In order to renew your New Hampshire drivers license, you need to complete a number of important steps when applying. In order to simplify the process, you will need to gather the necessary documents and calculate your required fee payment before being able to renew your New Hampshire drivers license. Online assistance can help you complete all of these steps quickly and easily by providing you with all of the information you need to know about renew your license. Start simplifying your application process today.
2. By Mail
Rather than get ahead with online assistance and services, some New Hampshire residents prefer to handle their DMV transactions via mail. Drivers can complete a few different procedures by mail, but payment methods are restricted, and the transactions have inconvenient and lengthy turnaround times for results.
3. Via a DMV Office
Certain transactions must be completed in person at a New Hampshire DMV office. However, before visiting a local branch, be sure to verify that the location offers the service you require. Not all DMV procedures can be completed at every location. Additionally, note that wait times are typically lengthy. So make sure to take advantage of online assistance to prepare for your visit.
New Hampshire Drivers License Renewal
Renewing drivers licenses in New Hampshire is required by all drivers who wish to continue their drivers license privileges. Drivers must renew drivers licenses in MN prior to its expiration date with the state's Division of Motor Vehicles. Driving with an expired drivers license in New Hampshire is illegal and can result in a fine. NH drivers license renewal can be completed online, in person at a local DMV office or by mail if the driver is out-of-state or currently a deployed military member. Each method comes with its own documents that must be submitted, as well as a drivers license renewal fee. To learn more about how to renew drivers licenses in New Hampshire, read on to the following sections.
How to Renew Your NH Driver's License
Drivers have the option to renew drivers license online, in person at the NH DMV office, or by mail if they are currently out-of-state or deployed by the U.S military. Depending on the type of New Hampshire drivers license renewal you are eligible for, you will be asked to submit specific documents and information. While the specific requirements may vary, drivers can expect to be asked to submit some form of the following:
- Proof of identity.
- Proof of NH residency.
- A passed vision test, road test, or written test.
- The required drivers license renewal fee.
All drivers must pay a New Hampshire drivers license renewal fee, addressed to the Division of Motor Vehicles. This fee will depend on the type of license you will be renewing. The current NH drivers license renewal fees are as follows:
- Standard renewal fee: $50
- Moped: $8
- Motorcycles: $55
- A motorcycle or 3-wheel endorsement fee: $5
Drivers license renewal fees should be paid according to the type of method you are using. Those who choose to renew drivers license online will be eligible to pay the fee with American Express, Master Card, or Visa. Drivers who will be renewing drivers licenses in person at the NH DMV office can pay by Master Card, Visa American Express, cash, personal checks, money orders or travelers checks.
Note: All checks can be made payable to the "State of NH DMV"
When to Renew Your New Hampshire Driver's License
Complete your drivers license renewal prior to its expiration, as it is against the law to drive with and expired drivers license in New Hampshire. NH drivers will receive a drivers license renewal notice two months before the drivers license expires. You are eligible to renew drivers licenses in NH up to six months beforehand. How to renew drivers licenses in New Hampshire is dependent upon the current drivers license status of the driver.
It is against the law to drive with an expired drivers license in NH. If you wish to reinstate your drivers license, you must complete a drivers license renewal. Drivers with an expired drivers license in New Hampshire can still renew drivers licenses but must do so in person at a local NH DMV office. If you are renewing drivers license in NH after the expiration date, you may also be required to pay an additional drivers license renewal fee.
Drivers looking to renew drivers licenses at a Division of Motor Vehicles after their expiration date may be asked to submit the following:
- Two documents proving identity.
- Proof of NH residency.
- Passed vision test, written test or road test.
Note: Drivers who are required to pass additional testing are recommended to first complete an online practice test to improve their chances of passing.
Requirements To Renew A New Hampshire License
To renew drivers licenses in New Hampshire, you must fall under the requirements set in place by the state DMV. These requirements may vary depending on the drivers license renewal method, but drivers can expect to be asked to submit some form of the following information:
- Proof of identity.
- Proof of Social Security Number.
- Proof of physical residence in the state of New Hampshire.
- Payment for the NH drivers license renewal fee.
Drivers with an expired drivers license, change in health condition, or older than the age of 80 may be asked to complete a visual exam (either in the NH DMV office or by a licensed examiner), a written exam, or an on road exam. If you are required to take a knowledge or skills test, it is recommended to first complete an online practice test.
Renewing An NH Suspended License
Drivers are not eligible to renew drivers licenses in New Hampshire if their current license is suspended, canceled or revoked. If you currently hold a suspended NH drivers license, you must first reinstate your driving privileges before completing a New Hampshire drivers license renewal. In order to reinstate these privileges, drivers may be asked to pay any outstanding fines, complete traffic school and pass a written exam. In some cases, you may have to wait a period of time before your driving privileges can be reinstated.
NH Drivers License Online Renewal
In order to renew drivers licenses online in NH, you must first be eligible to do so. Drivers who are eligible to complete on online drivers license renewal will receive a renewal notice with a 10-digit renewal identification number (RIN). Once a driver has received his or her renewal number, he or she must visit the New Hampshire online renewal site and submit the following information:
- Your current NH drivers license number (as well as its issue date).
- Payment for the $50 drivers license renewal fee.
Once you have submitted all required information, you will be able to print a temporary NH drivers license. Your new drivers license will arrive in the mail before your temporary license expires.
Renewing Your NH Drivers License In-Person
If a driver has an expired drivers license or is not eligible to renew drivers licenses online in New Hampshire, he or she must renew his or her license in-person at the NH DMV office. Drivers can begin renewing drivers licenses up to six months before the expiration of their current license. If you choose to renew your license in person at a NH DMV office, it is recommended to make an appointment in advance to avoid long wait periods. Once you have made your appointment you will be asked to submit/complete the following:
- Your current New Hampshire drivers license.
- A completed drivers license form.
- Pass a vision test.
- Have your new drivers license photo taken.
- Payment for the drivers license renewal fee.
Non US Citizen
Non-US citizens are still eligible to complete a New Hampshire drivers license renewal. In order to renew drivers licenses in New Hampshire as a non citizen, you must submit a completed drivers license form, a valid permanent residency card (or I-94 form), your current New Hampshire drivers license, and payment for the drivers license renewal fee.
Out-of-State Military Renewal
Renewing drivers licenses in New Hampshire is still an option for military members who are currently stationed out-of-state or overseas. Military members who have served in active military duty for two or more years will not be required to pay the drivers license renewal fee. Currently renewing drivers license as a deployed military personnel can only be done by mail. In order to renew your drivers license while deployed, you must mail in the following:
- A completed Armed Forces Affidavit of Residency.
- A photocopy of your military I.D card.
- A completed drivers license renewal application.
- Payment for the drivers license renewal fee (if a member of active duty for less than two years).
Out-Of-State Military: Renew Online
Military personnel are currently unable to renew drivers license online in NH. However, if you are an active military member and wish to renew drivers license by mail please review the "Out-of-State Military Renewal Section" for more information on how to renew drivers licenses while deployed.
Out-Of-State NH Residents
Out-of-state NH residents are currently eligible for renewing drivers licenses by mail. Only drivers that do not currently have an expired drivers license in New Hampshire or have completed their last drivers license renewal in personal are able to renew drivers licenses by mail. In order to complete a New Hampshire drivers license renewal by mail you must submit the following information:
- A completed and signed New Hampshire drivers license renewal application.
- A completed Temporarily Out-of-State form (DSMV 594).
- Payment for the drivers license renewal fee.
Once you have returned to New Hampshire you will be required to complete a formal drivers license renewal in person at your local NH DMV.
Drivers License Extensions
Drivers license extensions are available for out-of-state residents and deployed military members currently outside of New Hampshire, or stationed overseas. Military members will automatically receive license extensions that will last up to six months past the date of discharge. In order to be eligible for an out-of-state extension you must have:
- Your current photo on file with the New Hampshire DMV.
- A valid drivers license.
- No outstanding fees or fines.