How to Reinstate Your Suspended Drivers License in Wyoming
A Wyoming drivers license suspension or revocation can occur for several reasons, such as driving under the influence or reckless driving. Drivers license reinstatement must be applied for in order to operate a motor vehicle legally.
Failure to reinstate revoked drivers license or suspended license status before getting back behind the wheel can be cause for conviction or more penalties. If eligible, WY motorists can retain limited driving privileges with a probationary driver’s license. Learn how to reinstate a revoked drivers license or suspended license by reviewing the outline below.
Reinstating a Wyoming Suspended License
Driving with a suspended license is illegal and can lead to further sanctions and penalties. You can check drivers license suspension and revocation statuses on your WY driving record. Reinstating suspended drivers license cards is important to avoid further repercussions for driving without the privilege to do so in the state of Wyoming. Motorists can apply for restoration of driving privileges only after meeting the requirements set forth by state law.
Reinstating drivers licenses in Wyoming requires motorists to comply with three criteria after the suspension or revocation period has come to an end. Drivers must make sure the period of suspension has ended and that no additional offenses are pending, file for an SR 22 insurance certificate if the violation requires it and pay the reinstatement fee.
For a suspended drivers license that has not expired, the reinstatement process can be completed without the need of issuing a new card. In the case of revocation, the card has been canceled and upon reinstatement must be replaced.
Suspension Periods in Wyoming
A Wyoming suspended driving license from the Department of Transportation can stem from having a repeat violator status, which is determined by the condition of three or more violations within one year. A repeat offender can receive a suspension of up to 12 months. Drivers license suspension can be increased by 90 days upon a fourth violation within the one-year period of the previous violations.
The same condition applies to subsequent violations surpassing four breaches of traffic law. For motorists with a commercial driver license (CDL), drivers license restoration can occur after serving the 90-day suspension for violation of the license’s endorsements. Failure to appear in court will result in a 12-month driving license suspension or until the convicted motorist complies with the citation conditions and makes an appearance in court.
Multiple drivers license suspensions in WY can lead to revocation or cancellation, in which a driver’s license becomes invalid and must be replaced upon reinstatement. Wyoming divides suspension definitions between mandatory and indefinite. A mandatory drivers license suspension has a definite duration that is outlined in the above-mentioned information, while an indefinite suspension does not have a specific end date. Drivers can reinstate suspended drivers license privileges categorized as indefinite by taking the necessary measures and submitting the proper paperwork.
A suspended, revoked or canceled license that is released to a WYDOT services employee is considered surrendered. A license suspension duration starts 25 to 30 days from the postmarked date of the DMV office’s mail notice.
Wyoming Point System
While many states implement a traffic points system, Wyoming does not. Instead, drivers license suspension and revocation is determined by the above-outlined conditions of a set probation period with 90 days added for each subsequent violation. Financial penalties are also incurred from different violations for varying costs. The following tickets and consequences apply for driving violations committed by WY motorists:
- First suspension – $200.
- Second suspension – up to $300 and up to 30 days of jail time.
- Third suspension – up to $500 and up to six months of jail time.
- Speeding – up to $100 depending on how many miles over the posted speed limit.
- Major offenses – $750 and possible imprisonment.
Traffic School in Wyoming
WY traffic school is required for motorists convicted of DUI-related charges if they wish to receive a probationary license. Taking an online traffic school course can qualify a driver for the necessary requirements to attain a hardship license for a suspended or revoked license. Drivers license reinstatement in the case of an indefinite suspension may require the attendance of court-mandated traffic school.
A suspended drivers license may result in raised insurance rates, therefore attending a state-approved driving course can help keep the price of car insurance at its current rate for Wyoming drivers. Traffic tickets incurred from a revoked drivers license may also lead to higher insurance prices, therefore participating in a driving course may help a motorist avoid the penalties of such a raise by acting as proof of responsibility.
Wyoming offers a defensive driving school option for motorists with regular traffic violations such as speeding tickets and habitual traffic offenders. To reinstate a drivers license in WY after suspension for an offense related to driving while under the influence (DWUI), motorists are required to participate in a DWUI treatment program certified by a counselor of the WY Department of Health, Substance Abuse Division.
A drivers license suspension or revocation, once enacted, is not removed or canceled by taking a traffic school course. The purpose of engaging in a driving class is to improve a motorist’s skills and abilities behind the wheel to avoid future violations that can lead to further suspension or revocation consequences.
Types of Wyoming Driver’s License Suspensions
WY categorizes drivers license suspensions as mandatory and indefinite, in which a mandatory suspension has a definitive end and can be removed from a motorist’s license upon completion of the requirements and expiration of the mandate, while an indefinite suspension has no specific end date and relies solely on the individual to complete the necessary steps to remove it from his or her license.
A Wyoming suspended drivers license can stem from various types of moving violations, ranging from minor to severe. The level of suspension is determined by the seriousness of the infraction. Below are some examples of traffic violations that can lead to suspension:
- Failure to pay child support.
- Driving without auto insurance.
- Evasion of financial responsibility.
- Leaving the scene of an accident.
- Reckless driving.
- Refusal to take a breathalyzer test.
- Involvement in an accident while uninsured.
- Transporting alcohol to a minor.
Another type of driving license suspension Wyoming participates in is the Non-Resident Violator Compact. An agreement made by several states across the U.S., the compact allows law enforcement to distribute citations and penalties to nonresidents according to state regulations. A nonresident’s suspended drivers license reinstatement depends on whether or not he or she pays the traffic ticket issued by the state of WY.
A revoked drivers license status is issued to a motorist if he or she is convicted of three or more DWUI charges, leaves the scene of an accident in which an injury occurred, commits vehicular homicide, is convicted of a felony directly resulting from a driving event or accrues three or more reckless driving condemnations.
Wyoming DWUI Suspensions
WY drivers license suspensions related to a DWUI conviction are determined based on how many of such offenses a motorist has committed, the level of his or her blood alcohol content (BAC) and whether or not he or she is under 21 years of age. For drivers over 21 years of age, the BAC limit is 0.08 percent, while drivers under the age of 21 have a BAC limit of 0.02 percent. Commercial drivers are allowed a BAC limit of 0.04 percent according to Wyoming state law.
A suspended driving license ensues for 90 days and may include a fine of $750 and up to six months imprisonment if it is the first offense. The second offense within five years results in a one-year suspension and may comprise of a prison sentence of up to six months as well as a fine of $750. A revoked drivers license can occur after three or more DWUI offenses in five years.
Wyoming Probationary Drivers License
To receive a probationary driver’s license in Wyoming, a motorist must be eligible under the conditions set forth by the state’s undue hardship statutes which include a motorist needing to drive in order to provide the basic necessities for his or her household and attend an educational institution. A provisional drivers license allows for motorists with a suspended or revoked license to operate a vehicle under the circumstances stated above.
Applying for a Wyoming Probationary License
To apply for provisional driving licenses in WY, you must first submit a record review request from a driver services office in your neighborhood. You can submit a provisional license application to the local office along with the $15 record review request fee and $25 probationary license fee. If applicable, a copy of your SR 22 certificate must be mailed in with the appeal for a probationary license. In the case of DWUI-related convictions, probationary licenses can only be issued with proof of an alcohol counselor’s assessment for qualification.
Driving with a suspended license is illegal, therefore if you require driving privileges for circumstances such as commuting from home to work, school, medical appointments and other places that allow you to provide for your household, then you must apply for a probationary WY license. For motorists with a CDL drivers license, if a suspension or revocation occurs while holding that status, he or she must move down to a Class C license to qualify for a probationary license.
When a status of drivers license privileges changes to probationary, the motorist will be notified by mail and the information will include the start and end dates of probation and the days, times and purposes for which a driver is permitted to operate a motor vehicle. A denial letter of removal of Wyoming drivers license suspension will also be sent by mail if applicable.
A provisional license may be denied if a driver license has expired or never been issued previously, a motorist is currently under suspension from another state or if a driver has an IIR classification on his or her license.
Probationary licenses will not be issued for indefinite suspensions as it is up to the driver to take responsibility for clearing his or her license status. Wyoming driver services issue only one probationary license to cover one suspension only in a period of five years. Any subsequent suspensions acquired in that time will not be covered by the driver’s current probationary license.
Fees to Reinstate a Wyoming Drivers License
To reinstate drivers licenses in WY, a $50 fee must be paid upon submitting an application, except in the case of drivers who have had their license suspended or revoked for failure to make child support payments, in which case a $5 fee is applied. At the time of reinstating a suspended drivers license for child support payment suspensions, both fees may be required simultaneously.
Payments can be made in person at a driver exam station or sent by mail to the WYDOT-Driver Services address with a personal check, certified funds or money order. Checks must include the driver’s license number and/or motorist’s birth date. To reinstate drivers license privileges by phone, Wyoming residents need a credit card.
Reinstating a drivers license that requires an ignition interlock device is labeled with the IIR restriction code. Installation of an IIR device costs $100.