HI SR-22 financial responsibility insurance filing information. Who needs to have an SR-22 form, fees and restrictions
The state of Hawaii uses the SR-22 form to help protect its citizens against problem drivers by monitoring their insurance. It requires the auto insurance company to file the SR-22 form as a proof of a problem driver's financial responsibility, stating that his/her auto insurance liability is in effect. The state does not send notifications and it is the responsibility of the driver and the auto insurance company to submit the form as well as the renewals, to the state, if required.
WHAT IS A SR-22 FORM?
There are three different types of SR-22 forms:
- The Operator's Certificate covers the financial responsibility in the case the motorist does not own a vehicle.
- The Owner's Certificate covers the financial responsibility for vehicles owned by the motorist.
- The Operators-Owners Certificate covers financial responsibility for all the vehicles that are owned or non-owned by the motorist.
WHEN IS SR-22 REQUIRED?
The SR-22 financial responsibility Insurance form is required in the following cases:
- If you have any safety responsibility suspensions. For example, if an uninsured driver was involved in an accident in the past but did not pay the requisite compensation then he or she needs to fill the SR-22.
- If you have been convicted of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
- In case of suspensions or revocations of license due to an accumulation of serious moving violations.
- In the case of mandatory insurance supervisions.
FILING FOR THE SR-22
- Contact a state-authorized insurance agency to request for a SR-22 filing.
- Pay the correct processing fee to the agency. The fee amount may vary between agencies. You can request an insurance quote from our Hawaii auto insurance page and companies such as Esurance will allow you to request an SR-22 filing automatically.
- As per the State laws of Hawaii, the minimum amount of coverage should be $20,000 for one person killed or injured, $40,000 for two or more persons killed or injured, $10,000 for property damage, and $10,000 for personal injury protection.
- Upon receiving the request from the agent the central office then sends the SR-22 directly to the Secretary of State.
- If accepted, you will receive the SR-22 from the agency along with a letter from the Secretary of State.
- The SR-22 has to be maintained for a minimum period of 36 months. If the motorist does not renew it at least 15 days before the expiration date the agency notifies the State. The State may then suspend the driving record of the motorist until the insurance is reinstated.
FOR OUT OF STATE RESIDENTS
- If you are from out of state your out of state proof of financial responsibility will be accepted provided that your insurer certifies in writing that the insurance policy complies with the laws of the state of Hawaii. It is best to contact your insurance agent to find out if your out of state policy is valid in the state of Hawaii.
- If you are required to file SR-22 in Hawaii you will have to do so through an insurance company that is licensed to do business in the state.