Dismiss your traffic ticket with iDriveSafely, the #1 online provider of traffic school courses

Traffic school in Virginia serves to help drivers improve their driving skills. Depending on your situation, you may be required to take DMV defensive driving courses, or you may voluntarily choose to attend traffic school. There are various traffic school options. Read below to find the one that is right for you:

1.

Traffic school online options are available to drivers in Virginia who wish to maximize convenience and fulfill state requirements. Online driving courses can be used to earn safe driving points and fulfill court and DMV orders. To enroll in traffic school, keep in mind the following requirements:

  • You can enroll in a driver improvement clinic to fulfill court and/or DMV requirements.
  • By completing a safe driving course, you will qualify for 5 safe driving points.
  • The shortest course allowed by law is 8 hours.
  • You must be at least 20 years of age to complete a course, unless you have been given a court order by a judge to enroll.

DMV.com’s trusted partner for online traffic school is approved by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. iDriveSafely.com offers courses that are approved for ticket dismissal by VA courts and DMV, including a full money back guarantee for all students. After enrolling in our recommended course, you will be able to enjoy all of the advantages of traditional driving school on your own schedule and on any computer or mobile device.

2. Traditional In-Person Courses:

If you cannot enroll in a digital driving course, traditional traffic classes with instructors are also available through various in-person providers. However, these driving classes are only offered at approved locations within Virginia and may not be located near your residence. Furthermore, scheduling for in-person traffic school is inflexible, and drivers are expected to attend classes no matter how inconvenient the time or location.


Dismiss your traffic ticket with iDriveSafely, the #1 online provider of traffic school courses

Virginia defensive driving courses are referred to as driver improvement clinics. These traffic school clinics teach defensive driving techniques that will help drivers avoid car crashes. Drivers who enroll in safety driving courses may become eligible to earn safe driving points on their VA driving record, to dismiss a traffic ticket, or to receive a car insurance discount. Each adult driving course can be taken either online or in person at various locations throughout the state.

Benefits of Driver Improvement Courses in Virginia

By completing driver safety training classes in Virginia, drivers can benefit in the following ways:

A WA traffic school course from iDriveSafely.com can be accessed through any mobile device or home computer, allowing you to earn a 5-point safe driver credit. After completing the program, iDriveSafely.com will deliver your completion certificate for free and notify the Washington DMV within 24 hours that you have passed the course – all for just $24.95 plus a mandatory $5 state reporting fee!

What defensive driving courses are offered in Virginia?

Completing a driving safety course will earn you five safe driving points on your driving record each time you enroll voluntarily. The Virginia DMV has two different defensive driving courses, depending on the institution that requires drivers to enroll:

  • Driver improvement courses required by the court: These driving classes are for motorists 20 years of age or older and serve to meet a legal court requirement. Drivers who are 19 years of age or younger must gain court approval for enrollment.
  • Driver improvement classes required by the DMV: These driving lessons may only be taken by drivers 20 years of age or older and serve to meet a licensing requirement.

Where to Take a Driver Improvement Clinic/Driver Improvement?

Traffic school and defensive driving courses are available in various locations throughout the state. Virginia driving classes are offered either online through an approved provider or in person at commercial driving schools. Reasons to take a VA traffic school course include earning safe driving points on your driving record, dismissing a traffic ticket or getting lower insurance rates.

Why do I need traffic school?

Attending any Virginia traffic school can help lower your auto insurance premiums and prevent points from accumulating on your driving record. Drivers who complete defensive driving classes may receive an insurance coverage discount from their car insurance company, but the DMV cannot issue reductions.

Did you know? If you have previously been convicted of a traffic violation in Virginia, you may be required by the court to complete a defensive driving course.

Who can take a defensive driving course in Virginia?

Virginia residents may enroll in DMV driving classes if they have received a citation or accumulated too many demerit points on their driving records. Resident drivers can take traffic classes in Virginia to earn safe driving points and to dismiss traffic tickets from their records. DMV traffic school students may also complete defensive driving courses to help lower their car insurance premiums.

Dismissing Traffic Tickets

Drivers may complete a defensive driving course in Virginia in order to dismiss a traffic ticket. However, contact the court that handles your case before enrolling in a safety driving course in order to find out whether it will dismiss your traffic ticket upon completion of the defensive driving class. Drivers may dismiss their traffic tickets if:

  • They have a valid VA driver’s license.
  • They were not operating a commercial vehicle at the moment they received the traffic ticket.
  • They have not been enrolled in a defensive driving school in a certain period of time.

Earning Safe Driving Points

Drivers can take DMV driver improvement classes in order to earn safe driving points and to reduce the number of accumulated demerit points on their driver records. Virginia residents who spend one year without any traffic violation or suspension will get safe driving course points. Moreover, you can attend traffic school in order to accumulate safe driving points faster. Once you accumulate five safe driving points, you can begin neutralizing demerit points. Traffic school courses from iDriveSafely.com are approved by the VA DMV for traffic violation dismissal and will deliver your completion certificate for free.

In any case, be mindful that drivers will not be eligible to earn safe driving points if they take a driver improvement course for getting a discount on car insurance.

Driver Improvement Insurance Discounts

Enrolling in a driver improvement program makes you eligible to receive a car insurance discount through your vehicle insurance company. The VA DMV does not have the authority to issue you any discounts or rate reductions. Therefore, before enrolling in a defensive driving course, contact your insurance company to see if you would be eligible for a discount.

How to Enroll in a Driver Improvement Course

DMV defensive driving courses in Virginia vary in their enrollment methods, depending on whether you choose to attend an online driving school or an in-person institution.

Online Virginia Driver Improvement Courses vs. in Person

Virginia defensive driving courses can be completed either in a classroom setting or online. The VA driver improvement clinic is an eight-hour course offered in various locations throughout the state. Choosing to take an adult driving course in person will give you the opportunity to be taught directly by a qualified instructor. However, if you take the online driving course, you can stop your session and resume at your convenience.

Cost of Driver Improvement in Virginia

Virginia traffic school cost varies depending on which school you enroll in and whether you choose to take in-classroom or online driving courses. To get the best driving school prices, compare the costs of various different programs before deciding. The eight-hour classroom driving course will not cost you more than $100.

Driver Improvement Course Eligibility

Virginia drivers who want to enroll in a driver improvement school clinic must hold a valid VA driver’s license. You are considered eligible to take defensive driving classes, if you have demerit points on your driving records, a suspended driver’s license or a traffic ticket.

Driver Improvement Course Certificate

After attending a Virginia adult driving school course, you may earn safe driving points. Drivers are recommended to contact their vehicle insurance providers in order to find out whether they are eligible for a car insurance discount.

Does a Virginia defensive driving school course remove a ticket or reduce points?

Attending a Virginia driver improvement course or clinic may dismiss a traffic ticket that you have received and avoid points from being added to your personal VA driving record.

How many times can I take a defensive driving course in Virginia?

The number of times you are eligible to take an adult driving course in Virginia may depend on the reason why you are enrolling in one. You might enroll in a safety driving course for earning safe driving points or for dismissing a traffic ticket. Other situations that might affect how many times you may be eligible to take a driver improvement class include if you would like to earn a car insurance discount or if you fulfill a DMV or court requirement.

Does a ticket still have to be paid after taking a defensive driving course?

Completing a defensive driving course with the VA DMV may or may not require you to pay a traffic ticket depending on your traffic violation.

DUIs and Driver Improvement School

Drivers who have received a DUI citation in Virginia may be required to participate in the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP) in order to reinstate driving privileges. VASAP courses consist of 20 hours of classroom instruction. Completing a driver improvement program will not serve to reinstate a drivers license that has been suspended or revoked due to DUI-related charges.

Drivers convicted of DWI-related charges may be required by the court to install an ignition interlock device, which will be closely monitored by the VA DMV.

Can I remove a parking ticket if I take a defensive driving course?

Virginia safety driving course enrollment does not enable a driver to remove a parking ticket from his or her record. Only traffic tickets may be dismissed.

Last updated on Tuesday, November 20 2018.

Dismiss your traffic ticket with iDriveSafely, the #1 online provider of traffic school courses

Have a Question? Get Quick Online Answers!