Alaska DMV Point System
The purpose of the Alaska DMV point system is to quantify the driving habits of motorists and preserve the safety of traffic participants and the general public. Per the state point system, AK demerit points will be placed against driving records as a result of specific driving or non-driving offenses. In general, more serious offenses lead to a larger number of infraction points on your record. In addition to negative driving record points in AK, certain offenses may result in other penalties, including court-imposed fines and possible jail time. To avoid any negative changes on their reports, eligible motorists may participate in a defensive driving course. Learn more about the demerit point system in Alaska by reading the following sections:
- Moving violations and points in Alaska
- Penalties in Alaska
- How to fix an Alaska driving record
- Disputing an Alaska moving violation charge
Moving Violations and Points in Alaska
Motorists in Alaska will receive a specific number of moving violation points depending on the severity of the committed offensе. Note that AK demerit points range from 2 to 10 points. Drivers will be assigned a higher number of drivers license points provided they have been convicted of a traffic offense with the highest possibility of contributing to car accidents. For instance, the state Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will add 10 reckless driving points to your driving transcript following such offense. Also, ten DUI points in Alaska will be placed against your report if you have been caught and convicted of operating while under the influence, due to the endangerment that the infraction poses to the general public. The number of AK speeding ticket points is also based on how many miles over the limit you were driving. Six speeding ticket points will be calculated for driving 20 or more mph over the limit. Other misdemeanors and the points attached to each are outlined in the below list:
- Negligent vehicular homicide – 10 points.
- Evading the scene of an accident – 9 points.
- Operating without a valid insurance card – 6 points.
- Following too close – 4 points.
- Failure to stop or yield – 4 points.
Penalties in Alaska
If you amass too many Alaska driver violation points on your driving report within a specific period of time, you are at risk of incurring harsh penalties and even losing your privilege to drive. The accumulation of 12 points due to offenses resulting in DUI penalties or other types of violations within 12 months will result in a suspension or revocation of your driving license. Additionally, if your record shows that you have amassed 18 infractions points as a result of reckless driving penalties in Alaska or other types of penalties in 24 months, you will also face a driver’s license suspension or revocation. Aside from the aforementioned adverse effects on your licensure, bad driving habits can also lead to other severe consequences. For instance, DUI penalties in AK often include court-imposed fines and imprisonment, as well as mandatory participation in alcohol treatment programs.
Note: Motorists facing a license suspension will receive a warning letter advising them to correct their driving behavior.
How to Fix an Alaska Driving Record
The most convenient way to reduce license points in Alaska is by participating in an online traffic school course. Prior to enrolling into a driver improvement course, motorists must check whether the corresponding court accepts online courses for point reduction. To be eligible for an AK driving safety course, licensees must not have taken one within the last 12 months. Drivers may enroll into such course only once in a 12-month period, thus earning the right to a point reduction.
Motorists must also review their driving record regularly to check for any mistakes, thus avoiding further penalties and increases in vehicle insurance premiums. In order to clear your driving record from any errors, contact a local AK DMV office, provide as much details as possible, and inquire about further instructions.
Disputing an Alaska Moving Violation Charge
Fighting speeding tickets in AK or other types of citations is a procedure that is generally initiated by motorists who want to prove their innocence in court. When disputing a traffic citation, drivers will first need to enter a plea of “not guilty” to the infraction in question before the date stated on their ticket. Once this step is completed, they may request a trial date. Note that you have the option to request a new date to contest traffic fines by submitting the Defendant’s Request to Reschedule Hearing form to the corresponding court. In order to successfully fight a traffic ticket in Alaska, you must prepare a strong defense by collecting any applicable evidence and contacting any relevant witnesses. No AK traffic violation points will be added to your report, provided the judge rules in your favor. In addition to this, you will avoid paying any fines and additional fees related to your offense.