SR-22 Insurance in Virginia
By learning who needs SR22 insurance and what this form of insurance entails, you can be better prepared if facing a conviction that may result in providing additional proof of financial responsibility. An SR22 policy is an insurance policy issued to motorists who are considered “high risk” due to convictions of certain traffic or insurance violations. If the Virginia DMV requires you to obtain this form of insurance, it is important to know that you must maintain the insurance for a three-year period in order to retain your driver’s license.
Furthermore, an SR22 form must be filed immediately. If your driver’s license has been suspended due to a conviction or judgment, you will be required to file prior to the reinstatement of your driver’s license. Therefore, it is crucial that you learn how to obtain high-risk insurance as well as the minimum amount of coverage that is required within the state of Virginia.
What is Virginia SR22 Insurance?
While it is important to learn how to get SR22 insurance in Virginia, it is equally important to learn more about this form of insurance. SR22 is commonly referred to as “high-risk insurance,” which can cause an insurance company to charge a higher rate than what would be charged for general insurance.
When required to obtain high-risk insurance within the state of Virginia, the policy must be maintained for a three-year period in order to avoid further penalties. In fact, your insurance provider will notify the state of any significant changes to your policy, such a lapse in your policy or the cancellation of the policy. SR22 must be maintained for the entire three -year period and the policy must meet Virginia liability insurance coverage limits, including:
- $25,000 bodily injury/death of one person
- $50,000 bodily injury/death of two or more persons
- $20,000 in property damage
SR-22 rates will be even higher and coverage limits are doubled under more serious offenses. In cases of a serious offense such as a DWI or driving while a driver’s license is suspended will result in an FR-44 or FR46 insurance requirement. In this case, you will be required to obtain a minimum of $50,000 for bodily injury/death of one person, $100,000 for bodily injury/death of two or more persons and $40,000 property damage.
Who Needs SR22 Insurance in Virginia?
By learning who needs SR22 insurance, you can avoid common insurance and moving violations that can result in the requirement for high-risk insurance. Generally, an SR22 policy will be required for the following convictions:
- Unsatisfied judgments
- Failure to provide proof of insurance
- Operating a motor vehicle without insurance
- Falsifying motor insurance certifications
A driver’s license suspension after the conviction of:
- Vehicular manslaughter.
- Committing perjury regarding vehicle registration or a driver’s license application.
- Any felony committed in which a motor vehicle is used.
- Hit and run.
FR-44/FR-46, a more serious form of SR22, will be required if convicted of maiming under the influence, driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, driving on a suspended driver’s license or being found not innocent in any juvenile case.
Reinstating Driving Privileges With SR22 in Virginia
If required to file an SR22 form in Virginia, it is important that you do so immediately as you will not be eligible to reinstate your driver’s license until you can show proof of your policy. While your insurance agency can file this form for you, the fastest way to file is through electronic filing. By filing electronically, you will not need to file a paper copy of your policy with the Virginia DMV.
How to Get SR22 Insurance in Virginia
SR-22 rates will differ from one insurance agency to the next. Therefore, it is recommended that you obtain SR22 insurance quotes from a variety of insurers that are licensed within the state of Virginia. Once you have obtained an insurance provider that offers high-risk insurance policies, it is important that you file with the Virginia DMV right away in order to provide proof of financial responsibility.
Should you ever change your insurance provider, you must file again immediately following the change. This is due to the fact that your previous insurer will report the cancellation of your insurance policy to the VA DMV. If the DMV finds that there is a lapse in your insurance policy, your license could be suspended and you would be required to repay reinstatement fees.
Penalties for Not Filing an SR22 Form in Virginia
Should you fail to file an SR22 form, your Virginia driver’s license will not be reinstated. If you had not yet lost your license, it will be suspended. In order to reinstate your license, you must provide proof of financial responsibility. This can be done by providing proof of your high-risk insurance policy.
If you lapse in SR22 insurance coverage or fail to maintain your insurance at any point within the three-year insurance requirement period, your license could be suspended again. Each time that your Virginia driver’s license is suspended, you will be required to comply with all reinstatement requirements and pay a reinstatement fee.