Louisiana Drivers License Renewal
Renewing drivers license in Louisiana is a fairly simple process that ensures maintaining your driving privileges. The Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) oversees the issuing and renewing of drivers licenses. If you intend to renew drivers licenses, continue reading below. Note, however, that if you need to renew a commercial drivers license, you will be subject to a different LA drivers license renewal process.
How to Renew Your LA Driver's License
If you do not know how to renew drivers licenses in Louisiana, the steps required are straightforward. LA drivers licenses are valid for a period of six years, and more than likely, your license will expire on your birthday. Approximately 100 days before your drivers license expires, the LA OMV will send you a notice of renewal in the mail. As a Louisiana resident, three methods are available to renew your drivers license when the time arrives:
- In person.
- By mail.
Residents who need to renew their drivers license in person must be prepared to bring the following documents with them before heading to the OMV:
- One primary document establishing your U.S. citizenship (birth certificate, passport, military I.D.).
- One secondary document (social security card, school I.D.).
- Proof of liability insurance.
- Social security number (if you do not have a physical card on hand).
The LA drivers license renewal process cannot be completed if your license is currently suspended, revoked, or expired. If this is the case, you may need to complete additional tasks first.
Before you renew drivers licenses in Louisiana, you will need to pay a fee that varies from driver to driver. The OMV's standard drivers license renewal rates are as follows:
- Standard six-year renewal for drivers under 70 years old: $32.25 to $38.25.
- Drivers over the age of 70: $18.75 to $24.75.
- Drivers with an expired license: standard fees listed above in addition to a $15 late fee.
Drivers should also note that certain parishes charge an additional $4.50 parish process fee. The LA OMV accepts cash and all major credit cards. However, if you renew by mail, it is acceptable to send a check or money order. If you renew drivers license online in LA, you must pay using a credit or debit card.
When to Renew Your Louisiana Driver's License
You can renew your Louisiana drivers license every six years, regardless of your age. Drivers can renew drivers license up to 180 days before its expiration date, and up to 10 days after. If you fail to renew your drivers license within this time frame, you will be subject to an additional $15 late fee.
Expired Drivers License
Driving with an expired drivers license in Louisiana is illegal. If you are caught doing so, a law enforcement official may issue you a ticket. You must renew drivers licenses within 10 days of its expiration date or you will be required to pay a $15 late fee, in addition to any other applicable fees. As mentioned above, you can locate your licenses' expiration date on its front side.
You can apply for a temporary drivers license in Louisiana only if your current, valid drivers license is lost or stolen. Drivers will not receive a temporary license from the LA OMV if:
- Their license has been suspended or revoked.
- Their driving record is not in good standing (ex: multiple moving violations, unpaid tickets, missed traffic court dates).
- Their license is expired. If this is the case, they will need to undergo the standard drivers license renewal process.
If none of the above applies to you, you will need to replace your license in person and pay a replacement fee of $13 to $17.
Requirements To Renew A Louisiana License
You can renew drivers license in Louisiana every six years. Most drivers can renew their licenses online, but if you need to take a vision or skills test, you will be required to visit your local OMV office. Before renewing drivers license in LA, be sure to have the following items in your possession:
- Two documents establishing your status as a U.S. citizen. The OMV will accept your birth certificate, Social Security card, school identification, or current drivers license as a form of identification and residency.
- Proof of liability insurance.
- Social Security Number (if you do not have access to a physical card).
- Renewal fee.
After your identity is verified, you will need to pass a vision test and any other tests required by the OMV in LA before you can fully renew your drivers license. If you have additional questions about drivers license renewal, contact your local OMV office directly.
Renewing A LA Suspended License
Before renewing drivers licenses, note that driving with a suspended drivers license in Louisiana is illegal. Drivers caught doing so will be subject to a variety of legal penalties, including possible incarceration. As you get ready to renew drivers license in LA, the OMV will require you to complete the full length of your suspension. The OMV frequently suspends licenses for the following reasons:
- Reckless driving.
- Vehicle-related felonies.
- DUIs and DWIs.
- Refusal to take Blood Alcohol Content Test (BAC).
- Texting while driving.
If you do not know the status of your license, you can order a copy of your driving record here. The length of your suspension will vary, depending on the severity of your offense. Most minor offenses warrant a suspension of three to six months. More serious convictions can lead to a four or five-year suspension. To reinstate your drivers license, you must follow the steps below:
- Satisfy all court requirements.
- Submit suspension compliance documents to your nearest LA OMV location.
- Provide the OMV with an SR22 from your car insurance company.
- Pay all necessary fines and renewal fees.
LA Drivers License Online Renewal
You can renew drivers license online in Louisiana if you have not legally changed your name or address since your last drivers license renewal. To renew your license online, simply visit the Louisiana OMV website and provide the state with the following information:
- Date of birth.
- Drivers license number.
- Payment information (renewal fee).
The online renewal process is straightforward, and it requires you to pay the standard renewal fees listed in the sections above. You cannot renew drivers license online if you need to take a vision test or fully replace your valid, current license. All major credit cards are accepted.
Renewing Your LA Drivers License In-Person
Drivers can renew drivers license in Louisiana in person, but you must renew your license at your local OMV office if any of the following applies to you:
- Your last renewal was online or by mail.
- The OMV did not send you a LA drivers license renewal notice.
- You need to take tests.
To validate your identity and status as a U.S resident, you must bring at least one primary document and one secondary document from the list below. If you do not have a primary document, the Louisiana OMV will accept three secondary documents instead.
- Birth certificate, military I.D., or U.S. passport (primary documents).
- Social Security card, health insurance card, school photo I.D. (secondary documents).
You will also need to have a copy of your liability insurance policy and Social Security number present. Once you pass any required tests and pay the applicable drivers license renewal fee, you will receive a temporary drivers license to use until your plastic one arrives in the mail. You can pay using cash, a credit/debit card, or check if you must renew in person.
Non US Citizen
If you are a non citizen, renewing drivers license in Louisiana can be done in a few, simple steps. If you lack a Social Security Number, you will need to obtain a letter from the federal government explaining the circumstances of your citizenship. As a noncitizen, you must renew drivers license in person and be able to verify your identity with at least two of the following documents.
- I-94 (for asylum seekers and refugees).
- I-485 (for permanent residents).
- Valid passport with Homeland Security stamp.
Once your identification and citizenship status is verified, you must pass any required tests and pay any drivers license renewal fees. If you are a permanent resident, but your official documents have expired, you will not be charged a late fee if you need to renew your license.
Out-of-State Military Renewal
You can renew drivers license in Louisiana by mail if you are a member of the military who has been stationed overseas. As a veteran, your license is valid for 60 days following your discharge date, but you can still complete the drivers license renewal process from another country. Military drivers must notify the state OMV office of their military status by mail or in person. To notify the OMV by mail, write a letter that includes the following:
- Your full name.
- Louisiana drivers license number.
- Louisiana home address.
- Out-of-state address.
- Copy of your military ID (both sides).
Send the letter, along with the information above to the Office of Motor Vehicles in Baton Rouge. Once you receive a confirmation, you can renew your drivers license after you are discharged.
Out-Of-State Military: Renew Online
You can renew drivers license online in Louisiana, even if you are overseas while serving in the armed forces. Overseas military drivers, if they are eligible, can undergo the same drivers license renewal process as non-members of the armed forces. (See online drivers license renewal section above).
Out-Of-State Military: Renew By Mail
You can renew drivers license in Louisiana by mail if you are a member of the military. As long as your photograph is on file with the Louisiana OMV office, and your last drivers license renewal was done in person, you can send an out-of-state renewal application, along with a copy of your military ID and the renewal fee, to the Office of Motor Vehicles in Baton Rouge. The office will send you a new license within 10 days of receiving your drivers license renewal application. Non-members of the military are also able to renew their license from outside of the state or country.
Drivers License Extensions
Drivers license renewal in Louisiana must be done in person, online, or by mail. Note that the state of Louisiana does not offer any type of drivers license extension at the present moment.