Arkansas DMV Point System
The role of the Arkansas DMV point system is to regulate the driver’s behavior and to assess the number of demerit points that a traffic offense may add to a driver’s transcript. Different traffic offenses may bring you from three to 14 points, depending on the severity of the offense.
Accumulating too many driving points may bring you a driver’s license suspension or revocation, as well as additional penalties such as imprisonment and traffic fines. Drivers who are wondering “How long do points stay on your license in Arkansas?” are encouraged to continue reading the sections below:
- Moving violations and points in Arkansas
- Penalties in Arkansas
- How to fix a driving record in Arkansas
- Disputing a moving violation charge in Arkansas
Moving Violations and Points in Arkansas
Driving record points in Arkansas are accumulated when drivers commit certain traffic offenses while operating motor vehicles on public roads. Drivers can get from three to 14 moving violation points for the traffic offenses, depending on the severity of the violation committed. Drivers can get the following demerit points in AR:
- All moving violations – 3 to 14 points.
- Reckless driving – 8 points.
- Speeding (less than 15 mph over the speed limit) – 3 points.
Three demerit points for speeding in Arkansas are assessed against your driving record when you are operating a motor vehicle above the speed limit. The DWI points are usually the highest number of demerit points that you may accrue on your driving transcript. In addition, committing a DWI offense will bring you a driver’s license suspension or revocation, depending on the number of previous offenses of the same type.
Penalties in Arkansas
Drivers accrue a number of penalty points that stay written on their Arkansas driving records for a specified period of time, depending on the state laws and regulations. In addition, they may receive other penalties, such as driver’s license suspension or revocation, traffic fines and imprisonment. The traffic violation penalties in Arkansas may vary depending on the type and on the number of previous offenses you have committed.
Drivers may get speeding ticket penalties when driving above the allowed limit or reckless driving penalties for operating a motor vehicle without obeying traffic signs or signals and without caring for the other traffic participants.
DWI penalties in Arkansas are the most serious penalties that may result from driving while impaired, from being caught with Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) above 0.08 percent, or from refusing to submit to an alcohol test. The suspension periods may vary from 180 days to five years, depending on the number of previous offenses. Arkansas drunk driving penalties include a mandatory enrollment in a drug and alcohol education or treatment program. Drivers who face a suspended driver’s license will also be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) for the suspension period.
How to Fix a Driving Record in Arkansas
Drivers may enroll in an Arkansas defensive driving course program in order to fulfill a court order or to prevent accumulation of too many traffic violation points on their Arkansas driving records. In addition, attending a state-accepted traffic school may dismiss your traffic tickets, get you a car insurance premium reduction, or broaden your knowledge of state laws and regulations.
Prior to taking an AR driver safety course for traffic ticket dismissal, motorists must be approved by their local jurisdiction in order to dismiss traffic tickets from their driver’s transcripts. Drivers may enroll either in a traffic school online or in a classroom course for traffic ticket dismissal, but not for a point reduction. Arkansas DMV point reduction cannot be done by completing a traffic school, but drivers can avoid accumulating new points.
For more information about how to clear your driving record in AR, you are encouraged to contact your local court.
Disputing a Moving Violation Charge in Arkansas
Drivers accumulate drivers license points on their driving records when they commit traffic offenses while operating motor vehicles. Different traffic offenses will bring you different traffic tickets, depending on the severity of the offense. Drivers can fight a traffic ticket in Arkansas when they consider themselves “not guilty” of the offense. The process of disputing a traffic ticket may require drivers to hire a traffic attorney to help them win the case in court.
Remember that when fighting a traffic ticket, drivers are not advised to pay the driving fines as that is considered an admission of guilt. Find out more details about how to contest traffic tickets in Arkansas by contacting your traffic attorney or the proper court handling your case.