Commercial licensing is complicated. Applying for a CDL can be easy with our ND guide to your CDL.

Basic Requirements For A Commercial Driver’s Permit/License

  • You must be 21 years of age. If you are 18 and apply for a CDL, you will only be allowed to driver intrastate. You must be 21 and above to be eligible for a hazardous materials endorsement.
  • Must meet requirements for a North Dakota driver’s license.
  • Certify that you are in agreement with state motor carrier safety regulations. See Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration or call (701) 328-2600 for more information.
  • Provide a valid Medical Examiner’s Certificate. You can obtain one by having a licensed medical professional fill out the appropriate Medical Examination Report for Commercial Driver Fitness reports. The medical examiner should provide you with a Medical Examiner’s Certificate.
  • Provide proof of acceptable proof of name and date of birth
  • Provide your Social security number.
  • You must speak English.
  • You must guarantee that you do not hold a driver’s license from another state.
  • You must hand over your current license and certify that it has not been suspended, revoked or cancelled.

Steps To Apply For A CDL Permit/License

  1. You must meet the requirements for a North Dakota driver’s license.
  2. Fill out the CDL application form and hand in in-person to a MVD office. For more information see Instruction Permit section below.
  3. Pay a $15.00 fee for your permit.
  4. Pass the CDL knowledge exams. See the CDL Manual for the required information. The exam can be taken at any MVD location.
  5. Attend and then provide proof that you have taken a Commercial driver’s education program specifically for commercial motor vehicles.
  6. Take road test at your local MVD office.
  7. Pay license and endorsement proper identification.

Instruction Permit

In order to be eligible for a North Dakota CDL, you must first obtain a CDL instruction permit. First, you must fill out the CDL application form. Then show proof of proper identification and US residency. Next, pay the $15.00 permit fee. Lastly, pass the CDL general knowledge exam and road test. Also, you must have your instruction permit for 30 days before obtaining a CDL. North Dakota Instruction Permits expire in 6 months.


A North Dakota Commercial Driver’s License will be valid for 4 years. The cost is $15.00 for a standard CDL license plus $3.00 for each endorsement. Please see a list of license fees for more information.

CDL Endorsements

The following is a list of endorsements you can get on your CDL:

  • Hazardous Material (Class H).
  • Tank Vehicles (Class N).
  • Passenger-Carrying Vehicle (Class P).
  • School Bus (Class S).
  • Towing a Double or Triple Trailer (Class T).

Federal Guidelines For Interstate Drivers

The following is a list of federal requirements for interstate drivers.


Last updated on Friday, February 16 2018.

Have a Question? Get Quick Online Answers!