Commercial licensing is complicated. Applying for a CDL can be easy with our MN guide to your CDL.

Basic Requirements For A Commercial Driver’s Permit/License

Steps To Apply For A CDL Permit/License

  1. You must meet the requirements for a Minnesota driver’s license.
  2. Fill out the CDL application form and hand in in-person to a DDVS office. For more information see Instruction Permit section below.
  3. Pay the fee for your permit.
  4. Pass the CDL knowledge exams. See the CDL Manual for the required information. The exam can be taken at any DDVS location.
  5. Attend and then provide proof that you have taken a Commercial driver’s education program specifically for commercial motor vehicles.
  6. Take the road test at your local DDVS office.
  7. Pay license and endorsement fees.

Instruction Permit

In order to be eligible for a Minnesota CDL, you must first obtain a CDL instruction permit. First, you must fill out the CDL application form. Then show proof of legal presence and US residency. Next, pay the permit fee. Lastly, pass the CDL general knowledge exam. Also, you must have your instruction permit for 30 days before obtaining a CDL. Minnesota Instruction Permits expire in 6 months and are non-renewable.

Restricted Seasonal Commercial Driver’s License

You may apply for the above category of license in classes B or C, without taking any additional tests, if your job involves work with:

  • Seasonal farm retail outlet or a supplier.
  • Custom harvester.
  • Livestock feeder.
  • Agri-Chemical business.

In order to be eligible for this kind of license you must have:

  • Had a regular driving license for at least a year
  • And in the last two years:
    • had not more than one license
    • not had your driving privileges cancelled, revoked or suspended
    • not been involved in any accidents with traffic tickets
    • not been convicted for DUI/DWI
    • not been convicted of fleeing from the scene of an accident
    • not been convicted of any crime involving a motor vehicle or any serious traffic violations.


A Minnesota Commercial Driver’s License will be valid for 8 years. Please see the list of fees below:

Over 21:

  • Class A: $43.00
  • Class B: $35.00
  • Class C: $28.00

Under 21: (Intrastate only)

  • Class A: $23.00
  • Class B: $35.00
  • Class C: $28.00

Examination fee for each endorsement: $2.50
School bus physical processing fee – original and renewal application: $4.00
Duplicate license fee: $13.50
Retesting fee: Third and subsequent knowledge test (after failing first two): $10.00
Retesting fee: Third and subsequent road/skill test (after failing first two): $20.00

CDL Endorsements

The following is a list of endorsements you can get on your CDL:

  • Hazardous Material (Class H).
  • Tank Vehicles (Class N).
  • Passenger-Carrying Vehicle (Class P).
  • School Bus (Class S).
  • Towing a Double or Triple Trailer (Class T).
  • Tanker and Hazardous Vehicles (Class X).

Restrictions on your CDL license are:

  • Intrastate only (K).
  • Vehicles without air brakes (L).

Federal Guidelines For Interstate Drivers

The following is a list of federal requirements for interstate drivers.


Last updated on Thursday, February 15 2018.

Have a Question? Get Quick Online Answers!