Montana DMV Point System
Montana penalty points are generally assigned by the Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) of the state Department of Justice following a specific violation of the road rules and regulations. The main purpose of the state DMV point system is to regulate motorists’ behavior while on the road, thus reducing the possibility of serious traffic offenses and the resulting negative consequences.
Under the MT demerit point system, more severe offenses cause the accumulation of a larger number of infraction points on driving records. In addition to the demerit points assigned due to unsafe driving behavior, certain offenses such as operating while under the influence include other serious penalties such as large fines and jail sentences. Read more about driving points in Montana in the following sections:
- Moving violations and points in Montana
- Penalties in Montana
- How to fix a Montana driving record
- Disputing a Montana moving violation charge
Moving Violations and Points in Montana
Motorists who receive moving violation points in Montana are at risk of incurring serious penalties as a result. Fewer demerit points are typically assigned for infractions which are considered less serious. For instance, three MT speeding tickets points will be added on the driver’s record if he or she has been convicted of operating over the posted limit.
The state MVD will place two careless driving points against the motorist’s report upon conviction of such offense. More serious offenses, such as driving while under the influence or vehicular homicide result in a higher number of points. 10 Montana DUI points will be added on a driving transcript following a DUI offense.
Note that certain traffic misdemeanors do not result in negative points, however, other penalties including large fines may apply in such instances. Review the following list for more traffic violations and their corresponding points:
- A stop sign offense – 2 points.
- Following too closely – 2 points.
- Reckless driving – 5 reckless driving points.
The excessive accumulation of moving violation points in MT will be punished in accordance with the state Motor Vehicle Division statutes. Drivers who accrue 30 or more points in three years will be handed down a three-year revoked driving license, as they are considered habitual offenders of motor vehicle rules and regulations.
Penalties in Montana
Certain Montana traffic violation penalties will not only include points on driving records, but also court-imposed fines and other punishments, due to the endangerment they pose to the general public. DUI penalties, for example, result in a large number of points, jail sentences and monetary repercussions.
If you are convicted of a DUI violation, thus being subject to drunk driving penalties in Montana, you may need to pay a fine between $300 and $1,000 and serve a mandatory jail time.
In addition to this, the MVD will administer a suspension of your credential for a specific period of time depending on your driving history. Reckless driving penalties will also include court-imposed fines and additional surcharges and a possible jail sentence. A first offense of this type will result in a maximum fine of $300 and a jail sentence ranging from 0 to 90 days. Any subsequent infraction may cause even harsher penalties.
How to Fix a Montana Driving Record
Though attending a driving safety course is considered the best method to reduce license points, this option may not be available for Montana drivers. By participating in a defensive driving course in MT, motorists will not become eligible for a point reduction. Traffic school courses are, however, beneficial for the purposes of avoiding traffic offenses and their resulting points in the future.
Note that certain courts in Montana allow drivers with traffic summons due to violation of motor vehicle laws to enroll in an authorized MT driver improvement course and qualify for a ticket dismissal. In order to verify this option and inquire about the possibility to attend online driving school classes, contact the corresponding court.
Disputing a Montana Moving Violation Charge
In order to fight a traffic ticket in Montana, you will need to appear at the appropriate court on the date of your arraignment as stated in your summons. The procedure of contesting a speeding ticket or other citation will require you to enter a plea of “not guilty.”
Once this step is completed, the judge will set a trial date within six to eight weeks from your first appearance in court. Note that you will be required to attend a pretrial hearing during which you will be expected to plead guilty to your charges in exchange for a lesser sentence.
If this is not the case, you must attend your court trial. By disputing a traffic ticket in MT successfully, you will avoid paying the fines related to your offense, as well as any adverse effects on your driving record.