Commercial licensing is complicated. Applying for a CDL can be easy with our CT guide to your CDL.

Basic Requirements For A Commercial Driver’s Permit/License

Steps To Apply For A CDL Permit/License

  1. You must meet the requirements for a Connecticut driver’s license.
  2. Fill out the CDL application form after requesting for it and hand it in in-person to a DMV office. For more information see Instruction Permit section below.
  3. Pay a $10.00 fee for your permit.
  4. Pass the CDL knowledge exams. See the CDL Manual for the required information. The exam can be taken at only the Full Service DMV locations and there is a $16.00 examination fee. The fees for the skills test is $30 and this must also be paid with the knowledge test fees in an accepted mode of payment.
  5. There is no mandatory requirement that you take a Commercial driver’s education program specifically for commercial motor vehicles but opting to enroll in such a program will help you to perform well in your knowledge exam.
  6. Take a road test at the Skills Test location at Hartford. This can be undertaken only by appointment through the DMV Phone Center.
  7. Pay license and endorsement fees.
  8. Those applicants, who wish to drive a vehicle carrying passengers for hire, have to additionally apply for a public passenger endorsement.

Instruction Permit

In order to be eligible for a Connecticut CDL, you must first obtain a CDL instruction permit. First, you must fill out the CDL application form. Then show proof of legal status and US residency. Next, pay the $10.00 permit fee. Lastly, pass the CDL general knowledge exam Connecticut Instruction Permits are valid for six months and can be renewed once within a two year period.


A Connecticut Commercial Driver’s License will be valid for 4 years. The cost is $60.00 or $75 for a standard CDL license. Please see a list of fees for more information.

CDL Endorsements

The following is a list of endorsements you can get on your CDL:

  • Hazardous Material (Class H).
  • Tank Vehicles (Class N).
  • Passenger-Carrying Vehicle (Class P).
  • School Bus (Class S).
  • Towing a Double or Triple Trailer (Class T).

Federal Guidelines For Interstate Drivers

The following is a list of federal requirements for interstate drivers.


Last updated on Thursday, February 15 2018.

Have a Question? Get Quick Online Answers!