How to Get a Commercial Drivers License in Wyoming
Getting a Wyoming CDL, or commercial drivers license, is necessary if you wish to operate a commercial motor vehicle, or CMV on state roads. To get a license to drive commercially, you must complete a series of knowledge tests, a driving skills test and a vision screening. You must also present the necessary documents, such as proof of your age, legal presence, and residency. If you fail to do so, you will be unable to drive professionally in Wyoming.
To get a CDL license in Wyoming, you must first obtain your commercial learners permit, or CLP, through the Wyoming Department of Transportation (DOT). To do so, you must take the necessary knowledge tests. Once you pass, the Wyoming DOT will issue you a CLP. Once you hold a CLP for 14 days, you can take the road skills test. If you pass, the state will issue you a commercial license to drive, and you can begin to drive commerce either interstate or intrastate.
CDL Requirements in Wyoming
There are several CDL license requirements in Wyoming you must meet in order to get properly licensed. These include the following:
- Have a valid Wyoming drivers license
- Meet the age requirements
- Be at least 18 years old to drive intrastate
- Be at least 21 years old to drive interstate
- Submit proof of your identity and legal status
- Submit two proofs of your Wyoming residency
- Submit your Social Security Number (SSN)
- Pass the necessary knowledge tests
- Submit the required medical documents
- Take a vision test
- Take the road skills test
According to Wyoming law, CDL requirements state that you may be disqualified from holding a CDL, have your license canceled, or be prohibited from obtaining a CDL if you are convicted of two or more serious moving violations within three years. Serious moving violations include:
- Driving without your CDL
- Reckless driving
- Driving with the wrong – or without – endorsements
You can also have your license canceled, and you will be disqualified from driving a CMV if you are convicted of driving under the influence or using a motor vehicle to commit a felony and leaving the scene of an accident.
How to Apply for a CDL Permit in Wyoming
In Wyoming, you must get a CDL permit before you can get a full CDL license. To get a CDL, you must appear, in person, at your local driver exam office and bring the following documents with you:
- A completed Wyoming Commercial Driver License Application
- Proof of identity:
- A U.S. passport
- A State-certified birth certificate
- Immigration documents
- Proof of Social Security Number (SSN):
- A W-2 form
- IRS tax form
- SSN card
- Two proofs of Wyoming residency:
- A current utility bill
- A current lease or rental agreement showing your name and address
- A Wyoming vehicle registration showing your name and address
- Medical documents, if applicable
In Wyoming, a CDL learners permit is valid for 180 days, and can be renewed for an additional 180 days. A permit allows you to practice driving a CMV that requires a CDL. However, CDL permit rules state that you must be accompanied by a person who holds a valid CDL for the driving you plan to perform. He or she must also occupy the front passenger seat during the duration of your driving.
CDL Written Test in Wyoming
You must take the necessary CDL written tests after you submit the above documentation.
Depending on what class of CDL license and what endorsements you need, the knowledge tests will vary. However, all applicants must take the CDL general knowledge test, and all tests are multiple choice. You must get at least 80 percent of the questions right in order to pass. If you fail a knowledge test, you must retake it. Once you pass the necessary knowledge tests, you will be issued a CLP.
Wyoming CDL Training Schools & Practice Tests
You can enroll in a CDL practice test in Wyoming to get the formal training that you need to pass both the written and skills tests. If you choose not to enroll in a CDL training course, you can use the Wyoming Driver License Manual for Commercial & Heavy Vehicles as a study aid. You can print a copy of the WY CDL book online or request a copy in person from the Wyoming DOT.
How to Get a CDL License in Wyoming
To apply for CDL credentials in Wyoming, you will need to visit your local driver exam office, and bring the abovementioned documents with you, including your completed CDL application. Once you get a CLP, you will need to find a CDL skills test location to take the driving test.
CDL Driving Test in Wyoming
You can take the CDL test in Wyoming after you hold a CLP for 14 days. You can schedule an appointment with your local Wyoming DOT office, or through a third-party examiner. Note that you must have a standing appointment to take the road skills test.
The CDL driving test is made up of three parts: the pre-trip inspection, a basic control skills test, and the over-the-road skills test. To take the driving test, you must bring a vehicle that is representative of the class of license in which you wish to obtain. The vehicle must also be driven to the test site by a person who holds a valid CDL for the class and type of vehicle used for the test.
How to Get a CDL as a Military Member in Wyoming
A CDL for veterans is available in Wyoming if you hold a valid U.S. military license. To qualify, you must pass all the required written tests for the class of license you hold. Then, in order to gain a military CDL, you must appear, in person, at a Wyoming exam site to complete an Application for Military Skills Test Waiver, pass a vision screening and have your photo taken.
CDL Medical Exams in Wyoming
New DOT physical requirements state that you must self-certify to the driving you wish to perform, such as interstate or intrastate driving.
Depending on the driving you plan to do, you may also need to have a CDL physical performed, along with having an approved doctor fill out and complete the Medical Examiner’s Certificate (Form MCSA-5876). If you are required to have a “certified” medical status, and you fail to provide and keep your medical examiner’s certificate current, you may lose your CDL.
Types of CDL Classes in Wyoming
There are three kinds of CDL classes available to drivers in Wyoming. These include:
- Class A License, Combination Vehicles: This license allows you to operate a combination of vehicles with a gross combination weight rating (GCWR) of 26,001 or more pounds, as long as the gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of the vehicle(s) being towed is over 10,000 pounds.
- Class B License, Heavy Straight Vehicles: The Class B CDL is designated for a single vehiclewith a GVWR of more than 26,001 or more pounds, or any vehicle towing another vehicle that does not exceed 10,000 GVWR.
- Class C License, Small Vehicles: The Class C CDL enables you to drive any single vehicle with a GVWR of less than 26,001 pounds, or any vehicle that tows another vehicle that does not exceed a GVWR of 10,000 pounds, such as a vehicle designed to carry 16 or more passengers, including the driver, or used to transport hazardous materials that require placarding.
Types of CDL Endorsements in Wyoming
The CDL endorsements in Wyoming are available to those who want to do specific commercial driving. These include the below:
- T: Double and Triple Trailers Endorsement
- N: Tanker Endorsement
- P: Passenger Endorsement
- H: Hazmat Endorsement
- X: Combination Hazardous Materials and Tanker Vehicle Endorsement
- S: School Bus Endorsement
Interstate vs. Intrastate Commercial Drivers Licenses in Wyoming
You will need an interstate CDL in Wyoming to drive a CMV from one state to another state, or to a foreign country. You will need an intrastate CDL if you plan to drive a CMV within Wyoming. If you operate in both intrastate and interstate commerce, you must choose to drive interstate commerce.
Commercial Driving License Fees in Wyoming
The CDL license costs vary, depending on the commercial licensing service you select.
They include the following:
- CLP: $40
- CDL: $50
- CDL renewal: $40
- CDL Class change: $40
- CDL skills test: $80
Wyoming CDL Forms
- Wyoming Commercial Driver License Application
- Application for Military Skills Test Waiver
- Medical Examiner's Certificate (Form MCSA-5876)
Note: DMV forms change regularly. The forms provided above are current based on the date of writing.
- Wyoming Driver License Manual for Commercial & Heavy Vehicles from dot.state.wy.us
- Commercial Learner's Permit from dot.state.wy.us
- CDL Disqualifications from dot.state.wy.us
- CDL Testing from dot.state.wy.us