SR-22 Insurance in Mississippi
SR22 insurance is not actually insurance, but rather it proves that the named driver holds liability coverage and is financially responsible for any at-fault accidents or other violations. Your insurance company is typically responsible for submitting an SR22 form to the Mississippi Department of Public Safety (DPS) or the MS Insurance Department (MID), if required. SR-22 rates will vary based on your other insurance needs, but your insurance costs will inevitably go up if you require this specific level of coverage.
Getting an SR-22 form from your insurance company will prove that you hold the coverage in your name and can cover any at-fault accidents. Typically, an SR22 is required after a violation, an at-fault accident or driving while under the influence (DUI). Failing to have proper insurance in Mississippi can lead you to needing this specific form of auto insurance coverage.
What is Mississippi SR22 insurance?
SR22 insurance in Mississippi is usually requested if you have committed a qualified violation requiring the SR-22 in another state. If this is your situation, you will want to get SR22 insurance quotes from your current insurance provider first, and then you could check with other providers to compare prices. Your insurance costs will inevitably go up if you also need this form as proof of coverage, so it is smart to shop around if you find yourself needing it.
SR-22 insurance is not actually car insurance, but proof of your coverage that is required by certain states. Mississippi does not require that proof unless you have been required to submit it in another state and then move to Mississippi or otherwise need to comply with other state requirements. The SR22 insurance form simply shows that you are financially responsible for any at-fault accidents or other specific violations that put other motorists at risk.
Who needs SR22 insurance in Mississippi?
While SR-22 insurance in Mississippi is not required, state law does require certain insurance coverage for all licensed drivers. In Mississippi, all drivers must hold the following insurance coverage levels:
- $25,000 per person (limited to a single accident)
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $25,000 per accident for property damage
SR22 insurance rates will affect your overall insurance costs, adding to the above requirements. You are legally obligated to have proof of your insurance coverage in your vehicle in the event that a police officer asks for such proof. If you cannot show that proof, you might be penalized and have your drivers license suspended for a year.
Reinstating Driving Privileges With SR22 in Mississippi
Again, while Mississippi SR22 is not a requirement, you do still need to prove your insurance as a licensed driver or in order to reinstate your driving privileges. Reinstating your Mississippi license requires all of the following:
- Clear your record: You are required to clear your driving record by paying any fines in full in the county where the violation occurred and a fine was issued.
- Pay for reinstatement: You have to pay the Mississippi Department of Public Safety (MDPS) reinstatement fee online or in person.
- Wait for confirmation: MDPS has to get confirmation from the court where your record was cleared and fines paid, which might take a few weeks.
- Get your license reinstated: Once MDPS can confirm the above steps have all happened, you can then have your license reinstated with no restrictions.
How to Get SR22 Insurance in Mississippi
Since you do not need SR22 insurance in Mississippi per the state’s requirements, you will have to contact your insurance company if you have been ordered by another state to acquire the form. Your insurance company should be able to provide the required SR22 certificate if necessary, even for a different state’s rules and regulations.
In any case, it is the obligation of the insurance provider to supply the proof of insurance coverage to the requesting Department of Motor Vehicles. Contact your current insurer or shop around for a new insurance policy as needed.
Penalties for Not Filing an SR22 Form in Mississippi
Failing to file an SR22 form in Mississippi if requested by another state can impact your driving record and keep your license on full suspension, meaning you might be driving illegally. Make sure if you are requested to provide an SR-22 form that you comply with all regulations, regardless of the state where the request originated. State motor vehicle departments share information to ensure safe driving standards across state lines.