SR22 insurance in New Jersey is not required by the state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). However, as with all states, the DMV shares information about license suspensions, revocations and other concerns across state lines. If you have been told to submit an SR22 form in another state, even if you are resident in New Jersey, you must adhere to that state’s regulations and requirements.

The SR22 simply proves that you hold the required level of liability insurance coverage after an issue related to your driving record. Most drivers who need to know how to get SR22 insurance have recently had an issue of lapsed insurance coverage, a DUI (Driving Under the Influence) conviction or other driving violation or string of violations. Find out who needs SR22 insurance below, because even if the state of New Jersey does not require it of its residents, you might still need to file this very important form in order to legally drive and register your vehicle.

What is New Jersey SR22 insurance?

New Jersey SR22 insurance is required if you require it in another state. That means that if you committed a qualifying violation or if your insurance lapsed and did not meet the requirements elsewhere, you might have been required to obtain an SR22 form from your insurance company. Maybe you just moved to New Jersey or you live here but work across the state border. Whatever the case, if you are required to submit an SR-22 to another state’s DMV, you are still required to meet that obligation.

Who needs SR22 insurance in New Jersey?

All drivers in New Jersey are required to obtain certain levels of auto insurance coverage to meet state standards. While NJ does not use the SR22 insurance form, you do still have to maintain your necessary coverage and proof of said coverage per NJ regulations. All drivers in New Jersey must have the following mandatory insurance coverage:

  • Liability insurance: This pays for damages that you cause to others’ property if you are responsible for an accident. It does not, however, cover medical expenses.
  • Personal injury protection (PIP): This pays medical expenses if you or anyone else listed on your insurance policy are injured in a car accident. This is sometimes called No Fault coverage, but your medical care will be covered whether or not you are at fault.
  • Uninsured motorist coverage: This coverage will protect you if another driver does not hold any or adequate insurance and you get into an accident.

New Jersey drivers can usually choose from two different types of insurance plans, both of which offer add-ons for options:

  • Standard Insurance: Includes minimum coverage of the following:
    • Bodily injury liability of $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident
    • Property damage liability of $5,000 per accident
    • Personal Injury Protection (PIP) of $15,000 per person or accident
    • Uninsured/Underinsured motorist coverage to match liability coverage
  • Basic Insurance: This policy type includes the following minimum coverage:
    • Property damage liability of $5,000 per accident
    • Personal Injury Protection (PIP) of $15,000 per person or accident
    • Bodily liability coverage is not included, but $10,000 for all persons, per accident, is available as an option
    • No uninsured/underinsured coverage is included, so this should be an add-on option

Reinstating Driving Privileges With SR22 in New Jersey

Without the SR22 requirements in NJ, you do not need to worry about reinstating your NJ driver’s license with this specific form. However, if your license was suspended or revoked in another state and you needed to file the SR-22 form there to reinstate it, that suspension stands until you file it. There is no statute of limitations on other states’ driving restrictions. Be sure to follow the other state’s specific requirements for reinstating driving privileges since fees and penalties vary state by state.

How to Get SR22 Insurance in New Jersey

If you do require the SR22 insurance for another state, then you need to contact your insurance provider to see if the company can offer valid insurance accepted in that other state. Getting SR-22 rates from your current provider is the best place to start. You should also contact other companies for their SR22 insurance quotes so you can get yourself the best deal on your overall insurance package.

The SR22 will inevitably raise your total rates, and you might even require an insurance policy in that other state if your current one is not accepted there. For example, the state of Nevada does not accept any out-of-state insurance whatsoever, so a separate policy there would meet the requirements.

Penalties for Not Filing an SR22 Form in New Jersey

Failure to file an SR22 in a state that requires it and demands it of you means that your license will be suspended or revoked in that state until you file the form and meet other requirements. Even though NJ does not require the SR22 insurance form of its residents or drivers, other states do have this requirement and will share your driving record information with the NJ DMV.

Last updated on Friday, September 21 2018.

Have a Question? Get Quick Online Answers!