Washington Department of Licensing Point System
Although the Washington Department of Licensing (DOL) does not follow a point system, it does not mean that you can walk away scot-free after committing a moving violation. Defaulters can be penalised by traffic tickets and fines. All violations are entered into your driving record. Repeat offenders and those found driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs may be punished by suspension or revocation of their driving license.
A person who, within a 5 year period, has three or more convictions for offenses such as vehicular assault, driving under influence, involvement in a hit and run accident, reckless driving or attempting to elude a police officer is classified as a habitual traffic offender and his or her license is suspended.
A person who commits twenty or more moving violations such as racing, driving with a revoked license, negligent driving, disobeying road signs or traffic signals, driving on the wrong side of the road, or speeding, in a period of 5 years may also face suspension of driving privileges. The duration of suspension will depend on the severity and number of charges.
To know more about the rules that govern driving in the state of Washington, refer to your driver’s handbook. You can also learn about the different traffic offenses that could attract a suspension or revocation of your Washington state driver’s license here.
In case your driver’s license is suspended or revoked, you will be charged a penalty fee for getting it reissued. These penalties may range from $50 to $150. For more information on the various penalties, click here.
HOW TO CLEAR YOUR DRIVING RECORD
You can prevent driving violations from damaging your driving record, and possibly avoid suspension of your license by attending a driving course at a DOL-approved traffic school or attending a driver awareness meeting.
HOW TO DISPUTE A MOVING VIOLATION CHARGE
If you believe you have been incorrectly charged with committing a moving violation, you may be able to fight the charge in court. See Traffic Tickets and Traffic Ticket Attorneys for more information. You can also ask for a hearing or an administrative review to challenge your driving suspension. For more information on how to request a hearing click here.