SR-22 Insurance in Washington
By knowing how to get SR22 insurance in Washington, you can be better prepared if you are required to get this form of high risk insurance. SR-22 rates vary between different insurance, but once an insurance provider is chosen, it is important that you ensure that your insurance is filed immediately. Additionally, if you change insurances while required to maintain your coverage, your new insurer must file again.
It is important to be aware of who needs SR22 insurance in Washington as SR22 is required after a number of convictions including vehicular manslaughter, driving under the influence, reckless driving and more. In addition, it is important that you make sure that your insurance policy meets the state minimum requirements for liability insurance. To learn more about this form of insurance in Washington, review the information that has been provided within the sections below.
What is Washington SR22 Insurance?
Before learning how to get SR22 insurance in Washington, it is recommended that you learn more about this form of insurance. SR22 is often referred to as a “high risk insurance” as it is required after a number of offenses and the failure to pay fines. In most cases, once required, you must keep this type of insurance for three years from the date that you reinstate your official Washington driver’s license. This form of insurance generally costs more, but it does not include additional forms of coverage. It is an additional cost on top of your regular vehicle insurance.
As part of the SR22 insurance, you must meet Washington state minimum liability requirements. In Washington, liability minimums include:
- $25,000 of bodily injury or death of 1 person in one accident
- $50,000 of bodily injury or death of any 2 people in one accident
- $10,000 of property damage in any one accident
You will also be required to maintain proof of your auto insurance policy on you at all times. Your insurance card must include the name of your insurer, your policy number, the effective date of the policy, expiration date of the policy and a description of your vehicle including year, make and model.
An SR22 form must be filed by the insurance provider that you choose. It is important to ensure that your provider submit this form immediately as you will be unable to reinstate your driver’s license until it has been successfully submitted. Insurance agencies are also required by law to immediately report any significant changes to your policy, such a lapse in coverage or the cancellation of your coverage.
If you switch your SR22 insurance provider during your required three-year period, the new insurer must submit another form immediately in order to avoid a lapse in coverage. It is also worth knowing that some insurance agencies may require you to pay your complete premium in a lump sum payment rather than in monthly installments.
Who Needs SR22 Insurance in Washington?
A SR22 form must be successfully submitted if required by the state, such as in the case of an unpaid judgement or certain convictions that result in the loss of your driver’s license. These convictions include:
- Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
- Vehicular assault or homicide.
- Reckless driving.
- Negligent driving.
- Hit and run.
- Any felony involving a motor vehicle.
- Unattended child in a running vehicle.
- Reckless endangerment in a construction zone or emergency zone.
- Eluding police.
In most cases, SR22 is required for a three-year period that begins on the date that you are eligible to reinstate your driver’s license.
Reinstating Driving Privileges With SR22 in Washington
A Washington SR22 form must be submitted by your auto insurer after you have requested this type of policy. This must be done before a new license can be issued. This will likely not be the only requirement for your reinstatement, however. Depending on your conviction, the state may also require that you complete a drug or alcohol information school, that you retake knowledge or road skill tests, that an ignition interlock device be installed in your vehicle and that you pay a reinstatement fee.
In most cases, you must keep your SR22 insurance for three years from the date that you are eligible to reinstate your driver’s license. So, if you have a 60-day suspension period, the date that you must have a high-risk policy will begin after that suspension period.
How to Get SR22 Insurance in Washington
Most insurers will provide SR22 insurance quotes, but it is important that you select an insurance provider that is licensed within the state of Washington. It is important that you are up front with agents about your situation, even if it increases your premium, as it your insurer will be charged with filing with the state.
An SR22 form will be filed by your insurance provider upon your request. It is worth knowing that your insurer is also required to report changes such as lapses and cancellations to the state. Therefore, if you switch insurance providers within the three years that you must retain your policy, you must have your new insurer file another form immediately.
Penalties for Not Filing an SR22 Form in Washington
If you choose not to obtain SR22 when required by the state of Washington, you will not be eligible to reinstate your driver’s license during the entire three years. Even if you do not own a vehicle, you must still obtain an insurance policy. Should you choose to wait to reinstate your license, you may do so after the three-year period — so long as all of your other reinstatement requirements have been satisfied.
If your SR22 insurance lapses or is cancelled altogether within that three-year period, your driver’s license will be suspended again. This means that you will be required to pay all reinstatement fees for a second time and reestablish your insurance policy before another license will be issued.