Arizona DMV Point System
The DMV point system in Arizona has the purpose of regulating driver behavior and assessing demerit points on state driving records. Committing traffic violations will bring you a certain number of demerit points and additional penalties. Penalty points in AZ may vary based on the specific violation you have committed and on its degree of severity. Discover more information about the Arizona driver point system and about the length of time the driving points stay written on your transcript by reading the sections below:
- Moving violations and points in Arizona.
- Penalties in Arizona.
- How to fix a driving record in Arizona.
- Disputing a moving violation charge in Arizona.
Moving Violations and Points in Arizona
Accruing driver violation points in Arizona is common for drivers who commit traffic violations while operating motor vehicles on public roads. Motorists may get moving violation points for offenses such as speeding, driving under the influence (DUI), or other traffic violations. The speeding ticket points are assessed against your driving record in situations when you are operating a motor vehicle over the allowed speed limit. In Arizona, drivers will receive three speeding ticket points on their driving transcripts for driving above the allowed speed limit. Moreover, motorists can get eight points for reckless driving added to their driver’s transcripts when endangering other traffic participants.
DUI points are assessed when drivers are caught operating motor vehicles under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Drivers will accrue eight demerit points on their driving records for operating motor vehicles with blood alcohol content above 0.08 percent. In addition, motorists can get an Arizona driver’s license suspension when caught driving under the influence or after accumulating too many demerit points.
Drivers who are wondering how many AZ moving violation points are assessed against their driving records are encouraged to read the following list:
- Driving under the influence (DUI), extreme DUI and aggravated DUI – 8 points.
- Reckless or aggressive driving – 8 points.
- Leaving the scene of a car accident – 6 points.
- Failing to stop for traffic sign or to yield right-of-way causing death – 6 points.
- Failing to stop for traffic sign or to yield right-of-way causing injuries – 4 points.
- Speeding – 3 points.
- Other traffic violations – 2 points.
Penalties in Arizona
Drivers will accrue penalty points on their Arizona driving records for committing traffic offenses while operating motor vehicles on public roads. Different offenses may bring you different traffic ticket penalties, depending on the Arizona’s laws and regulations. For instance, accumulating eight AZ demerit points within a period of 12 months will bring you a driver’s license suspension for up to 12 months.
DUI penalties in Arizona will bring you an immediate suspension of your driving privileges, as well as imprisonment and payment of certain fines. A first DUI offense may result in 10 days in prison, a fine of minimum $1,250 and a suspension of at least 90 days. A second or subsequent DUI offense may get your license revoked for 12 months, may put you in jail for at least 90 days and may require you to pay a fine of $3,000 or more.
How to Fix a Driving Record in Arizona
Drivers who are wondering how to get points removed from their AZ driving records need to be aware that they cannot remove points by completing a state-approved traffic school. Instead, a driver improvement course in Arizona may only help licensed Arizona motorists to prevent accumulation of too many demerit points on their records. Moreover, completing an AZ driving safety course may be ordered by the court in order to help drivers qualify for a traffic ticket dismissal. The Arizona driver improvement course, which is also known as Traffic Survival School (TSS), is useful for habitual traffic offenders who accumulate eight or more demerit points on their driving records within a period of 12 months. Learn how to clear your driving record in Arizona when the option for DMV point reduction is not available within the state.
Note: The Arizona defensive driving school classes for traffic ticket dismissal are part of a Defensive Driving Diversion program. The driving lessons ordered by the court are known as non-diversion driving safety courses.
Disputing a Moving Violation Charge in Arizona
Drivers can fight a traffic ticket in Arizona as long as they consider themselves innocent of the offense they are charged with. Before contesting a traffic ticket, motorists are encouraged to hire traffic attorneys to help them with legal issues and citation laws. When disputing a traffic ticket in Arizona, drivers must schedule a court hearing and present evidence of their innocence. Remember that paying the required driving fine is considered as admission of guilt. Discover more information about how to fight a traffic ticket in Arizona by contacting your traffic lawyer or the court handling your case.