Defensive Driving Courses in Connecticut
In Connecticut, a defensive driving course can refresh you on safe driving practices and local traffic laws as well as help you save money on your car insurance premiums or potentially avoid a premium increase following an accident. While traffic school is never required by the state, but state laws do influence the amount of discounts that you could be eligible to receive on your car insurance.
If considering defensive driving school in Connecticut, it is worth taking a moment to review the curriculum that may be included in your course, estimated fees and the differences between online and classroom-style classes. By doing so, you will be better prepared for the course and gain a better understanding of the information that will be included within the course and must you must do to successfully pass.
Who can attend traffic school in Connecticut?
A Connecticut defensive driving class can provide numerous benefits to drivers of all ages. However, if strictly seeking insurance discount benefits, it is worth reviewing your insurance policy prior to enrolling in an online or classroom style course as not every insurer will offer this type of discount.
Types of Defensive Driving Courses in Connecticut
In Connecticut, there is a general driver improvement course and a course that is designed for senior citizens residing within the state.
A senior defensive driving course is only available to senior citizens who are at least 60 years old. Connecticut State Law mandates insurers to provide a minimum five percent discount for no less than a 24 month period. The state does not require seniors to attend any specific course, but rather allows senior citizens to select an approved course that is either online or in a classroom setting.
General courses are available to drivers of all ages, including teens, however, State law will not require the insurer to provide a certain percentage discount or for require the insurer to provide said discount for a set period of time. Therefore, it is important that you check with your insurer to review its policy on discounts related to completed courses.
Classroom vs. Online Traffic School in Connecticut
Connecticut online traffic school can provide a greater level of convenience in comparison to a classroom styled class. However, online coursework is also completed at an individual’s own pace and coursework is generally not taught by an instructor. For some, this can also be a benefit while other course participants may benefit further from learning from an instructor in a classroom.
How to Enroll in a Connecticut Defensive Driving School
A driver improvement course can typically be enrolled into online or over the phone in Connecticut. Connecticut does not have any state recommended or established courses, allowing residents to select an accredited course from a number of third party providers. If you are interested in obtaining discounts off of your insurance premium, you are strongly encouraged to speak with your insurer as some insurers will require you to attend a course through a specific third party or medium.
Benefits of Completing Traffic School in Connecticut
The Connecticut driver safety program offers a variety of benefits, including:
- The avoidance of increases on an auto insurance premium.
- Discounts on car insurance.
- Learning safe driving knowledge and skills.
Avoid Increases on Your Auto Insurance Premiums
In some cases, a defensive driving course that is completed in Connecticut may help you to avoid an increase on your auto insurance premiums following a citation or an auto accident. While insurers typically raise insurance premiums following citations an accidents, some insurers to offer drivers the opportunity to have the increase waived with the completion of an approved course.
Obtain a Car Insurance Discount
A driver safety course insurance discount may be available to you after the completion of a course in Connecticut, depending on your insurer and your age. As stated previously, Connecticut State law requires insurers to provide discounts to senior citizens who complete an approved course. However, a number of insurers will offer discounts to drivers of all ages.
Learn Safe Driving Knowledge and Skills
Connecticut traffic school provides one of the most prominent benefits of all: the ability to learn safe driving knowledge and skills. While knowledge and skills may not immediately save you money on your auto insurance policy, learning how to be a safer driver can help you to avoid more accidents and citations that could increase your premium or endanger your safety. Additionally, a number of insurers provide auto discounts for remaining accident or citation free for a number of years.
Connecticut Defensive Driving Class Curriculum Details
A defensive driving school in Connecticut will provide you with a variety of information related to:
- Basic safe driving practices.
- Local and state traffic laws.
- Traffic crash rate statistics.
- The danger of driving tried or angry.
- The dangers of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
- Vehicle safety equipment, including the importance of seat belts, head rests and airbags.
- Crash prevention techniques.
At the end of the course, you will most likely be required to successfully pass an exam related to the information you have learned from the class. To successfully complete the course, this exam must be passed.
Connecticut Defensive Driving Certificates
A defensive driving certificate is provided after completing an approved course in Connecticut. This certificate must be provided to your insurer in most cases as most insurers will require proof of course completion before a discount can be applied to your auto insurance or a premium increase can be overlooked.
Connecticut Traffic School Versus Drivers Education
A Connecticut defensive driving course is a refresher of state and local traffic laws as well as a review of safe driving practices and crash avoidance techniques. It does not include the same curriculum as drivers education. Drivers education is focused upon teaching new drivers how to operate a vehicle safely, helping new drivers obtain a drivers license and also includes road skill curriculum.
Connecticut Defensive Driving Course Fees
If you are searching for the lowest price traffic school in Connecticut, it is important to first understand that state laws do not regulate fees associated with courses. Therefore, courses can vary from one third party provider to the next as the state does not offer providers of its own. Not only can prices vary between third party companies, but also between online and classroom courses. Generally, you may pay around $40 for a course in Connecticut, but there are also some companies that offer price matches should you find a lower price elsewhere.
- Insurance Discounts and Driving Courses from ct.gov
- Connecticut Online Traffic School and Defensive Driving School from gototrafficschool.com