Motorists may receive certain number of driver violation points in Iowa as a result of committing traffic violations while operating motor vehicles on public roads. Different demerit point values will be added to your IA driving record depending on the type and severity of the traffic offense you committed.

In addition to traffic violation points, drivers may face other penalties, such as driver’s license suspension or revocation, imprisonment and high traffic fines. However, drivers may avoid accumulating too many infraction points by completing a traffic school course.

Find out more details about the Iowa DMV point system and about how to reduce license points from your driving record by reading the sections below:

  • Moving violations and points in Iowa.
  • Penalties in Iowa.
  • How to fix a driving record in Iowa.
  • Disputing a moving violation charge in Iowa.

Moving Violations and Points in Iowa

Accumulating too many moving violation points on your Iowa driving record may lead to serious consequences such as driver’s license suspensions or revocations, as well as driving fines and jail time. The number of drivers license points may range from two to six points, depending on the type and severity of the offense committed. The Iowa Department of Transportation (DOT) has set the following demerit points for different traffic offenses:

  • Vehicular manslaughter – 6 points.
  • Failure to stop and render aid at an accident site – 5 points.
  • Operating while having a blood alcohol concentration of .08 or more – 4 points.
  • Driving while under a DUI revocation – 3 points.
  • Operating while under driving license suspension, revocation or denial – 2 points.

Motorists who accrue six or more infraction points on their driving records within a period of two years will be considered habitual offenders of state laws and road regulations and may be barred from driving a motor vehicle.

Penalties in Iowa

Drivers can accumulate a certain number of demerit points for committing traffic offenses. Those Iowa penalty points may remain written on a motorist’s driving record for a specific period of time, depending on the offense they have committed. Additionally, drivers may also receive additional penalties such as driver’s license suspension or revocation, imprisonment and high driving fines.

Reckless driving penalties in Iowa may be received if drivers are classified as habitual offenders after accumulating six or more demerit points on their driving transcripts. Traffic violation penalties for drivers who are caught operating motor vehicles after being barred as habitual offender include a two-year imprisonment.

Drunk driving penalties in Iowa can bring serious consequences to your driving privileges and can raise the traffic fine you need to pay. Drivers can face impaired driving penalties if they are found operating while intoxicated (OWI) or if they simply refuse to submit to an alcohol test.

Those motorists who fail or refuse the test will receive an immediate driver’s license revocation with a length determined according to the number of previous offenses, a 10-day temporary driving permit, and a mandatory enrollment in both a drinking drivers’ course and in a substance abuse evaluation or treatment.

Note: Drivers who break the determined drunk driving laws by state will face a civil penalty. This civil penalty, which is also known as victim reparation, requires drivers to pay a $200 fee when reinstating their drivers licenses which were suspended or revoked as a result of committing a DUI offense.

How to Fix a Driving Record in Iowa

In some states, drivers can remove points from driving records by attending a traffic school course. Motorists in Iowa can neither remove nor reduce license points from their driving transcripts by completing a defensive driving course. However, participating in the IA driver improvement program can help traffic offenders avoid a driver’s license suspension or revocation.

In addition, drivers are encouraged to obey road rules and state laws while operating a motor vehicle in order to avoid traffic offenses being added to their driving records.

Disputing a Moving Violation Charge in Iowa

The process of disputing a traffic ticket in Iowa requires drivers to plead “not guilty” in court to the offense they are accused of. Check your traffic ticket or contact the proper court that handles your case and find out the exact steps you need to take when innocent of a charge.

Before fighting speeding tickets, you are encouraged to hire a traffic attorney who can help you win the case and gather the needed evidence to prove your innocence. In order to contest traffic ticket in IA, drivers should expect the corresponding court to schedule a trial date.

However, make sure to remember not to pay the required driving fines before appealing a traffic ticket in Iowa, because that will be considered as admission of guilt.

Last updated on Wednesday, October 14 2020.