WI SR-22 financial responsibility insurance filing information. Who needs to have an SR-22 form, fees and restrictions
The state of Wisconsin uses the SR-22 form to help protect its citizens against problem drivers by monitoring their insurance. It requires the auto insurance company to file the SR-22 form as a proof of a problem driver's financial responsibility, stating that his/her auto insurance liability is in effect. The state does not send notifications and it is the responsibility of the driver and the auto insurance company to submit the form as well as the renewals, to the state, if required.
WHAT IS A SR-22 FORM?
There are three different types of SR-22 forms:
- The Operator's Certificate covers the financial responsibility in the case the motorist does not own a vehicle.
- The Owner's Certificate covers the financial responsibility for vehicles owned by the motorist.
- The Operators-Owners Certificate covers financial responsibility for all the vehicles that are owned or non-owned by the motorist.
WHEN IS SR-22 REQUIRED?
The SR-22 financial responsibility Insurance form is required in the following cases:
- If you are found driving a vehicle without adequate insurance.
- If you are convicted of violations such as reckless driving, operating while intoxicated (OWI), or refusal to submit to an alcohol test.
- If you are found at fault in an accident that results in death, injury or damage to property.
FILING FOR THE SR-22
- Contact a state-authorized insurance agency to request for a SR-22 filing.
- Pay the correct processing fee to the agency. The fee amount may vary between agencies. You can request an insurance quote from our Wisconsin auto insurance page and companies such as Esurance will allow you to request an SR-22 filing automatically.
- As per the State laws of Wisconsin, the minimum amount of coverage should be $25,000 for one person killed or injured, $50,000 for two or more persons killed or injured and $10,000 for property damage.
- Upon receiving the request from the agent the central office then sends the SR-22 directly to the Secretary of State in about 30 days.
- If accepted, you will receive the SR-22 from the agency along with a letter from the Secretary of State.
- The SR-22 has to be maintained for a minimum period of 36 months. If the motorist does not renew it at least 15 days before the expiration date the agency notifies the State. The State may then suspend the driving record of the motorist until the insurance is reinstated. So it is advisable to renew the SR-22 at least 45 days in advance.
FOR OUT OF STATE RESIDENTS
- If you are from out of state your out of state proof of financial responsibility will be accepted provided that your insurer certifies in writing that the insurance policy complies with the laws of the state of Wisconsin. It is best to contact your insurance agent to find out if your out of state policy is valid in the state of Wisconsin.
- If you are required to file a SR-22 in Wisconsin, you will have to do so through an insurance company that is licensed to do business in the state.
- An amount of $60,000 in cash or securities may be deposited with the Wisconsin Department of Transportation in place of the SR-22. The motorist can also file a surety bond or a real estate bond approved by a court of record.
- For related information, see Auto Insurance, DUI/ DWI Lawyers, DUI/DWI Information and Suspended License.