New Hampshire DMV Point System
The Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) of the state Department of Safety has set the New Hampshire point system under which drivers will receive penalty points upon conviction of certain infractions. The number of driving points which motorists accrue on their driving record generally varies depending on the severity of the committed misdemeanor. Demerit points in NH may have a serious impact on motorists’ licensure, unless they take certain action to clear their transcript. Per the demerit point system, licensees may lose their privilege to drive due to excessive accumulation of negative points. In addition to this, other penalties and monetary repercussions may apply following specific offenses which are considered more serious. To find out more about how the DMV point system in New Hampshire works, continue reading the sections below:
- Moving violations and points in New Hampshire
- Penalties in New Hampshire
- How to fix a New Hampshire driving record
- Disputing a New Hampshire moving violation charge
Moving Violations and Points in New Hampshire
In order to assign moving violation points in New Hampshire, the state DMV must follow the set point schedule. The number of car accident points or other types of violations of state motor vehicle laws ranges between one and six, and it typically depends on the seriousness of the committed offense. For instance, the Division of Motor Vehicles calculates NH speeding ticket points depending on how many miles over the set limit you were caught driving. Four speeding ticket points will be added on your driving report for operating at rate of 25 or more mph over the posted limit. Three points for speeding will be placed against your transcript for driving up to 24 mph over the limit. Certain offenses, including operating while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs lead to a higher number of points due to their seriousness. Six DWI points will be assigned following such offense, in addition to other court-imposed penalties. Review the below list for more infractions and the points attached to each:
- Failure to provide a driver’s license when asked by a police officer – 2 points.
- Abandoned vehicles – 3 points.
- Operating without proof of financial responsibility – 4 points.
- False report of theft – 6 points.
- Reckless driving – 6 reckless driving points.
Note: New Hampshire penalty points will appear on your driving record for three years upon the date of the offense.
Penalties in New Hampshire
The state DMV issues specific NH traffic violation penalties to motorists who violate the set laws and amass too many points as a result. The traffic ticket penalty generally depends on the amount of demerit points, as well as the driver’s age. For example, motorists 21 years of age or older who accrue 12 points in one year will have their license suspended for up to three months. 18 New Hampshire penalty points within two consecutive years will result in a maximum of six-month license suspension. The accumulation of 24 points in three years leads to a suspension of their credential for a maximum of one year. Drivers younger than 21 years of age may incur even harsher penalties in such instances.
In addition to the administrative traffic violation penalties, the court also has the authority to penalize motorists who practice unsafe driving habits. If you are subject to drunk driving penalties in NH due to operating while under the influence, for instance, these may include any of the following:
- Large fines.
- License suspensions.
- Mandatory imprisonment.
- Mandatory completion of an authorized alcohol program.
- Installation of an ignition interlock device and additional penalties.
Note: DWI penalties are generally stricter for habitual offenders of motor vehicle laws.
How to Fix a New Hampshire Driving Record
Drivers who are at risk of incurring a license suspension due to an excess of driving points on their report may qualify for NH driving record point removal by completing an approved driver improvement program. Motorists are allowed to enroll in a driver improvement course only once during any three consecutive years. By successfully completing an authorized driving safety course in New Hampshire, drivers will become eligible for a three-point reduction, thus avoiding the negative consequences of the committed offense.
Disputing a New Hampshire Moving Violation Charge
You must complete the procedure of fighting a speeding ticket in NH or other types of citations in due time, so as to avoid any adverse effects on your driving record or license. When receiving a traffic summons, you will need to respond to it either before the due date as stated on the form or within 30 days upon its issuance. To initiate the process of contesting a traffic ticket in New Hampshire, you have the option to enter a plea of “not guilty” either in person at a Bureau of Financial Responsibility office or via mail to the state Department of Safety. If you fail to successfully fight a traffic ticket, be prepared to pay the related fines and surcharges, and face additional penalties.