well as a $20 payment for the reinstatement costs. You can either mail the required documents to the DLB main office in Jefferson or submit it through a local branch of the MO DOR.
Missouri Hardship Drivers License
While completing a Missouri driving license suspension or revocation period, drivers may be eligible to apply for a hardship license, which will allow them to travel to and from essential destinations. Drivers who are not yet able to reinstate suspended driving licenses in MO can use the Limited Driving Privilege (LDP) credential for purposes such as commuting to work or attending school lessons.
Note that certain types of offenses may render you ineligible for an LDP license. Drivers who have been convicted of a felony within the last five years, for instance, are unable to apply for an MO hardship license.
Applying for a Missouri Hardship License
Drivers with revoked or suspended drivers licenses in Missouri can submit their request for a limited credential through the state Department of Revenue. The Application for Limited Driving Privilege (Form 4595) can be submitted either in person or by mail to the DLB Jefferson office.
Along with the DOR 4595 form, drivers will be required to file the SR-22 proof of insurance as well as evidence of installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (for drivers who have committed alcohol-related offenses).
Note: If you were penalized with a license denial instead of a driving license suspension in MO, you will be required to submit your application for an LDP credential directly to your county’s circuit court.
Drivers License Reinstatement Fees in Missouri
During the process to reinstate driving licenses in Missouri, motorists will generally be required to pay several types of fees. The total payable amount of drivers license restoration fees will vary on factors such as the type of the committed violation and whether or not you have to pay costs administered by entities other than the DOR. If you were sentenced with a Motor Vehicle Accident Judgment, for instance, you will first be required to provide the payments requested by the presiding court, prior to paying a reinstatement fee of $20.
Note that repeat offenders may be required to pay larger MO driving license reinstatement fees for subsequent violations of the same type. For instance, if you are reinstating suspended drivers licenses in MO after a no-insurance offense for the first time you will be required to pay a $20 fee. Drivers who have committed three such offenses will be able to reinstate their credentials by paying a $400 fee.