SR-22 Insurance in Georgia
SR-22 rates in Georgia may not seem like the most important issue to take care of after you have been in a crash. However, learning how to get SR22 insurance may help you keep your driving privileges. There are other aspects of the crash you will need to see to, such as legal fees, medical fees and so on, but getting your life back to normal will necessitate going through the process of avoiding a driver’s license suspension.
You may need an SR22 form if you were involved in a crash and you did not have the insurance required by Georgia. Finding proof of insurance and submitting it to the state is necessary to keep your driving privileges. In this article, you will learn all that you need to know about who needs SR22 insurance and the times in which this will be necessary.
What is Georgia SR22 insurance?
Despite the name, SR22 insurance in Georgia is not actually insurance. Instead, it is a contract that requires the insurance company to notify the state when your insurance is canceled. An SR-22 form provides basic information about the insurance policy, such as the name of its insurance company and the range of dates during which the policy should be active.
Who needs SR22 insurance in Georgia?
The SR22 form allows you to show proof that you have insurance required by the state. Georgia requires all drivers to have a certain amount of auto insurance in order to pay for any damages that may occur in the accident. The state may enforce SR22 requirements if you do not have that insurance at the time of an auto accident. This form of insurance proof, in turn, provides security for other drivers. When the highest-risk drivers have insurance, it means their victims will be protected in the event of an accident. Without this insurance, the non-fault party would have more difficulty in getting the compensation they deserve.
It is important to note that you need the SR22 insurance policy if you were driving the vehicle. If you lend your vehicle to someone else and they get into a crash, then you will not need this form of insurance proof.
Reinstating Driving Privileges With SR22 in Georgia
Obtaining SR22 coverage may allow certain drivers in Georgia to quickly regain their driving privileges. If this is your first offense, then you will not be allowed to drive for 60 days. For any subsequent offenses, you will need to wait 90 days. Once that time has passed, you will then need to go through the process of reinstating your license. This necessitates either:
- Sending your application by mail to Georgia’s Department of Driver Services. You will need to send in the fees, which will vary based on your previous driving record, as well as your proof of insurance form and identifying information (e.g. name, Social Security Number and the number on your driver’s license).
- Submitting your application in person to Georgia’s Department of Driver Services, Tuesday through Friday, with the Department recommending Wednesday through Friday because Tuesday has the longest wait times. You will need to bring an SR22, a form of identification and payment.
If you do not have the SR-22, then you may ask the insurance company to send it directly to the Department of Driver Services. Then, you can submit all other documents to the state. The SR22 policy submission cannot be done online if you were convicted for not having insurance. You will, therefore, need to go in person or mail your application.
In order to pay for reinstatement after presenting the SR-22 form, you may use credit cards, debit cards, cash or money orders. Money orders are only accepted via the mail and you are not allowed to use foreign currency. You will not be allowed to pay the fee if you do not have the entire amount available. Georgia does not offer limited permits to people who do not have the insurance the state requires.
How to Get SR22 Insurance in Georgia
SR22 insurance quotes are provided by local insurers. Although the government requires this form of insurance proof, it does not offer these forms to individuals. Instead, you need to obtain the SR-22 form from your insurance company. Then, once the form is filled out, you will be able to submit it to the state along with the fees that are required. These fees will vary based on your previous record of offenses. When getting the SR-22 form, you will need to get the amount of insurance that the state requires, which includes:
- $25,000 to cover the injuries caused to an individual during a collision.
- $50,000 to cover the injuries caused to all of the individuals during a collision.
- $50,000 for any destruction caused to vehicles in a collision.
Penalties for Not Filing an SR22 Form in Georgia
If the government orders you to get an SR-22 policy and you do not, then you will not be allowed to drive in the state of Georgia. It is a crime to drive if your privileges have been suspended, and in order to legally get your privileges back, you will need to go through the reinstatement process. If you wish to keep your car but you are not currently driving it, then you can void the vehicle registration without penalty.
If your SR-22 insurance is canceled while the government still requires it, then you will have a 30-day grace period during which you can find a new policy. If you do not do so, then your driving privileges will be revoked.